Toast Welcome to the Saints - Jarrod Lienert

Player List 2022 (in age order)
Code:
    Name                 2021 Tot Age Birth Date Height Weight   Origin
  18 Ryder, Patrick        12 269 33 13 Mar 1988 197cm  94kg East Fremantle / Essendon / Port Adelaide
  14 Geary, Jarryn          3 207 33 23 Jun 1988 182cm  82kg Bendigo Pioneers
  10 Hannebery, Daniel      2 223 30 24 Feb 1991 181cm  80kg Oakleigh Chargers / Sydney
  38 Campbell, Tom          9  54 30 02 Nov 1991 201cm 105kg Western Bulldogs / North Melbourne
   6 Ross, Sebastian       20 160 28 07 May 1993 188cm  88kg North Ballarat Rebels
  29 Webster, Jimmy        20 113 28 28 Jun 1993 188cm  83kg Glenorchy
   8 Hill, Bradley         22 190 28 09 Jul 1993 179cm  79kg West Perth / Hawthorn / Fremantle
  32 Wood, Mason            9  74 28 13 Sep 1993 192cm  87kg Geelong / North Melbourne
   5 Crouch, Brad          20 115 27 14 Jan 1994 186cm  85kg North Ballarat Rebels / Adelaide
  25 Kent, Dean             7  98 27 25 Feb 1994 180cm  85kg Perth WAFL / Melbourne
  28 Membrey, Tim          21 131 27 26 May 1994 188cm  89kg Gippsland / Sydney
  31 Lienert, Jarrod        5  22 27 05 Aug 1994 195cm  93kg Sturt / Port Adelaide
  35 Sinclair, Jack        21 119 26 12 Feb 1995 180cm  82kg Oakleigh Chargers
   3 Jones, Zak            13 119 26 15 Mar 1995 181cm  80kg Dandenong Stingrays / Sydney
  15 Billings, Jack        18 144 26 18 Aug 1995 184cm  81kg Oakleigh Chargers
  19 Marshall, Rowan       13  65 26 24 Nov 1995 201cm 104kg North Ballarat Rebels
   9 Steele, Jack          22 119 26 13 Dec 1995 187cm  90kg ACT Rams / GWS
  44 Wilkie, Callum        22  63 25 10 Mar 1996 191cm  87kg North Adelaide
  20 Howard, Dougal        21  85 25 25 Mar 1996 199cm  92kg Murray Bushrangers / Port Adelaide
  36 McKenzie, Daniel      12  61 25 17 May 1996 184cm  83kg Oakleigh Chargers
  16 Butler, Dan           22  86 25 03 Jun 1996 182cm  80kg North Ballarat Rebels / Richmond
  47 Hayes, Jack            0   0 25 06 Mar 1997 193cm  91kg Woodville-West Torrens
  39 Joyce, Darragh (R)     5  10 24 23 Apr 1997 195cm  90kg Ireland
  21 Long, Ben             15  60 24 21 Aug 1997 182cm  74kg Footscray VFL
   4 Gresham, Jade          3  95 24 24 Aug 1997 177cm  79kg Northern Knights
  34 Highmore, Tom         13  13 23 24 Feb 1998 192cm  89kg Canberra Demons / South Adelaide
  26 Battle, Josh          16  56 23 18 Sep 1998 193cm  92kg Dandenong Stingrays
  33 Paton, Ben             0  35 23 19 Oct 1998 186cm  77kg Murray Bushrangers
   1 Coffield, Nicholas    16  52 22 19 Mar 1999 191cm  82kg Northern Knights
  22 Higgins, Jack         19  62 22 19 Mar 1999 177cm  78kg Oakleigh Chargers / Richmond
  11 Clark, Hunter         13  60 22 26 Mar 1999 186cm  79kg Dandenong Stingrays
  23 Bytel, Jack           13  16 21 14 Mar 2000 189cm  78kg Calder Cannons
  12 King, Maxwell         20  38 21 07 Jul 2000 202cm  90kg Sandringham Dragons
  43 Sharman, Cooper        5   5 21 27 Jul 2000 193cm  83kg Oakleigh / Woodville-West Torrens
  13 Byrnes, Ryan          16  17 20 03 May 2001 181cm  80kg Sandringham Dragons
  37 Connolly, Leo          7   7 20 07 Aug 2001 181cm  74kg Gippsland Power
  30 Allison, Matthew       0   0 19 29 Jan 2002 195cm  81kg Calder Cannons
  42 Heath, Max             0   0 19 24 Oct 2002 204cm  93kg Sandringham Dragons
   7 Wanganeen-Milera, Nas  0   0 18 22 Feb 2003 188cm  71kg Glenelg
  17 Windhager, Marcus      0   0 18 16 May 2003 183cm  82kg Sandringham Dragons
  27 Adams, Oscar           0   0 18 23 Jul 2003 198cm  85kg Glenelg
  46 Kyle, Josiah           0   0 18 31 Jul 2003 182cm  72kg Sandringham Dragons
  24 Owens, Mitchito        0   0 18 24 Sep 2003 190cm  85kg Sandringham Dragons
  45 Peris, Jack            0   0 18 17 Dec 2003 176cm  69kg Sandringham Dragons

