List Mgmt. Welcome Kane Lucas Pick 10 2014 Rookie Draft

Current proven AFL midfielders on our list
- Priddis
- Rosa
- Selwood
- Masten
- Wellingham

- Ellis (generously calling him a mid, when really a half back flanker/injured)
- Shuey
- Gaff
- Yeo
- Hutchings

Then a range of players who can rotate for periods including Lecras, McGinnity, Sheppard, Cripps

That is not a deep midfield at the moment, adding Lucas was necessary, while we wait to see if the Sheed, Newman, and the rookies can step up.

I'd scrap those red ones.

Wellingham and Masten have proven they lack at least one key feature required to play as a "midfielder" at the highest level.

Yeo and Hutch need more time.

Current proven AFL midfielders on our list
- Priddis
- Rosa
- Selwood
- Masten
- Wellingham
- Ellis (generously calling him a mid, when really a half back flanker/injured)
- Shuey
- Gaff
- Yeo
- Hutchings

as stated above, a bit generous re: yeo and hutchings at this stage.

The only bloke on our midfield list that can get to Ablett/pendlebury status is Shuey.
The rest we have been watching for 5 years and every single year we say the same thing that this is the year they will do it.
Outside of Shuey only wellingham who in my view is more an outside wingman and Yeo who is more of a backman have any A grade Status ahead of them.
Selwood, Masten etc will try their asses off, they will play plenty of contributing games and the members and supporters will clap and support them hoping next year they will become A grade. in the meantime the years tick bye, nothing changes, the same starting midfield and the same results against the good sides. we will always bully the crap sides because that is what B grade players do to C grade players.
I know round 1 we will see Natanui-Shuey-Priddis and selwood as our starting midfield. the same as three years ago.
I hope they some how jump out of the ground and make me eat humble pie, but I have plenty of money to bet that at the end of next year the same old story of we have no a Grade mids is the talk of the country again.
I honestly believe with what we have we could finish top 4, and that shits me the most that we won't trade out or look to change this same midfield that has basically been there for 5 years. if we have to go backwards to go forwards then so be it.
I so hope I am wrong but 5 years of the same is a good enough sample for me.

The only bloke on our midfield list that can get to Ablett/pendlebury status is Shuey.
The rest we have been watching for 5 years and every single year we say the same thing that this is the year they will do it.
Outside of Shuey only wellingham who in my view is more an outside wingman and Yeo who is more of a backman have any A grade Status ahead of them.
Selwood, Masten etc will try their asses off, they will play plenty of contributing games and the members and supporters will clap and support them hoping next year they will become A grade. in the meantime the years tick bye, nothing changes, the same starting midfield and the same results against the good sides. we will always bully the crap sides because that is what B grade players do to C grade players.
I know round 1 we will see Natanui-Shuey-Priddis and selwood as our starting midfield. the same as three years ago.
I hope they some how jump out of the ground and make me eat humble pie, but I have plenty of money to bet that at the end of next year the same old story of we have no a Grade mids is the talk of the country again.
I honestly believe with what we have we could finish top 4, and that shits me the most that we won't trade out or look to change this same midfield that has basically been there for 5 years. if we have to go backwards to go forwards then so be it.
I so hope I am wrong but 5 years of the same is a good enough sample for me.

Yeo has the most potential of anyone on our list to become an A grade mid.

Definitely very bitter that he was delisted after being told he was a required player and desperate to prove Carlton (esp. Mick) wrong. Hopefully a motivating factor to help him improve as a player.

More the lack of communication from your head coach that would sting. Not even worth a conversation... classless.

And finally, the third reason for the rage generation, is that underneath the bad decisions, softness, and shattered confidence, there is an AFL-quality footballer there. In physical terms at least. His first season showed that he can play football. If you guys can make him step up and correct the issues between his ears then your development staff will be due a generous amount of praise.
Further proof that recruiting players based on physical attributes, not footballing ability, is a waste of time. I simply fail to understand why recruiters keep going down this path.

The Koutoufides effect. It's a hangover from when people became obsessed with "the prototype footballer" and having the right "attributes".

Thankfully I think it's gradually starting to swing back the other way and recruiters are starting look for players who are footballers first. Caleb Daniel getting picked up in the draft is a good sign.

From everything I've heard Kane Lucas and Mitch Duncan are, allegedly, the two biggest flogs to ever come out of Trinity. I don't think he'd have too much trouble with blokes like Robinson. Not sure what your issue with Murphy is though?
I'm just kidding. I think Murphy is overrated, a massive sook on field and I dislike Carlton in general but I have no idea what he is like as a person.

My original post about Lucas was just me being a dick

A good mix is best. When you have an entire starting midfield with roughly the same physical attributes (Selwood, Priddis, Masten, Hutchings) it pays off to add something different. I'd use Yeo as an example, and he's not even a pure midfielder.

to be fair, those draft profiles of lucas rated him for more than just physical upside. they talk about heaps of footy ability.

at first I was like everyone here, a bit of yeah ok, blah blah blah but seeing him in that press conference you could see the fire in his eyes, I'm actually happy we got him now, no doubt at all that he'll work his ass off, has a point to prove, think he will be a starting 22 before season out, good depth, good pick up.

Hope he does well but tell me again why we delisted Dalziell (not that I disagree with that) to replace him a year later with Lucas.
I don't think this is a good comparison. Lucas has football skills not simply running ability. Dalziell is a great endurance athlete not much else. Not the same types of players at all IMO.

Sorry to intrude here, but I have to ask. Are you guys genuinely happy with this player? Do you think he will be another Brad Dalziell?

I'm happy we picked him up. If he can get his injuries right i can see him very much as a rosa type player with a higher athletic ceiling. Which is good enough to being in the top 25-30 players of a top 4 team which is what you need as a squad to challenge for a premiership.

Sorry to intrude here, but I have to ask. Are you guys genuinely happy with this player? Do you think he will be another Brad Dalziell?
Well he won't be another Colin Sylvia at least

List Mgmt. Welcome Kane Lucas Pick 10 2014 Rookie Draft