Player Watch Pick #18 (2019) - Mitch Georgiades

Man on the left played 1983-1999 + 2002,191 cms and kicked 1,360 goals

Man on the right played 2005 to current days, 199 cms and has kicked 944 goals

Getting taller and less goals.

View attachment 786760
Plugger was also the best part of 191 kgs and knew how to use it though lol. He and Byron are the two funnest players I’ve watched.

That picture must have been taken before Plugger got AIDS.
Yep at Sydney's B&F 2014, Buddy's first year there and won the coleman. First time they had ever met.

Smithy7

10k Posts
Mar 1, 2014
South of Scotland
Port Adelaide
PORT ADELAIDE’S newest draftee Mitchell Georgiades was left speechless when his name was read out at pick 18 in the 2019 NAB AFL National Draft.

Georgiades received a phone call from senior coach Ken Hinkley only minutes prior to his selection, and the 18-year-old said he couldn’t contain his excitement.

Geez I like this ..
“My phone started ringing and I thought I’d better answer it - it was Ken Hinkley on the other end of the line.
“I was just absolutely lost for words. He told me they were about to read my name out and that I was now a Port Adelaide player.

“I honestly couldn’t believe it was happening. I couldn’t sit still - I was just running around the house. I was so excited.”

His AFL dream has come true ... love it .. :)

And this ..

“Dad and I have always really loved watching Robbie Gray play, we think he is just an absolute jet,” Georgiades.

“All of the young guys over there like Connor Rozee, Xavier Duursma and Zak Butters - it will be pretty special to play around them,

Was told that we have been watching him for a long time and deliberately didn't talk to him to let on we were interested in him, and that get out to other clubs to know how keen we were on him.

Apparently the first contact we had with him was after Geelong made their pick for Kemp, and Hinkley rang him and gave him the heads up that we are going to announce that we will draft him in a few minutes, and to get ready to be asked by the media what it is like to be drafted.

Jarrad Schofield and the recruiters take a bow. Knowing Mitchell and the family had its advantageous

Interesting. Not for the fact that we hid who we were interested in, but for the fact that we obviously thought that other clubs would pounce if they knew. It's kind of like the rumours that we were interested in De Koning - I never heard him linked to Geelong at all and then suddenly when we are saying we are interested in him, Geelong takes him.

It's like with Williams - Ken says that he was in the plans of the recruiting team from a long way out, but I never heard him linked to us until the last couple of days leading up to the draft.

I guess when you start nailing draft picks like Houston, Byrne-Jones, Ladhams, Rozee, Butters and Duursma to name a few, other teams are going to take notice of what player types you are interested in.

klem22

Apr 22, 2008
mt gambier
Port Adelaide
Interesting. Not for the fact that we hid who we were interested in, but for the fact that we obviously thought that other clubs would pounce if they knew. It's kind of like the rumours that we were interested in De Koning - I never heard him linked to Geelong at all and then suddenly when we are saying we are interested in him, Geelong takes him.

It's like with Williams - Ken says that he was in the plans of the recruiting team from a long way out, but I never heard him linked to us until the last couple of days leading up to the draft.

I guess when you start nailing draft picks like Houston, Byrne-Jones, Ladhams, Rozee, Butters and Duursma to name a few, other teams are going to take notice of what player types you are interested in.
Refreshing to see people going about their business with a bit of nous, brings a bit of confidence back into the club imo.

Man on the left played 1983-1999 + 2002,191 cms and kicked 1,360 goals

Man on the right played 2005 to current days, 199 cms and has kicked 944 goals

Getting taller and less goals.

View attachment 786760

it is interesting to look back at the short people (in today's standards) that played ruck or dominant forward positions.

Polly farmer was 191
Doug Wade and Dunstall 188
Ablett Snr 185

bigger isn't always better.............at least I tell myself

So which family did he marry into? Does that mean the pull to Mitchell might be a bit stronger than most lads who just want to play footy?

The daughter (Denby Roberts) of the Multiplex founder, John Roberts, who passed with assets of circa $1b. John Georgiades would have been wealthy in his own right having been heavily involved with Adam Rankin-Wilson.

The family fortune now sits at just under $3 billion

Jul 7, 2007
Ziggurat City
Port Adelaide
LUFC, Patriots
The daughter (Denby Roberts) of the Multiplex founder, John Roberts, who passed with assets of circa $1b. John Georgiades would have been wealthy in his own right having been heavily involved with Adam Rankin-Wilson.

The family fortune now sits at just under $3 billion

We picked him to land a JMS. It all makes sense now.

if clubs wanted him that badly, they would have picked him before us. This whole "we didn't speak to him to hide our interest" is a bit of a furphy.
Its important to remember that the draft is in order of desirability, not quality. In a draft with a lot of players that aren’t a complete or even package that is more pronounced as clubs rank players with greater variation between them.

Relativity

Oct 28, 2007
Port Adelaide
Port
Was told that we have been watching him for a long time and deliberately didn't talk to him to let on we were interested in him, and that get out to other clubs to know how keen we were on him.

Apparently the first contact we had with him was after Geelong made their pick for Kemp, and Hinkley rang him and gave him the heads up that we are going to announce that we will draft him in a few minutes, and to get ready to be asked by the media what it is like to be drafted.

Jarrad Schofield and the recruiters take a bow. Knowing Mitchell and the family had its advantageous

You misspelled advantagiades REH!

