List Mgmt. Welcome Bailey Smith - officially (and finally) traded to Geelong

Which hairstyle group should Bailey Smith join ahead of season 2025

This.....they go out of their way to shelter players and hide the drug use, but then get all righteous when a guy sarcastically responds to a snide remark that he cops regularly.

If the AFL is so bloody worried about 'image' and 'perception' then how about it have a crack at being fair dinkum on the issue, rather than having a crack at a guy using sarcastic humour?!
Let's be real, AFL house would rival the Wolf of Wall Street's level of debauchery at times too.

They're just towing the company line of what tests well in focus groups, and keeping things family friendly.

Big corporations rarely care about how heinous things are or aren't, it's just about what they look like to the public. The AFL is no different.

AFL won’t do shit, they just want to be seen as doing the right thing as drugs are bad, but like every multi billion dollar company in the world, drug use is huge.
The only problem with that , and alot of people saying what Smith said is sort of ok and if other afl players are into so called recreational drugs then big deal

But that totally ignores the massive problems that drugs cause , probably the worst example of that ever and to show that drugs have no boundaries at all , is that case in NSW about 8-10 years ago where you had 2 Neurosurgeons operating in the Public Hospital System

2 blokes , one 20 years older than the other became infatuated with each other ( thats their business ) they were both getting smashed out of their mind on so called recreational drugs , so much so that one of them overdosed and died

So they held a full inquiry and they seized their emails , and they were emailing each other , and they would typically read , im smashed out of my mind , ive got important operations to perform in 50-60 minutes time , im taking other stuff to try to get back to normality but its not working , im panicking , what should i do

Brad Hazzard was the Health minister at the time , he and the whole NSW public were outraged , youve got Mr and Mrs Joe Public , or worse still a young child lying in a public hospital bed awaiting a critical operation on their brain , and you have 2 highly educated , irresponsible Neurosurgeons who are performing those operations but are getting smashed out of their mind on so called recreational drugs very close to operating time , so much so that one of them died .

The only problem with that , and alot of people saying what Smith said is sort of ok and if other afl players are into so called recreational drugs then big deal

But that totally ignores the massive problems that drugs cause , probably the worst example of that ever and to show that drugs have no boundaries at all , is that case in NSW about 8-10 years ago where you had 2 Neurosurgeons operating in the Public Hospital System

2 blokes , one 20 years older than the other became infatuated with each other ( thats their business ) they were both getting smashed out of their mind on so called recreational drugs , so much so that one of them overdosed and died

So they held a full inquiry and they seized their emails , and they were emailing each other , and they would typically read , im smashed out of my mind , ive got important operations to perform in 50-60 minutes time , im taking other stuff to try to get back to normality but its not working , im panicking , what should i do

Brad Hazzard was the Health minister at the time , he and the whole NSW public were outraged , youve got Mr and Mrs Joe Public , or worse still a young child lying in a public hospital bed awaiting a critical operation on their brain , and you have 2 highly educated , irresponsible Neurosurgeons who are performing those operations but are getting smashed out of their mind on so called recreational drugs very close to operating time , so much so that one of them died .
Now apply the same microscope to drinking in society.

Anyway, how many threads really need to be taken over by this?

AFL won’t do shit, they just want to be seen as doing the right thing as drugs are bad, but like every multi billion dollar company in the world, drug use is huge.
Probably more substances taken in AFL HQ than all the players put together

I got a better understanding of Smith listening to the interview, even if both he and the interviewer are from a generation I struggle to connect with.

I think it is pretty clear that the Bulldogs treated him extremely poorly last year, even if Smith was laying the blame more at the feet of the media than his old club. Very unprofessional from the Bulldogs.

Hypocrites
can-this-be-so-suprised.gif

Baz will prob get a "be smarter" from the club on this one and the AFL has put him on notice - not unsurprisingly.

The AFL hypocrisy is real and palpable - they want the sizzle, clicks and eyeballs but only on their terms.

Im not a drug user myself so I just dont get it - but ive been around plenty that do. TO each their own however when an employer has a set of rules and there are kids that also follow their idols step by step, those involved have to read to room carefully

Baz will do what he wants and know he knows theres a line.

IMO hes smart enough to know how to avoid that line again.

Im the meantime, play footy lad - thats what you do best

Go Catters

Baz will prob get a "be smarter" from the club on this one and the AFL has put him on notice - not unsurprisingly.

The AFL hypocrisy is real and palpable - they want the sizzle, clicks and eyeballs but only on their terms.

Im not a drug user myself so I just dont get it - but ive been around plenty that do. TO each their own however when an employer has a set of rules and there are kids that also follow their idols step by step, those involved have to read to room carefully

Baz will do what he wants and know he knows theres a line.

IMO hes smart enough to know how to avoid that line again.

Im the meantime, play footy lad - thats what you do best

Go Catters
I would suggest that all evidence points to the fact that this is absolutely not the case

But that being said it was a harmless smart arse comment so who cares, as long as he isn't a distraction and is playing good footy there is nothing wrong with having personality... he is absolutely a watch though in terms of keeping him on the straight and narrow (to an extent) it could all go pear shaped very quickly for us if we play it wrong

I would suggest that all evidence points to the fact that this is absolutely not the case

But that being said it was a harmless smart arse comment so who cares, as long as he isn't a distraction and is playing good footy there is nothing wrong with having personality... he is absolutely a watch though in terms of keeping him on the straight and narrow (to an extent) it could all go pear shaped very quickly for us if we play it wrong

this is 100% was for sure....