I promise you Highmore is better than Lienert and Highmore can't even make your emergencies for a squad of 30 in a preseason game, so hard to see the point of this. If your squad is injured enough that Lienert is getting a game, your season is ****ed anyway and you may as well play the kids.

Wait until after you see us play him forward and Membrey back.

Player List 2022 (in age order)
Code:
    Name                 2021 Tot Age Birth Date Height Weight   Origin
  18 Ryder, Patrick        12 269 33 13 Mar 1988 197cm  94kg East Fremantle / Essendon / Port Adelaide
  14 Geary, Jarryn          3 207 33 23 Jun 1988 182cm  82kg Bendigo Pioneers
  10 Hannebery, Daniel      2 223 30 24 Feb 1991 181cm  80kg Oakleigh Chargers / Sydney
  38 Campbell, Tom          9  54 30 02 Nov 1991 201cm 105kg Western Bulldogs / North Melbourne
   6 Ross, Sebastian       20 160 28 07 May 1993 188cm  88kg North Ballarat Rebels
  29 Webster, Jimmy        20 113 28 28 Jun 1993 188cm  83kg Glenorchy
   8 Hill, Bradley         22 190 28 09 Jul 1993 179cm  79kg West Perth / Hawthorn / Fremantle
  32 Wood, Mason            9  74 28 13 Sep 1993 192cm  87kg Geelong / North Melbourne
   5 Crouch, Brad          20 115 27 14 Jan 1994 186cm  85kg North Ballarat Rebels / Adelaide
  25 Kent, Dean             7  98 27 25 Feb 1994 180cm  85kg Perth WAFL / Melbourne
  28 Membrey, Tim          21 131 27 26 May 1994 188cm  89kg Gippsland / Sydney
  31 Lienert, Jarrod        5  22 27 05 Aug 1994 195cm  93kg Sturt / Port Adelaide
  35 Sinclair, Jack        21 119 26 12 Feb 1995 180cm  82kg Oakleigh Chargers
   3 Jones, Zak            13 119 26 15 Mar 1995 181cm  80kg Dandenong Stingrays / Sydney
  15 Billings, Jack        18 144 26 18 Aug 1995 184cm  81kg Oakleigh Chargers
  19 Marshall, Rowan       13  65 26 24 Nov 1995 201cm 104kg North Ballarat Rebels
   9 Steele, Jack          22 119 26 13 Dec 1995 187cm  90kg ACT Rams / GWS
  44 Wilkie, Callum        22  63 25 10 Mar 1996 191cm  87kg North Adelaide
  20 Howard, Dougal        21  85 25 25 Mar 1996 199cm  92kg Murray Bushrangers / Port Adelaide
  36 McKenzie, Daniel      12  61 25 17 May 1996 184cm  83kg Oakleigh Chargers
  16 Butler, Dan           22  86 25 03 Jun 1996 182cm  80kg North Ballarat Rebels / Richmond
  47 Hayes, Jack            0   0 25 06 Mar 1997 193cm  91kg Woodville-West Torrens
  39 Joyce, Darragh (R)     5  10 24 23 Apr 1997 195cm  90kg Ireland
  21 Long, Ben             15  60 24 21 Aug 1997 182cm  74kg Footscray VFL
   4 Gresham, Jade          3  95 24 24 Aug 1997 177cm  79kg Northern Knights
  34 Highmore, Tom         13  13 23 24 Feb 1998 192cm  89kg Canberra Demons / South Adelaide
  26 Battle, Josh          16  56 23 18 Sep 1998 193cm  92kg Dandenong Stingrays
  33 Paton, Ben             0  35 23 19 Oct 1998 186cm  77kg Murray Bushrangers
   1 Coffield, Nicholas    16  52 22 19 Mar 1999 191cm  82kg Northern Knights
  22 Higgins, Jack         19  62 22 19 Mar 1999 177cm  78kg Oakleigh Chargers / Richmond
  11 Clark, Hunter         13  60 22 26 Mar 1999 186cm  79kg Dandenong Stingrays
  23 Bytel, Jack           13  16 21 14 Mar 2000 189cm  78kg Calder Cannons
  12 King, Maxwell         20  38 21 07 Jul 2000 202cm  90kg Sandringham Dragons
  43 Sharman, Cooper        5   5 21 27 Jul 2000 193cm  83kg Oakleigh / Woodville-West Torrens
  13 Byrnes, Ryan          16  17 20 03 May 2001 181cm  80kg Sandringham Dragons
  37 Connolly, Leo          7   7 20 07 Aug 2001 181cm  74kg Gippsland Power
  30 Allison, Matthew       0   0 19 29 Jan 2002 195cm  81kg Calder Cannons
  42 Heath, Max             0   0 19 24 Oct 2002 204cm  93kg Sandringham Dragons
   7 Wanganeen-Milera, Nas  0   0 18 22 Feb 2003 188cm  71kg Glenelg
  17 Windhager, Marcus      0   0 18 16 May 2003 183cm  82kg Sandringham Dragons
  27 Adams, Oscar           0   0 18 23 Jul 2003 198cm  85kg Glenelg
  46 Kyle, Josiah           0   0 18 31 Jul 2003 182cm  72kg Sandringham Dragons
  24 Owens, Mitchito        0   0 18 24 Sep 2003 190cm  85kg Sandringham Dragons
  45 Peris, Jack            0   0 18 17 Dec 2003 176cm  69kg Sandringham Dragons

