Welcome Welcome to Hawthorn: Josh Ward. Extends to 2029!

Ward is merely recovering to his second season form.
Many on this forum have short memories and even shorter patience with young players.

Josh Ward was played as an outside mid in his first 2 seasons and he did exceptionally well for a young player, especially in his second season. Then they tried to transition him as an inside mid with a few minutes here and there.
It didn't work.

Some players can adjust mid game and build confidence, but it seems like Ward is not one of those.
Give him a role, let him focus and build confidence, and he will excel.
He can't play a hybrid role, at least at this stage of his career.

It hasn't suddenly "clicked" for Ward.
What's changed is that he was given a clear run in a role.
Just like he did at the back end of last season, culminating with his exceptional performance in a final under immense pressure vs Port.

Josh Ward has always had it.
He just didn't get the opportunity to play as a mid without interruption until this season.

View attachment 2376982
I get your perspective but, he’s played a hybrid role this year. Mid and rotating on the wing, it’s clicked with continuity, consistency and improvement over the pre season. Noticeably bigger, to go with his pace and endurance. He breaks tackles consistently, breaks away with speed, works both ways at an elite level with superb foot and handskills.

He’ll only get better and is a genuine A Grade talent.

I get your perspective but, he’s played a hybrid role this year. Mid and rotating on the wing, it’s clicked with continuity, consistency and improvement over the pre season. Noticeably bigger, to go with his pace and endurance. He breaks tackles consistently, breaks away with speed, works both ways at an elite level with superb foot and handskills.

He’ll only get better and is a genuine A Grade talent.
you mean at the centre bounce, or general play?

Ward is merely recovering to his second season form.It hasn't suddenly "clicked" for Ward.

I normally agree with you mate, but got to suggest that this is looking back at least a little with rose colored glasses on.

Josh was getting solid numbers playing early on, but those were almost always dinky little sideways kicks, or really conservative type short options down the ground.

He looked one paced and vanilla. Was definitely working with neat skills, but had almost zero hurt factor and was getting caught with the ball a lot. He looked SLOW to medium paced at best.

I definitely had no inkling of his junior career at that stage, because his best traits just weren't on display.

It started to turn around in 2024 after being sent back to Box Hill to get up to speed. In his first stint back, in gather round against the Pies, he took the game on after a handball receive on the half forward flank and sprinted away from Jack Crisp as we made a charge to win the game (that failed mind you). I almost fell out of my chair. That breakaway speed was Crawford or Platten like.

I'd been watching him closely at AFL level since he was drafted. He'd never even shown that he might have the pace to do that.

Our coaches had sent him back at Box Hill for a reason. He did a second stint at Box Hill mid year, and returned to the seniors in rd 16. This time his performances where he showcased hurt factor started to stack up. They culminated in his performance in our final against the dogs. A couple of his kicks in that game were otherworldly - laser like to forwards. He'd likely have played better too after half time, if he hadn't smashed his nose on Newcombe during a goal celebration.

This current version Josh Ward, is doing things that were not on display during his first two years.

I normally agree with you mate, but got to suggest that this is looking back at least a little with rose colored glasses on.

Josh was getting solid numbers playing early on, but those were almost always dinky little sideways kicks, or really conservative type short options down the ground.

He looked one paced and vanilla. Was definitely working with neat skills, but had almost zero hurt factor and was getting caught with the ball a lot. He looked SLOW to medium paced at best.

I definitely had no inkling of his junior career at that stage, because his best traits just weren't on display.

It started to turn around in 2024 after being sent back to Box Hill to get up to speed. In his first stint back, in gather round agains the Pies, he took the game on after a handball receive on the half forward flank and sprinted away from Jack Crisp as we made a charge to win the game (that failed mind you). I almost fell out of my chair. That breakaway speed was Crawford or Platten like.

I'd been watching him closely at AFL level since he was drafted. He'd never even shown that he might have the pace to do that.

Our coaches had sent him back at Box Hill for a reason. He did a second stint at Box Hill mid year, and returned to the seniors in rd 16. This time his performances where he showcased hurt factor started to stack up. They culminated in his performance in our final against the dogs. A couple of his kicks in that game were otherworldly - laser like to forwards. He'd likely have played better too after half time, if he hadn't smashed his nose on Newcombe during a goal celebration.

This current version Josh Ward, is doing things that were not on display during his first two years.
Has always had the ability, just needed the confidence. That was a big part of it.

It started to turn around in 2024 after being sent back to Box Hill to get up to speed. In his first stint back, in gather round against the Pies, he took the game on after a handball receive on the half forward flank and sprinted away from Jack Crisp as we made a charge to win the game (that failed mind you). I almost fell out of my chair. That breakaway speed was Crawford or Platten like.

I agree that he has improved as a player and is high on confidence.
He is now doing what we would expect of a very good 4th year player.

Must compare what he did as a first and second year player in the context of what we would expect of a very good second year player.

You are right to point out the differences in impact and confidence.

.....They culminated in his performance in our final against the dogs. A couple of his kicks in that game were otherworldly - laser like to forwards. He'd likely have played better too after half time, if he hadn't smashed his nose on Newcombe during a goal celebration.

Hmm....

Maybe he's just a little "sleepy" to start a game normally.

Like Big Boy McEvoy, he needs a good solid slap or some bandages to wake himself up.

