Weird football scores

In the round recently completed:

North Melbourne's quarter time score was 0.0
Geelong's quarter time score was 1.1
Collingwood's quarter time score was 2.2 (as was West Coast's)
Essendon's quarter time score was 3.3
Brisbane Lions' quarter time score was 4.4 (as was GWS' half time score)
Geelong's full time score was 5.5
Carlton's three quarter time score was 6.6

Led at half time and then lost by over 100 points:

VFA Second Division
Sunshine 6.5 11.8 14.11 16.14 (110)
Oakleigh 6.4 10.12 22.15 33.21 (219)
25 July 1982 at Skinner Reserve
What was with the VFA in the eighties? The scoring was incredible.
Reminds me of a VFL game from 1986. The Hawks and the Cats, Round 21, 1986. It was a tight first half and the Hawks led by only three points, and then out of nowhere the Hawks piled on 25 more goals to win by 135 points.

One unique score i have never forgotten – maybe its allready been mentioned in the thread ( hopefully not by me – ha )

But I can remember as a kid when it happened – and there were quite a few headlines – re the score

And it was round 2 1969 Carlton v Hawthorn at Princess Park

And the Blues had a big day out – they kicked 30 goals and 30 behinds (and the score did create a few headlines) and flogged the Hawks by 20 plus goals

So a score of 30.30 did capture the imagination back in the day – and I reckon 60 shots on goal would be right up their in highest ever re VFL/AFL
Second-most scoring shots on record, behind Hawthorn’s own 25.41 (191) in Round 6, 1977 against St. Kilda at the same ground. That was a remarkable round as a whole, for Carlton and Essendon, the two clubs with most premierships, both lost by over 100 points! In complete contrast to eight seasons earlier, Carlton’s score against Collingwood of 7.8 (50) was the lowest of the round by a whopping 39 points, with the next-lowest score being the Bombers’ 13.11 (89)!

Whereas Hawthorn’s astonishing tally of 41 behinds – the equal record for all major Australian Rules football leagues with East Fremantle in the WAFL against Midland Junction way back in 1917 – was very much a “team” effort with 13 players kicking behinds and eleven kicking at least two behinds, Carlton’s huge scoring shot tally against the Hawks was chiefly the work of Alex Jesaulenko, who kicked 6 goals 12 behinds. No player for the Hawks in Round 6, 1977 kicked more than 6 behinds.

One of my club's games from 1996.
Penrith 1.4 2.8 5.12 15.15 (105)
Hawkesbury 2.3 7.5 8.9 8.10 (58)

And they did virtually the same thing three years later.
Penrith 0.5 3.8 6.9 15.12 (102)
S-W Sydney 1.5 4.6 7.9 7.10 (52)

One of my club's games from 1996.
Penrith 1.4 2.8 5.12 15.15 (105)
Hawkesbury 2.3 7.5 8.9 8.10 (58)

And they did virtually the same thing three years later.
Penrith 0.5 3.8 6.9 15.12 (102)
S-W Sydney 1.5 4.6 7.9 7.10 (52)
The mighty Rams!

That also would've been awfully close to when J.Brock played for them (family friend of my dad) probably early career though. Was about a 10 year player i think

Hawkesbury were the Saints wernt they?

I dont think I ever played SW Sydney (In either Juniors or u18s)

The mighty Rams!

That also would've been awfully close to when J.Brock played for them (family friend of my dad) probably early career though. Was about a 10 year player i think

Hawkesbury were the Saints wernt they?

I dont think I ever played SW Sydney (In either Juniors or u18s)
I know Brocky. Started around the mid 90s. :)

Yes, Hawkesbury were the Saints (played in Saints guernseys too). They changed their name to Nor-West Jets in the late 90s.

S-W Sydney play out of Rosedale Oval. Great venue (it's a grade cricket oval).

Who did you play footy for up here?

I know Brocky. Started around the mid 90s. :)

Yes, Hawkesbury were the Saints (played in Saints guernseys too). They changed their name to Nor-West Jets in the late 90s.

S-W Sydney play out of Rosedale Oval. Great venue (it's a grade cricket oval).

Who did you play footy for up here?

Knew he was there late 90s (remember going to 98 sf with him) and I think still there in 07 when I visited as a demons player.

U9s-10s - penrith Rams come swans ( lived at glenmore Park)
U11s-14s - north ryde kangaroos (lived at west Ryde from here on out)
U15s - Forrest lions
U16s-18s - pennant hills Demons

Moved to adelaide in 2008 and played 1 season here before getting into goal umpiring.

Knew he was there late 90s (remember going to 98 sf with him) and I think still there in 07 when I visited as a demons player.

U9s-10s - penrith Rams come swans ( lived at glenmore Park)
U11s-14s - north ryde kangaroos (lived at west Ryde from here on out)
U15s - Forrest lions
U16s-18s - pennant hills Demons

Moved to adelaide in 2008 and played 1 season here before getting into goal umpiring.
Ah, small world.

