"we're a big club" - supporter obsession

We used to hear this "Big4" nonsense for years. The media would tell us the Big4 were Collingwood, Carlton, Richmond and Essendon. The amusing thing was that for 21 seasons from 1996 to 2016, the "Big4" only won 1 premiership between them, and some of them spent considerable time near or at the foot of the ladder. :)
Essendon won in 2000 and Collingwood in 2010. Better make that two.

It always amuses me the media's attitude towards Hawthorn when they have a couple of poor years. The poster you were responding to mentioned Hawthorn's "tanking" in the 2000s, whilst singing the praises of Geelong.

It used to bemuse me back then when discussing potential ladder positions at the beginning of the 2006 season, you'd hear the "expert" comment about Hawthorn would finish bottom "again", and several digs that they would be the first team to finish 17th in a 16-team competition.

In 2005, we had a poor year but came good late in the season winning a couple of games and getting off the bottom. I had to keep reminding the idiots on the radio that Hawthorn didn't finish bottom the year before, and in fact, hasn't finished bottom since 1965. Amazing for a club which apparently "tanks".

From the period 2007 to 2018, the Hawks missed the finals once and were 9th in 2019. In a similar period 2015 to 2023, Geelong missed the finals twice. Won the flag in 2022, plummeted to 12th the following year. Strangely, no suggestion they may be tanking.

Always the perception that Geelong is always in the finals, and always the perception the Hawks are tankers. Public and media perception is a wonderful thing, just like every year we are told media favourites Essendon and Carlton will be the big improvers ... and they never are. :)

In fairness the year we missed the finals in 2015 we had a record of 11-9-1 which would have often been enough to make finals. In 2023 we were in contention until the penultimate round.

I do take your point because I can’t remember a prolonged period of abject shitness by hawthorn where at the absolute very least they didn’t look like being a threat in the near future, but yeah, in our two down years across the last couple of decades we were actually still pretty good anyway

I’ve never once understood why the hell it matters.

The two best bands I’ve ever seen live are arguably the biggest stadium act in history (U2), and Jebediah, playing 3 gigs to about 800 people at a uni bar.

My favourite cricket side is a few specks in the Atlantic Ocean. My favourite NRL side is the (equal) oldest in the competition and the richest and third most successful and has always had a decent albeit not necessarily huge fan base.

My afl club has traditionally been right in the middle of the pack in terms of support and finance up until the last decade or so.

I’ve never understood why being part of something with a huge group of people makes it ‘better’
Big Jebs fan here, I grew up very close to where they did, seen them about 7 times since I started following them over 20 years ago, mostly recently earlier this year after not seeing them for over 10 years. They do know how to put on a show. Saw Vanessa on a plane back to Perth, she said Kevin lives in Ocean Grove now.

I would think it’s pretty clearly Collingwood number one and then Carlton number two and then probably a little gap back to the likes of Essendon, Richmond and West Coast
In terms of casual supporters you'd expect the Eagles to have the most, being the bigger club in a 2 club Aussie rules city with over 2 million (vs one of 9 in a city of 5 million). WA memberships are more limited than Blues or Pies in Vic, as we have a 60k stadium...But not sure it works that way. Also our membership seems holding steady despite our situation. Can't imagine the big Vic clubs maintaining the same.

As far as other metrics go we're pretty much on par with those two and Richmond.

Big Jebs fan here, I grew up very close to where they did, seen them about 7 times since I started following them over 20 years ago, mostly recently earlier this year after not seeing them for over 10 years. They do know how to put on a show. Saw Vanessa on a plane back to Perth, she said Kevin lives in Ocean Grove now.

Mate they are sooooo good. Loved them since the first moment I heard Leaving Home, then when I moved to uni at 18 they were the first ‘proper’ band I got to see back in 2002 and they just destroyed it. So so good. Second week of uni and made friends that night from my dorm who were groomsmen at my wedding, a godfather to my kids etc.
everything sounded like Slightly Oddway was being played on steroids. I was even more hooked.

