Well Done Crows!

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
That friend is me mate. PP even gave me a lift from the SANFL at Alberton to AAMI. (Thanks mate!)

PP is definitely on the money. To hear Neil Craig's comments that the crowd made the difference when the Crows were behind is laughable. The only time our grandstand chanted at all was when we got up to get a Sydney chant going. One of our Cheer Squad member's Mum had a bottle thrown at her when we were doing this.

JF

Chuckle chuckle, well that explains it all,

you silly tosser :D

yob said:
It's simple really. When you create a representative side for the SANFL, you run a 1 in 8 chance of having Central supporters show up.

That supports their side with more passion than any other SANFL side in the league. Comfortably accounted for your sorry mob in the GF - look where that sent you.

Hello down there, we can ALMOST see you!

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
It was terribly quiet for 90% of the time. The only time the big grandstand started up was when we had the temerity to get a chant going.

As always, we came in friendship. :rolleyes:

JF

I'll Kill you....

Paralowiepower said:
Was it? The game seemed to be a shocker, and the atmosphere flat as a tack. So much for the big build up all week for the crow fans to make some noise.
Was it really so quiet or was that just the fox telecast?

Hope you took notice of what AAMI looks like when it's full of supporters ;)

I thought the crowd was pretty good tonight ;)

How many will turn upto Port's next ' home' game??? Lots only cause the AFC supporters will help Port Power fill AAMI up.

Dan26 said:
Is it just me, or can anyone else see St.Kilda rolling this mob in the first week of the finals?

As much as I can see Essendon making the finals.

ok.crows said:
Friday, May 20
Adelaide 15.13 (103)
St Kilda 8.9 (57)

46 points, and that was at Telstra Dome.

Irrelevant come finals time. Totally meaningless. I remember Essendon losing winning a final by 76 points in 1989 and losing to the same team two weeks later by 94. Past results are in the past and mean nothing. Notice the 20 goal turnaround today in the Carlton-Richmond game comapred to the earlier meeting?" Past results mean nothing.

If St.Kilda is playing at their BEST (a big IF) they will beat anyone, anywhere.

They're a bit like Geelong in '89. They can fall in a hole, but when they're on fire, they are close to unstoppable. If the Crows meet the Saints in week one, that will be the Crows big danger in making the Grand Final. If they can get through that, they'd be my tip for the premiership.

Dan26 said:
Irrelevant come finals time. Totally meaningless. I remember Essendon losing winning a final by 76 points in 1989 and losing to the same team two weeks later by 94. Past results are in the past and mean nothing. Notice the 20 goal turnaround today in the Carlton-Richmond game comapred to the earlier meeting?" Past results mean nothing.

If St.Kilda is playing at their BEST (a big IF) they will beat anyone, anywhere.

They're a bit like Geelong in '89. They can fall in a hole, but when they're on fire, they are close to unstoppable. If the Crows meet the Saints in week one, that will be the Crows big danger in making the Grand Final. If they can get through that, they'd be my tip for the premiership.

Fair enough.

The only question after all is - who would be favourites?

Tough to see Saints making up two games and percentage with only four games left (would require four wins for Saints and two losses at least for the Crows). Possible then that the week 1 finals game would be Crows vs Saints at AAMI - as you also seem to conclude.

Saints are in pretty good form. Crows are managing to win - in fact managing to break club records for wins.

Saints have only won what once? against Crows at AAMI.

No doubt despite that Sainters would be hyped up to the sky (by the Melbourne media) and be made deadset favourites by the punters.

Deja Vu all over again ...
(from another Saints vs Adelaide final some years ago).

ok.crows said:
Fair enough.

The only question after all is - who would be favourites?

Tough to see Saints making up two games and percentage with only four games left (would require four wins for Saints and two losses at least for the Crows). Possible then that the week 1 finals game would be Crows vs Saints at AAMI - as you also seem to conclude.

Saints are in pretty good form. Crows are managing to win - in fact managing to break club records for wins.

Saints have only won what once? against Crows at AAMI.

No doubt despite that Sainters would be hyped up to the sky (by the Melbourne media) and be made deadset favourites by the punters.

Deja Vu all over again ...
(from another Saints vs Adelaide final some years ago).

It St.Kilda are playing like they are now come finals time, I reckon a Crows-Saints final (even at AAMI) is 50-50. St.Kild are on fire and are playing much like they did when they went 10-0 to start 2004. I think if those two teams meet, the winner of that week one final, will win the flag.

Dan26 said:
Irrelevant come finals time. Totally meaningless. I remember Essendon losing winning a final by 76 points in 1989 and losing to the same team two weeks later by 94. .

When Van der haar got hit you just felt where ever you were. Still gives me the shivers.

Yeah but when we beat them at the Dome we had fallen into a bit of a hole, and a loss to them would have put us in trouble. I was watching it with a few mates ********ing on. When we were 5 goals to 0 down we felt like putting on Big Brother! Instead, we charged home and won easy with Burton pulling out a few party tricks.

I would definately back us in a final at Footy Park vs the Saints

bunsen burner said:
Good (not) to see the Swans dish up their usual negative and ugly football.

The last time I looked, two teams actualy help make a dour defensive match. Adelaide were as much to blame for its dour nature as we were. They played with a loose man in defence for much of the night and often only had 2-4 players in their attacking 50.

I'm not going to insult you by saying that Sydney did NOt play defensively last night. As a spectacle the SANFL match I watched earlier that day was far far superior to what I watched last night.

But it still ********es me off to hear that everyone trhings that it was Sydney trying to close the game down and Adelaide trying to open it up. Because that could not have been further from the truth.