Relativity

Oct 28, 2007
Port Adelaide
Port
if clubs wanted him that badly, they would have picked him before us. This whole "we didn't speak to him to hide our interest" is a bit of a furphy.

You may be right about the furphy Feel but the logic of "if clubs wanted him that badly, they would have picked him before us" relies on them knowing when we were going to pick him which is kind of the point about keeping our intentions quiet.

You're putting too much stock in clubs caring what others are going to do. They put together a list and pick accordingly based on who is available. Clubs only wanted Georgiades if he was sliding. We just pulled the trigger earlier.

Given they've only seen one year of him nearing draft age, it's a fair reach. Not disputing his talent.

Geez I like this ..
“My phone started ringing and I thought I’d better answer it - it was Ken Hinkley on the other end of the line.
“I was just absolutely lost for words. He told me they were about to read my name out and that I was now a Port Adelaide player.

“I honestly couldn’t believe it was happening. I couldn’t sit still - I was just running around the house. I was so excited.”

His AFL dream has come true ... love it .. :)

And this ..

“Dad and I have always really loved watching Robbie Gray play, we think he is just an absolute jet,” Georgiades.

“All of the young guys over there like Connor Rozee, Xavier Duursma and Zak Butters - it will be pretty special to play around them,

Sees the number.

"It's that ******* Ken Hinkley. Decline."

it is interesting to look back at the short people (in today's standards) that played ruck or dominant forward positions.

Polly farmer was 191
Doug Wade and Dunstall 188
Ablett Snr 185

bigger isn't always better.............at least I tell myself
Chris Judd was taller than John Nicholls is something a lot press guys and Carlton fans say. They are both listed at 189cms, doesn't really matter, it makes the point how the game has changed.

May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
Grêmio, DC United, Pistons

His case is singular, since he had spend the year sidelined with an injury. He was under the radar, and we knew it. There was no reason whatsoever for us to bring extra attention to the boy. The fact that he wasn't invited for the draft night was a good sign.

There could be other clubs doing the same thing, but it was a calculated risk. The alternative would have been worse. Draft specialists were listing him as second-rounder, so it wasn't like Mitch was invisible. Any sign that we could call him in the first round could have changed the perspective of a couple of clubs above us.

Good play.

Relativity

Oct 28, 2007
Port Adelaide
Port
You're putting too much stock in clubs caring what others are going to do. They put together a list and pick accordingly based on who is available. Clubs only wanted Georgiades if he was sliding. We just pulled the trigger earlier.

Given they've only seen one year of him nearing draft age, it's a fair reach. Not disputing his talent.
The "reach" bit is what makes the whole draft night so interesting. Kind of like stock market trading. You live or die by your judgement. The more "reach" the more reward/hanging rope.

Tibbs

The Bearded ZERK!
Sep 9, 2013
Port Adelaide
The "reach" bit is what makes the whole draft night so interesting. Kind of like stock market trading. You live or die by your judgement. The more "reach" the more reward/hanging rope.
Good analogy. Stock traders generally follow three types... 1) Fundamental traders, and 2) Technical traders 3) Combination of both. FA traders do the hard yards in researching and identifying the fundamental value of a stock. TA traders will monitor the interest that other FA traders are showing in a stock by checking charts, volumes, etc. The interest by other traders in a stock catches there attention.

Assuming that clubs pay no need to what other players clubs are interested in would be so far from the truth IMO. This is an incestuous community, and there would be very little a club does that other clubs are unaware of. I have no difficulty at all in believing we played this Georgiades pick very close to our chest so as to not alert anyone to our interest in him.

Mar 1, 2014
Port Adelaide
There probably isn't much value in comparing height differences in past generations of footballers as people of both sexes are generally taller than their parents and often significantly taller than their grandparents.

Wingmen and rovers eg (as they were then called) were usually well under 6' in the 50's and 60's, and ruckmen were often only just an inch or two above that mark.
The first (supposedly) 6' wingmen were Dick Clay and Francis Bourke when they played for Richmond in the very late 60's, and I can recall a big fuss being made about their height at the time.

Generational height and weight changes are one of the reasons there are so many female jockeys today, and also why in many races weights carried by higher ranked horses have increased by as much as 5 kg.

Maybe it is the hormones in chicken after all. :think:

Aug 15, 2015
The cockeyed lowlife of the (Southern) Highlands
Port Adelaide
Sees the number.

"It's that ******* Ken Hinkley. Decline."

This is how I imagine it went

"Hello Mitch speaking"
"Yeah g'day mitch I'd like to order 3 large supremes and a couple of 2L coke zeroes thanks"
"Sorry what?"
"Yeah you're right, better make it 3 coke zeroes"
"Sorry I think you have the wrong number"
"Aw jeez this isn't Domino's? Well who's this?"
"Mitch Georgiadis"
"Cough. Haha yeah ERM.. just playing a little joke on ya there Mitchy... How'd you like to play for poradelaide?"
"Wow that'd be amazing!"
"Yeah no worries, see you on Monday"

Ken puts the phone down: "where's the bloody number for Domino's, I've ******* recruited someone again"
Bassett: "ken you said with Motlop it'd be the last time. Who'd you call?"
"Georgiadis. Wonder if he knows how to do a good souvlaki?"
"Georgiadis? Ya joking can't believe he didn't go higher"

Or something