GO Catters

This.....they go out of their way to shelter players and hide the drug use, but then get all righteous when a guy sarcastically responds to a snide remark that he cops regularly.

If the AFL is so bloody worried about 'image' and 'perception' then how about it have a crack at being fair dinkum on the issue, rather than having a crack at a guy using sarcastic humour?!
Yep- Dillon really isn’t quite sophisticated enough on such things.

Not wanting to intrude.

Respectfully I hate your club more than any. Personally I love the way Bailey goes about it. Talk the talk and back it up by walking the walk.

I hate the bloke, but I think hating the villains in the game is part of the theatre. The game is better for it.

The fixture is a raffle, the umpiring is a raffle, the tribunal is a raffle. Anything the AFL is responsible for is a raffle!

AFL need to sort their shit out and let the players do their thing.

Just my thoughts, for the record your club makes me hate Easter and that’s really shit for my kids. Hope you’re proud of yourselves!
Sure- but what’s to hate?

I listened to Baz’s podcast and he is very honest and upfront, a young man with a lot of talent and opportunities trying to figure it out.

I don’t like the narrative that he abandoned the Bulldogs and they did everything they could to accommodate him. I don’t know why that is accepted as fact when you look at the history of good players wanting to leave, how Ugle-Hagen is going, other players there suffering mental health battles - Luke Dalhouse for example. How Bevo escapes scrutiny and responsibility for any of this boggles the mind.

I’m sure the truth is somewhere in the middle of it all and 100% Bailey could’ve done things better, which at least he admits. He doesn’t come across as a victim at all and blaming others, but he does make a good point about the media. They are the scourge of AFL and constantly bring up and focus on controversy and anything that will bring more clicks and reactions.

The social media reaction by some is shameful.

I listened to Baz’s podcast and he is very honest and upfront, a young man with a lot of talent and opportunities trying to figure it out.

I don’t like the narrative that he abandoned the Bulldogs and they did everything they could to accommodate him. I don’t know why that is accepted as fact when you look at the history of good players wanting to leave, how Ugle-Hagen is going, other players there suffering mental health battles - Luke Dalhouse for example. How Bevo escapes scrutiny and responsibility for any of this boggles the mind.

I’m sure the truth is somewhere in the middle of it all and 100% Bailey could’ve done things better, which at least he admits. He doesn’t come across as a victim at all and blaming others, but he does make a good point about the media. They are the scourge of AFL and constantly bring up and focus on controversy and anything that will bring more clicks and reactions.

The social media reaction by some is shameful.
I'm about half way through and the interview seems very honest, brutally so. A lot of what he is talking through is also a blueprint for developing payers that do not wilt under pressure. Many similarities to what he's talking about and what Grimes brought to Richmond in their premiership era

But that being said it was a harmless smart arse comment so who cares.
Like you, I think there's plenty of evidence that suggests Lenka is not all that clever. And that the 'stream of consciousness' style of communication that he routinely engages in doesn't involve much forethought at all.

That in itself is not really much of an issue. After all, he's simply a footballer at heart. The problem comes with the platform that football gives him to have his view publicised to the world so extensively. He definitely benefits from that publicity so he also is called to consider the accountability that comes with the benefits.

And this is where a comment like his throwaway remark around the drugs issue is certainly not harmless. That comment is being read by very young people with very impressionable minds, many of whom would have no idea of whether he was being serious, sarcastic, or something in between.

So he of course has the right to say whatever he likes to whoever he likes in his personal communication. But if it's going out on his socials or in an interview, I think he has a very real responsibility to communicate in a way that is not easily misconstrued as tacit support for illicit activities, at the very least.

In essence, some of the very sizeable contract he is paid to play footy could also be considered as payment to express slightly less of yourself in your public proclamations. There is a responsibility to communicate in a way that sets a decent example for those footy followers who will be invested in his every word. And making light of drugs as a very damaging issue in many people's lives clearly doesn't take that responsibility seriously enough in my view.

We've now seemingly got an answer to the question, "How long did Bailey sign for at Geelong" -

The Herald Sun understands Smith moved to the Cats on a six-year deal of around $900,000, in a contract that rewarded his potential but also allowed Geelong to continue its record of prudent cap management.

dazbroncos, not sure what we've got listed in Catscan but this could help with updating for the correct info for Bailey

We've now seemingly got an answer to the question, "How long did Bailey sign for at Geelong" -

dazbroncos, not sure what we've got listed in Catscan but this could help with updating for the correct info for Bailey

Bargain.

I wonder what his Brownlow/Norm Smith combo has as an incentive?

Bargain.

I wonder what his Brownlow/Norm Smith combo has as an incentive?

Nothing 😂

Most players on less than $1 million per season have best-and-fairest, All Australian and even games-based triggers to ensure their upside is protected.

Those incentives can be as much as $50,000 for winning the best and fairest ($40,000 for second, $30,000 for third) and $50,000 for All Australian.

They are all negotiated individually given some positional types are not Brownlow Medal pollers, but Smith has protection as well as many of the normal CBA rises factored in...

...No players have Brownlow Medal incentives because of the rarity of collecting the game’s biggest individual trophy but the acclaim and profile from that award is also hugely lucrative.

But he likely had an AA and/or Carji incentives written into the contract

All from the above link

Hmmm. Well I'll happily buy him some dimmies if he wins either. Would that count as a salary cap rort?

We've got a Marathon Dimsim sponsorship at the club, so he's probably getting his share already

Can't wait for that to hit the headlines though and how we're rorting the salary cap with our players getting a weekly dimmie allowance

List Mgmt. Welcome Bailey Smith - officially (and finally) traded to Geelong