Well, Well, Well, Well, Well.............

• Thread starter Thread starter maccas_no1

What is your solution to this problem then?

You have successfully pin pointed an area of weakness that so many missed so what is your explanation to fix the problem?

1. There is no real soloution to the problem, we are now paying for the mistakes of our draft choices between 2000 and 2003, we are paying for not being ruthless enough at the trading table.

2. Weather AFC supporters like it or not rebuilding has begun, the list is aging, the younger players arent developed enough and the players we have drafted in the years a mentioned are not upto it, you simply cant pull a amgic soloution out of the hat, and this is where losing Biglands and Hentschel has really hurt, one is a key forward the other is an experienced ruckman, then add in Riccuito didnt play and probably wont for a few weeks yet you are missing your best two goal kickers from 2006, that is a big hole to cover, today despite many predictions was always going to be a tough game, people badly under estimated Essendon on their performances from 2006, today they had a good midfeild and too good forwards who are proven goal kickers, where as we have three hard working forwards but their is no certain return from them.

These problems will exist for awhile they will ease a little when Riccuito is back, but it wont solve everything.

1. There is no real soloution to the problem, we are now paying for the mistakes of our draft choices between 2000 and 2003, we are paying for not being ruthless enough at the trading table.

2. Weather AFC supporters like it or not rebuilding has begun, the list is aging, the younger players arent developed enough and the players we have drafted in the years a mentioned are not upto it, you simply cant pull a amgic soloution out of the hat, and this is where losing Biglands and Hentschel has really hurt, one is a key forward the other is an experienced ruckman, then add in Riccuito didnt play and probably wont for a few weeks yet you are missing your best two goal kickers from 2006, that is a big hole to cover, today despite many predictions was always going to be a tough game, people badly under estimated Essendon on their performances from 2006, today they had a good midfeild and too good forwards who are proven goal kickers, where as we have three hard working forwards but their is no certain return from them.

These problems will exist for awhile they will ease a little when Riccuito is back, but it wont solve everything.

I don't think i'll bother reading anyone else's posts from now on other than those of yours Marty.

What does it feel like to gloat over your clubs loss in the first games of the season ??

One game one loss & surely we can't play as bad as that again this year.

This is as predictable as Jenna Jameson taking it up the tail pipe :rolleyes:

Well, actually...

wikipedia article on Jenna Jameson said:
At the beginning of her career, she promised herself never to do anal sex or double penetration scenes on film.

In other news, Maccas number 1. Nobody cares what you have to say because you suck.

Welcome to 2007.

I told you all so

Maybe now all you nuff nuffs will actually listen and actually realise where the club really is at in the scheme of things.

End Rant.

Mate you are alienating people at a 100 mph. Hear what they are saying instead of pumping up your own tyres.

I'm sorry, but you aren't going to win brownie points by calling supporters of the team you allegedly support nuff nuffs and gloating on the back of a first round loss.

Yeah, you're terrific, Marty. :rolleyes:

I also seem to remember you bagging Reilly most of the pre-season. He was pretty high up amongst the best today, what do you say to that?

Welcome to 2007.

I told you all so

Maybe now all you nuff nuffs will actually listen and actually realise where the club really is at in the scheme of things.

End Rant.

what about the part where Reilly was useless and had to be scrapped?

i seem to recall something about that :D

Round 1 and if we kicked straight it wouldnt be an issue

I don't buy that. Sure, we had more inside 50s but the majority of them were woeful. Plenty of bombing it long (sometimes to a Ess defender who took an uncontested mark), fumbling, being forced to kick from acute angles.

Essendon on the other had some dead easy shots on goal (Lucas and Lloyd running into open goals after receiving a handpass for example), kicks were almost always to the advantage of the Bombers' forwards and obviously, Lucas being matched up against our resident stick-insect Stevens had a field day with his contested marks.

I don't think it's any surprise that it is going to be a long hard season. Anyone that thought otherwise was kidding themselves.

The bottom line is we have a lot of good players but are really lacking players with real class and that can create something themselves. Our real 'classy' players are now getting towards the end of their careers.

I don't believe players develop into these types of players if they haven't already made it by their early 20's. It will be good this year to see a number of players who we have overrated because they have been playing well in a good team. It’s easy to play well in a winning side, but we will really see what some of the players are capable of this season.

I thought Reilly did ok. I dont think he will be top shelf, but he will do enough.

BTW, Essendon had almost double the number of rebound 50s as we did which shows that most of our inside 50s came straight back out the other way.

I thought Reilly did ok. I dont think he will be top shelf, but he will do enough.

He was good but players like Johncock, Reilly, Mattner, Shirley, Thompson, Doughty, Bode and the list goes on are all good players but won't win us premierships by themselves over the next 5 years but will just play their part. As people have said poor trading over the last few years have left us with a lot of servicable players but not enough class. We really have to hope Griffin, Maric, Douglas, Van Berlo, Pfieffer, Mckay and those types progress.

That's bull****, I thought nothing of Mcleod and Goodwin when they both first started. They showed a bit, but I wasn't really impressed. 3-5 years down the track they became awesome players.

Tredrea is another example - took him 3-5 years of not being real good at all before he got a bit bigger, a lot fitter, and then he started dominating games.

We're at a point where in the next 2 years or so we'll see if the likes of Reilley and VanB are real class... or not. Knights, Douggie, a year or so along after.

BTW, Essendon had almost double the number of rebound 50s as we did which shows that most of our inside 50s came straight back out the other way.

We dont have an adequete/accountable forwardline and without the inclusion of Bode, who is a proven crumbing forward, it was going to be an uphill battle.

I thought nothing of Mcleod and Goodwin when they both first started.

McLeods first game I said to my brother he ran around like a chook with his head chopped off. I felt he knew where to be but he wanted to be everywhere, and that he was a pace off. I also said I felt he had what it takes.

2nd game in he beats Jencke and kicks that famous goal

Thats class

That's bull****, I thought nothing of Mcleod and Goodwin when they both first started. They showed a bit, but I wasn't really impressed. 3-5 years down the track they became awesome players.

Tredrea is another example - took him 3-5 years of not being real good at all before he got a bit bigger, a lot fitter, and then he started dominating games.

We're at a point where in the next 2 years or so we'll see if the likes of Reilley and VanB are real class... or not. Knights, Douggie, a year or so along after.

Your a poor judge then, Goodwin and Tredrea were always going to be gun players. Of course they don't step in and dominate from the start but looked like they had it in them. The potential was there. McLeod maybe an exception where he developed more than expected.

You would be the type of person that thinks like McDermott where Doughty has development left in him. The guy is 27, you are getting the best out of him.

Your a poor judge then, Goodwin and Tredrea were always going to be gun players. Of course they don't step in and dominate from the start but looked like they had it in them. The potential was there. McLeod maybe an exception where he developed more than expected.

You would be the type of person that thinks like McDermott where Doughty has development left in him. The guy is 27, you are getting the best out of him.

I'd just come out of the pub and started driving home and nearly drove into a stobie laughing so much when I heard that.

Welcome to 2007.

I told you all so

End Rant.
gay.jpg

Maccas, I find it amazing you once accused me of being negative.