We're a happy team at Box Hill

Danny Chook Fan Club

Feb 8, 2001
Brilliant win by the underdogs. We dominated the entire first half, but for a five minute spell fifteen minutes into the first quarter by Werribee.

In hindsight, we were home by half time. The Tigers mounted a couple of challenges, but good Box Hill pressure and some wasteful conversion (g'day Trent Bartlett) made sure that Werribee were kept at bay.

A top win by the Hawks, especially with captain Matty Brewer off very early in the game with a calf strain. Most of the best players were Box Hill listed blokes, with John Baird, Sam Mitchell, Mark Passador and Andrew Pugsley leading the way. Best of the Hawthorn listed players were Brett O'Farrell with four goals, Brett Johnson with a classy midfield display, and Anthony Rock celebrating his last game with two goals, plenty of the footy and a premiership. Onya Rocky.

Werribee: 3.3, 4.5, 6.6, 7.12.54
Box Hill: 6.4, 10.7, 11.10, 13.13.91

Goals: BHH: O'Farrell 4, Passador 2, Pugsley 2, Rock 2, Picioane, Rock, Ries. Werr: Mitchell 3, Contessa, Churchill, Bowden, McMahon.

Best: BHH: Mitchell, Baird, Passador, Rock, Johnson, O'Farrell, Pugsley, Dent. Werr: Alvey, McMahon, Contessa, Mitchell, Gilbee.

Congratulations to Donald McDonald, who has masterminded this premiership. No-one gave us a hope in hell this morning, but spirit, commitment and great coaching saw us through.

WELL DONE STANGERS!!! PREMIERS 2001!

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
No-one gave us a hope in hell this morning[/size] [/B]

Me included, but I was hoping the Hawks could win. Did you see that Werribee player hit the post from about five meters out on a slight angle in the last quarter? How do you miss from their? I will put it down to pressure.

Great to hear the Hawks cheersquad being loud. I did not hear the Werribee chant once in the whole game. Not good form Werribee.

Damn, and I thought it was a dream.

Thanks for spoiling it for me.
I seen this thread and my first impression was DCFC was naustradumis.

and it came true!
under all the odds.

grrrrrrr!!!!

what a top game of footy
just about the most enjoyable neutral game ive seen live all year at any level of footy
even though it wasnt all that close it was hard and physical and a lot of skills

brett johnson is going to be a star
and i think sam mitchell was a bit stiff not to get the medal for b.o.g

great game of footy, well done box hill
but i could have done without the sunburn ;)

GO BOX HILL!

Magnificent effort - and there must be some sort of football God, because the Hawthorn supporters there certainly deserved some happiness after Saturday.

Was a fantastic crowd, very vocal. Had a great day on the terraces with the 'Rat Pack' (Rico, Chris, Grendel, DCFC, elt, Hitman and myself) along with plenty of other BigFooty posters including Sainter, Westy Boy (who was very generous in shouting everyone beers - good on ya mate!), Shinboners, Blues 2001 and Mags (if I've forgotten anyone sorry).

I was so proud of the BHH boys - to win like that against a side that had lost only 2 games all year and had been flogged by Werribee twice - it was a great effort.

I thought Donald McDonald showed he can coach at AFL level for sure - he totally outpointed Chris Bond.

Well done to John Baird, excellent game. And to John Turnbull and the Hawthorn recruiting staff - did you see No. 58 - Sammy Mitchell? I will be ringing the club to vent my anger if he is not drafted this year. Sure he mightn't be the quickest or the most athletic player going around, but his skills under pressure, his poise, his knack of just constantly finding the footy means he is a natural and deserves a chance.

And good on ya Rocky - kicking the final goal of the game, if it does turn out to be his final game (looks very likely) what a fantastic finish!

And thanks to Trent Bartlett for providing constant comic relief throughout the afternoon (I think his final tally was 0.2 and 2 out on the full) :D

GO BOX HILL

Fantastic win, well done to Sammy Mitchell from the Mooroolbark Football Club, you've done all at our club proud and if Hawthorn don't draft you next year I'll also be ringing them to complain. You are the hardest working player I've seen in a long time, good on ya Sam, all your hard work had paid off.

Great game, so proud of the 'Stangers' mighty win over those evil lords of VFL football, Werribee.

Great to meet many a BigFooty poster there, and it was a great game to watch, the quality of the game, the crowd...just everything was great.

Sammy Mitchell has to be drafted, and Bairdy and Brew would have to be close too.

Josh McMahon looks a likely type, I can't believe he isn't getting senior games. He is so damn quick!

Anyway...you think the game was good, you should have been at the post game celebrations at Box Hill! ;)

The Hitman

Originally posted by The Hitman
Josh McMahon looks a likely type, I can't believe he isn't getting senior games. He is so damn quick!

Josh McMahon? Never heard of him. :D

They do have i guy called Jordan McMahon, and yes, he can play. Actually, he was getting a senior game at the end of the year. He played there Round 22 game and played quite well, i think he kicked 2 or 3 goals.

Originally posted by Chris_23

Josh McMahon? Never heard of him. :D

They do have i guy called Jordan McMahon, and yes, he can play. Actually, he was getting a senior game at the end of the year. He played there Round 22 game and played quite well, i think he kicked 2 or 3 goals.

Well...um...him too...:mad:

Damn me and my un-Bulldog knowing ways! :D

The Hitman

Originally posted by The Hitman
Great game, so proud of the 'Stangers' mighty win over those evil lords of VFL football, Werribee.

Great to meet many a BigFooty poster there, and it was a great game to watch, the quality of the game, the crowd...just everything was great.

Sammy Mitchell has to be drafted, and Bairdy and Brew would have to be close too.

Anyway...you think the game was good, you should have been at the post game celebrations at Box Hill! ;)

The Hitman

Young Macca played 3-4 games this year and was pretty good in all of them but Wally doing the usual dropped him and didnt give him a proper chance :mad:

But I think it could have been for the better as he only weighs 64kgs :eek: so im heavier then him.

We're a happy team at Box Hill