Player Watch Welcome to Hawthorn: Mitchell Lewis. Extended to 2026!

May 3, 2018
Central Coast NSW
Detroit Pistons
Geez I love Clarko. To quote the great man from this article where he talks about Mitch Lewis and where we are as a club right now

'Your'e either your first or your nothing'

SuperSic

Oct 16, 2018
Mar 23, 2007
Where Premiership dreams are made...
Man U, Canucks and 49ers
Has made huge strides in 2019. Very excited at what another pre-season does for him, given his commitment shown over the last one.

Hope he continues to get some AFL level exposure for the rest of the year.

Has made huge strides in 2019. Very excited at what another pre-season does for him, given his commitment shown over the last one.

Commitment is right. He genuinely wants it.

That can't be understated.

Milkshaker

Nov 6, 2014
No one should post in the Autopsy thread until after Clarkos press conferences. He is awesome. (Ignore that bit about the Autopsy thread they are more fun to read when everyone is half charged.)

Pretty sure after last season that tige19 gave us the heads-up that he was working on core & strength in 2019.

He'd have to be working on his aerobic capacity in the coming off-season, but probs not at the expense of his strength work so it'll likely take a few years before he's proficient at both, but they're going to be some pretty exciting years to watch!

Jan 17, 2008
Brisvegas
Pretty sure after last season that tige19 gave us the heads-up that he was working on core & strength in 2019.

He'd have to be working on his aerobic capacity in the coming off-season, but probs not at the expense of his strength work so it'll likely take a few years before he's proficient at both, but they're going to be some pretty exciting years to watch!
His aerobic capacity improved a lot from last year to this. Wasn’t up to afl standard at all which is normal for a young kpp. Greatly improved but still work to do. Making fantastic progress though. :)

Jan 17, 2008
Brisvegas
Wasn't he 78% TOG last week?

Didn't look cooked towards the end of the game. Actually his last quarter was probably his most impactful.

Aerobic capacity seems to be going well
Remembering he has had a few weeks off from the intensity of senior footy. He will need to maintain 80-90% game time every week to play the role we need him to play. Clarko always keeps his talks on the ground for as long as possible so we can maximise the midfield rotations.

Apr 17, 2006
???
Miami Dolphins(NFL)

Didn't look cooked towards the end of the game. Actually his last quarter was probably his most impactful.

Don't forget he was off for 20 mins for the concussion test after he got elbowed in the face

Oh My GOD! If you watch this long enough you realise he's just slapped Hanrahan into oblivion, just rams him into the ground. He disappears. Repeatedly. He has to be stopped.

It was his best effort for the year, will be interesting to see how he goes this time, he faded badly before being dropped

is that factored into the 78% TOG? if it was then he would've pretty much played the entirety of the game apart from that 20mins
No its about total match minutes vs player, not available minutes

detox

Nov 26, 2007
Considering how long KPFs take to develop, Lewis has shown as much as you could hope for at the stage of development. In fact, Even if he was a first round draft pick, you'd be happy on what he has shown thus far. The fact that he was an unknown pick is the only reason outside of us that no one is really paying much attention to him. I am extremely excited about Lewis. I reckon he is the best prospect on our list including Worpel, Scrim and Ross

With young talls you definitely have to go just off just glimpses when they are raw, but Lewis has shown more than that. In fact compare him to Buddy and Roughy, both were extremely inconsistent at the same stage. Buddy would go missing for large chunks then do something awesome every now and then, And Roughy was a little more tentative. Some were questioning early if Rough would live up to it. Outside of Hawthorn - same with Tom Hawkins, and all 3 took at least 3 seasons to start showing good form. Hawkins was about 4-5.

Also look at Eric Hipwood. Showed glimpses of his talent but kind of remained at that for a while, and is only now starting to establish himself as a gun KPF. He's 2 seasons ahead of Lewis.

It's early days, but in my opinion Lewis has shown as much if not more than all of the above had at the same point. So far, he has demonstrated extremely good hands vs established defenders, clean-ness off the deck, athletic abilty, workrate (especially V pies), one %ers and clever handballs to set up goals. Also for Box Hill last season, he has shown that he has X factor too and the ability to slot a goal on the run or from the boundary. So far you'd have to be absolutely rapt with how he is going. He looks every bit a 10 year KPF prospect. If he was a top 10 draft pick the press would be all over it. Instead they are too busy fapping over blokes like Andy Mcgrath who were high draft picks but continue to deliver absolutely f**k all.

Also, is it a coincidence that this gem we seem to have nailed from pick 70 at the time that we did bares the name that he does? Negative. This is meant to be folks. Jump on the bandwagon. Kids gonna be a gun

mustang

Oct 8, 2004
Leeds United
Considering how long KPFs take to develop, Lewis has shown as much as you could hope for at the stage of development. In fact, Even if he was a first round draft pick, you'd be happy on what he has shown thus far. The fact that he was an unknown pick is the only reason outside of us that no one is really paying much attention to him. I am extremely excited about Lewis. I reckon he is the best prospect on our list including Worpel, Scrim and Ross

With young talls you definitely have to go just off just glimpses when they are raw, but Lewis has shown more than that. In fact compare him to Buddy and Roughy, both were extremely inconsistent at the same stage. Buddy would go missing for large chunks then do something awesome every now and then, And Roughy was a little more tentative. Some were questioning early if Rough would live up to it. Outside of Hawthorn - same with Tom Hawkins, and all 3 took at least 3 seasons to start showing good form. Hawkins was about 4-5.

Also look at Eric Hipwood. Showed glimpses of his talent but kind of remained at that for a while, and is only now starting to establish himself as a gun KPF. He's 2 seasons ahead of Lewis.

It's early days, but in my opinion Lewis has shown as much if not more than all of the above had at the same point. So far, he has demonstrated extremely good hands vs established defenders, clean-ness off the deck, athletic abilty, workrate (especially V pies), one %ers and clever handballs to set up goals. Also for Box Hill last season, he has shown that he has X factor too and the ability to slot a goal on the run or from the boundary. So far you'd have to be absolutely rapt with how he is going. He looks every bit a 10 year KPF prospect. If he was a top 10 draft pick the press would be all over it. Instead they are too busy fapping over blokes like Andy Mcgrath who were high draft picks but continue to deliver absolutely f**k all.

Also, is it a coincidence that this gem we seem to have nailed from pick 70 at the time that we did bares the name that he does? Negative. This is meant to be folks. Jump on the bandwagon. Kids gonna be a gun

Wish he had the number 23