Wearing a footy guernsey in public, yes or no?

PrancingPony

I've seen this debate across footy media and forums over the last couple of years and wanted to see what BF felt, some people think guernseys outside of going to the game or a no go, that it makes you look like a nuffie, others think that it's fair game.

What do we reckon?

Anyone over the age of 18 wearing a guernsey to game is dubious.
This is a ludicrous and shit take. Have never understood this. Literally present in every single league in the world. Saying fans shouldn't wear jerseys to games is pure hipster "i'm too cool" nonsense.

1774587974942.webp
1774588004927.webp
1774588027888.webp
1774588047636.webp

Anyone over the age of 18 wearing a guernsey to game is dubious.
I agree with this in principle but am still guilty of doing so once or twice since turning 18 - typically I'll reach for the guernsey when life's being a bit of a bitch and I yearn for a sense of childhood.

Honestly though, at the end of the day the world is so ****ed that people should just do whatever makes them happy, as long as they're not harming others.

Who cares? Wear what you like to support your team! Wear the guernsey, wear the scarf, wear the cap, do whatever you like. There's too much of this don't do that and don't do this BS these days!

Spot on.

I don't wear a guernsey to games myself, but I always wear a Hawthorn polo and a hoodie or jacket when it's cold.

I don't think I've ever been to a game without wearing my Hawks scarf regardless of how warm it may be. I don't think I've ever worn a scarf anywhere else, regardless of how cold it may be.

Each to their own.

Going to the footy is supposed to be fun, and if putting on a club jumper adds a bit of enjoyment for fans or makes them feel a bit more connected to their team, good on them.

I have no issue with someone wearing a guernsey out in public or to a game, but they must have a t-shirt or hoodie (jumper) underneath. Support you club.

Shirtless with bad BO, gross. No thanks.

At games, or just say to say? I honestly dont get the issue, dont fans want that? Sure the AFL etc make money from merch, but its a bit of fun.

I wear my Eagles cap cos, well it's a cap. And sometimes my Eagles guernsey to exercise/play tennis, cos its good for that. I dont really wear it just to go out etc, but I dont care if others do.

It doesn't bother me much, even full kit w***er is ok on occasion 😂

I only wear mine casually at a pub catching up with a mate or when I go to a game that I'm not going out afterwards. Maybe an older kit for exercise or something active. But the more team colours are worn at the ground, the better the matchday experience is imo.

I've seen this debate across footy media and forums over the last couple of years and wanted to see what BF felt, some people think guernseys outside of going to the game or a no go, that it makes you look like a nuffie, others think that it's fair game.

What do we reckon?

Fair game!!

STAND
STAND
STANDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

play on

I see nothing wrong with it, obviously don't wear full kit at funerals :P
That said I haven't worn a full Hawthorn kit in ages (months/years at this point ? :P time sure does fly!)

I have various full player kits from puma/adidas etc over the years. Various full training kit combos, and also media/coaching staff kits too (polo shirt, rain jackets, puffer jackets, tracksuit pants, shorts , jumpers/hoodies - I stopped short at the media hats though hahaha).

Wear whatever, but AFL needs to make guernseys for fans far less right, make them baggy, they need to be like rugby shirts in away.
Agree with this, I've put on a few kilos in the last few years, so I usually have to buy a size up now. In my normal size for most other clothes it's a tight fit in comparison.

Honestly most kits aren't all that comfortable anyway with the materials they use. That and the cost is why I don't have more.