Welcome Welcome to Hawthorn Tom Scully. Congratulations for finally making it onto an AFL list!

Will he be for round 1?
Something suss about this deal and as cheap as he is, if he's sitting out the season on 700k a year it won't be a good result
Gotta spend the cap on someone and the pick we traded wasnt going to be someone playing next year anyway as it was a future 4th
Its a risk but its not a massive one and the possible pay off is big

So we got him for a steal because he's a 50/50 proposition due to his ankle, or a GWS salary dump, or both?
Bit of both I reckon almost has to be. Welcome Tom hope you can get few good years out of the body for the HFC. Would love it if he won the time trial to kick things off this summer lol.

I'm confused is he good to go next year or nah.
Doesn't sound like he is fully back yet.
Heard he might require more surgery. Whether that is a clean up or screws out or just a rumor I don't know as yet

The way Wrighty rapped him up he seems quite confident about Scully

“We understand Tom has been suffering with an ankle injury, however we are fully confident our medical team will help get him back to full fitness.”

Memo to every other AFL club

Hodge-Middle-Finger.gif
I say this with the utmost respect for the Hawthorn football club, but seriously * you guys!

classic stuff. Rebuilding isn't that hard just don't throw all your good players away.

Midfield next year c Smith O'Meara Scully
R Mcevoy Shiels Mitchell

Worpel Howe Burgoyne Morrison to roll through. Beautiful

Fingers crossed that our guys can get his ankle sorted out.

Below are extracts of two early reports on the injury.

A bit of quick background info:

His ankle injury was initially reported simply as a fracture of the lower fibula.

There are 2 bones between the knee and ankle: the tibia (the big one at the front) and the fibula. They come together to form a joint at the top of the ankle, called the syndesmosis. The lower section of the fibula, around where it joins the ankle, is called the lateral malleolus - this is where Scully's fracture occurred.

There are several ligaments that hold together the bones in this upper joint of the ankle, plus a big ligament that holds the tibia and fibula together. If one or more of these are torn (as can easily happen in a fracture in this region) the joint can become unstable. Cartilage damage is another possible complication.

He was operated on by orthopaedic surgeon, Andrew Oppy.

As far as I know, no-one's disclosed what has gone wrong - why Scully's ankle didn't recover as quickly as initially projected, and why GWS currently seem to think it's a problem.

This GWS injury report is vague about the extent of the injury:

http://m.gwsgiants.com.au/news/2018-04-03/westfund-rehab-report-round-three.mobileapp
Westfund Rehab Report: Round 3
3 April 2018

GIANTS midfielder Tom Scully will be sidelined for 10-12 weeks after successful surgery on a broken ankle on Sunday in Melbourne.

Scully, in his first game of the season, twisted awkwardly in a tackle in the first quarter and was taken from the ground on a stretcher.

Head of Athletic Performance David Joyce confirmed Scully will be looking to return to the field after the mid-season bye.

“He fractured his fibula, which is the narrow thin bone on the outside of your leg,” said Joyce.

“It was his right leg, so it was right down the bottom which is why we call it a broken ankle and he had other little things that we needed to clean up in there as well.

“He got operated on at the Epworth on Sunday and everything was done really, really well and we’re hopeful of seeing him back on the park in that 10-12 week range.”

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/scully-dane-swan-injury-gws-afl-20180403-p4z7l2.html
Scully lucky not to suffer Dane Swan-like injury
Dane Swan in early 2016.

White, a former club doctor at St Kilda...

White likened the manner in which Scully hurt himself to the way Swan suffered his career-ending injury.

Fortunately for Scully, he only suffered a broken ankle and syndesmosis ligament damage, and avoided the dreaded Lisfranc foot fracture.

As a result, the former Demon might only miss 12 weeks...

As serious as Scully’s injury was, White said it could have been much worse.

"The mechanism was certainly very similar to Dane Swan," White said.

"His foot went under his ankle, bent inwards and with a body low as the opponent fell on top of the leg, so it was just about identical."

Swan suffered syndesmosis ankle damage in the opening round of 2016 against Sydney and broke three bones in his foot, including the Lisfranc fracture.

White said Scully was set for a lengthy stint on the sidelines because of how important the part of the foot he injured is.

"With that sort of injury, first of all you bolster the whole biomechanics of the lower leg, ankle and foot," he said.

"The healing has to be absolutely 100 per cent before contemplating going forward with any significant weight-bearing activity because of the risk of complications of what we call ‘non-union’ or if the fracture is not set in the normal anatomical manner.

"It’s a sensitive part of the body and, in some respects, [crucial] to make sure that the alignment is correct so full function can be returned and participating in high-end athletic activity (can be achieved).”

