West Coast are now Australia's biggest club.

SgtSchulz

Apr 24, 2014
Bob McLean Sportsbar
Port Adelaide
Mark Webber
All-time record home state crowd average against interstate teams.

1. 53,599 – West Coast (2018)
2. 49,128 – Collingwood (2008)
3. 48,496 – Collingwood (2013)
4. 47,796 – Adelaide (2014)

2017 AFL Club Revenue (without Pokies).

1. West Coast – $64,013,222
2. Richmond – $57,984,202
3. Adelaide – $54,954,790
4. Collingwood – $54,848,992

QED.

Mar 18, 2013
University
upload_2018-5-22_0-38-17.png

gopies1981

Feb 25, 2007
Yes much bigger then Richmond. If Richmond were so big then they would be smashing attendance record like Collingwood in 2010 and 2011. In 2008 and 2013 the pies were Ave 48,000 to their interstate matches at the mcg while while they finished 8th and 6th respectedly after the home and away season. While poor Richmond who have claim to have 95,000 members draw 32,000 and 43,000 against interstate teams this year. Btw yes answer to your question west Coast is the biggest club in Australia followed by Adelaide. Collingwood is the only club that has proven as per the first post that can match West Coast and Adelaide in terms of support when the pies a winning. Richmond still yet to prove that it is the biggest club in Australia as they look like they will fall well short of Collingwood’s all time home and away attendance record in 2010 drawing 1,304,604.

removing all qualifiers
Ave MCG attendance in 2018 - 54157
Ave PS attendance in 2018 - 49173

Well done on the pokies revenue though. they are toxic and clubs should really not be using them to pad their coffers.
Well done to the MCG on being the biggest club in Australia.

tony__montana

Jan 25, 2018
Liverpool
Yes much bigger then Richmond. If Richmond were so big then they would be smashing attendance record like Collingwood in 2010 and 2011. In 2008 and 2013 the pies were Ave 48,000 to their interstate matches at the mcg while while they finished 8th and 6th respectedly after the home and away season. While poor Richmond who have claim to have 95,000 members draw 32,000 and 43,000 against interstate teams this year. Btw yes answer to your question west Coast is the biggest club in Australia followed by Adelaide. Collingwood is the only club as proven above can match west coast and Adelaide in terms of support when the pies a winning. Richmond still yet to prove it as it looks like they will fall well short of Collingwood’s all time home and away attendance record of 2010.

We’ll see, still think we’ll give it a show this year. What’s the pies highest attendance with GWS and GC in the comp? 1.1-1.2? bc those 2 sides in the comp will have an impact on overall attendances especially if one or both are played twice.

Oneiros

Jul 6, 2011
Cleveland Browns, San Jose Sharks
Richmond has done an amazing job to get to where they are now from the days of debt and Save our Skins, I certainly don't begrudge them that.

As for who the biggest is, well, they don't give Premiership Cups based on size, so the only thing that really matters is that you're big enough to not be having to rattle the tins, and that ideally you have some company at games and you don't feel like a doofus sitting in a sea of seats.

and Melbourne
Well, now you know you're cooking with LSD.

Aug 4, 2003
WA
It’s all relative to the market I guess...West Coast are the biggest club in a footy mad state but only share it with 1 other club. Fremantle themselves are a big club too but it’s very much a Coke vs Pepsi set up in the West.

Collingwood, Hawthorn and now Richmond are doing very well in a saturated market (albeit a bigger city), and I’d suggest their ‘brands’ also have a bigger reach across the country than WCE.

So sure, lots of money for WCE in WA, shiny new stadium, generally well performed club since it’s inception but I still don’t consider it a ‘bigger’ club than Collingwood.

Cmarsh

Apr 23, 2012
NSW
GWS
All-time record home state crowd average against interstate teams.

1. 53,599 – West Coast (2018)
2. 49,128 – Collingwood (2008)
3. 48,496 – Collingwood (2013)
4. 47,796 – Adelaide (2014)

2017 AFL Club Revenue (without Pokies).

1. West Coast – $64,013,222
2. Richmond – $57,984,202
3. Adelaide – $54,954,790
4. Collingwood – $54,848,992

QED.
Why wouldn't you wait till the end of the year before declaring that WC have the record average attendance against interstate sides? That figure will change before the end of the season.

Lsta062

Jul 15, 2014
Chelsea, LA Lakers, Western United
Premiership year and you’re still $6m behind them in revenue.
Yeah we may not the biggest club in Australia based on your statistics, but it is comparing apples with oranges. West Coast is a team that experiences regular success and grew their base with no other competition in a state the size of WA. Not only does Richmond have to share a state with half of the competition, they also arrived to the competition after many clubs in Victoria. Fair effort for a club representing a Melbournian suburb to push a club in revenue that represents the whole of WA.

See, I can also focus only on certain things just to support my argument ;)

Always known the eagles, crows and pies were the 3 most powerful clubs off field. Great to see us in that group now given where we were just 10 years ago and we’ll only go from strength to strength.

Crows have run at a loss 3 of the last 6 years, they are far from an off-field powerhouse even with the new stadium deal (which is still a rort).

West Coast are that far in front of the rest of the comp it's not funny.. and WITHOUT pokies. Full credit to them for not milking our society's disadvantaged.

The Gov

McLovin' it
Jun 16, 2015

4 years I was on a WC membership waiting list. Paying each year just to be in the queue because they literally didn't have enough seats for members.

When the new stadium opened up I was still on the waiting list, and still am. Not sure of the exact numbers but to me that suggests that a lot of people are paying the club membership fees that wouldn't actually be counted in the membership tally.

We also have disproportionately expensive season memberships even compared to Freo, yet people still buy them.

Just saying our membership tally could be a lot higher if it was logistically feasible. FWIW this was always going to happen being the first club in a 2-club footy state, gotta commend Richmond for always getting members and support in a 10 team state eve when the club had a bad run on the field. Shows a good brand and management