Player Watch Welcome to Hawthorn - Conor Nash. Extends to 2024!

He can work his opponent.

He can’t overhead mark.
He can’t kick.
Kicking should be something that will get better in due time.

noticed that with glass as well. They can tackle, chase and pick the ball up very well, but when it comes to marking the ball, it’s not their main priority, and they look uncertain going for it. It could be that marking isn’t a primary focus in Gaelic football as it is with Aussie rules??? Hence the inability to go for a mark. With kicking, it would also require a different kicking action compared to a round ball to the sherrin.

Both Glass and Nash their tackling is superb, their chasing of opposition is first class, they posistion themselves well, they both seem to have great awareness. It’s only their marking and kicking. Although, I think that Glass has improved in the kicking department, have the same feeling that Nash will too. If they can both start going for marks and sticking them, they will be an absolute steal.

Nash needs more time with Roughy. Learn the ropes from him.
Hope to see in 2021 a forward line of:

Breust Nash. Morrison

Gunston. Mitchell Lewis(Hodgey). Wingard

With a backline of:

Hardwick. Brand. Stratton

Glass. Sicily. Scimshaw

noticed that with glass as well. They can tackle, chase and pick the ball up very well, but when it comes to marking the ball, it’s not their main priority, and they look uncertain going for it. It could be that marking isn’t a primary focus in Gaelic football as it is with Aussie rules??? Hence the inability to go for a mark. With kicking, it would also require a different kicking action compared to a round ball to the sherrin.

Both Glass and Nash their tackling is superb, their chasing of opposition is first class, they posistion themselves well, they both seem to have great awareness. It’s only their marking and kicking. Although, I think that Glass has improved in the kicking department, have the same feeling that Nash will too. If they can both start going for marks and sticking them, they will be an absolute steal.

Breust Nash. Morrison

With a backline of:

Glass. Sicily. Scimshaw

Yeah Nugett that is a good observation about Irish players regarding kicking and overhead marking. Seems like we need a specialist coach just for Irishmen!

Ok I accept he can chest mark.
Lewis is the same size as Nash - 198cm and 92 kg. Lewis is a good overhead mark and can kick straight.

Comparing Lewis and Nash:

Same size
Lewis is a much better overhead mark.
Lewis is a much better kick
Lewis has better forward positioning
Nash is much faster than Lewis
Nash tackles better than Lewis.

On those measures I'd pick Lewis but there is something about Nash that makes me like him. I think it is his competitive mindset.
The thing is, Lewis is a forward, Nash is a utility, with more than enough in him to play on a wing or half back

Yeah Nugett that is a good observation about Irish players regarding kicking and overhead marking. Seems like we need a specialist coach just for Irishmen!
I did notice Glass taking an overhead speccy when playing Gaelic footy, so I think he should be ok.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Nash's two finals would have been great for his development. Got pantsed and made some bad mistakes and has 5 months to hone what he needs to perform at the right level.

Rookies and young players often have 'making the seniors' as a goal. Takes a bit of experience to shift the focus from being in the team and holding your spot, to winning your position on the field and being an above average performer for the team.

Breust Nash. Morrison

With a backline of:

Glass. Sicily. Scimshaw

Great post, mate, Nash’s attempts at kicking for goal, or kicking generally, certainly need a lot of work and extra training. He has no confidence and it showed.

But one query: there is no tackling in Gaelic football is there?

How do they learn?

Great post, mate, Nash’s attempts at kicking for goal, or kicking generally, certainly need a lot of work and extra training. He has no confidence and it showed.

But one query: there is no tackling in Gaelic football is there?

How do they learn?

Probably through other sports. Rugby for example. We all know that Nash played Rugby as well. Wouldn’t be surprised if Glass also played a bit during his school years. It’s an Irish thing I guess.

Just need to teach them, to go for their marks. With Glass have noticed a couple of times where he seems to try and kick the ball behind the player towards goals, in order to give the other player an advantage of running onto the ball, rather than kicking it to the player to mark. Which is good in congestion footy, as it’s smart play, depending of course his team mates are aware of what he is doing. Of course 1 out in the forward 50 you would want him to hit up a target. Same with Nash obviously.

