Player Watch Shane McAdam

Glory be, when was smoking in shops banned?
I remember going into he Glenelg change rooms at half time and after the game. Back then the players would be smoking. I can recall Doug Long and Colin Richens both puffing on the f** at the half time break. But it was great to get into the rooms. The smell of the liniment and chatter and the coach giving his rev up. It used to rev up us kids as well.

LOL the expletive laden rev up....

Don't know exacI was definitely smoking in shops, restaurants etc in the early 1980's!
Can't be as long as some may think, as Bone and I are quite close in age. Was in Eastern Europe recently (including Russia) and smoking was rampant and everywhere. Mind you, when visiting family on the edge of London on the way people were smoking in Prime-mart in
Stevenage, a sort of version of our BigW in something akin to Elizabeth or Colonnades. Whether that was allowed or not, I don't know, but I saw it. Mind-you , they were ripping everything off the shelves and throwing them on he ground if they didn't want to purchase, so we would say a Bogan shopping area...but definitely saw people smoking in the shops there within the past four months or so!

Don't know exacI was definitely smoking in shops, restaurants etc in the early 1980's!

Can't be as long as some may think, as Bone and I are quite close in age. Was in Eastern Europe recently (including Russia) and smoking was rampant and everywhere. Mind you, when visiting family on the edge of London on the way people were smoking in Prime-mart in
Stevenage, a sort of version of our BigW in something akin to Elizabeth or Colonnades. Whether that was allowed or not, I don't know, but I saw it. Mind-you , they were ripping everything off the shelves and throwing them on he ground if they didn't want to purchase, so we would say a Bogan shopping area...but definitely saw people smoking in the shops there within the past four months or so!

Im just waiting for the day when smoking is banned everywhere bar your own home.

It's certainly heading there with the changes over the last 30 years.

To think it wasn't that long ago when Blighty has his Cats players smoke the peace pipe...

Yeah, no problems with that (although the odd cigar on holidays in a remote area of a park is probably not going to hurt too many people). However there are many other arguably worse social evils we turn a blind eye to! Would be good to be more consistent!

I vape now after 35 years as a smoker.
I never thought I would ever quit till ecigs came along.
The trouble is, ecigs get hit with the same bans even though its only steam.
I will never get to see the inside of Adelaide Oval.
You have to actually leave the ground completely to smoke right?

Yeah, I have a couple of adult sons who vape and they are better off in every way than when they smoked tobacco.

Geez I remember back in the day at Crows games seeing pregnant women smoking while seated.

Not sure when the rules changed where they had to smoke outside the ground.

Not a fan vape. For me thats just the same as smoking.

Geez I remember back in the day at Crows games seeing pregnant women smoking while seated.

Not sure when the rules changed where they had to smoke outside the ground.

Not a fan vape. For me thats just the same as smoking.

Reckon the rules changes that you had to go out to the back of the concourse around 97/98. I can remember going to a Port trial game with my brother at footy park when the rule change kicked in and some dude behind the goal had a cone and it looked really, really obvious. No surprises that a Port fan would be so dumb not to work out how obvious it would look bt still, I had a laugh as the cops came and dragged him out

give up .. you'll feel better, and probably live longer

SA - Jan 1999 A ban on smoking in all indoor dining areas, Dec 6th 2004 smoking was banned in all enclosed public places, workplaces and shared areas, 1 November 2007 A total ban on smoking in all enclosed areas of pubs, clubs and the Adelaide casino
31 May 2007, South Australia became the first Australian state to enact a ban on smoking in vehicles when children under 16 years of age are present

I have given up.
All my medical tests and lung tests show that of a non smoker. That wasnt the case when I was smoking.
I had A LOT of tests. I had a heart attack from smoking and 6 months later I got Guillain Barre.
How you going now? Great news you've given up. Also great you feel better for it. I know nothing about how
Guillain Barre has affected your life ..?

Why is vaping controlled? Surely it’s the substance that’s banned due to its effects not the manual process.

How you going now? Great news you've given up. Also great you feel better for it. I know nothing about how
Guillain Barre has affected your life ..?
It was a close call to having to go to ICU and a traccy. Luckily the drugs caught it in time. Once I had finished the drug coarse, it took a couple of days after that before it kicked in. Thought I was gone when it didnt improve. All good now but balance isnt as good as it was.