I previously posted, someone like a Crawford would be a great mentor. Similarities - high pick, high expectations of themselves to a point of potential self-defeat, high dedication to training and self improvement, position, leadership capability. I think Crawfs experience of being through it all and persepctive and even some light-heartedness could be a nice off-set for the philosophy(?) student.

If Wardy can step up and become an A-grader (and he's moving in the right direction), our midfield starts to look more dangerous - Day, Newc, Ward, Nash doing the bullocking work and giving a chop-out for Meek here and there, Wiz Watto and Moorey pinch-hiting a little, plus a band of fringers keeping those blokes honest, it looks pretty good.

Worps has only shown glimpses of his best form this year and may be on his way out anyway :(

Ward is merely recovering to his second season form.
Many on this forum have short memories and even shorter patience with young players.

Josh Ward was played as an outside mid in his first 2 seasons and he did exceptionally well for a young player, especially in his second season. Then they tried to transition him as an inside mid with a few minutes here and there.
It didn't work.

Some players can adjust mid game and build confidence, but it seems like Ward is not one of those.
Give him a role, let him focus and build confidence, and he will excel.
He can't play a hybrid role, at least at this stage of his career.

It hasn't suddenly "clicked" for Ward.
What's changed is that he was given a clear run in a role.
Just like he did at the back end of last season, culminating with his exceptional performance in a final under immense pressure vs Port.

Josh Ward has always had it.
He just didn't get the opportunity to play as a mid without interruption until this season.

View attachment 2376982
Sammy has worked on his outside game because Ward knows how to play inside.

So now we have a more complete midfielder coz he's not a hybrid fwd at this stage, as you rightly pointed out....Sam has played a huge role here.

Again I reckon we all agree with your post highlighting that Ward is still very much learning. Hopefully takes yet another step fwd.

Not sure if others here remember Ward doing specialized sprint training during the off season. He's such a professional because he's self-motivated. Look at his Yr 12 Atar score. Look at his physique as well. Glad we have him. By the way Cam McKenzie will be better... 😁

I've always loved Wardy's game and thought only two things held him back.

In his first few seasons when inside I felt he was too much of an onlooker. Didn't have either the confidence to go win it as he watched more heralded players around the contest, and then if he did take possession was jumpy to offload very quickly without a good assessment of best option. Has really become confident enough to hold on to it, trust himself to back his quickness and take a few steps to change the look and offload or even exit the contest with speed. He looks entirely more sure of himself.

On the outside I didn't sense he knew where to be to link up or be an option. Yes he got overlooked sometimes too, but often he didn't have a feel of how to be the next in the chain. Has really come on in this area. The team values his disposal and vision and everyone is on the same page on how he best helps the team.

Everything else about his game was always going to translate.
Just a joy to watch his growth.

I've always loved Wardy's game and thought only two things held him back.

In his first few seasons when inside I felt he was too much of an onlooker. Didn't have either the confidence to go win it as he watched more heralded players around the contest, and then if he did take possession was jumpy to offload very quickly without a good assessment of best option. Has really become confident enough to hold on to it, trust himself to back his quickness and take a few steps to change the look and offload or even exit the contest with speed. He looks entirely more sure of himself.

On the outside I didn't sense he knew where to be to link up or be an option. Yes he got overlooked sometimes too, but often he didn't have a feel of how to be the next in the chain. Has really come on in this area. The team values his disposal and vision and everyone is on the same page on how he best helps the team.

Everything else about his game was always going to translate.
Just a joy to watch his growth.
Yeh I think you're right - he's been really well coached this season

Very impressed with his progress. Seems to be willing himself into a permanent position in the side, so much kudos to him.

Question: do we think he has more improvement in him, or is he close to his ceiling now, ie, is he going to remain a consistent, solid citizen in our midfield or can he push to become an elite midfielder of the comp?

Very impressed with his progress. Seems to be willing himself into a permanent position in the side, so much kudos to him.

Question: do we think he has more improvement in him, or is he close to his ceiling now, ie, is he going to remain a consistent, solid citizen in our midfield or can he push to become an elite midfielder of the comp?
He needs to find more ball. If he can get to 24-26 touches a game. He will become an A grader, given his ability to damage and be involved in scoring chains.

He has averaged more touches each year, so hopefully he can continue to do so.

He's 21 and played 60 games.

Most don't really hit their straps till around 70-80 games. Butters, Rozee, Brayshaw, Serong, Anderson, Rowell, Green were all in this range when becoming top tier.

You don't often get players blitzing it early like Daicos and Ashcroft.

Another pre-season or two and another 20-30 games, we'll start seeing his best footy.

It does also mean we haven't yet seen the best of Finn Callaghan, which is scary.

Well he's clearly still getting better, so I'd say he has more improvement?

I know it’s just a question but it’s pretty dumb, not that you meant it in that way. He’s obviously no where near his ceiling, he has the talent to become a star of the comp, and has come in leaps and bounds but with so much more that you can see that he can become.

The same has been said about many, many AFL players, many, many of whom turned out to be merely solid players, at best. What's 'dumb' is sitting there expecting it to be a fait accompli....

Has improved every game this year. Did the same in many games last year. Is in positive Newcombe curve territory the past 12 and a bit months.

Eh, I think it’s pretty obvious outside of career ending injuries he’ll continue to improve and has a high ceiling.

I think he is still doing his apprenticeship and once he has all his tools in place he will be our successful Z Merrett.

Welcome Welcome to Hawthorn: Josh Ward. Extends to 2029!