They came back a few years later and it was even better with a couple more albums under their belt even if they never quite matched SO. She’s Like A Comet is one of my all time favourite songs by anyone ever.

When the toured SO from start to finish going back a few years ago I saw them supported by Bodyjar and it was like being a teenager again - especially as my best mate from uni joined me for it.

That’s so awesome that you’ve had a bit of contact with them locally and been in and around where they’re from. Kevin has a gift for melody, very underrated songwriter

Mate they are sooooo good. Loved them since the first moment I heard Leaving Home, then when I moved to uni at 18 they were the first ‘proper’ band I got to see back in 2002 and they just destroyed it. So so good. Second week of uni and made friends that night from my dorm who were groomsmen at my wedding, a godfather to my kids etc.
everything sounded like Slightly Oddway was being played on steroids. I was even more hooked.

They came back a few years later and it was even better with a couple more albums under their belt even if they never quite matched SO. She’s Like A Comet is one of my all time favourite songs by anyone ever.

When the toured SO from start to finish going back a few years ago I saw them supported by Bodyjar and it was like being a teenager again - especially as my best mate from uni joined me for it.

That’s so awesome that you’ve had a bit of contact with them locally and been in and around where they’re from. Kevin has a gift for melody, very underrated songwriter
Yeah Leaving Home was my first exposure too (gosh the video clip is so nostalgic as someone from Perth who grew up in the 90s). There was a big record/music store in Perth called 78 records, used to have a stage upstairs where bands played. They played a free under-age gig which I saw when I was 17, was instantly hooked. Got their self titled third album which I played over and over again (and shortly after that their others). It was the soundtrack to that time in my life transitioning from high school to uni. The cover of Slightly Odway was shot at the reserve where I went to kindy, in Kardinya, next to Winthrop where I grew up. It's cool they also has such personal significance for you.

Subsequently saw them several times in Perth, including at Murdoch Uni where I spoke to a very inebriated Kev lol. SO is their fan fave, but honestly I really like all their albums, and Kevin's solo stuff as Bob Evans. I used to ride my BMX at the Bull Creek track (where the cover of Someday Shambles was shot I believe) so am very familiar with the area too. Southern suburbs of Perth.

Did you see them at Hotter than Hell early this year? Yeah I felt like I was 20 again, so much energy etc. Little Birdy too, who I hadn't seen in many years. Also saw Eskimo Joe for the first time in many years at the Espy in Feb (who also happened to be the no 1 Freo Dockers ticket holders at one point). 2006 was all in all a good year, becoming an adult (so I thought!), going out, discovering music more, the Eagles winning (being 8 in 94 felt like a lifetime ago). But derailing the thread with my nostalgic waxing, great to meet another Jebediah fan here!

I’m sorry, you’re blind if you can’t see the benefits of being a big club. Just off the top of my head.
- big crowds = better atmosphere for fans = more blockbuster games = better fixture = better chance of attracting free agents = more revenue = better facilities. Etc.

- Not to mention this leads to other clubs like the bulldogs last night requesting to play their home games at your home ground. Even worse when clubs start having to sell home games interstate.

No wonder supporters of middling clubs like the Bombers are obsessed about being considered Big.

Ok, so now Derwayne is taking calls from Essendon supporters demanding to be called "a big club".

Precisely what is the obsession, and what is the benefit?

PS. I reckon any mid-range club with sustained success over two decades can become "big". I personally couldn't give a stuff.
Easy. If the AFL turn a blind eye to your scandals and salary cap rorting whist giving you favourable fixtures, tribunal outcomes etc, then you're a big club.

I’m sorry, you’re blind if you can’t see the benefits of being a big club. Just off the top of my head.
- big crowds = better atmosphere for fans = more blockbuster games = better fixture = better chance of attracting free agents = more revenue = better facilities. Etc.

