10k Posts
Jan 8, 2001
On the 'Group W' bench.
Footscray
I've been down in Tassie for the last week and I want to say that AFL-and Hawthorn- was in all the papers. The people down there were over the moon that AFL footy was coming down to Tassie. They havent seen any top level footy for a long time, so I just want to say take a bow Hawthorn footy club-I know you lost a home game-but at least it went somewhere that they truly appreciated having it, and not some where where they couldn't care less(IE Sydney, like my footy club)

I dips me lid to yez Hawthorn, well done

lOCAL, just come back from an extended weekend in Launceston and i had a ball, will definitely be going back next year, the Tasmanians love there footy and they were extremely grateful for the game, great idea i hope the locals continue to support it 'coz it sure is a winner for all parties so far. :)

I've been down in Tassie for the last week and I want to say that AFL-and Hawthorn- was in all the papers. The people down there were over the moon that AFL footy was coming down to Tassie. They havent seen any top level footy for a long time, so I just want to say take a bow Hawthorn footy club-I know you lost a home game-but at least it went somewhere that they truly appreciated having it, and not some where where they couldn't care less(IE Sydney, like my footy club)

I dips me lid to yez Hawthorn, well done

Now here's a poster who knows his stuff...14 years on & it's still going strong....Well done Captain Sensible; You carry the name well.:thumbsu:

So much for a dalliance.

Bloody hell this is short fred innit?

I had until recently never had the pleasure of watching my beloved Hawks play in Tasmania due to a mainland sortie that lasted 18 yrs.
Upon recently returning I have watched 2 out of the 3 Tassie matches so far and they have been awesome. The crowd are well behaved and very vocal. We are very fortunate to have AFL matches here in our fair state.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Heading down for my 5th time for the Brissie game, and I cannot wait. Me and my missus stay in hotels, we eat in nice restaurants, we visit local wineries, we shop. We spend money in the Tassie economy, and we have an absolute ripping time. It's a fortress down there for my team. I love it, and hope it stays this way for a long time to come....

This guy must have some record for the number of posts , joined Jan 01 and had 17,535 posts by 17 May 2001. Or am I missing something, change of name?

WESTERN Bulldogs president Peter Gordon believes the AFL needs a ‘bespoke’ stadium to cater for smaller-drawing games in Melbourne.

Gordon - who also revealed his club made more money out of its round 15 clash against Gold Coast in Cairns than all of its home games combined this year - said a smaller stadium was needed to maximise profits from games that drew between 25,000-30,000 fans.

"I think Melbourne needs a new bespoke stadium which maxes out at 25-30,000 (fans),” he told SEN on Wednesday afternoon.

"The … crowd that you normally get when you (have) the Demons playing the Giants or the Bulldogs playing Freo or whatever, is 25-30,000.

"You can make really good money with a crowd of 25-30,000 people - you just need the right infrastructure

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-07-...-construction-of-bespoke-stadium-in-melbourne

WESTERN Bulldogs president Peter Gordon believes the AFL needs a ‘bespoke’ stadium to cater for smaller-drawing games in Melbourne.

Gordon - who also revealed his club made more money out of its round 15 clash against Gold Coast in Cairns than all of its home games combined this year - said a smaller stadium was needed to maximise profits from games that drew between 25,000-30,000 fans.

"I think Melbourne needs a new bespoke stadium which maxes out at 25-30,000 (fans),” he told SEN on Wednesday afternoon.

"The … crowd that you normally get when you (have) the Demons playing the Giants or the Bulldogs playing Freo or whatever, is 25-30,000.

"You can make really good money with a crowd of 25-30,000 people - you just need the right infrastructure

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2015-07-...-construction-of-bespoke-stadium-in-melbourne
Could it be that the Doggies made more from the Cairns game due to their being many less snouts in the trough when the takings were divvied up?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Amazing. The Demons played their home games against Brisbane at the Gabba a decade ago. Pity it happened to be during the threepeat era and they copped some maulings from the suddenly gifted Lions, but the maths said that a 20k crowd up there would give the same return as a 70k home crowd at the MCG, a near impossibility. The big concern is that a new stadium and its construction costs would still require clubs to fork out while it's being paid off, so there might be no gains for a long time, and if anything, just more bills...

Well done Hawks