Membrey, Crouch and Hill the only decent players over 27 that will either be there in a couple of years or that we'd seriously miss. That 20 years of below average drafting is showing up now. Probably means that if we did have to have a hard rebuild again it shouldn't take as long. It still lacks some serious star power, we really need King, Coff, Snags and Clark types to be our star players.

It’s funny isn’t it. I remember North fans making a big deal over how Mason Wood is a massive tease yada yada. But he’s been a really solid contributor so far, played great in 2021 season, won the time trial 2022 pre-season, plays his link-up role very consistently and works well within the team.

Who knows how this Lienert signing will go, but you can’t really blame the club for wanting depth players with AFL experience if we’re pushing for finals in a covid-ridden season.
Just like Paddy being old and Dougs being steak knives. One of the best tap ruckmen we’ve ever had at our club and the shining centrepiece of our backline

We do this every year recently, pick up older guys to fill spaces. It doesn't exactly pay off big time but it keeps the squad competitive:

2021: Tom Campbell, Jack Hayes, Jarrod Lienert
2020: Shaun McKernan, James Frawley, Tom Highmore, Paul Hunter, Mason Wood
2019: Ryan Abbott (and lots of older trades)
2018: Sam Rowe, Jono Marsh, Callum Wilkie, Robbie Young, Nick Hind, Matthew Parker
Sam Rowe? I don’t know why but he literally doesn’t ring a single bell in my memory. How many games did he play

Edit: wait was he the perennially injured bloke who everyone in the AFL celebrated getting one game with us? I think I rmemeber now

Sam Rowe? I don’t know why but he literally doesn’t ring a single bell in my memory. How many games did he play

Edit: wait was he the perennially injured bloke who everyone in the AFL celebrated getting one game with us? I think I rmemeber now

Yeah basically, he did an ACL and had testicular cancer earlier in his career. Played his hundredth and last game in the last round of the year for us.

yes, that was his only game or maybe he played one other. but we gave him that game to get hi his 100th.

i like that. unlike what we did for whats his name who was stuck on 99 games and then moved to brisbane.

yes, that was his only game or maybe he played one other. but we gave him that game to get hi his 100th.

i like that. unlike what we did for whats his name who was stuck on 99 games and then moved to brisbane.

That was just abysmal.
Went on to play 71 games for the Lions, at a time when we were crying out for defenders.

