It’s so weird.
LIVE: Fremantle v Essendon - 8:10PM Thu
Squiggle tips Freo at 79% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists »
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 15
The Golden Ticket - MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
In AFL terms….. Something something “money” something “timeslot” something something “media darlings” something “AFL favoritism”….I’ve never once understood why the hell it matters.
The two best bands I’ve ever seen live are arguably the biggest stadium act in history (U2), and Jebediah, playing 3 gigs to about 800 people at a uni bar.
My favourite cricket side is a few specks in the Atlantic Ocean. My favourite NRL side is the (equal) oldest in the competition and the richest and third most successful and has always had a decent albeit not necessarily huge fan base.
My afl club has traditionally been right in the middle of the pack in terms of support and finance up until the last decade or so.
I’ve never understood why being part of something with a huge group of people makes it ‘better’
Is that bloke wearing nail polish? What the ****?Remember last year when Fox Sports decided Richmond is so crap that they cancelled the Big Four and annointed a Big Three instead?
View attachment 2255389
Enjoy what?Why would you want to follow a 'big' club anyway?
My mate is AFL member of Carlton and for some big games at the G it's a stress for him to get a ticket.
Another mate goes for North and can turn up ten minutes before the bounce, scan in, grab a prime seat and enjoy.
Idk if you are actually from Melbourne to claim Richmond are so much bigger than Essendon, nglRichmond, Collingwood and West Coast are the AFL juggernauts.
Carlton and Essendon in the tier below them.
Not sure what the obsession is other than to feel relevant. The big 4 in VIC are Richmond, Collingwood, Geelong and Hawthorn. Blues and Dons lost that right for over 2 decades. They need to earn it back IMO to be reinstated.Ok, so now Derwayne is taking calls from Essendon supporters demanding to be called "a big club".
Precisely what is the obsession, and what is the benefit?
PS. I reckon any mid-range club with sustained success over two decades can become "big". I personally couldn't give a stuff.
Similar to when Melbourne people think having a bigger population to Sydney is a sign of "success".Ok, so now Derwayne is taking calls from Essendon supporters demanding to be called "a big club".
Precisely what is the obsession, and what is the benefit?
PS. I reckon any mid-range club with sustained success over two decades can become "big". I personally couldn't give a stuff.
To any flogs that like to use the term "big 4".
Do you have a favourite accounting firm? Consultant firm? Bank? Who is your fave?
"big 4" is a BS corporate suck holes marketing slogan from the 70s and 80s.
Absolute flog of a term
If you want to talk different leagues Geelong would be Napoli, Inter, Milan and Juve Carlton Collingwood and Essendon.Our recent two decades of success do not automatically place us in the same category as Essendon If anything, we are more akin to Manchester City or Chelsea in the AFL landscape, while Essendon (plus Carlton and Collingwood) remains the league’s equivalent of Manchester United, Liverpool and Arsenal. Take your pick.
We didn't exactly become a bottom feeder tbh, a couple of lowish finishes but we never had a 4 or less win season. Never truly bottomed out despite the media claiming that's what we were trying to do the start of last year.A feeling of superiority by association, that's all there is to it. Similarly to nationalism whereby certain people feel justified in believing they are superior to other people for being born in a wealthier 'better' country than those born in other less wealthy/developed nations in the world.
Occasionally there are threads asking which other club will a poster support if for whatever reason the current club they supported ceased to be in the AFL.
Unsurprisingly several Hawthorn fans are utterly befuddled and bemused why they wouldn't automatically pick Hawthorn, become glory hunters like themselves, who've had a dream run of success for various reasons that have had nothing to do with their administration for the past couple of decades.
Such has having the good fortune of being gifted zones that belonged to other clubs that were brimming and bursting at the seams with more top tier talent than your average zone while conveniently ignoring pre 1960s Hawthorn evidenced by how much they fell off after the draft was introduced in the 80s once the players they picked up from the zones all retired.
Only becoming relevant again after unashamedly tanking for priority picks for several years in the mid 2000s. Whereas I've always had a soft spot for the underdog and would pick St Kilda.
Personally I think it's kind of lame to have feelings of superiority simply for being part of a country and/or choosing a club/etc... that is by some certain measures 'successful' rather than rely on having a sense of pride derived from your own personal achievements.
These are the kind of 'faulty' people who go on about how many flags 'their' club has won in the past decades, how many members their club has and therefore bigger and more important than others it is, and/or how much wealthier and better their country is to others in the world.
The average footy supporter has had very little to do with the success of a club other than attend games and pay for memberships and posters who indulge in this behaviour never fail to amuse me.
Anytime I've brought up Geelong's success is to push back on narratives that are thinly disguised cheap shots for example, whenever Richmond fans claim they 'owned' Geelong between 2017 and 2020 and exorcised the demons of having their arse cheeks clapped by Geelong since the mid 1980s to mid 2010s.
Conveniently not taking into consideration that clubs that have periods of success are denied the best young players in the country and eventually become bottom feeders in the subsequent years, which is exactly what happened to Hawthorn after 2015.
Yet Geelong was able to stay relevant and go against that trend without needing to rely on Top 10 draft picks. Had Geelong being a spoon bottom feeder they would have avoided losing finals in September to any team in those years and in the mind of the average simple Richmond supporter that would have been fare more admirable and respectable than what Geelong was able to achieve.
GrantedUnless it's about the big 4 of heavy metal - Anthrax, Megadeath, Slayer and Metallica
Does that Freo the equal of Tottenham? Some years look close, not one of the biggest clubs but in the next tier down, and can't win trophies.Our recent two decades of success do not automatically place us in the same category as Essendon If anything, we are more akin to Manchester City or Chelsea in the AFL landscape, while Essendon (plus Carlton and Collingwood) remains the league’s equivalent of Manchester United, Liverpool and Arsenal. Take your pick.
It was for a little girl with cancer iircIs that bloke wearing nail polish? What the ****?
Why would anyone care?Is that bloke wearing nail polish? What the ****?
It always amuses me the media's attitude towards Hawthorn when they have a couple of poor years. The poster you were responding to mentioned Hawthorn's "tanking" in the 2000s, whilst singing the praises of Geelong.We didn't exactly become a bottom feeder tbh, a couple of lowish finishes but we never had a 4 or less win season. Never truly bottomed out despite the media claiming that's what we were trying to do the start of last year.
Completely fairIt was for a little girl with cancer iirc