Ultimate Glory Welcome to Hawthorn, Jaeger O'Meara

Had a bit of a discussion on SEN regarding Jaeger last night. Apparently when he went to see the knee specialist in Germany it was one of the worst knees the doctor had ever seen.
So they had nothing new about him to discuss? That's not a dig at you, but I'm pretty sure on their part that's just going back over some pretty old ground.

True, if that's the case people should also read:

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2017/02/27/o-meara-shaping-up-as-2017-s-shaun-burgoyne-ralph/

Interestingly this article suggests that we gave up much less than what has been suggested on here. Not saying it's true with all the fake news floating around at the moment, but it is in print.

No point continuing to post on here, we all just go around in circles. Fact is some people will be happy with the informed risk the Hawks took with O'Meara, others will be sceptical and negative.

I'm firmly in the optimistic camp, I wanted him at the Hawks and would have been happy with just about any deal to get him in the brown and gold.

Clearly GC wanted him to stay and were very pissed he left, tells me they also saw a huge future for him and weren't overly worried about his knee.

On SM-G900I using BigFooty.com mobile app

Can we split the threads - can we have one about Jaeger and actual news on his progress and then have a separate 'Jaeger and the curse of the revisionist trade never-ending discussion' so those who are just keen to see what the kid's progress is like don't have to put up with a very tired argument that goes nowhere much like a Lions first round draft pick.

Had a bit of a discussion on SEN regarding Jaeger last night. Apparently when he went to see the knee specialist in Germany it was one of the worst knees the doctor had ever seen.
So the world-leading expert from Germany looked at his knee and thought he would breach doctor-patient confidentiality and risk his career and reputation by talking to journalists from Australia about the condition of his knee? Sounds plausible.

Mate i'm not arguing that he was as good as tuck. No one could argue that. I understand where ure coming from but disagre as he never had a history of injury prior to 2008 Gf.
Not true. I think you'll find he had an injury or three during school footy the year after he was drafted, while he was focussed on completing secondary school.

Mate i'm not arguing that he was as good as tuck. No one could argue that. I understand where ure coming from but disagre as he never had a history of injury prior to 2008 Gf.

My enduring memories of X are seeing him covered in ice or bandages on the bench and the 2008 GF. Not much else.

He broke his foot. Not sure that constitutes being injury prone.
Wasn't the only injury that year, but my post was only in response to 4P saying he had no history of injury, which is incorrect. Not going to get into any discussion on whether he was injury prone.

He missed just about the whole season with a broken bone in his foot. Regardless, there is no way known Ellis makes it outside the top ten in that draft regardless of one one 'recruiter' thought. He was in high demand.

Fair enough mate. My point really is that his injury problems with us were mostly related to the injury/ies he suffered in 2008 gf. He never fully recovered physically from that game.

He broke his foot. Not sure that constitutes being injury prone.
broke his foot getting spoiled by a knee or elbow while kicking from memory, was one of those random impact injuries

reckon it was the issues he copped in 08 with his hip that caused the rest of the problems

I knew a recruiter very well and when I spoke with him before that draft he told me Ellis was a stick figure and it was always going to be a risk as his body size was not AFL standard. That's what I am getting at.

Plenty of stick figures that made it in the AFL. Ellis just had the problem of not being able to put on any weight whatsoever. Unlike this bloke. Whatever he was eating we should have had Ellis on double portions.

Nathan+Fyfe+Fremantle+Dockers+Training+Session+GxzsKbDr399l.jpg

The best thing about using a nameless, specialist knee doctor from Germany as your source is that it sounds really credible and is tricky for anyone to disprove given he did actually see one a long time ago.

And how the flying fig would random punter A have any clue what happened on the other side of the planet, in a private conversation between a doctor and his patient