Well Done Port

• Thread starter Thread starter Macca19

Again Port have thumped the opposition on the way to a great victory.
Again Port kicked over 100 points...kicking 17 goals with only Tredrea
and Cornes again not contributing to the goal list! Dew kicked 4
great goals, as did Burgoyne.

St Kilda have been predicted by many for big things. I dont see how
this is going to happen. They look just like the bunch of hacks they
seem to be. Everitt is probably the most overrated player in the AFL.
Hamill isnt worth the money thrown at him, neither is Gehrig. Saints
look to be in trouble, they didnt chase or man up all night.

Jarrad Schofield playe done of his best games in the AFL with 29
touches and a goal. Nick Stevens was brilliant again...Wanganeen
kicked a magical goal in the last, and Tredrea was strong taking 13
marks up the field. Cockatoo is probably the most improved and
confident player in the AFL with another strong match. Our defnce
stood strong again...St Kilda kicked 5 with a 4 goal wind in the
second quarter...but only kicked 2 goals for the rest of the game.
Primus would arguably be the best ruckmen in the league...his fitness
level is supurb, and is winning most of the ruck contests. Ackland is
a fine back up and French will have to work hard to win his spot back
in the side in front of him. Montgomery played a blinder and is
finally showing some of his B&F form.
The only players that played fairly average tonight was Francou who
stuffed up kicks on a number of occasions and Cornes who hopefully
will be dropped this week for Lockwood. Cornes bluntly just has no
guts at all, and also no football brain. He tried to outmark Loewe
from behind...which is just plain stupid, and dropped his head in the
last half and didnt even present himself up forward.

Port is looking good....for a team which supposedly has no forward
line, a suspect midfield and that plays purely on inspiration, we are
doing pretty well. We are third...may drop to 5th by the end of the
round, and unless Geelong kick 140+ points then Port has the highest
'For' in the league...something that would of been laughed at pre
season.

St Kilda...its now obvious that Harvey is a protected species. The
koala was cuaght with the ball about 7 times, and if it wasnt for the
fact that it was harvey, they would of been called holding the ball.
A young bloke called Stephen Milne who i think played his first game
tonight was BOG for the saints...he was very quick and has good foot
skills. He could be a future star.

Originally posted by servo:
Macca, don't post the same post on different boards mate, it's boring.

too bad. This will get response from more than just power people from the power board

Originally posted by Macca19:

too bad. This will get response from more than just power people from the power board

YA gettin too cocky Macca
biggrin.gif

Ahh well, enjoy it mate!.....till showdown 10

------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000

Yep - good win - well done - reckon Port have officially arrived now... good for footy I say.

(though bad luck Sainter)

PS. Milne was a STAR FF at Essendon in the Magoos - on our sup list in 99 and ppl were screamign for him to be promoted. He wasn't - we already have a FF. Can't believe it took this long for him to get a go - good luck to him.

Dutchy, I've been going on about Stephen Milne in the chatroom all week. He's a little guy with a bit of mongrel about him. He was excellent on debut, and put his more experienced team mates to shame.

I'll bite my tongue this week and refrain from what I would like to say about the saints performance.
mad.gif

But in all seriousness, I'm not reaching for the razor blades or anything like that. I think all we have learnt over the past few weeks is that it is going to take a while for the team to come together as a unit.

There are some very good recruits, many of whom are copping a lot of criticism from supporters of other clubs who are taking great delight in their slow start. Some of them aren't performing at the moment, but I'd still rather have them at our club than playing against them. If anyone thought they would walk into our side and continue on from where they left off last year, they were kidding themselves.

Losing in the manner that we are is going to give Blighty an ideal chance to see who is pulling their weight and who aren't up to league standard. I have no doubt that we will have a much better second half of the season. Hopefully we can start to win a few games soon before any chance we had in 2001 is gone.

Anyway, despite being disappointed with how we played, Port are looking excellent this season. They seem to be strong all over the ground. Their tackling in the first quarter particularly impressed me. I wouldn't mind having a Stewart Dew type player bombing goals for 60 metres for us.

Going on past trends, there will be a few teams that have got off to a good start that will fall dramatically in the second half of the season. I couldn't see Port being one of these sides. Hopefully we will be one of the teams that will storm home towards the end of the season.
wink.gif

Lastly to Macca, I'm not sure about Harvey being a protected species. What I do know is that there is hardly a player in the competition that cops as many hits and knocks behind play. He deserves to go down as one of the all time greats of the VFL/AFL.

------------------
Fortius Quo Fidelius