Well, Im Going To Vegas

DoubleA

Dec 10, 2004
Where Jack Lives.
Its funny that since this forum has opened now its really become my source for Poker chit-chat and its good to chat with you guys on here so, after a recent cutback of online/live poker Im actually going overseas in a few weeks and Vegas, the Mecca for any gambler who enjoys poker (Macau is useless for poker) is one of,well originally the only stop stops that Im taking in and I felt the need to share that here whether you want to read it or not.

I will probably be staying at Hooters or some hotel on the strip (to fit into my budget, no Wynn or Bellagio) so I guess, if you've been there already, or have any desire for me to fill you in on anything once I get over there, post it here and I will post anything I find here, and I guess this could be a future reference thread for any Vegas trips as well.

I plan on playing a few tourneys, obviously NOTHING major Im just a poor student, but a couple of $150+ buy-ins at Caesars that go on everyday and a few cash tables, and you never know Im there during the WPT World Champs and a satellite here or there you never know what will happen. I've been reading up a lot and it all helps, but nothing compares to first hand experience.

NBL Finals was lost in Game 1

In Vegas make sure you go to a Celine Dion show :)

And DoubleA, I think you're addicted.

Thought I'd check. Yep you're of age. Just.

Make sure you check out http://www.gamblersbook.com/

I reckon I could live in Vegas. Check out http://www.lvol.com/events/concerts.html

They need some sporting teams though.

Here's a hybrid google map. Bellagio is easily identifiable. Caesar's is across the road and Harrah's and the Venetian are nearby too. If you click on Map (top left), you will get all the names. Luxor, MGM and NYNY are a little south. Don't forget the Hard Rock Hotel/Casino which is off the strip. When I was there I stayed at a cheap $6 hostel further up on the Boulevard. Also, there are more casinos in town.

Thought I'd check. Yep you're of age. Just.

Make sure you check out http://www.gamblersbook.com/

I reckon I could live in Vegas. Check out http://www.lvol.com/events/concerts.html

They need some sporting teams though.

Here's a hyrid google map. Bellagio is easily identifiable. Caesar's is across the road and Harrah's and the Venetian are nearby too. If you click on Map (top left), you will get all the names. Luxor, MGM and NYNY are a little south. Don't forget the Hard Rock Hotel/Casino which is off the strip. When I was there I stayed at a cheap $6 hostel further up on the Boulevard. Also, there are more casinos in town.

One step ahead, already google map-d Hooters and its right next to about 4 casinos in a 200m radius...lets not forget Hooters has a casino as well! But yeah, possibly 3-4 days staying there and moving on, but theres no doubt I'll be doing a faiiiiiiir bit of gambling while Im there, which will be interesting as Im only ever usually at crown 3/4/5 hours at a time...will have to hit more nightspots.

And read this http://allvegaspoker.com/tournaments.php Which gives EVERY SINGLE POKER TOURNAMENT IN VEGAS that is continually running, as I said I've heard the 7oclock daily at Caesars is the bomb for structure and also pay-outs aint too bad, I get there on a Sunday lunchtime so may play that Sunday Night.

You will love it. Spent 5 days there a bit over 12 months ago and just loved it. And I didn't even play poker at the time! Really regret that now, gives me a reason to go back.

Learn how to play craps - it's great fun, gets you involved, and the house advantage is very small if you play properly.

Every casino is a tourist attraction - you lose your perception of how far things are because everything is so damn big! The food is great, the parties are great. Make sure you enjoy it all. And check out the Grand Canyon while you are there.

Bump!

I too will be venturing to Vegas sometime at the end of this year. From Japan to America is pretty cheap return, so I'm planning on making the most of it.

Good to read up on what you guys have been posting...and looking forward to DoubleA's report on his adventures. :thumbsu:

Ah Vegas, quite the temptress.

From the moment I stepped off the plane and saw there were pokies in the waiting area of the airport....and then the food court of the airport....and then in the baggage claim of the airport, I knew it was going to be my part of town. As I eventually arrived in the hotel lobby, again, there was literally a pokies the second u walk in, a bar right next to it and a giant spread of table games behind that, quite a mess really with absoloutely zero planning gone into the layout of Hooters it was just a mess of gaming, booze and breasts, so not bad really.

Basically I only had 1 experience of Poker, it was the tournament I had planned to play all along the $120 buy-in daily at Caesars, with a $100 rebuy that I didnt know about and didnt bring extra cash with me. Caesars is a really nice card room with a seperate tournament area, much more clearly defined and spread out than Crown, a highlimit area as well and Id say probably all up 45 tables in the tournament area and around 15-20 cash tables playing up to $10k buy-in and upwards when a game can get going. The calling system is exactly the same, cages are exactly the same even the player cards, but the tournament was just so generous. 40 minutes blinds and 1500 in chips starting at 25/50, basically it was 51 entrants, with 49 rebuys paying top 7, $4200 for first and just over $1k for 7th. I finished 5 off the money and to be honest, nothing really happened, it went for hours (the mid-day tournament was still going til 830pm) and it was just a frustrating finish really.

Vegas itself is beautiful, but also hideous, there are the most fantastic structures but also contruction going on everywhere, the poor and the streets are littered with pr0n cards everywhere. At night howveer it does look fantastic, and it certainly is an interesting town.

Ill post more later but thats my update for now, the highlight so far was hitting a straight flush in 3 card poker at Caesars and getting $40 to 1 on my $15 bet, and also taking $65 to the BJ tables at Hooters and walking away with $450, and like ANY good gambler, I wont be talking about the losses ;)

So does anyone else have plans to go to Vegas, even if it's not imminent? I haven't really thought about it, but if I do plan to go one day, I probably won't deliberate for too long.

Now with the APPT starting up, if I ever improve at this game, I might start to seriously consider travel with poker being the primary reason.

I think I might go next year. My mate is over there atm to play the ME (Guy who won one of the crown freerolls), says he's havign a blast but his kings have already been cracked.

Tim Duckworth is his name. Let's hope he goes deep. If he wins he said he'd buy me a ferrari, who knows stragner things have happend.

Well, maybe I'm going to Vegas.

I've been invited to my cousin's wedding in Kansas in October. Fits in well with footy with Essendon due to win flag #17 in September.

Long way before I confirm, although my Mum and her sister are very likely to go. I'd have to plan a whole trip around the wedding, and of course Vegas would be on the list. I've already seem a lot of the US, so maybe I should fit in what I missed last time. Maybe I could look at going to Canada.

i think ill be there in july after i finish this semester of uni, and should be able to hit up a few WSOP events.

going over with dad for a couple of weeks but I think I'm going to buy an around the world ticket, stay for a bit longer, go stay in greece for a few months afterwards and take some time out to head to monte carlo or wherever they are holding the WSOPE and maybe play a few of the smaller events.

and i'll be home in time for the Aussie Millions 09 imo