Player Watch Pick #55 (2021) - Hugh Jackson

The player he most reminds me of is Roger James

Anyone think he looks a bit like Dan Houston?

Love this pick. Was really impressed with a lot of his games this year. A couple of down ones, but when your base standard is a 30 touch, 8 inside 50, 8 clearance game then there's a lot of raw talent. Genuine midfielder. Can play.

Saw a few of his better games and was super impressed. Watch this kid...he could be our pick of the draft.

I’m pumped to have a ripper Crystal Brook lad in the team!
Is he the kid that played senior footy whilst he was a junior with 2020 Magarey Medal winner Campbell Combe, when Combe went back to the family farm for 3 or 4 years between stints at North??

I’m pumped to have a ripper Crystal Brook lad in the team!

Had a long chat with Neville Thiele a few weeks back who told me Russell Ebert had a fair bit to do with promoting Port in the Crystal Brook area

years ago*. Apparently he was casually asked if he could help out with a prize gift or some such. Well Russ turned up a week or so later with a stack

of guernseys, polo tops etc and by stack I mean something like 6 or more of each. According to Neville it had a huge impact in the area.

I'm talking eyes widening and jaws dropping. Russell's reaction to the gobsmacked thanks was little more than a shrug of the shoulders.

* iirc it was not long after we joined the AFL.

Love this pick. Was really impressed with a lot of his games this year. A couple of down ones, but when your base standard is a 30 touch, 8 inside 50, 8 clearance game then there's a lot of raw talent. Genuine midfielder. Can play.

Some double up vision in these clips and while not perfect in everything he does he's neat with a high ceiling. Great pickup, one to watch down the track.

I've got a soft spot for Crystal Brook. When I was a kid at the Legacy Orphanage (Waverley Hostel) on Sth Tce, we were billeted out on school holidays

especially Christmas ones, to families (presumably they were Legatees?) anyway the Sargant* family took me in at their farm just outside the town.

* not sure of the correct spelling, think I was about 8 at the time. I can remember catching the train up there unescorted, the guard probably told

"keep an eye out for him". Different times hey :)

Some double up vision in these clips and while not perfect in everything he does he's neat with a high ceiling. Great pickup, one to watch down the track.

I've got a soft spot for Crystal Brook. When I was a kid at the Legacy Orphanage Waverley Hostel on Sth Tce we were billeted out on school holidays

especially Christmas ones to families (presumably they were Legatees?) anyway the Sargant* family took me in at their farm just outside the town.

* not sure of the correct spelling, think I was about 8 at the time. I can remember catching the train up there unescorted. The guard probably told

My family farm is a couple of paddocks over from the Sargents.

I've got a soft spot for Crystal Brook. When I was a kid at the Legacy Orphanage (Waverley Hostel) on Sth Tce, we were billeted out on school holidays

especially Christmas ones, to families (presumably they were Legatees?) anyway the Sargant* family took me in at their farm just outside the town.

* not sure of the correct spelling, think I was about 8 at the time. I can remember catching the train up there unescorted, the guard probably told

Neat seems the best word to describe him. The most pleasing thing from his highlights is his ability to read the ball off the ruck and take quick steps to generate a straight line clearance exit from the stoppage. I’ll back my mate, Boxx, on this one but not seeing much excitement factor, just good, solid footballer. Great that he finds the footy though.

There is still more than enough room in the game for good, honest, country style natural footballers.

Hugh ticks all of these boxes.

when you watch his highlights and more importantly live, he just always seems to be in the right place to get the ball and has nice vision when he has it in his hands… but, I am biased i spose!

There is still more than enough room in the game for good, honest, country style natural footballers.

Hugh ticks all of these boxes.

when you watch his highlights and more importantly live, he just always seems to be in the right place to get the ball and has nice vision when he has it in his hands… but, I am biased i spose!
Mate, you called Todd Marshall's limitations well before I accepted them. I'll back your judgement over mine.