Player Watch Welcome to Collingwood Tyan Prindable

Mail is the Lions had promised that they would match a bid after Pick 36. Hence the Pies taking him at 32

Its after pick 36 is when bids basically cost nothing. Just your next pick I think.

I think its a combination of:
  • A bid at 32 is 525 points, which pretty much would have ruined their remaining 3 picks in the draft, considering they had 3 spots to fill, and wanted a KPP, this cost of losing 3 players they "rate" over 1 player they "rate" was probably too much.
  • Deep down they would know it would be a very big battle for Prindable to get a game ahead of the current midfield plus the Ashcrofts, Annabelle, Fletcher and Marshall. Therefore maybe a bit of goodwill to Prindable knowing it was best for his career to go to a team that could actually give him opportunities in the near term.
The fact that we bid on him at 32, ahead of other highly rated names in the draft makes me very bullish. Academy prospects on average, seem to performance much better then their draft order indicates.

He does not seem the sort who would say that to me he looks like he keeps his own counsel.Not a loud or boastful boy just a quiet hard worker who you can tell by his body he is already doing the work to succeed.
I say most likely would come thru his Manager

All I see is a Toby Greene clone!

I'm seeing Tom Green/Matt Rowell. Perhaps it's just the ginger hair 😆

But how good would a Green/Rowell combo be?

Im sorry but theres really no chance in hell clubs are telling their draft strategies to player managers, who notoriously are leakers... and for what possible benefit would their be?

Fair chance there's a bit of truth, but a bit of Chinese whispers - we might match after 36 could easily drift to we will match after 36. They had a pick not longer after 36 they could have matche with - I think it's pretty safe to assume that they wanted others at that pick, so wouldn't have matched until later than that pick.

Post draft,Tyan or his manager would have definately asked Brisbane, why he wasn't matched in the draft?
Brisbane's response might have been something like the rumours. Eg: they might have said by matching it would have chewed up all of our remaining draft picks and we wanted to maintain our hand. Brisbane may have said that we would have selected you if the bid had come at a later pick. (Like the rumour)
I would go so far as to say that a conversation (post draft) like this would have been very likely.

Im sorry but theres really no chance in hell clubs are telling their draft strategies to player managers, who notoriously are leakers... and for what possible benefit would their be?
It would have been post draft so in no way would it impact their draft strategy. The player or manager would have definitely asked the question why was Tyan not matched? The answer would have probably been we would have matched if the bid came a bit later (just like the rumour stated).

The Lions definitely wanted him, and they had a staff member sitting outside his draft party with a polo and playing jumper ready to go.

He's a great story, I've seen quite a bit of him over the years and he just didn't ever give up despite many doors being closed on him for no apparent reason.

While the academies get alot of grief down south, the Lions Academy is a bit of a disaster with the way it operates. Poor talent ID, really cliquey groups, lots of investment in a small amount of players that often doesn't pay off, while the rest are left to be witches hats, hating the game and their welfare is not important or prioritised at all. The Suns are completely different and operate really well and its not a cooincidence they produce more talent.

Ty has been a star for many years, but his local academy manager didn't want to know him (they are in zones until u18s). I am President of a State League club and saw him playing Senior footy as a 15/16 year old in lower tier footy and he looked exceptionally good. He also played school footy for St Laurences College and was the best player by a mile in a team with alot of highly rated kids (especially for 2026 draft).

The coach of his club (Coorparoo, ironically also where the Lions academy south squad used to train) was reccomending him every year to the academy and he never got a look in. (Compared to say Annable who was in the academy from 12 years old). I also recommended him several times and was told he wasn't up to it, which I found ridiculous - but its also not uncommon to get incorrect feedback like that on kids.

Eventually late in 2024, he was playing in the Quarter Finals of the State Schools Cup in a game against All-Saints, who had Zeke Uwland, Kalani White, Beau Addinsall, Cooper Collins, Koby Coulson etc etc playing for them and St Laurences beat them comfortably, with Tyan dominating the game. I got a call from a player manager contact who is great with the young QLD talent up here asking who he was. He then spoke to his club and then next minute he was on the phone to the Lions higher up the food chain and the 'academy manager' who didn't rate him got outranked and he was brought into the Lions Academy in late 2024.

The rest is history. He went from unrated and unwanted to being the yin to the Annable yang as the primary onballer in the Lions u18s. Even then, despite having a great year playing for the Lions u18s, he was overlooked for Allies selection.

Instead of sulking, he continued, as he always did, to just put his head down and work. In 2025 his club Coorparoo were promoted to the QAFL state league, and in his debut senior game at the level, he responded with 39 disposals, 13 clearances and 2 goals. Addinsall was injured for the Allies and he was correctly called up and then had immediate impact and before you know it he was getting 20 a week in the VFL and is now a Pie!

The upside here is huge, he was turned away every year from any elite programs available. He did the work himself, teamed up with a guy running a boxing gym to put the reps in for his body and also specific footy drills and just kept grinding despite continually being told no.

He's basically had a little over 12 months in an elite program and the upside and potential improvement is huge, and he has proven he has the work ethic to get there.

It really is a great story. The kid in the Pies kit is his brother, and was a Geelong supporter - now Pies! He is pretty handy himself and was invited to the academy recently when they realised how wrong they were with his brother :p

they 100% do tell players they will take them at certain points.

