Player Watch Welcome to Port Adelaide Joe Richards

His first quarter was sublime. Such a good user of the footy. I wouldn't describe him as a natural small forward but he works high up the ground and plays that high half forward role to the letter.

My Collingwood mate messaged me during the game joking that I hadn't thanked him for Richards yet.
He did say when we traded for him that we got a gem and he's usually a very good judge of talent.

After last night I reckon I need to send that thanks. Fitting player to revive the #35.

Whats this will never be/isnt a star business, why are we putting ceilings on a player whos played less than 15 games from a premiership club in collingwood and has learnt in tandem from probably two of the greatest modern day forwards in elliot and bobby hill?

I think he has every chance to be a star. Can easily see him kicking a bag, right now is a low disposal high hurt factor player which is more than enough for a forward pocket. Has the smarts, clean disposal, speed we have been looking for all in one package than the s gray/kane mitchell/jed mcncheese types

He is a very handy player, clean hands , good goal sense. I just want him to be involves for what feels like more than a quarter.

There have been a few games now where at quarter time I felt like he was going to get 3 Brownlow votes and then I hardly notice him again.

This will come, you forget how few games he has played.

Player Watch Welcome to Port Adelaide Joe Richards