So imo its trying to teach them the different aspects of the game, which allows them both more awareness and knowledge of making small changes in their thinking. Also encourage them to use their natural rugby/Gaelic instincts in certain situations, if it creates an advantage for the team. I think that if they could teach some Gaelic tactics into the team, it could produce an exciting brand of footy.

If Nash has kicked those few set shots he missed, and finished the finals with another 2-3 goals, how does that change our assessment of his performance? Does he play round 1 as a defensive forward?

He’s quick and aggressive enough to play as a defensive pressure forward. If he can become a contested marking option (or at least capable of bringing the ball to ground) and learn to kick he could be very good. Raw and may not make it but he has some real assets and is worth persevering with

Hard to compare the pair. Glass is a beautiful natural kick and his overhead marking is fine. He does get lost. Nash understands positioning better but can't kick for s**t and is diabolical overhead.

In terms of development, I was disappointed in both of their seasons.

Hard to compare the pair. Glass is a beautiful natural kick and his overhead marking is fine. He does get lost. Nash understands positioning better but can't kick for s**t and is diabolical overhead.

In terms of development, I was disappointed in both of their seasons.

A guy who never played AFL before managed to break into a top 4 side coming into the finals series and acquit himself not too shabbily. What were you expecting if that disappointed you?

Pointless and witless citing blindingly obvious stats. If you are going to ask me a question, at least read my post where I was quite specific on Nash's shortfalls.

I can understand being disappointed on Glass's season considering the promise he showed in 2017 and there being no natural progression, but I'm disappointed (not surprised, however) the fact that you've failed to temper your expectations based on the fact that Nash is an Irish convert who didn't grow up with the game and yet managed more games than 11% of people who grew up playing AFL and were taken in the national draft.

Nash did some things poorly, sure - but leading into the finals series he averaged more tackles inside 50 than any other player in the league and was around the top mark for us when it came to sprinting efforts, repeat sprinting efforts and highest speed reached. There are green shoots to be found from Nash's efforts leading into the finals last year, and if you can't see that based on these 1st rounder standards you've placed on him then I don't know what to say.

If there is no progression next year, and he goes backwards, you have a reason to be disappointed - but to his career so far you're just being a bit of a sook.

It could be that marking isn’t a primary focus in Gaelic football as it is with Aussie rules???

Yeah, until recently there was no such thing as a mark in gaelic, in 2016 they introduced a midfield mark to promote long kick-outs, and this year they are trialling an attacking mark (where the ball has totravel at least 20m and be kicked from beyond a certain point). That is to try and promote more long kick-passing in general, and thus what we call high-fielding. That would be roughly equivalent skill to a mark, but it's not as common as it used to be as teams rarely just hoof the ball forward like days of yore (these days it's all percentages, possession play, systems and blanket defences lol) which is why they are trying to introduce these mark rules (which some aren't a fan of).

Don't get me wrong, you will still see some examples of high-fielding in every match (and Nash played in midfield, where he would be going for some big grabs), but compared to aussie rules, or even how it used to be, it's not nearly a primary focus. I'd also say just stuff like the different positioning in aussie rules is behind it, maybe just generally reading the play and the flight of the different shaped ball?

As an example of great high fielding in gaelic, not quite a specky! but this is from last week:

Nash is a really interesting case coming into 2019. Of course he is well behind other young players in certain key areas simply due to being newer to the game, being able to adapt to such a unique and new sport takes some doing; however as we saw in various glimpses at the end of last year, he has come along in leaps and bounds.
These glimpses of talent and terrific pieces of play may well be enough to help him hold his spot. What we can be certain on is he now knows what level he is at and what he needs to aim for to become a successful AFL footballer. Not to mention the massive confidence boost from those handful of games.

I'm very much looking forward to seeing what parts of his game have improved over the summer and whether he can take another step in his development