Strength Weight Training: Anything and Everything II

OK, so home gym. Limited for legs. Dumbell partial Squats. I start at ~90 degree Leg bend, go up till I have about 110 degree at the knee and repeat 20-30 times. 3-5 sets

A. Is this even an exercise?
B. Will it actually do anything for my quads?
Sounds like you are doing a bit of an Isometric squat here? It'll work somewhat, I used to do wall sits at the end of my leg day. I find isometrics to be a good finisher type exercise for some muscles (wall sits for quads, lateral raise holds for delts)

You have that trap bar yeah? Bought plates for it yet?

Trap bar deadlifts and sumo deadlifts will work your quads far more than conventional deadlifts if you don't have a rack to squat out of.

Farmer squats or goblet squats with dumbbells/kettlebells/plates will get some hypertrophy work in too.

For pure strength though, unfortunately you're going to have to spend some cash

Found another good rowing hack

Ezy curl bar loaded up

Bench set up at a highish incline

Instead of sitting on the bench seat for prone rows like I do with dumbbells/kettlebells, I stand up and rest my guts at the top portion of the bench and make sure I'm driving through my legs enough so the bench doesn't topple. Then I prone row, I find the grip angles I get from the curl bar gives me an extra inch or two compared to a straight bar. A cambered press/row bar or a duffalo bar would be best for this, but the curl bar does the job.

Sounds like you are doing a bit of an Isometric squat here? It'll work somewhat, I used to do wall sits at the end of my leg day. I find isometrics to be a good finisher type exercise for some muscles (wall sits for quads, lateral raise holds for delts)

You have that trap bar yeah? Bought plates for it yet?

Trap bar deadlifts and sumo deadlifts will work your quads far more than conventional deadlifts if you don't have a rack to squat out of.

Farmer squats or goblet squats with dumbbells/kettlebells/plates will get some hypertrophy work in too.

For pure strength though, unfortunately you're going to have to spend some cash
Thanks

Nah, no trap bar sadly. Just a straight bar and dumbells. I never invested fully on the set up.

Welp, that's the last bit of proper lifting I'll be doing for a few days (at least).
I'm experimenting RN with alternative workouts. Been doing lunges with concrete bags, hip thrusts, lots of grip and pinch strength stuff. I've rigged up a 2x4 block of wood with a hook and strap attached to a suitcase I'm filling with steel to increase the weight for a pinch grip.

I'm currently trying to figure out a way to fill a paint can with iron filings attached to hand straps to do dumbell bench press. It should be 3x heavier than concrete. If my math is right, it should be 32KG for a 4kg can (depending on space between filing) and 48 for a 6kg can.

I just realized it'd be easier to use the paint can for the pinch grip.

Not sure what I should do about my training max on Monday. This Tuesday, I think I pinched a nerve in my lower back doing Zercher squats; that's what it felt like; I stopped the set immediately as I started to feel some pain. This is the fourth time it's happened, but it was less painful this time. Pretty sure it's form; sometimes, I just rush/lose concentration.

I felt little to no pain in 48 hours. I did an easy push/pull/leg/core work session on Friday and kept up cardio. Because it wasn't as bad as last time (I was doing a 3+ set and felt on track to hit 9 reps), I'm wondering if I should repeat the workout on Monday with the same numbers or lower my training max by 10%.

If this keeps happening, I'll never make notable strength gains, but on a good note, I am happy that I've gained size and weigh about 90kg. I'm not ripped, but I'm pretty solid, so I'm happy with the progress I've made so far, but hopefully, I can stop having to lower my training max every 6 weeks or so because of injury.

Finally got my brother's half cage thing to my house and together. He made it with a mate of his, it seems to be ~68mm square tubing, would that be an uncommon size for accessories or would 75mm stuff work?

Must've been another poster I got muddled up with (either a Brisbane or Hawthorn poster)

Hey mate, that would be me, I think. I still haven't bought the plates yet. I moved the t-bar out of my room (took up half the size, haha), so sorry, I can't tell you what it's like. I've been doing regular deadlifts with the belt and straps at heavier sets and have had no worries. It's Zercher squats that lately have been making me pinch a lower back nerve sometimes.

Although Wendler encourages bar speed, I think I need to be more careful how I come up at heavier sets, and if that means slowing down speed a bit, so be it. In fact, as much as I like Wendler's exercise choices for templates, this week, I've been mixing and matching sets and reps. I'm getting bored with 531; it's more exciting to improvise with the weight I'm going to use and the number of sets and reps for working sets.

