Strength Weight Training: Anything and Everything II

Thoughts on my exercise selections? My eating and sleeping schedule is all over the place and I just haven't been able to nail down a program for a while. I'm going to go for a while of just not writing anything down (speaking of which, does anyone write down their set/reps/weight numbers before they workout?).

I just want to focus on volume or intensity for a while, maybe a mixture of both if I'm not stupid. But basically my "program" intent is 666, so three full-body workouts.

I'm trying to hit everything. Some feedback would be appreciated.

Day 1
Main: Zercher
Supp 1: Incline DB Press*
Supp 2: Barbell Rows
Accessory: Close Grip DB Press, Curls, Lying Leg Raises

Day 2
Main: Deadlift
Supp 1: Overhead Press*
Supp 2: T-Bar Rows*
Accessory: Push-Ups, Bulgarian Split Squats, DB Calf Raises

Day 3
Main: Zercher
Supp 1: Incline DB Press
Supp 2: Barbell Rows
Accessory: Close Grip DB Press, Curls, Romanian deads

*Might alternate T-Bar and Meadows and OHP with Incline DB Press.
Try a double skullcrusher/close grip DB combo for a solid triceps burn

Thanks. Will do.

Had a good workout today, did my day 2 one + 30 lying leg raises.

I only did Bulgarian split squats on each side with one DB though, holding on to the bench with my free hand. I used the same weight I did when I tried to use two DBs though and it felt way too easy. Did 3 sets of 12 reps. I was thinking of upping it to about 20kg next time.

Thanks, mate, that would be appreciated. Strangely enough, I was close to making the purchase yesterday + micro plates but held off. I've looked elsewhere but the prices seem pretty high so far from what I've seen.
I see you posted about buying from Sams too, I would buy from them over Verve. I've used Sams since mid 2020 and they only recently had a price increase on their non ATX equipment, but Little Bloke Fitness who I've regularly used for nearly a year for pick up/walk ins did too on plates/dumbbells, so asked the LBF guys and they said shipping containers went up 2.5x the normal price to be shipped, so the price of a few things had to increase to cover costs (think main one was dumbbells went from $3.50 to $4.20 per kilo, but even at $4.20pk they're still better than many suppliers going at $4.50-$5-$6pk)

I see Sams has a couple of barbells and budget bumpers available, I have the 150kg black set from him, I reviewed it a month or 2 ago after 12 months use, the only fault I have with them is the 25s are too thick and awkward to carry, I will only use them to load my cable tower for heavy lat pulldowns or heavy benching, so will grab the 100kg set (also available right now) next time I'm in for bumpers once my deadlift goes up enough, but they're durable and do the job, I normally just use the 20s, 15s and 10s for a bulk of my lifts. The plates will fit your Verve trap bar fine, I have like 4 different brands of bars/plates and they all fit fine with one another

That Mavrik bar Verve sells for their bar and bumper packages would be their entry level bar and one that you'd likely want to upgrade on eventually. I'd spend a little more on a good bar and buy an ATX bar from Sams and his budget bumpers and you get a far better quality bar that will have decent resale value. I see they have 2 ATX bars available at the moment the powerlifting competition bar with red end caps (sharper knurling and centre knurling) vs the Chrome powerlifting bar which has no centre knurl and is a bit more passive on the grip. Either bar would serve you well for a long time, all depends on what you plan to use it for or if you feel you need a grippier bar, I have a budget power bar myself but want one with sharper knurling eventually, but yeah

Basically with those 2 ATX bars

If you want to continue with your power movements and eventually get a squat rack to back squat out of, then I'd go with the competition bar as it's grippier and has the centre knurling

The Chrome bar would be similar to the bar I currently use and would be a reasonable allrounder, Chrome generally holds up well too.

Then you could get those microplates from Sams also and save on shipping getting them all together perhaps? The Power Maxx bar would do the job too, probably better than the Mavrik also.

I requested a notification for when this is in stock. Bugger it, it's worth it. Still cheaper than the Verve equivalent. I can always buy some 25s and fractional plates later on. The set + the bar is 177.5kg. That'll keep me busy for a while.

Yeah nice

Apparently those plates are a really tight fit (I think my brothers work uses them plus a guy on YouTube called Simmply Fit recently reviewed them also, they seem to rate them), but yeah it's a way higher quality option than what Verve was offering imo

Rogue has stuff in stock too, but a similar set of powerlifting plates and an Ohio power bar will cost closer to 2k with shipping

I'm a renter, so I generally stick to rubberised plates (bumpers or trigrips), but if I had my own training place and a bit more room to move around in I would invest in either Rogues powerlifting plates or those ATXs

Trying to implement barbell rows again in the routine

I perhaps figured out where I was going wrong in late 2020 with them

Back then I wasn't sumo deadlifting, I was only doing RDLs

So I have a feeling the BB rows contributed to tight hips I copped over Xmas due to the strain put on bracing my core in the exercise and probably using suboptimal form/weight as the lower back/hips weren't as strong then.

Now I have over 9 months of sumos in me, I figured I may as well give it a crack again

Did 3x8 at 70kgs taking it out of the rack instead of deadlifting off the floor, had a similar stance to RDLs, the hip largely felt ok, but was feeling the left side after the last set, though I think next week I'll go with a slightly wider stance which will put me a little more upright, but I'll see how I go

Had my comp yesterday, went 8/9.
Missed opening bench as I skipped the press call 🤦🏻‍♂️.

Squat: 170 - 170 - 175
Bench: 110 - 112.5 - 115
Deadlift: 230 - 240 - 250.

Gonna deadlift 300 before I squat 200 at this rate. #deadliftspecialist

Backing up in 4 weeks time as my gym is all competing at a comp and I’m already peaked so let’s do it again!

Also scored a used once in a novice powerlifting comp Inzer forever 13mm lever belt for $50 as it was gathering dust. It was a bit big but I’ve fixed that with a drill bit and a few new holes. Next comp is IPF affiliated so needed a new belt.

Backing up in 4 weeks time as my gym is all competing at a comp and I’m already peaked so let’s do it again!

Also scored a used once in a novice powerlifting comp Inzer forever 13mm lever belt for $50 as it was gathering dust. It was a bit big but I’ve fixed that with a drill bit and a few new holes. Next comp is IPF affiliated so needed a new belt.
Nice man

Have a bit of a rest, maybe 1 hard week 2 weeks out then rest up and go again, though I'm actually Interested to see how guys back up on short turnarounds

Nice man

Have a bit of a rest, maybe 1 hard week 2 weeks out then rest up and go again, though I'm actually Interested to see how guys back up on short turnarounds
I’m now being coached by the gym owner to get into the community a bit more. Had to start learning flat foot bench and a 20kg squat bar this week alongside natty powerbar. Two cruisy technique sessions today and yesterday, back into heavy singles and doubles Thursday. I’ll have a break after this comp but I get more beat up from hypertrophy than heavy singles as my hips suck.

Fair enough

Yeah doing heaps of barbell rows/tbar rows on back day is what gets my hips, so I limit those exercises to once a fortnight after I've had most days rest from legs (also don't squat anymore due to the lower back)

Funny these days after chest day I feel it in my quads after benching now as it's basically an isometric hold :tearsofjoy:

I plan to start weight training aimed at increasing muscular strength and endurance. I read that for strength exercises, you use trainers, barbells, dumbbells, expanders, or just your own body weight. Since I do not have any equipment yet, I will start without it and use a natural product from rats.army store. Training with weights strengthens the muscles. The stresses experienced while lifting weights will make the muscles more potent and enduring. My goal is to achieve body relief and make my body look better.

i had 10 days off training in december due to bacterial gastro infection and about to take 10 days off training now due to testing positive to covid

vale my gains
3 days in a row back at the gym, getting back in the zone :thumbsu:

heart rate is still a bit higher than normal, did a 2km treadmill run yesterday morning at 12 km/h (5:00 min/km), pre covid I was able to do it with an average heart rate of 146 and yesterdays it was up at 165, resting heart rate a bit elevated too

3 days in a row back at the gym, getting back in the zone :thumbsu:

heart rate is still a bit higher than normal, did a 2km treadmill run yesterday morning at 12 km/h (5:00 min/km), pre covid I was able to do it with an average heart rate of 146 and yesterdays it was up at 165, resting heart rate a bit elevated too
How's your breathing?

Even when walking and weight lifting it's pretty normal but that treadmill run was the first bit of really vigorous cardio I'd done and my breathing was noticeably more laboured

Have definitely heard that from others I know who've had it. That side scares me about getting it!

So, along with the calorie deficit I'm currently on, I was having too many late nights over Xmas break, so I battled through an all nighter on the weekend and got myself waking up before 5 last few days and have decided I'd try a bit of fasted cardio out while the schedule allows for it, hopefully it will accelerate the weight loss too, but I'll need to figure out either optimal carb cycling or optimal training times later in the day so I don't get run down and feeling like its a grind like I have the last couple of Saturdays (though I have Sundays off).

Had a back workout at about 8am Monday morning, wasn't too bad even though I was feeling like s**t from the routine turnaround, caffeine always helps. I generally don't go in the garage before 7am being mindful of neighbours as it's an old school backyard garage seperate of the house.

Walked about 5.5kms yesterday morning just after 6am, had a protein shake beforehand as I woke up at before 330am and needed something, but it was a cardio day, so didn't do any weights afterwards. Had a 800 calorie serve of toast and scrambled eggs straight after the walk just after 730 (4 pieces Burgen toast/6 eggs + low fat milk), strangely it satiated me enough I didn't need to eat again until 430pm where I scoffed down a chicken salad, then had salmon, peas and rice at 8, so got in over 200g protein and roughly 2400 calories for the day.

Walked 4km this morning at 6am also, so it will be interesting to see how my chest and arms session fares later today as it will be my first proper fasted cardio then weights later in the day session as I have never done one of these during a targeted calorie deficit. I've done them before over the years, where I preferred to either swim or do cardio early morning then weights late arvo/early evening but I wasn't tracking my calories then, only daily protein intake and it normally only be a once/twice a week occasion, not a daily/most days thing.

I'll have a mid morning snack around 930-10, but will need to figure out if I should train before lunch or after lunch, though I've always preferred training mid morning/before lunch if I'm up early/schedule allows, though I'd normally do cardio as a warm up instead before I'd train and only have a snack/small breakfast in me beforehand, whereas I'd have done more cardio, have a big breakfast and a snack in me instead now. Had 85g oats which I toasted on a pan and 2 little chobani tubs straight after the walk, so nearly 40g protein, 80g carbs and 600 calories to start the day.

But yeah, I do like the serenity of a quiet dawn trundle, while having the headphones on, I guess it's all trial and error though at the moment, I likely won't be able to fit it in eventually, but if I have the time I think about half hour-45 is enough in the morning on training days, then go longer on cardio only days.

Yeah your sleep cycles seem wild, you post at some crazy hours. What do you do for work?

I think you love the details and get right into the weeds of it all which is great for most of your endeavours but might be over complicating things for dropping weight. Eat less, eat whole foods, high protein and move more. You might have to reframe your training goals for a while, go super light and target mobility or something, accept that you won't be feeling as awesome as when on high calories. Make sure it's something sustainable or as soon as you stop it'll come right back so don't undertake a crazy cardio routine you can't wait to finish. There's a lot to be said about the incidental exercise, I've forgotten the clever acronym but park farther away, take the stairs, all that kinda crap and a quick walk after every meal and all the movement ads up.

These are actually really good. I'm a taller guy, so feels better on my back than traditional Squats.

How are you programming them?

I'm not currently following one other than picking some key exercises and timing it to 1 hour, with random assistance work that'll round out a full-body session. Had a good workout on Monday which included a heavy triple of Zercher's. Bar speed was slow but I still got the reps and could've done a couple more I reckon. Then I took off 30kg and did 2 sets of 8. Felt great. The next time I do them I'm gonna try and hit 4 reps and maybe add a rep or two in my drop sets.

I liked challenging myself to 1 hour and on off days I want to do more HIIT training to improve my conditioning.

Any advice on how to progressively overload HIIT training? Yesterday I did a 5-minute warmup, then 8 sets of 20 seconds fast with 40 seconds rest. Then 5 minutes cool down. On a recumbent bike. The last couple of sets were tough.

How are you programming them?

I'm not currently following one other than picking some key exercises and timing it to 1 hour, with random assistance work that'll round out a full-body session. Had a good workout on Monday which included a heavy triple of Zercher's. Bar speed was slow but I still got the reps and could've done a couple more I reckon. Then I took off 30kg and did 2 sets of 8. Felt great. The next time I do them I'm gonna try and hit 4 reps and maybe add a rep or two in my drop sets.

I liked challenging myself to 1 hour and on off days I want to do more HIIT training to improve my conditioning.

Any advice on how to progressively overload HIIT training? Yesterday I did a 5-minute warmup, then 8 sets of 20 seconds fast with 40 seconds rest. Then 5 minutes cool down. On a recumbent bike. The last couple of sets were tough.
I'm not too serious about it all. I'm happy with where I am at body wise and don't do competitive sport currently, so mostly it's just maintenance for me. I just do 3x10 zerchers.
Most weeks I do 3 sessions. 1 legs, 1 upper body and 1 whole body. So I only hit legs twice.

In terms of HIIT, never done that in the gym, only ever for cardio, endurance sports. It was usually a matter of adding more intervals to a workout or increasing the pace of each interval. Pretty much kept recovery between intervals steady. Used to cycle the program a bit - 3 hard weeks 1 easy week type of thing. Would gradually reduce long slow distance work during the preseason and add more sprint/interval work as the competition season approached.

I'm not too serious about it all. I'm happy with where I am at body wise and don't do competitive sport currently, so mostly it's just maintenance for me. I just do 3x10 zerchers.
Most weeks I do 3 sessions. 1 legs, 1 upper body and 1 whole body. So I only hit legs twice.

In terms of HIIT, never done that in the gym, only ever for cardio, endurance sports. It was usually a matter of adding more intervals to a workout or increasing the pace of each interval. Pretty much kept recovery between intervals steady. Used to cycle the program a bit - 3 hard weeks 1 easy week type of thing. Would gradually reduce long slow distance work during the preseason and add more sprint/interval work as the competition season approached.
How many intervals would you increase to? I was thinking of doing that, and increasing the resistance dial. I'd scale back the number of intervals if I did longer sprints and shorter rest. Maybe work up to 40-second sprints and 20 seconds rest for sets. That sounds... brutal.