Weak willed?

Roundhouse

Feb 9, 2006
Just wondering, does anyone know how long it took Nth Melbourne (you know the shinboner spirit and all that) to win their first flag in the VFL?

Also, If you knew it would take that long for Freo to win one would you stick around? Be honest now.

Just wondering, does anyone know how long it took Nth Melbourne (you know the shinboner spirit and all that) to win their first flag in the VFL?

Also, If you knew it would take that long for Freo to win one would you stick around? Be honest now.

Dont know how long it took for north but ive been with the dockers since day 1 and not going anywhere, even if we end up like the Saints with one win.

Winning a flag isn't the biggest thing about following a club. If our team plays passionate, committed football and we just get out played thats fine. When you have passengers like Des Headland on 300k however, it certainly annoys me. But thats only because i care about the club.

Exactly. I get disappointed, frustrated and annoyed yet will go along on Friday night, excited with anticipation of a good game and a positive result. As the cliche goes "One week at a time"

The reason I criticise Des is because he is capable of playing the way he did after the tattoo incident but rarely does. If you need extra motivation to play your heart out you don't belong out there.

I reckon CC should bring everyone in, go to the white board, on one side write "I want to be here" and on the other "i dont want to be here". Sort out who wants to play for Freo and who wants out.

Guys like Headland seem to need something to play for, if you cant get yourself up to play for finals football then I dont know what it will take. Too many guys arent working hard enough, im not criticising the whole team just a minority of the selected 22 who seem to just play for themselves on a weekly basis.

It just concerns me that the FFC havent realised that Headland is such a downhill skier.

This is a huge concern. Can anyone remember or find a game where the Dockers got flogged, but DJ still had a good game? I cannot remember a single occasion where Headland has stepped up when the team was losing. Guys like Carr, Bell step up in important games because they are premiership players who have leart from their experiences. Des Headland is playing the same football he was playing 5 years ago, cept he doesn't have guys like Black and Voss busting their guts to get the ball to him. He hasn't learnt a thing. And the match commitee seem content to let Dessy do the same thing every week.

This club has the potential for great things, not just results wise, but culture wise. Guys like Dessy will never be a part of that.

I reckon CC should bring everyone in, go to the white board, on one side write "I want to be here" and on the other "i dont want to be here". Sort out who wants to play for Freo and who wants out.

Guys like Headland seem to need something to play for, if you cant get yourself up to play for finals football then I dont know what it will take. Too many guys arent working hard enough, im not criticising the whole team just a minority of the selected 22 who seem to just play for themselves on a weekly basis.

Perhaps there needs to be a special column for Dessy: "i want to be here if someone insulted my daughter the week before"

While the match commitee persist with Des Headland it will send the wrong message to the fringe players on the Freo list.

Yup. It shows the other players on the list that 100% commitment is not nessecary to get a game for the fremantle football club. In DJ's its more like a 25% commitment week to week. When he first started at Brisbane he didn't get a game for them because he didn't have the attitude to play at the top level. The Lions forced him to correct it before he got a game. The difference at Freo is he just keeps getting a game, yet consistantly puts in a lazy, half arsed performance.

While the match commitee persist with Des Headland it will send the wrong message to the fringe players on the Freo list.

Webster is frequently out performing Des Headland, yet Headland gets selected before Webster every week. People will say: "Oh, but Headland is a premiership player", but that means nothing if your premiership experience doesnt translate into good preformances.

Webster is probably on half the pay packet of DJ Headland (maybe even less than half), yet he is playing better than headland every week. Thats not to say Webster is perfect (he missed an easy shot early in the Geelong game), but at least you can tell that he really loves playing AFL.

Firstly, I don't think that how much a player gets payed should have anything to do with the discussion. Their pay is determined by the marketplace. You don't play better or worse depending on your pay. IF Headland is with us in the future his contract will reflect his value. Same with Webster.

Secondly, Headland had a better game than Webster on the weekend. Their stats are almost identical, although Healdand had more tackles and possesions. Webster had more marks, though I can't remember any of them which leads me to suspect that they were the uncontested mark in space that characterises modern footy. But the real difference is that Headland was manned up by Rooke who is one of Geelong's prime negators, whereas Webster wasn't and never is.

Thirdly, there has been a fair bit said by people commenting that Webster is a skilled player. Missing a gimme like the one he did from top of the square at a crucial stage of the game is very damaging. He is middle range at best with his skills and he is slow.

Fourthly, what we lack badly in our team (amongst other things) is genuine match-winners. So far Headland has earnt that tag once this year. Webster will never do that.

QUESTION; so far this season, how many players could you put any performance down as a match-winning performance? I have Headland and Tarrant down for one each.