Membrey, Crouch and Hill the only decent players over 27 that will either be there in a couple of years or that we'd seriously miss. That 20 years of below average drafting is showing up now. Probably means that if we did have to have a hard rebuild again it shouldn't take as long. It still lacks some serious star power, we really need King, Coff, Snags and Clark types to be our star players.
It's funny the difference perspective makes. I look at that same list and see that 28 is the oldest for any best 22 players which gives us 4 years to bolster the squad without any noteable losses.
4 years of drafting
4 years of development.
4 years of trading and FA acquisition
4 years of stability

Your stars if they're on our list will come out over this time, but it's the 90 more games played together that will be the making of any success. I for one am looking forward to it.

Rossy wasn't renowned for his sentimentality
Since the introduction of the father son rule I'd say stranding any player on 99 games is tantamount to professional negligence or even misconduct since no one could ever claim they didn't know about it.
As SS said, Goose played another 5 or so years at the Lions which makes it all the worse. Rossy wasn't just unsentimental, he's a prick of a bloke.

Since the introduction of the father son rule I'd say stranding any player on 99 games is tantamount to professional negligence or even misconduct since no one could ever claim they didn't know about it.
As SS said, Goose played another 5 or so years at the Lions which makes it all the worse. Rossy wasn't just unsentimental, he's a prick of a bloke.

Yeah the FS rule certainly makes it a silly call. Has Goose got any kids?

It's funny the difference perspective makes. I look at that same list and see that 28 is the oldest for any best 22 players which gives us 4 years to bolster the squad without any noteable losses.
4 years of drafting
4 years of development.
4 years of trading and FA acquisition
4 years of stability

Your stars if they're on our list will come out over this time, but it's the 90 more games played together that will be the making of any success. I for one am looking forward to it.

It leaves the window open for longer but you would want to get moving soon. Losing Steele and Marshall would be a big chunk of our quality gone at once. They probably have 4 years left of quality peak footy before decline sets in. If we have to wait another 3 seasons to see some results I'm not looking forward to the wait. It feels like waiting for a country town bus as it is. At least Ben King saved us from ourselves. We need to draft hard.

This is the reason this last draft was so good , we actually grabbed 3 kids who have massive upside and downside as well I suppose and even Peris has surprised me in his potential and not to forget Adams , Heath , Kylie with the guys who are only 20 like Connolly , Byrnes , Allison - plus a bunch of guys who are 22 like Bytel , Coffield , Clark , Higgins , King and Sharman.
Our list has now a heap of kids in development and a lot of them have a lot more promise than a lot of the draft picks we have had in the past.
We have 3 guys on the list who are 30 odd and really it is doubtful how many games they will play - Geary , Ryder and Hannerbery so really our list is really one of the youngest running around.

So really the oldest guys in our expected starting line up would be Hill , Crouch , Webster , Ross , Wood and Membery who are all 28 and you could say they are at there prime a 28.

I promise you Highmore is better than Lienert and Highmore can't even make your emergencies for a squad of 30 in a preseason game, so hard to see the point of this. If your squad is injured enough that Lienert is getting a game, your season is ****ed anyway and you may as well play the kids.
I reckon he'd be getting a game at Port at the moment, what do you think?

Seems he's done exactly what we brought him in for. To plug a hole when we get a few injuries.

I reckon he'd be getting a game at Port at the moment, what do you think?
Nope. Not sure why he's getting a game for the Saints either. I didn't watch your game last week, but the week before that he had 1 contested possession and 5 clangers.

Would happily take Highmore at Port though if your mob for some reason doesn't see fit to use him.

Nope. Not sure why he's getting a game for the Saints either. I didn't watch your game last week, but the week before that he had 1 contested possession and 5 clangers.

Would happily take Highmore at Port though if your mob for some reason doesn't see fit to use him.

Well he had a very good game on Sunday v the Tigers. He is last on the list for a reason but good luck to him. He knows his place and like our Irish defender Darragh Joyce understand he is depth.
Highmore had a very good game in the magoos and will be back soon enough. You guys had your chance with Wilkie, Highmore, Sharman etc, you didn't want to draft them so it is our good recruiting fortune.

Well he had a very good game on Sunday v the Tigers. He is last on the list for a reason but good luck to him. He knows his place and like our Irish defender Darragh Joyce understand he is depth.
Highmore had a very good game in the magoos and will be back soon enough. You guys had your chance with Wilkie, Highmore, Sharman etc, you didn't want to draft them so it is our good recruiting fortune.

Yep, they were right under their noses all the time.
And let’s not forget Hayes.

intro-1615225758.jpg