It would probably still be a good idea to have a training max, but I might do something like 4x8 @ 70% on Monday, 3x12 @ 60-65% on Friday, etc. 4x7 reps etc., trying to keep it in the 5-12 rep range for 3-6 sets as long as it isn't a grind for me to complete the targeted number of sets and reps and I still have one or two in the tank. Although, as for deadlifts, I don't like lifting with a lot of volume, so I'm more likely to do PR sets with a couple of light back off sets instead.

Hey mate, that would be me, I think. I still haven't bought the plates yet. I moved the t-bar out of my room (took up half the size, haha), so sorry, I can't tell you what it's like. I've been doing regular deadlifts with the belt and straps at heavier sets and have had no worries. It's Zercher squats that lately have been making me pinch a lower back nerve sometimes.

Although Wendler encourages bar speed, I think I need to be more careful how I come up at heavier sets, and if that means slowing down speed a bit, so be it. In fact, as much as I like Wendler's exercise choices for templates, this week, I've been mixing and matching sets and reps. I'm getting bored with 531; it's more exciting to improvise with the weight I'm going to use and the number of sets and reps for working sets.

It would probably still be a good idea to have a training max, but I might do something like 4x8 @ 70% on Monday, 3x12 @ 60-65% on Friday, etc. 4x7 reps etc., trying to keep it in the 5-12 rep range for 3-6 sets as long as it isn't a grind for me to complete the targeted number of sets and reps and I still have one or two in the tank. Although, as for deadlifts, I don't like lifting with a lot of volume, so I'm more likely to do PR sets with a couple of light back off sets instead.
Yeah change it up mate if it's boring

Maybe some weeks have a hypertrophy block

I did front squats for the first time in years last week, don't have great shoulder flexibility so did it cross armed (also my racks to low to back squat anyway, need an SSB)

Glutes felt it all weekend, don't think I'm keen on zerchers yet lol

Didn't do any last night, but put another 2.5kgs on my sumo, started at 60kg in March, upto 112.5kgs now, under 100kgs off my pre injury PB now (210kg) 😀. But I've gone in 2 stages the last 4 months since I started the sumos. Got up to 90kg quickly, did a few weeks getting confidence and lower back strength, then slowly got to 110kg which I've worked at the last 6 weeks until last night, should be at 120kg by September, not sure what I should target come years end, still gotta look after the back, but I know I've got alot in the locker still. Good to get a bit of confidence and to see progressive overload.

But yeah, I'm similar to you, I don't like high volume deadlift sets unless they're lighter RDLs and I'm targeting my hammies. If I'm comfortably getting in sets of 5-6 then I know I gotta go up in weight and challenge myself.

Finally got my brother's half cage thing to my house and together. He made it with a mate of his, it seems to be ~68mm square tubing, would that be an uncommon size for accessories or would 75mm stuff work?
Yeah extremely uncommon size

50x50mm (2x2), 60x60mm, 50mmx75mm (2x3) and 75x75mm (3x3) are the most common sizes. With common brands on the Aussie market, basically all of Rogues and Verves stuff these days is 3x3, while alot of Force USA stuff is 60x60mm, such as their MyRack system. ATX makes 70x70mm and 80x80mm commercial grade racks also, on top of their budget 50x50mm and 60x60mm racks.

2x2 racks is generally the lightest, thinnest gauge steel acceptable build suppliers will make, it will generally only have a domestic warranty. Whereas basically anything 3x3 will be commercial grade.

My Armortech squat rack is 60x60mm for example and does the job (just wish they made better hole spacings), they say it's 3mm thick steel on their website, but imo it's 2mm otherwise it'd be alot heavier and I'd struggle to move it around (weighs 50-55kgs, it'd be 70-80kgs if it were 3mm thick)

You'd have to stuff a heap of plastic inside the 75mm attachment and make sure it's a compatible hole size for it to fit and even then it'll likely be pretty loose. ATX 700 series attachments from Sams fitness at 70mmx70mm might be your best bet at finding something that will fit, just make sure the hole diameter from the ATX attachment will fit onto the rack.

So yeah, hopefully I didn't bore ya too much ;)

Anyone want to see a high quality deadlift fail?

Is that chick laughing? I can't tell, but I'm suspicious ;)

Yeah I'm prone to losing my balance in my heels too :( gotta think to use leg drive every set to push through the middle of the foot and be as centred/balanced as possible

I think she had a chuckle after the initial startle

Benched 120 for 2 doubles and a single after a few warm up sets at 80 and 110. Heaviest I've gone in over 10 years (pre injury). 1RM of 140kg in 2010 hopefully mown down over summer to add to my improving sumo numbers.

Will make sure I do a few of Johnnie Meadows favourite exercises later in the week in honour of the great man too

Weird thing, but if I concentrate on making my toes feel spread as I tense for a deadlift the balance on my heels feels better.

I'm sure it makes zero bio-mechanical sense. Go figure.