Adelaide can thank the fact that they can kick arsey goals from everywhere. I'm afraid Sydney's goalkicking prowess is not as sound. :(

JF

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
That friend is me mate. PP even gave me a lift from the SANFL at Alberton to AAMI. (Thanks mate!)

PP is definitely on the money. To hear Neil Craig's comments that the crowd made the difference when the Crows were behind is laughable. The only time our grandstand chanted at all was when we got up to get a Sydney chant going. One of our Cheer Squad member's Mum had a bottle thrown at her when we were doing this.

JF
Of course, who would we be to question you. Pull your head out of your arse and you would have heard the crowd, gee's Sydney have some serious sore losers.

Shrapnel said:
If you think that was a good crowd I would hate to go to a quiet crowd at AAMI. Come to think of it anytime the home team is behind the crowd goes dead quiet. They only make noise after they kick a goal. Why are alot of people saying this if it isn't true?
Yes, poeple always saying it, well, Port supporters and sore losers I suppose. Personally, I thought it was fine, for such a boring side visiting last night.

JF_Bay_22_SCG said:
It was terribly quiet for 90% of the time. The only time the big grandstand started up was when we had the temerity to get a chant going.

to But still have a read as to what happened to us last night.
http://www.redandwhiteonline.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&postid=137816#post137816

A more violent aggressive atmosphere at a football game in Australia I have had seldom had the pleasure of experiencing. We had a group of about 4 bogans with mullets and earrings who all had "Crows Army" on the backs of their guernseys. One of them even held up this "Crow Army' banner with a tank on it. :rolleyes: I taunted them that the "Crows Army" consisted of 3 people. And that not once did they even attempt to get a chant going in SUPPORT of their team. Not only did I get a reply of quite vicious personal abuse that lasted all match but without security being there at the end of the game, we would have been attacked by these thugs. Does anyone actually know anything about these morons? :mad:

If you thought the commentary was bad, you were lucky you weren't there behind the goals last night. Again we needed a security escort out of the ground as well. It is sad that football has gotten to this stage that security escorted are deemed necessary just to get out of the ground safely. Sadly in Adelaide they are very necessary. One comment can result in them returning fire with not only abuse but objects such as bottles and jaffas. Every time Pete Hatley and I got up to get a chant going, we had the whole grandstand either abusing us, telling us to **** off or go home, or even worse an excuse to hurl bottles at us.

There is a nasty abusive narky streak in Adelaide supporters it seems. If I had kids, I would NOT want to be taking them to AAMI Stadium when morons like the "Crow Army" are there, not only engaging in the most base of personal abuse but the possiblility of physical violence.

Adelaide were the better side on the night I guess. I have no problem in admitting that. It is just the attitude of some of the vindictive neanderthals who barrack for them that I find very very hard to fathom.

As always, we came in friendship. :rolleyes:

JF
Funny how things like that only happen to poeple like you. From reading that message I can see how much more socially civilised some Sydney supporters are. Amazing how I have gone with visiting supporters to footy park and never had any problems, but there again I am sure that they are unlike you.

dA Crow said:
Yes, poeple always saying it, well, Port supporters and sore losers I suppose. Personally, I thought it was fine, for such a boring side visiting last night.

There's such a thing as a bad winner too...

I've been to a couple of games where the home side lost at aami and I thought the crowd was quiet because they were eaither getting thrashed (v crows) or in shock(v port). This is probably why only supporters of losing teams say something about the poor atmosphere because when a home team wins you usually expect a loud and noisy crowd.

Shrapnel said:
There's such a thing as a bad winner too...

I've been to a couple of games where the home side lost at aami and I thought the crowd was quiet because they were eaither getting thrashed (v crows) or in shock(v port). This is probably why only supporters of losing teams say something about the poor atmosphere because when a home team wins you usually expect a loud and noisy crowd.
Only responded after a tirade of sooks from a select few Swans supporters here. Here is a quote for you

Shrapnel said:
What about Kenelly running into goal twice i think?
Anyway we lost it in the first 4 minutes after half time. take that out of the game and we woulda won by 10 points and there would be question marks about Adelaide because they were absoulety crap tonight besides those 4 mins.

Crap huh? So playing crap we still won, something you should be most happy about.

dA Crow said:
Only responded after a tirade of sooks from a select few Swans supporters here. Here is a quote for you

Crap huh? So playing crap we still won, something you should be most happy about.

yes do you honestly believe Adelaide played well and looked like winning besides those 4 mins?

Shrapnel said:
I gotta say for a 46,000 crowd the atmosphere was appalingly bad tonight. If it wasn't for a few Adelaide ferals and the chanting of the Sydney Cheersquad I doubt I would have heard anything else from the crowd apart from maybe the thirty seconds after Adelaide kicked their goals.

100% spot on mate. However us getting the chants going obviously endeared ourselves to the locals to the point that one of our Melbourne-based CS members was kindly donated a near full bottle of coke, at quick velocity too. :mad:

JF

Shrapnel said:
yes do you honestly believe Adelaide played well and looked like winning besides those 4 mins?

How bad must your side be then

4 Mins of Adelaide Football > 116 Mins of Sydey football

Mark of a good side is to play crap and still win, we were outplayed and still won.

Swans = AFC's new Bitches

noddy said:
\

You are another poor soul who can't seem to handle the truth.

You came , you played, you lost, & you got pi##ed off.

Now you can take your friendship & F##K off. :rolleyes:

That pretty much sums up the South Australian ethos to AFL football barracking it seems, doesn't it? "You suck, we beat you, ******** off home!"

And I thought West Coast fans were bad. As uppity as they are, at least they are not verbally and physically aggressive like you lot.

No wonder Adelaide is the murder capital of Australia, LOTS OF ANGRY FERALS!

JF :rolleyes: