being an up and comer you probably wouldn't be overly enthused being compared to brown.
And if we turn another exciting forward prospect into a backman I will be pissed
Brown an "exciting forward prospect"? Really?
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
being an up and comer you probably wouldn't be overly enthused being compared to brown.
And if we turn another exciting forward prospect into a backman I will be pissed
I daresay he's referring to Browns first year/first game when he looked a good CHF prospect.
Just what we'd need another Priddis!Very early days. Lamb has certainly put the right foot forward to begin with, but he's far from justifying selection over Blakely.
I still reckon Blakely has the better upside. Lamb has the physical and athletic capacity to impress from day one but there is of course a question mark over his midfield utility. Blakely on the other hand has the scope to become a high quality inside midfielder (IMO). His obstacle to overcome will be his footskills.
Lamb certainly seems a greater asset in 2015 but over the stretch it will be an interesting comparison.
I see it the opposite with Lamb having a far higher ceiling, 193cm 15 beepers with footy nouse and aggression aren't that common. I love the fact he's a hard trainer as well, these are the guys that lift the standard at training like Cuz used to do.
Surely you've lost this argument now.
Just what we'd need another Priddis!
Blakely can also find space, Priddis can't. Blakely crashes through tackles, Priddis stands up in them. They are wildly different players.Very different players. Blakey is a much smoother mover and a much better kick.
Yeah freo have done well to maintain their midfield. Blakely, Weller, Fyfe, Neale, Crozier/Sutcliffe/Sheridan are a pretty good core unfortunatelyBlakely can also find space, Priddis can't. Blakely crashes through tackles, Priddis stands up in them. They are wildly different players.
I still think Blakely is going to be a ripper.
I'm not in the slightest bit interested in comparing the selections.
Yeah freo have done well to maintain their midfield. Blakely, Weller, Fyfe, Neale, Crozier/Sutcliffe/Sheridan are a pretty good core unfortunately
FmlPlus Hill and Walters.
Yeah but you can still win a flag with a forward line of spuds, as we've seen a few times in recent decades. KPFs are overrated insofar as many of the clubs with highly rated KPFs over the past 10 years have not necessarily guaranteed finals success.Remember though, they will be kicking it to their key forwards of Ballantyne, Walters and Crozier
*Ok yes Tabernener is there as well, but they are screwed for other options.
Yeah but you can still win a flag with a forward line of spuds, as we've seen a few times in recent decades. KPFs are overrated insofar as many of the clubs with highly rated KPFs over the past 10 years have not necessarily guaranteed finals success.
Plus, they just have to trade in someone readymade and all of a sudden they're sorted.
Ready made? You mean like Kepler Bradley, Jack Anthony, Chris Tarrant, Scott Gumbleton?
You still need a key forward to kick you goals, Sydney was the only side in recent times who didn't have at least one good tall forward.
2014: Roughead and Gunston
2013: Franklin, Roughead and Gunston
2011: Podsiadily and Hawkins
2010: Cloke and Dawes
2009: Hawkins and Mooney
2008: Franklin and Roughead
2007: Ablett and Mooney
2006: Lynch and Hansen
2005: Hall and O'Loughlin
Majority of those sides had at least one 50 goal a year forward in them. Apart from Pav who is on his last legs, Freo are yet to prove they have that in their young talls. They will need to buck the trend if they want to win a flag.
They had plenty of shots in their loss to the Hawks. If they kicked straight they could have won. So not sure that is entirely accurate. It helps but it's not essential. Especially since Walters and Fyfe play as legitimate marking targets.They would need Mayne/Tabaner to get 35-40 and their resting ruckman to get at least 20 between them. Problem i see is Pav holding us as he getting older and older. Small forwards like Ballas and Walters as good as they are tend to go missing during finals.
They would need Mayne/Tabaner to get 35-40 and their resting ruckman to get at least 20 between them. Problem i see is Pav holding us as he getting older and older. Small forwards like Ballas and Walters as good as they are tend to go missing during finals.
This logic sh1ts me, if Hawthorn had kicked straight they would have won by more! If we'd kicked straight during the season we would have made the 8! Futile really, the result is what it is. Still, Freo ranks their GF loss as the greatest moment in their history, this is closely followed by derby wins, they really set the bar high down there.They had plenty of shots in their loss to the Hawks. If they kicked straight they could have won. So not sure that is entirely accurate. It helps but it's not essential. Especially since Walters and Fyfe play as legitimate marking targets.
Calm down. They didn't. The point is that having only one key forward in Pav didn't limit their ability to get shots at goal. In fact they averaged less possessions per scoring shot than Hawthorn.This logic sh1ts me, if Hawthorn had kicked straight they would have won by more! If we'd kicked straight during the season we would have made the 8! Futile really, the result is what it is. Still, Freo ranks their GF loss as the greatest moment in their history, this is closely followed by derby wins, they really set the bar high down there.
Yeah this.Calm down. They didn't. The point is that having only one key forward in Pav didn't limit their ability to get shots at goal. In fact they averaged less possessions per scoring shot than Hawthorn.
Blah blah blah Freo is crap blah blah blah
/for the irrational types
I'd argue that Apeness/Pearce/Taberner have the capability to become Lynch/Hansen, Cloke/Dawes or Mooney/N Ablett.Ready made? You mean like Kepler Bradley, Jack Anthony, Chris Tarrant, Scott Gumbleton?
You still need a key forward to kick you goals, Sydney was the only side in recent times who didn't have at least one good tall forward.
2014: Roughead and Gunston
2013: Franklin, Roughead and Gunston
2011: Podsiadily and Hawkins
2010: Cloke and Dawes
2009: Hawkins and Mooney
2008: Franklin and Roughead
2007: Ablett and Mooney
2006: Lynch and Hansen
2005: Hall and O'Loughlin
Majority of those sides had at least one 50 goal a year forward in them. Apart from Pav who is on his last legs, Freo are yet to prove they have that in their young talls. They will need to buck the trend if they want to win a flag.
i guess we are lucky lecras hasn't been moved down back then.Im just saying we have a history of taking promising forwards and turning them in backmen.Usually they do a great job down back but we haven't developed too many good KPFs over the yearsHe did have a good first game, but played a total of 5 for the year, kicking 2 goals, and none better than the first. Bit of a low bar for "exciting forward prospect".
Plus the slagging off of the club Re turning him into a defender, I hope mattyc75 remembers he did his knee in his second preseason.
would hate to think we drafted a KPF at that draft spot who didn't show any promiseBrown an "exciting forward prospect"? Really?
My post was not contrdicting your belief that you don't need elite KPF's to win a flag, I was merely stating the fact that conversely if Hawthorn had of kicked straight they would have won by more. Results are results, they can't be changed after the game. If's are just that, if Freo had kicked straight it would have been a different game and maybe the hawks would have lifted and still won.Calm down. They didn't. The point is that having only one key forward in Pav didn't limit their ability to get shots at goal. In fact they averaged less possessions per scoring shot than Hawthorn.
Blah blah blah Freo is crap blah blah blah
/for the irrational types
He did have a good first game, but played a total of 5 for the year, kicking 2 goals, and none better than the first. Bit of a low bar for "exciting forward prospect".
Plus the slagging off of the club Re turning him into a defender, I hope mattyc75 remembers he did his knee in his second preseason.
This logic sh1ts me, if Hawthorn had kicked straight they would have won by more! If we'd kicked straight during the season we would have made the 8! Futile really, the result is what it is. Still, Freo ranks their GF loss as the greatest moment in their history, this is closely followed by derby wins, they really set the bar high down there.