Strength Weight Training: Anything and Everything II

Oct 6, 2005
on a journey through time and space
Never understood deadlifts being on pull day. If you're deads aren't using mainly your legs, you're doing something wrong.. They're also the most taxing lift.

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk

Been thinking about this post a bit

For me, the reason I moved Deadlifts to Pull Day is not so much because it’s a primarily back movement rather than leg movement but because after a decent amount of squatting and deadlifting (in either order) I don’t have much left in the tank for any isolation work on quads, glutes or hamstrings. Only changed it up a month or so ago so haven’t seen much improvement outside of my front squat numbers on leg day going up a bit bit I’ve been enjoying the variety nonetheless.

Not saying my way is right or anything just some food for thought.

SHAKESPEARE

10k Posts
Jun 21, 2009
Been thinking about this post a bit

For me, the reason I moved Deadlifts to Pull Day is not so much because it’s a primarily back movement rather than leg movement but because after a decent amount of squatting and deadlifting (in either order) I don’t have much left in the tank for any isolation work on quads, glutes or hamstrings. Only changed it up a month or so ago so haven’t seen much improvement outside of my front squat numbers on leg day going up a bit bit I’ve been enjoying the variety nonetheless.

Not saying my way is right or anything just some food for thought.
I had been doing them on leg day but find myself throwing them in whenever I feel now (Pull or Leg Days)

I do find that my increases have coincided with a move to leg day, but my squats decrease so it's all over the joint

Had a consult at a powerlifting gym on Saturday and start my program tonight.

Meant to be doing squats but my hips and legs are still rooted from Saturday (feeling muscles I've never felt before) so my coach said I can do bench, praise jeebus!

Super excited to actually get some coaching and improve my lifts! :)

SHAKESPEARE

10k Posts
Jun 21, 2009

Meant to be doing squats but my hips and legs are still rooted from Saturday (feeling muscles I've never felt before) so my coach said I can do bench, praise jeebus!

Lucky for you, Monday is International Chest Day.

The day big campaigners go into the gym, rack huge amounts, perform one half rep and then just stroll away with the invisible lats whilst a 47kg girl after you has to re-rack 260kg of plates because MONDAY

Aeglos

Sep 27, 2016
Riverpigs

You’re in Radelaide yeah?
Which gym? (And you don’t have to answer haha. I’m more curious than anything)

Lucky for you, Monday is International Chest Day.

The day big campaigners go into the gym, rack huge amounts, perform one half rep and then just stroll away with the invisible lats whilst a 47kg girl after you has to re-rack 260kg of plates because MONDAY

:tearsofjoy: lucky for me I seem to always get a free rack and most of the people put their weights away.

You’re in Radelaide yeah?
Which gym? (And you don’t have to answer haha. I’m more curious than anything)

Fuzzy's :) I'm doing online coaching as the gym is over an hours drive from where I am, but I'll go there every few weekends etc.

Aeglos

Sep 27, 2016
Riverpigs
:tearsofjoy: lucky for me I seem to always get a free rack and most of the people put their weights away.

Fuzzy's :) I'm doing online coaching as the gym is over an hours drive from where I am, but I'll go there every few weekends etc.

Ah cool!
Fuzzy’s a good coach.
I think the first time I ever met him was picking him up from the airport to take him to a comp at PTC when they were in the Frankston footy club change rooms (so a while ago haha)

Ah cool!
Fuzzy’s a good coach.
I think the first time I ever met him was picking him up from the airport to take him to a comp at PTC when they were in the Frankston footy club change rooms (so a while ago haha)

Yeah he's already picked apart my squat and helped with my hip issues so off to a good start :D

estibador

purple haze
Mar 2, 2007
Liverpool, Cowboys, Packers, Scorchers
If they complained of hunger they must have been accustomed to eating brekkie. Wonder if the results would change with a cohort adapted to IF?

Aeglos

Sep 27, 2016
Riverpigs
If they complained of hunger they must have been accustomed to eating brekkie. Wonder if the results would change with a cohort adapted to IF?

All the study participants “regularly consumed breakfast”

Did squats last night, only 5 sets of 50kg x 10 reps and 5 sets of paused squats 50kg x 5 reps but now that I'm activating my muscles better holy moly. My glutes and quads are on fire today, which is a good thing. Can't remember the last time legs had me feeling this way.