Weird thing, but if I concentrate on making my toes feel spread as I tense for a deadlift the balance on my heels feels better.

I'm sure it makes zero bio-mechanical sense. Go figure.
Lel, reminds me

Whenever I have them moments when I forget something, I think of something stupid and it normally comes back to me

Ok I can't do it any more. I've got a couple of dumbells and have crafted some interesting home workouts but I want to do the full shebang.

Keen to buy a bench, barbell, plates and a rack. Very keen on any advice people can give (PM if this thread isn't the place for it) me around setting up and what to go for.

I just have a home made squat rack, a barbell and some plates but I'm loving it. I need a bench so I don't have to drag the seat from the outdoor table every second day but other than that I'm enjoying it. Helps I'm a newbie so I'm sure there's novelty in it but suits me starting out with 5x5 perfectly.

It's outdoors too which is fine at the moment but I'm sure once summer rolls around will be a bit tougher. Quite nice laying on my bench seat looking at the stars between sets and slapping mozzies.

Ok I can't do it any more. I've got a couple of dumbells and have crafted some interesting home workouts but I want to do the full shebang.

Keen to buy a bench, barbell, plates and a rack. Very keen on any advice people can give (PM if this thread isn't the place for it) me around setting up and what to go for.
Happy to help out if you want

Depends on your training style/habits and goals, budget could be a factor too, also the room/space you have to train in

I started inside last year in the spare room with a couple of outdoor workouts in-between, got a bench, bands and a couple of hex dumbbells early on. It was enough to get by for a few months, but not a long-term solution, was pretty worried about my floorboards if I got in say another 200-300kgs of dumbbells/equipment on top of what I already had.

I ended up cleaning up my garage in late July, did a few tip runs, and made a 5x3 space to train in there come the start of August (will be 5x4 soon enough once I throw out a few more bits and pieces).

I got a large bulk of my equipment in spring after I moved into the garage and a few items became available again that I was waiting on (Ironmaster dumbbells and a Rogue Echo bike were 2 major pieces that I identified months beforehand as ideal for my setup that I put cash aside for to acquire), but I made a couple of mistakes too by just getting anything available to get by, instead of doing my research and being patient and waiting for higher quality/more useful products to become available again that would be better bang for my buck and that I wouldn't look at offloading. My squat rack was one of those remorseful buys and I'll be looking at offloading it once lockdown restrictions loosen and replacing it with something a bit bigger (its a bit on the small side for me, the hole spacings are a bit low, so makes it difficult to squat out of, suited for shorter folks that are about 6 foot tall or less).

A powerlifting or crossfit/functional training type set up is the most space efficient due to a lack of machines needed, most require some sort of rack and a barbell/plates to base around. A body-building specific set up would take up the most room and probably be the most expensive due to more specialist equipment needed.

Bar speed matters
46e2756cd66a238bf54c0bb4c4eff7bb.jpg

Ok, I approve of pulley systems as a medium term cable solution until I can either afford or have room for a dedicated longterm unit

Much better option than bands for back for a similar price point (triceps are pretty good for bands though). It didn't have much play in it for pulldowns/rows although I don't train back like a tool that rocks back and forward and I will always control the eccentric. Tricep pulldowns had alot more play/swing in it though, bounced around a little, so will need to find correct form next time I try that out.

Just gotta find the right one though, I don't think those cheap Ebay ones are much chop, whereas the Spud Incs probably are made of the best quality nylon in this equipment space, I can't really justify the extra cost.

So I grabbed Little Bloke Fitness' $89 360 Strength one as I couldn't justify paying $175-190 on a Spud Inc from Rogue or Sam's (Rogue sells them slightly cheaper than Sam's), did my first workout with it which was back, all about finding the right leverage angles per exercise. Did 75kg lat pulldowns on the floor, wasn't too bad, was like an inbetween of a pulldown and a high row. Probably will max the loading pin out at 85-95kg due to my bumpers being thickish. Had to stand back a good 4-5 feet to do facepulls and stiff arm pullovers, but end of the day with a bit of improvisation it works well and was pretty smooth.

It's made pretty well, the nylon anchor has a 120kg weight capacity (seems about right), though the aluminium pulley and the bracket holding the pulley in place are pretty heavy duty and could likely hold heaps more weight than that. I know Rogue sells a shackle attachment for their racks which would be perfect for this sort of thing to clip onto to anchor the pulley instead of the nylon which would eventually rip with extended use, it would also elevate the pulley significantly as there'd be no slack from the nylon anchoring it, plus their racks are around 90-92 inches tall whereas my rack is only 85 inches (drops 2 inches due to chin up bar). Having different length cables and some sort of extension chain would be handy too (this is a 6 foot cable for example).

Anyways, time to grow some wings over spring