The crows told Curtain they would take him, the Lions were aware, and got in just before them and overlooked their own academy tall (Waller) in the process.

The Lions definitely wanted him, and they had a staff member sitting outside his draft party with a polo and playing jumper ready to go.

He's a great story, I've seen quite a bit of him over the years and he just didn't ever give up despite many doors being closed on him for no apparent reason.

While the academies get alot of grief down south, the Lions Academy is a bit of a disaster with the way it operates. Poor talent ID, really cliquey groups, lots of investment in a small amount of players that often doesn't pay off, while the rest are left to be witches hats, hating the game and their welfare is not important or prioritised at all. The Suns are completely different and operate really well and its not a cooincidence they produce more talent.

Ty has been a star for many years, but his local academy manager didn't want to know him (they are in zones until u18s). I am President of a State League club and saw him playing Senior footy as a 15/16 year old in lower tier footy and he looked exceptionally good. He also played school footy for St Laurences College and was the best player by a mile in a team with alot of highly rated kids (especially for 2026 draft).

The coach of his club (Coorparoo, ironically also where the Lions academy south squad used to train) was reccomending him every year to the academy and he never got a look in. (Compared to say Annable who was in the academy from 12 years old). I also recommended him several times and was told he wasn't up to it, which I found ridiculous - but its also not uncommon to get incorrect feedback like that on kids.

Eventually late in 2024, he was playing in the Quarter Finals of the State Schools Cup in a game against All-Saints, who had Zeke Uwland, Kalani White, Beau Addinsall, Cooper Collins, Koby Coulson etc etc playing for them and St Laurences beat them comfortably, with Tyan dominating the game. I got a call from a player manager contact who is great with the young QLD talent up here asking who he was. He then spoke to his club and then next minute he was on the phone to the Lions higher up the food chain and the 'academy manager' who didn't rate him got outranked and he was brought into the Lions Academy in late 2024.

The rest is history. He went from unrated and unwanted to being the yin to the Annable yang as the primary onballer in the Lions u18s. Even then, despite having a great year playing for the Lions u18s, he was overlooked for Allies selection.

Instead of sulking, he continued, as he always did, to just put his head down and work. In 2025 his club Coorparoo were promoted to the QAFL state league, and in his debut senior game at the level, he responded with 39 disposals, 13 clearances and 2 goals. Addinsall was injured for the Allies and he was correctly called up and then had immediate impact and before you know it he was getting 20 a week in the VFL and is now a Pie!

The upside here is huge, he was turned away every year from any elite programs available. He did the work himself, teamed up with a guy running a boxing gym to put the reps in for his body and also specific footy drills and just kept grinding despite continually being told no.

He's basically had a little over 12 months in an elite program and the upside and potential improvement is huge, and he has proven he has the work ethic to get there.

It really is a great story. The kid in the Pies kit is his brother, and was a Geelong supporter - now Pies! He is pretty handy himself and was invited to the academy recently when they realised how wrong they were with his brother :p
Thank you for this information and you're right, it's a great story and now he's a magpie.
💕

they 100% do tell players they will take them at certain points.

The crows told Curtain they would take him, the Lions were aware, and got in just before them and overlooked their own academy tall (Waller) in the process.
I believe we also told Reef we would take him after a certain point in 2020 also, though we also were prepared to match an early bid too, but I've no doubt it happens.

I've read about how he has been told no for so many years, but he just got up and worked even harder. You can understand why he would appeal to the club with that kind of attitude, that's even before taking into account his football skills.

I think we have a good one here, and one unlikely would go home anytime soon.

Sounds like Pies did their homework on him & he's a good pick up.

I just saw that his brother re-signed with his club & is a talented footballer too. Maybe we can re-unite the brothers next year 😜 Already liked him when I saw him in a Pie jumper on draft night.

Sounds like Pies did their homework on him & he's a good pick up.

I just saw that his brother re-signed with his club & is a talented footballer too. Maybe we can re-unite the brothers next year 😜

Going by his reaction, i reckon he'd love to come to the pies too haha

His parents are also outstanding footy volunteers at community footy level.

Just good people and a talented kid prepared to work.

Very exciting to see a local kid I've watched for many years head to the Pies!
Where will your heart be when the Pies play Brisbane if he's in the team, might be a toss up?:think:
EDIT:
Oh sorry, I just saw Brisbane in your details and thought it was the club you followed.
Disgregard this post.:)

I have been thinking the same thing about this lad all along myself and you are right on the money it is a great story. What really impressed me is his body development in relation to most 18yr olds and you can see he has been doing the work required to become an AFL player. He is 1 young player I am really keen to see push on, he reminds me very much of Voss with his single minded determination to succeed and whether you liked Voss on not you had to admit he was a great player .

Ps I bloody hated Voss but he could play he was not called king of the jungle for nothing.Thanks mate for a great write up.

Where will your heart be when the Pies play Brisbane if he's in the team, might be a toss up?:think:
It will be with the Pies as always,Thommo42 has been posting here for a long time,longer than me and I have been here 15yrs. It was fantastic to beat them in 23 and it would be even better beating them with Tyan in the team.

Player Watch Welcome to Collingwood Tyan Prindable