SHAKESPEARE

10k Posts
Jun 21, 2009
Did squats last night, only 5 sets of 50kg x 10 reps and 5 sets of paused squats 50kg x 5 reps but now that I'm activating my muscles better holy moly. My glutes and quads are on fire today, which is a good thing. Can't remember the last time legs had me feeling this way.

My calves, hammies, glutes, thighs are ****ed atm. I can barely walk around the office.

It's the best feeling

Milpool

Cam Rayner Fanclub Jr. Vice President
Oct 23, 2017
Gold Coast
Brisbane Lions
My calves, hammies, glutes, thighs are f’ed atm. I can barely walk around the office.

It's the best feeling

I had that a few weeks ago. Thought I still had it under control though and no one would notice. Turns out that second day burn was too much and anyone I walked passed instantly asked what was wrong with me. My legs didn't even feel like mine.

Did some leg stuff yesterday and I'm pretty sore but it's at that perfect level that makes me feel like I accomplished something. Hope tomorrow isn't much worse.

SHAKESPEARE

10k Posts
Jun 21, 2009
I had that a few weeks ago. Thought I still had it under control though and no one would notice. Turns out that second day burn was too much and anyone I walked passed instantly asked what was wrong with me. My legs didn't even feel like mine.

Did some leg stuff yesterday and I'm pretty sore but it's at that perfect level that makes me feel like I accomplished something. Hope tomorrow isn't much worse.

I wasn't getting this DOMS until i changed to trying high reps after doing my main set.

This guaranteed a few days of pain.

10 x Bar (Warmup)
10 x 40kg (Warmup)
10 x 50kg (Warmup)
10 x 60kg (Warmup)
10 x 70kg
7 x 80kg
5 x 90kg
3 x 100kg
3 x 100kg
50 x Bar
40 x 30kg
30 x 40kg
20 x 50kg

Milpool

Cam Rayner Fanclub Jr. Vice President
Oct 23, 2017
Gold Coast
Brisbane Lions
I wasn't getting this DOMS until i changed to trying high reps after doing my main set.

10 x Bar (Warmup)
10 x 40kg (Warmup)
10 x 50kg (Warmup)
10 x 60kg (Warmup)
10 x 70kg
7 x 80kg
5 x 90kg
3 x 100kg
3 x 100kg
50 x Bar
40 x 30kg
30 x 40kg
20 x 50kg

Yeah that sounds like a world of hurt. I'm still just playing with a kettlebell at home. Have a bar but can't afford weights for it yet. Can't really afford a gym and pressed for time so it's all gymnastic rings off the pergola and single kettlebell stuff for me.

SHAKESPEARE

10k Posts
Jun 21, 2009
Yeah that sounds like a world of hurt. I'm still just playing with a kettlebell at home. Have a bar but can't afford weights for it yet. Can't really afford a gym and pressed for time so it's all gymnastic rings off the pergola and single kettlebell stuff for me.
Just keep an eye out for weights and stuff on Gumtree. Slowly build your arsenal

EasternTiger

Oct 15, 2007
Socialist Leper Colony
If you ever watched an IFBB Pro train legs in the mid 2000's, they would barbell lunge out to the carpark, dump barbell, and then push a car around said carpark.

If I didn't have access to a gym and only 1 kettlebell, I would bulgarian split squat till I puked, then chuck the neighbours kids behind the steering wheel, and push the Kingswood up and down the street.

Progressively let air out of the tyres for added resistance.

Jul 5, 2011

10 x Bar (Warmup)
10 x 40kg (Warmup)
10 x 50kg (Warmup)
10 x 60kg (Warmup)
10 x 70kg
7 x 80kg
5 x 90kg
3 x 100kg
3 x 100kg
50 x Bar
40 x 30kg
30 x 40kg
20 x 50kg
My legs hurt just reading this :( will give it a try but with lighter weights next week.

When I want serious DOMS I triple superset squats (or leg press) into weighted walking lunges into 10 squat jumps. The squat jumps are pure agony to finish the set off, and I was told helped spread the load to "fast twitch muscle fibres" (quite likely bro science, but hey).