Wellman resigns?

• Thread starter Thread starter Burzum

um no i would have quoted you if you i meant you.

I put it here because i didnt think it deserved another thread

Rickypetterd15 james frawley is fuming about wellmans departure!

That was from twitter a minute ago, the players arent happy

How can you be certain that was the context that the Twit was used in? My understanding is that the boys used to rib Chip Frawley about being Wellman's favourite, thus Petterd was just stirring him up.

James would be fantastic if he would be interested imo

I want Viney, if no other reason to shore up Jack Viney to Melbourne.

Most clubs try to distance previous players for at least 12 months from the club.

Off topic but Richmonds appointment of Matthew Richardson was a classic blunder - why keep someone involved around a new crop when theyve played in such an unsuccessful team their entire career. Particularly a sook like Richo who's known to like a beer and a smoke.

I think this would be a great opportunity to get back Shane Woewodin as a assistant coach. He has had good reviews about the way he coaches and I like the idea of a Melbourne player coming back to the fold.

-- we could try and get Todd Viney back .. least we can then get his son :)

Dean Laidley would be a good get if he was keen, as experienced coach an former backmen...

I think this would be a great opportunity to get back Shane Woewodin as a assistant coach. He has had good reviews about the way he coaches and I like the idea of a Melbourne player coming back to the fold.

-- we could try and get Todd Viney back .. least we can then get his son :)

I fully endorse either appointment simply because I loved both players. both would have to move interstate obviously.

Apparently Bailey is absolutely FUMING over wellman pissing off on us according to the lone wolf and purple head warrior

Fair enough too. He re-committed to us last month for another year. Had started planning for next year. I know people walk out on contracts all the time in AFL footy today, but I reckon it says something about the bloke's character.

Brisbane bound.

I read somewhere that Cam Schwab had words with Ian Robsion (not sure how to spell it) the CEO at Essendon. It is disappointing to hear Wellman just walked out, I hope we give it to those w***ers.

Its arrogant Essendon crap like this which makes you hope Hird fails just like Knights.

I read somewhere that Cam Schwab had words with Ian Robsion (not sure how to spell it) the CEO at Essendon. It is disappointing to hear Wellman just walked out, I hope we give it to those w***ers.

Its arrogant Essendon crap like this which makes you hope Hird fails just like Knights.

Gives us more reason to beat those ****ers next year

We still require an assistant coach and now that Chris Scott has the job down at Geelong, surely Sanderson won't be hanging around.

We should be trying to lure Sanderson to Melbourne to fill our vacancy. By all reports he is an outstanding coaching prospect and I think he suits our needs and brings finals/premiership experience.

If they haven't already, Jimmy or Schwabby should be on the phone!

He'll probably end up at Collingwood next to his best mate Buckley.

There is a chance of that happening of course but Malthouse is still the main man and I'm pretty sure that they just locked away Watters & Neeld for another year or so. If Buckley was the lead man this season it would be a no brainer, but would he go there at the minute being the fourth assistant coach?

Good point. However, surely he would be headed there when Buckley takes over though? Clubs would probably see this and be wary of taking on an Asst. Coach that's likely to leave after a year. Although, it's just pure speculation he even wants to head to Collingwood, just because of his relationship with Buckley.

He could even end up staying at Geelong for another year if he did indeed plan on joining Collingwood when Buckley takes over.

Not 100% sure of the assistant coaching situation (esp with Viney back - what exactly is his role?) but if Brenton Sanderson walks out on the Cats after missing out on the big gig, i wonder if the Dees will try and nab him. Supposedly a fantastic (assistant) coach.

Yeah was thinking the same thing. I don't know how he can stay after missing out & wait at least 3 more years for another shot with the cats.

Plus if he was to come along to the dees now he could take some credit for any success we might have over the next few years. Good time for a change for him & we might be the perfect fit.