- Not to mention this leads to other clubs like the bulldogs last night requesting to play their home games at your home ground. Even worse when clubs start having to sell home games interstate.

No wonder supporters of middling clubs like the Bombers are obsessed about being considered Big.
On the other hand, the negative side of being a big club is Grand Final day when 80% of your members miss out on tickets and have to pay the AFL for their legalized scalping of tickets or watch the game elsewhere.

The benefit of following a minnow is that about 99% of Footscray members were at the MCG on Grand Final day in 2016.

And more favourable umpiring

IMO hawthorn supporter base has grown significantly since I started following them in 83....but I feel we are probably the most fair weathered supporter base....when we are up and about, we will fill up the stadiums....when we are down, the stadiums are largely empty....overall the growth is trending upwards.

Its a valid point, I'm intrigued what their crowds will look like if they have to play games at Marvel post 2028.
Whether some of the fairweather will just find that "too far" to travel to.

With the big 4 club concept, I think there's a sense of entitlement that may be intertwined in some supporters minds if they're a big 4 club; the better time slot games, the reduced number of games at smaller grounds.
Non big 4 clubs just seem to get on with it.

North a small club obviously but I love them. And frankly those who don’t really care about footy but say they “barrack” for Collingwood or whatever bc they just follow the crowd or whatever, are fairly cringeworthy imo.

Yeah Leaving Home was my first exposure too (gosh the video clip is so nostalgic as someone from Perth who grew up in the 90s). There was a big record/music store in Perth called 78 records, used to have a stage upstairs where bands played. They played a free under-age gig which I saw when I was 17, was instantly hooked. Got their self titled third album which I played over and over again (and shortly after that their others). It was the soundtrack to that time in my life transitioning from high school to uni. The cover of Slightly Odway was shot at the reserve where I went to kindy, in Kardinya, next to Winthrop where I grew up. It's cool they also has such personal significance for you.

Subsequently saw them several times in Perth, including at Murdoch Uni where I spoke to a very inebriated Kev lol. SO is their fan fave, but honestly I really like all their albums, and Kevin's solo stuff as Bob Evans. I used to ride my BMX at the Bull Creek track (where the cover of Someday Shambles was shot I believe) so am very familiar with the area too. Southern suburbs of Perth.

Did you see them at Hotter than Hell early this year? Yeah I felt like I was 20 again, so much energy etc. Little Birdy too, who I hadn't seen in many years. Also saw Eskimo Joe for the first time in many years at the Espy in Feb (who also happened to be the no 1 Freo Dockers ticket holders at one point). 2006 was all in all a good year, becoming an adult (so I thought!), going out, discovering music more, the Eagles winning (being 8 in 94 felt like a lifetime ago). But derailing the thread with my nostalgic waxing, great to meet another Jebediah fan here!

Loved the Bob Evans stuff too, I’ve never been lucky enough to meet them though funnily enough my best mate had a few beers with both him at his previous job and the Eskimo Joe blokes at his current one when they played in my town recently haha. My mate had knocked off and already had a few too many himself and kept hassling them to play ‘sweater’ even though they’d already packed up 🤦‍♂️

Sorely underrated band out of that great era were Jebediah compared to some of their contemporaries who went on to be a bit higher profile like Powderfinger and Living End etc (though I love them too).

Great taste mate!!!

Loved the Bob Evans stuff too, I’ve never been lucky enough to meet them though funnily enough my best mate had a few beers with both him at his previous job and the Eskimo Joe blokes at his current one when they played in my town recently haha. My mate had knocked off and already had a few too many himself and kept hassling them to play ‘sweater’ even though they’d already packed up 🤦‍♂️

Sorely underrated band out of that great era were Jebediah compared to some of their contemporaries who went on to be a bit higher profile like Powderfinger and Living End etc (though I love them too).

Great taste mate!!!

Oh that would've been cool. They did play Sweater at the Espy.

Love those two as well, seen them ar a few festivals. Great live. Likewise!

"we're a big club" - supporter obsession