It wasnt until he missed out on the first Lions grand final that the penny finally dropped for DJ Headland.

He needs a similar wake up call at Freo. But is Cuddles Connoly tough enough to do it?

As tough as your moniker Jeff Farmer? Spare me. Not only did he eye gouge which is a shameful and low act, he has also been the single biggest factor in our poor start to the season.

Oh, and while I'm at it, who do you think earns their salary the most; Headland or Farmer?

Fourthly, what we lack badly in our team (amongst other things) is genuine match-winners. So far Headland has earnt that tag once this year. Webster will never do that.

QUESTION; so far this season, how many players could you put any performance down as a match-winning performance? I have Headland and Tarrant down for one each.

Headland had shit games before the game against melbourne, then finally picked up in a game against the bottom team in the league, on a day when guys like Haselby busted their guts and had a day out. He then went back to his lackluster season, secure in the knowledge he wont' get dropped for the rest of the season. Headland played well because for once, he had the actual motivation to play to his potential. Thats why people hate him. He has the potential he just doesn't commit himself.

You are saying we should keep a guy who is a lazy, unmotivated, uncommited player in the team on the basis that he *might* have a BOG appearance once a year, against the bottom team, the week after he should have been suspended. Thats not something i can agree with.

I should also add that in the 2003 elimination final Webster stood up like a man against Essendon, and was one of our best on that day. Headland has yet to even fire a shot in a final.

Unfortunately that is Webster's only highlight. And it is quite a while ago.

You have a strong opinion that Headland is not living up to his potential. Well, maybe he actually is. Regardless, if you compare Headland and Webster (who I think is playing to his potential) Headland had a better game on the weekend.

Are you really suggesting that we should prefer a player who when they are playing to their potantial is only as good as a another player who is playing below their potential? There's a heck of a lot more upside to the second option.

Unfortunately that is Webster's only highlight. And it is quite a while ago.

Are you really suggesting that we should prefer a player who when they are playing to their potantial is only as good as a another player who is playing below their potential? There's a heck of a lot more upside to the second option.

At least Webster has shown he can play finals football. DJ has gone missing every time.

The difference is Headland is taking up 300k of the salary cap. He is showing other players how commitment is not the first thing we look for at Freo. Hes showing other players that 100% commitment is not required. He is showing that sitting off the packs for the cheap kick is OK at freo. If your willing to pay an extra 220k a player based on "potential" then go ahead. We'd have a potentially great side.

The crux of the whole matter is that when the whips are cracking some of our players are not in the hunt.Headland is one of these.
It's tiome for CC to show some kahunas and drop some of these "big name" players. He talks about our depth, then let's see it in action.
Peake was brouhgt in a couple of seasons ago on limited form in the WAFL, lets see if the same tactic works with Ibbotson, Drum, Collard and Warnock.
Murphy is like the shroud of Turin, looks a million bucks but never touches the body so the jury is still out on him.
Secondly we have a number of defenders who are very similar but lack midfield pace.
Why not start Roger or MJ in the centre and see what happens and see if they can cut it there.It's time to roll the dice for cc otherwise it will be roll out the barrel for him shortly.Always be afraid when the President comes out with his full support for the coach.:mad:

At least Webster has shown he can play finals football. DJ has gone missing every time.

Des Headland

2002 Preliminary Final

BOG

Des is needed and will be a valuable part of the team when we start firing.

He played deep forward in a crowded zone. Do you think he is superman. He is heavliy tagged and releases the pressure on other players give the guy a break. He wants to do well for freo.

Quite a few passengers in the side ATM. Des is not the worst.

I reckon Pav, both Carrs, Sandi, Crowley and even Bell are all on cruise controll at the moment. Don't be so quick to single out Headland for not showing passion.

Des Headland

2002 Preliminary Final

BOG

Des is needed and will be a valuable part of the team when we start firing.

He played deep forward in a crowded zone. Do you think he is superman. He is heavliy tagged and releases the pressure on other players give the guy a break. He wants to do well for freo.

He is playing in the forward line mate. Someone manning up on him is not "being heavily tagged".

That 2002 final he was playing alongside a couple of mugs like Voss, Lappin and Black. Must have been tough.

Quite a few passengers in the side ATM. Des is not the worst.

I reckon Pav, both Carrs, Sandi, Crowley and even Bell are all on cruise controll at the moment. Don't be so quick to single out Headland for not showing passion.

The only Carr is who is playing badly at the moment is Matty Carr, but its debatable whether hes not trying, or just doesn't have the edge any more. I would say its probably that hes lost a yard of pace. Thats not his fault, he just needs to go. The rest of those guys are playing well.

Weak willed?