Toast Welcome to the Saints - JACK HIGGINS!

Really glad Jack is joining us. Has some great attributes. Well done to Richmond for letting him go. I hope I see something from Jack thanking them because they were clearly very good for and to him. If I was one of their fans I'm sure I would be sorry to see him go. Clearly very popular.

From his Instagram yesterday:

Just want to say a big thank you to the @richmond_fc for giving me the chance to live out my boy hood dream to play AFL. I will always be grateful for the club and everything they’ve done for me over the past 3 years.

Looking forward to starting a new chapter in my career as a @stkildafc player, who I grew up supporting. I can’t wait to get started 🙌🏽🤘🏼

by the way for anyone who hasn't seen it, here's that famous footage of the 2009 PF between Saints and Bulldogs, featuring a lively St Kilda crowd including a very young Jack Higgins cheering St Kilda on from the front row!

Two things to note here; first is that one of the players in the Bulldogs team that day was his namesake Shaun Higgins; 11 years later Shaun is still playing and that little kid in the crowd is too!

2nd thing is that Andrew McQualter was also playing that day in his number 32 jumper. Being that he's a popular assistant coach at Richmond now, it would be a nice touch for Snags to inherit his number.

Gotta love that slowmo of the seagul at the end. Spiritual.

From his Instagram yesterday:

Just want to say a big thank you to the @richmond_fc for giving me the chance to live out my boy hood dream to play AFL. I will always be grateful for the club and everything they’ve done for me over the past 3 years.

Looking forward to starting a new chapter in my career as a @stkildafc player, who I grew up supporting. I can’t wait to get started 🙌🏽🤘🏼

by the way for anyone who hasn't seen it, here's that famous footage of the 2009 PF between Saints and Bulldogs, featuring a lively St Kilda crowd including a very young Jack Higgins cheering St Kilda on from the front row!

Two things to note here; first is that one of the players in the Bulldogs team that day was his namesake Shaun Higgins; 11 years later Shaun is still playing and that little kid in the crowd is too!

2nd thing is that Andrew McQualter was also playing that day in his number 32 jumper. Being that he's a popular assistant coach at Richmond now, it would be a nice touch for Snags to inherit his number.

Thanks for that. Good lad is Jack.

When you order Jack Higgins:
1605297751981.png

When you order Jack Higgins on WISH:
1605297789569.png

Add in the McQualter-esque pornstache that Snags has glued to his upper lip and I rekon #32 would go alright haha

Gut feel is we see him in #22 though.

#5 - Crouch
#22 - Higgins
#24 - Frawley
#27 - McKernan
#32 - Pick 21

Have you written off Savage?

We have heard that Carlisle and Lonie both have contracts and are expected to stay. Nothing on Savage.

I think he might end up being delisted, just because he is out of contract and would be looking at too much coin to be playing VFL.

He might stay on a small contract though.

This guy screams cult hero to me. Tigers fans?

i Think we’re going to have a very fun team to watch over the next few years.

Oh gosh yes, he's a ripper. And if you haven't seen his highlights reel go check it out, its absolutely off the charts fun.
Good luck Higgo

We have heard that Carlisle and Lonie both have contracts and are expected to stay. Nothing on Savage.

I think he might end up being delisted, just because he is out of contract and would be looking at too much coin to be playing VFL.

He might stay on a small contract though.

No chance he's delisted.

Very happy for Higgo. Gets to play for the club he grew up supporting and the club looks to be in the best shape it's been in for a while.

******* win a flag for him Sainters. It'd be great to see. I am sad to see him go though.

Be careful what you wish for, he might win the Norm Smith to help us win a flag against Richmond in next year's GF.

I'm not against it. It'd be a great story.

Easy to say when you have won 3 of the last 4 premierships, I was happy to see Richmond break their premiership drought in 2017 but you've had your fill now.

It's our turn to get our snout in the premiership trough and Higgins winning a premiership after everything he has been through would certainly be a great story.

I thought he'd signed a contract extension for next year.
But I'd reckon at the end of that he'll be delisted

On LG-H872 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Like Lonie I'd be happy to keep Savage on our list as he is a quality depth player, if we delist him he would surely be picked up by another club.

I reckon even Hawthorn would be interested in getting Savage back given the state of their list.

Got to get Higgo off the pies & dimmies

Could shed a few I reckon

Yeah he doesn't look like he's a gym junkie, he's more fat than muscle.

He's doing my old trick of putting his hands behind his arms to push his arm fat up to look like biceps.

1605297789569-png.1011386

He needs to get Geary as a personal trainer over Summer.

Very happy for Higgo. Gets to play for the club he grew up supporting and the club looks to be in the best shape it's been in for a while.

******* win a flag for him Sainters. It'd be great to see. I am sad to see him go though.
* him, win it for me

Yep that's why I said it. I'm not greedy.
Don't mind him.

You have to understand, St Kilda has just been through 9 years of a hard and disappointing rebuild, abundant in fools gold and false dawns.

Time gives us the bitter luxury of a clear eyed assessment that in the 96-98, 03-06 and 09-11periods of dominance in the AFL netted us precicely nothing, while Brisbane, West Coast, Geelong, Hawthorn and bloody Richmond have all just strolled up and not only won premierships but created dynasties.

