List Mgmt. Welcome Deven Robertson (2025 SSP Selection)

Jaysus. Give Dev the benefit of the doubt before writing him off. I think he'll be a pretty handy player for us.

Walks straight into the side and does plenty of heavy lifting in the guts.
That looks like all he will be able to do as I can’t see him on a flank or wing. So it depends what we envision Graham doing, whether Yeo comes back into the middle, and whether we want onball time for Hall and Hewett.

I think he’s a decent inside mid but not sure he’s versatile enough to be a role player in the typical sense

Neither are likely to push the other to the 2's. I expect both will play AFL level until the kids push one or both of them out.

You're probably right, and that's a bad thing. Dev didn't get a game with Brisbane because he struggles with ball movement, and a change of scenery won't change that; it will just expose these weaknesses to more sunlight.

I think he’s going to be the contested ball pig we need. I mean imagine being down the pecking order at 23/24 years of age in a back to back premiership winning midfield.

His mid 30d, high tackle count games this year in the VFL should do quite nicely when we struggle with first use and Graham has not been a ball winning solution.

Averaged 26d and 6t, won the Brisbane joint B&F, been in VFL team of the year last two seasons. I think played in the guts he’s a chance to improve our first use right away. Gross and or Hall might eclipse him in the eventual wash up and that’s fine too

Is there anything you like about anything?

It is what it is. Someone posted the club's strategy in the draft thread last week. Dev isn't intended to be a forever option but he's more ready than a lot of the options that will be running around in the WAFL so he'll be given an opportunity to claim a spot in the best 23. Keep in mind that he was in a queue behind Neale, Dunkley, McCluggage and Ashcroft.

Almost drops the ball with 2 hands. Needs to guide it with the right hand to the boot for longer, decreasing the uncontrolled air time before the boot. The ball drop also looks quite vertical, but that seems to work for some people.

He’ll be the most successful of the three but will probably ended up with 30-50 games in like in 4 years and eventually get delisted. This is not me being negative cause I reckon that sort of career would be vital to this aging list and him being delisted should imply the list is moving in the right direction

That looks like all he will be able to do as I can’t see him on a flank or wing. So it depends what we envision Graham doing, whether Yeo comes back into the middle, and whether we want onball time for Hall and Hewett.

I think he’s a decent inside mid but not sure he’s versatile enough to be a role player in the typical sense
Will be more successful in the midfield next year than all of those players bar a fit Yeo.

I daresay he struggled with ball movement because he plays the type of role that starts the chain.

Then when put in the senior team, sat on the HFF.

But with Chess going out the list profile probably hasn’t changed that dramatically in terms of good looking roosters
Nah not the same. Chess couldn't fight his way out of melted Glad Wrap whereas Dev is both pretty and tough . Like Starcevich he is just out on that field exuding machismo. Must be the Brisbane water or something

Oh bloody hell mate. We've been crying out for for mature midfield depth for aeons now and it strolls through the door free of charge...Meh? Who would you have preferred? Its an important stepping stone towards positive change, not the final evolution of our center bounces. Always critical, you are.

Take a walk in the sun and get some vitaman D or something. Talk about being a drag.

Almost drops the ball with 2 hands. Needs to guide it with the right hand to the boot for longer, decreasing the uncontrolled air time before the boot. The ball drop also looks quite vertical, but that seems to work for some people.
Worked fine for Jim & Phil Krakouer!

I think he will surprise a few and we need players of his ilk to be that bigger body that blocks and doesnt do all the flashy stuff.

At best he becomes a 2018 Mark Hutchings.

Oh bloody hell mate. We've been crying out for for mature midfield depth for aeons now and it strolls through the door free of charge...Meh? Who would you have preferred? Its an important stepping stone towards positive change, not the final evolution of our center bounces. Always critical, you are.

Take a walk in the sun and get some vitaman D or something. Talk about being a drag.

Dev is a known quantity. No reason to have a cry over it.

Schoenberg is certainly more the type of player we need and his versatility is what earnt him games.

Are people seriously writing off Dev already??? 🤣🤣🤣
Does he need another 5 years?

Good attack on the ball and iffy disposal sums up Dev. I think its very harsh to assume Dev wouldnt be in your top 25 players.

He reminds me of Jarryd Lyons. Lyons was a dynamic 1 2 punch with Neale in 2019 and 2020. He had a huge roll to play in lifting Lions stoppage craft and contested ball. He was key to Lions getting out of the bottom 4 and into the top 4 for those years.

Part of the problem with Devs disposal in VFL level is he is playing with a rotating lineup of top up players. Its hard to build up synergy when you have different players each week to work with.

At AFL level he didnt find the ball enough. However, he was always playing out of his preferred position.

Its unfortunate that Dev wad always injured at the same time a role would open up for him ie a Neale injury.

Hope Dev goes well this year.

He'd be bleh to most teams, but for our team he walks into the best 22, at least initially.

Something tells me they aren't going to run around with Reid, Hewett, Gross, Hall, Duursma in the midfield together.

McQualter doesn't have the peen for that. He still hasn't recovered from Carlton flogging our team at gather round last year and we're going to need some super valuable experience and leadership at the coal face. This is where Tim Kelly comes in.

*canned laughter

Dev is a known quantity. No reason to have a cry over it.

Schoenberg is certainly more the type of player we need and his versatility is what earnt him games.

Does he need another 5 years?
"Past performance is not an indicator of future performance" I'm sure you've heard the disclaimer before.

I'd remind you of the fact that Dev has played two fifths of **** all midfield time at Brisbane, but you already know that...so he's not exactly a known quantity, is he?

No one is in here spruiking him as the second coming of Chris Judd, we all know what he's been brought in for. He's a limited player, but limited to a role we are specifically lacking depth in. Why not wait until he's played for us in his suited position before trudging in here like a clinically depressed Nostradamus?

And yes, Schoenberg is more versatile and could surprise a few here. I agree with you there.

It is what it is. Someone posted the club's strategy in the draft thread last week. Dev isn't intended to be a forever option but he's more ready than a lot of the options that will be running around in the WAFL so he'll be given an opportunity to claim a spot in the best 23. Keep in mind that he was in a queue behind Neale, Dunkley, McCluggage and Ashcroft.
What’s a forever option? I always get bemused by posters saying player X is a stop gap etc. Father Time is undefeated. No one is a forever option.

Everyone we recruit should be recruited with the hope they’re around for the next premiership. I for one hope Dev is still in the team when we raise the premiership cup

"Past performance is not an indicator of future performance" I'm sure you've heard the disclaimer before.

I'd remind you of the fact that Dev has played two fifths of **** all midfield time at Brisbane, but you already know that...so he's not exactly a known quantity, is he?

No one is in here spruiking him as the second coming of Chris Judd, we all know what he's been brought in for. He's a limited player, but limited to a role we are specifically lacking depth in. Why not wait until he's played for us in his suited position before trudging in here like a clinically depressed Nostradamus?

And yes, Schoenberg is more versatile and could surprise a few here. I agree with you there.
Onfield he is a supporter and leader. He brings standards and professionalism as part of the development environment we haven't had

List Mgmt. Welcome Deven Robertson (2025 SSP Selection)