I remember the night that Brocky came down to training for the first time with a services mate.

I've been at the Rams a long time.....

Led at half time and then lost by over 100 points:

VFA Second Division
Sunshine 6.5 11.8 14.11 16.14 (110)
Oakleigh 6.4 10.12 22.15 33.21 (219)
25 July 1982 at Skinner Reserve

Maybe not quite led at half time, but Geelong in the 80's and in 1990 managed to do that (or all but that) in games against Hawthorn twice and Essendon.

I recall Jacko kicked a goal to put Geelong ahead against Essendon at Windy Hill in the 3rd, before the Bombers won 148-51

Round 21 that year at princes Park the Hawks led 68-65 against Geelong at half time, then smashed the Cats 225-90

And the 1990 opening round, the Grand Final replay of Hawthorn and Geelong at VFL park saw Geelong nudge ahead early in the 3rd before the Hawks killed Geelong 192-77.

Weren't always the best of times for us Cats fans, although in my case being born in 1968, i think i've been alive to see about 30 of Geelong's 37 wins by 100 points.

Perhaps not the best of times in terms of flags, but you must admit that Geelong was always entertaining in that era. Even when losing.

And the 1990 opening round, the Grand Final replay of Hawthorn and Geelong at VFL park saw Geelong nudge ahead early in the 3rd before the Hawks killed Geelong 192-77.

Five minutes into the third quarter: Geelong 10.6.66 leading Hawthorn 9.11.65
The rest of the game: Hawthorn 19.13.127 defeated Geelong 1.5.11
Crazy stuff.

What was with the VFA in the eighties? The scoring was incredible.
Reminds me of a VFL game from 1986. The Hawks and the Cats, Round 21, 1986. It was a tight first half and the Hawks led by only three points, and then out of nowhere the Hawks piled on 25 more goals to win by 135 points.

There was a WAFL game in 1979 where the struggling Subiaco Lions kicked 20.7-127 - one of their highest scores of the season - but it wasn't enough to save them from a 124-point thrashing from Swan Districts, the Lions' defense conceding a massive 40.11-251 to the black and whites.

In this year's Geelong v Freo game, at half time Geelong had scored only two goals, yet they led the game by three goals.
Geelong's 18 point half-time lead is the biggest for a team that had two (or less) goals at half-time since Fitzroy (21 points) in 1915:
1599633446247.png
There's been 8 games where a team with two (or less) goals at half-time had a lead of 18 (or more) points: 3x18, 2x19, 1x21, 2x23.

Best ever half-time lead is 23 points:
1599633620139.png
1599633685461.png

This game between St. Kilda and South Melbourne in Round 3 1975 at Moorabbin was a bit of an odd one:

St Kilda 6.9 8.12 11.20 11.21-87 d. South Melbourne 0.3 2.11 5.13 9.17-71

I'm not sure of the weather conditions at Moorabbin that day, given the first and last quarters one would say that the breeze may have played a factor, with the Saints kicking with it in quarters 1 and 3 and the Swans in 2 and 4. However, in the second and third quarters the teams had the same number of goals which seems to suggest there wasn't overly windy conditions at the ground that day. And while the Swans may have been caught napping in the first term, it's strange that the Saints could only manage 0.1 to the Swans' 4.4 in the final term, when all afternoon the Saints had had no trouble scoring, albeit inaccurately.

I was just looking at scores in games I umpired in 2015 (a grade only)

I umpired 3 games with the winning margin 130+

In all 3 circumstances the winning score was 172

There was a WAFL game in 1979 where the struggling Subiaco Lions kicked 20.7-127 - one of their highest scores of the season - but it wasn't enough to save them from a 124-point thrashing from Swan Districts, the Lions' defense conceding a massive 40.11-251 to the black and whites.

In Under-15s in 1983, Karoonda JFC beat Applecross JFC (my team) 40 goals something to one straight point. Michael Broadbridge (WA 1985 Teal Cup player and later East Fremantle and Swan Districts player) kicked ten goals against me when I was playing on the half-forward flank!

There was a SANFL game back in 2003 where a team kicked 16.0 in the last quarter, finishing with a remarkably accurate 32.5:

North Adelaide: 2.1 7.4 9.7 11.8 (74)
Central District: 6.1 11.4 16.5 32.5 (197)

Today’s VFL practice match between Footscray and Casey
Footscray’s quarter by quarter scores - 7.7, 10.10, 14.14, 19.19

Unfortunately Casey ruined it
2.1, 3.3, 4.4, 4.4

A few Bomber ones:

The Dons kicked 11 behinds in 4 straight games from Rounds 4-7 in 1955 and lost all 4 games
2.11 8.11 6.11 9.11

1968 round 3 v Carlton both teams amazingly no goals to half time (0.5 v 0.7) - Bombers kick 7 goals to 1 in the second half

The Dons kicked 14 behinds in 4 straight games from Rounds 9-12 in 2001 (3 wins and 1 loss)
18.14 10.14 19.14 18.14