Where's our bloody dynasty? We had some of the biggest stars, we played some seriously great footy in those years. And is famously known, after all St Kilda has been through - our history and financial struggles etc - surely we deserved one. But the cruel footy gods laugh at words like "deserve".

All we've had to look forward to lately is "winning" the trade & drafting period, which is one of the reasons why us Saints fans are so desperate to get one over another club, and why we celebrate so heavily when it happens.

Richmond have the luxury of a perfectly balanced squad, a fantastic system and 3 cups in the bag, I'm sure it's easy to be magnanimous from that lofty height.

I hope us Saints fans can be equally as cool in the next few years in a similar position of strength when other teams inevitably poach our heavy hitters. Though as our recent history shows, no success is ever assured.

Good on Richmond, I don't mind you guys really. Some of you are a bit insufferable but frankly you've every right to be, and if we ever get close to achieving what Dimma's Tigers have, then don't worry; we'll be twice as insufferable and soon transform from everyone's 2nd team to the most hated, chocablock with campaigners and w***ers galore, much like a few people claimed we were in the 09-10 period.

I'm more confident than I have been that our time is at hand and if it indeed pans out that way, it will be a relief to celebrate that, rather than our "poker game" at the trade table.

I'm sure it's easy to be magnanimous from that lofty height.
Yep. But that sort of ignores the individual. I was born 92 and honestly thought I'd die before I even saw Richmond make a Grand Final. Even after 2016 when I was most optimistic about our chances.

During the dark days of Richmond as I was growing up I had great empathy for the Saints, even as a kid I knew that what I was going through was a fraction of what some saints were experiencing.

Recent tiger success or not, I would have come in here and said exactly the same.

I know you weren't abusing me or jumping down my throat or anything, it was a good post, but the inclination to respond in that way can get a little tiring as a tiger supporter.

I value good sportsmanship over being a flog or even straight banter and I'm a little weary from everyone bringing up other Richmond supporters when all I was doing was voicing my positive sentiments for the saints and my joy at seeing higgo happy.

Genuinely like every club except collingwood and I'm not every single Richmond supporter. I'd like to have a conversation with another supporter without my clubs success being brought up as a cause for my comments or the fact that we have some ferals.

We might not have the length of pain that you guys have, but growing up and up until a few years ago Richmond were a joke. A brutal joke. My magnanimous nature is 100% more attributed to growing up in dark days rather than because of recent success.

Weird rant I know... And probably given to the wrong person but I would just like to be able to voice an opinion without others attaching qualifiers to it. I didn't come in here to talk about Richmond, our recent success or our supporters.

I'm just ******* stoked for Higgo and the Saints. I don't believe in 'deserve' in footy but by * do the saints deserve a Flag. And a premiership photo where the captain isn't in bloody pies colours.

I'm not ignorant to your pain.

Not having a go either 😂 little drunk also. This halfhearted melt has been a long time coming.

Yep. But that sort of ignores the individual. I was born 92 and honestly thought I'd die before I even saw Richmond make a Grand Final. Even after 2016 when I was most optimistic about our chances.

During the dark days of Richmond as I was growing up I had great empathy for the Saints, even as a kid I knew that what I was going through was a fraction of what some saints were experiencing.

Recent tiger success or not, I would have come in here and said exactly the same.

I know you weren't abusing me or jumping down my throat or anything, it was a good post, but the inclination to respond in that way can get a little tiring as a tiger supporter.

I value good sportsmanship over being a flog or even straight banter and I'm a little weary from everyone bringing up other Richmond supporters when all I was doing was voicing my positive sentiments for the saints and my joy at seeing higgo happy.

Genuinely like every club except collingwood and I'm not every single Richmond supporter. I'd like to have a conversation with another supporter without my clubs success being brought up as a cause for my comments or the fact that we have some ferals.

We might not have the length of pain that you guys have, but growing up and up until a few years ago Richmond were a joke. A brutal joke. My magnanimous nature is 100% more attributed to growing up in dark days rather than because of recent success.

Weird rant I know... And probably given to the wrong person but I would just like to be able to voice an opinion without others attaching qualifiers to it. I didn't come in here to talk about Richmond, our recent success or our supporters.

I'm just ******* stoked for Higgo and the Saints. I don't believe in 'deserve' in footy but by fu** do the saints deserve a Flag. And a premiership photo where the captain isn't in bloody pies colours.

Not having a go either 😂 little drunk also. This halfhearted melt has been a long time coming.

respek

I'm just ******* stoked for Higgo and the Saints. I don't believe in 'deserve' in footy but by fu** do the saints deserve a Flag. And a premiership photo where the captain isn't in bloody pies colours.

Not having a go either little drunk also. This halfhearted melt has been a long time coming.
Fair do's. All that to say thanks for being an earnest well wisher and please excuse any bitterness or lack of class on our part.

Nah all good mate, no lack of class on your end. Just a tipsy sense of indignancy on my end. I am a tiger supporter after all. I can only keep it at bay for so long 😂😂

. JACK HIGGINS (Oakleigh Chargers)

178cm forward

Averaged 145 SuperCoach points in 33 junior games, pipping Tom Rockliff. Consistently ranks elite for disposals, contested possessions and score involvements.