GW on trade radio just said that:
- Scully's ankle wasn't right when he tried to return to training from the April operation, and so he had a second operation (7-8 weeks ago) to remove the plate and screws that Andrew Oppy had inserted.

- Scully's now recovering from that second operation and is 5-6 weeks away from jogging.

- GW seemed confident this isn't a career ending injury.

- Scully has come on a 3-yr contract, with a trigger clause for an extension (if i heard that bit correctly).

Edit:
ps the Trade Radio Tweeters type more quickly than me!

Fingers crossed that our guys can get his ankle sorted out.

Below are extracts of two early reports on the injury.

A bit of quick background info:

His ankle injury was initially reported simply as a fracture of the lower fibula.

There are 2 bones between the knee and ankle: the tibia (the big one at the front) and the fibula. They come together to form a joint at the top of the ankle, called the syndesmosis. The lower section of the fibula, around where it joins the ankle, is called the lateral malleolus - this is where Scully's fracture occurred.

There are several ligaments that hold together the bones in this upper joint of the ankle, plus a big ligament that holds the tibia and fibula together. If one or more of these are torn (as can easily happen in a fracture in this region) the joint can become unstable. Cartilage damage is another possible complication.

He was operated on by orthopaedic surgeon, Andrew Oppy.

As far as I know, no-one's disclosed what has gone wrong - why Scully's ankle didn't recover as quickly as initially projected, and why GWS currently seem to think it's a problem.

This GWS injury report is vague about the extent of the injury:

http://m.gwsgiants.com.au/news/2018-04-03/westfund-rehab-report-round-three.mobileapp
Westfund Rehab Report: Round 3
3 April 2018

GIANTS midfielder Tom Scully will be sidelined for 10-12 weeks after successful surgery on a broken ankle on Sunday in Melbourne.

Scully, in his first game of the season, twisted awkwardly in a tackle in the first quarter and was taken from the ground on a stretcher.

Head of Athletic Performance David Joyce confirmed Scully will be looking to return to the field after the mid-season bye.

“He fractured his fibula, which is the narrow thin bone on the outside of your leg,” said Joyce.

“It was his right leg, so it was right down the bottom which is why we call it a broken ankle and he had other little things that we needed to clean up in there as well.

“He got operated on at the Epworth on Sunday and everything was done really, really well and we’re hopeful of seeing him back on the park in that 10-12 week range.”

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/scully-dane-swan-injury-gws-afl-20180403-p4z7l2.html
Scully lucky not to suffer Dane Swan-like injury
Dane Swan in early 2016.

White, a former club doctor at St Kilda...

White likened the manner in which Scully hurt himself to the way Swan suffered his career-ending injury.

Fortunately for Scully, he only suffered a broken ankle and syndesmosis ligament damage, and avoided the dreaded Lisfranc foot fracture.

As a result, the former Demon might only miss 12 weeks...

As serious as Scully’s injury was, White said it could have been much worse.

"The mechanism was certainly very similar to Dane Swan," White said.

"His foot went under his ankle, bent inwards and with a body low as the opponent fell on top of the leg, so it was just about identical."

Swan suffered syndesmosis ankle damage in the opening round of 2016 against Sydney and broke three bones in his foot, including the Lisfranc fracture.

White said Scully was set for a lengthy stint on the sidelines because of how important the part of the foot he injured is.

"With that sort of injury, first of all you bolster the whole biomechanics of the lower leg, ankle and foot," he said.

"The healing has to be absolutely 100 per cent before contemplating going forward with any significant weight-bearing activity because of the risk of complications of what we call ‘non-union’ or if the fracture is not set in the normal anatomical manner.

"It’s a sensitive part of the body and, in some respects, [crucial] to make sure that the alignment is correct so full function can be returned and participating in high-end athletic activity (can be achieved).”
If the syndesmosis is still a bit lax, they may go back in and place a diastasis screw for a while to tighten it up some more. With insignificant cartilage damage the Long term prognosis would be good

Bit off topic but is Scully's doctor related to Tigers great Max Oppy?

I'm pretty sure he is not related. Dr.Andrew Oppy was my Trauma Orthopaedic surgeon...top bloke and one of the best in the business

This story (apparently in Tom's own words) gives a insight into his personality, and gives a vivid description of his ankle incident.
https://www.playersvoice.com.au/tom-scully-loud-crack-season-changed/#oLlDwpfyoUOr0eZR.97

Congratulations, Tom, on uttering those magic words "I want to play for Hawthorn".
After that, good things happen.
Interesting quote from the article:

"Mum and Dad came in and I was moved up to a room on the ward. Dylan Shiel, who’s probably my best mate at the footy club"

:)