West Coast Eagles Fan Site - Ideas Needed

• Thread starter Thread starter WCE2000

WCE2000

I am planning on making a fan-site for the West Coast Eagles next year and i need a few ideas - so far i worked on a general layout and have a few worked out a few links, they are:

Home
Pretty self explanotary - on the home page i will have a little right up on the last match and any other news. I will also have a shortened version of the afl ladder and a poll where people will vote for their player of the week for the last game

Players
Once again self explanotary - i will have profiles, which will be written by myself. I will also have pictures of each of the players, but instead of being potrait pictures it will be pictures of them in action taken from the AFL web-site

Player of the Year
The player of the year will be divided into two sections - my player of the year and the fan's player of the year. The two competitions will work as follows:
My player of the year - i will give points out of 5 for the players who i think played well. Sometimes i will give votes to 7 or 8 players, sometimes only 3 or 4 players.
The fans player of the year - the fans vote for their best player from the last game (the poll on the frontpage). at the end of each week the top votegetter recieves 3 points, 2nd top votegetter 2 points, and 3rd top votegetter 1 point. And the end of the year i tally the votes up and they will be that player will be the West Coast Eagles Fans' Player of the Year

Photos
I will have a whole collection of West Coast Eagles photos taken from past games and the last weeks games - i'm still waiting for advise as to whether i can use the pictures of the AFL web-site.

Fixtures
The seasons fixtures with the results and a link to a right-up of each game

Stats
Each players stats for the season - in time i will also get the players stats for past seasons and head-to-head records against other teams

Fun
So far i've only got two ideas for the fun section and i need more. The first is 2 calendars i made - one will havep photos of West Coast Players in action, the other will have photos of some great AFL marks i have pictures of (not really WCE related - but i will still use it).
The other idea i have is - i will put a copy of Phil Doyle's out of bounds for the week on the page - You may have seen this these put on the boards every now and then - i still have to talk to him about it.

Links
I have a very large collection of sporting links - not just West Coast links or AFL links.

Forum
I will need to speak to Bluey but i'm planning on using this forum as the forum for my page. The reasons for this:
1. Hopefully, it will hive Big Footy more exposure
2. If i had a forum not related to big footy, i don't think it would be used a whole lot.

Ladder
The AFL ladder

News
Any West Coast news

The won't be in that particular order, but their the ideas i have so far. What other links do you think i could have.

In particular i would like some ideas to put in the fun section as i'm running pretty dry on those ideas.

------------------
Join the big footy tipping competition at Footy Tips
Join the BigFooty Cricket Cup
visit the Easts Cricket Club
The ulitimate statistics reference

Sounds good, although you will be breaking heaps of copyright laws.
You would have to pay newslimited money for the pics as alf website buy there pics from there and newslimited don't like selling there pics to websites like the one you are thinking of.
Also, a few others I can't remember, as I started a website, but fell over as there were too many things I had to get permission for.

------------------
If everybody is rowing the boat together then there's no body to rock it!
CARN THE 7TH WONDERS
CARN THE W C WARRIORS

lol
they sure can!

------------------
CARN THE 7TH WONDERS
CARN THE W C WARRIORS

[This message has been edited by eagleskickass (edited 16 April 2001).]

I'm back from my brief holiday so I have to catch up now.

Yeah it would be great for a quality WC site to be created but all these copyright laws are crap. How does it effect WC FC if a fan decides to use some images associated with the club? Email them and ask if you can.

Vis

I don't think Copyright laws apply to website making. I know you can get in trouble for republishing articles and allowing for copyrighted programs to be downloaded, but pics, logo's and headlines are free.

I'm not 100% sure about this as i asked my son (does yr12 law as well as info systems and has made several web pages) so he knows a bit. But if you visit websites most of them have pics and other stuff that is technically copyrighted but no one is complaining. You should be right.

I must say though that you are taking o a huge responsibility with such a website. It appears that you want to make it quite detailed which will be time consuming. But good luck

Originally posted by i wanna play too:

I must say though that you are taking o a huge responsibility with such a website. It appears that you want to make it quite detailed which will be time consuming. But good luck

DOesn't worry me - retired a couple of years ago, i reckon this would be something fun to keep me occupied.

Are you sure all pics and stuff aren't copyrighted and i can use them
confused.gif
hope that is the case

------------------
Join the big footy tipping competition at Footy Tips
Join the BigFooty Cricket Cup
visit the Easts Cricket Club
The ulitimate statistics reference

[This message has been edited by WCE2000 (edited 17 April 2001).]

The Eagle are willing to let people use pics from their site, I know that much, so maybe you will be allright WCE2000.
I wanna play too, copyright laws do exist on websites, I did some detailed research on the matter when I was thinking of making an AFL website. You have to get permission from the owners and I ran in to trouble as only the Eagles, of all the clubs, would let me use their pics and logo's
Good Luck WCE2000

------------------
CARN THE 7TH WONDERS
CARN THE W C WARRIORS

Okay, maybe my idea would be better suited for a world without copyright, but something I always wanted for a WCE fan site was a Commercial Crimestoppers section. You could use Woosha's Marlows ads and those Just Spectacles ads (simple formula - 2 Eagles and the same blonde, repeat 100 times), or the one where a group of Eagles sang the Magic Nissan jingle a few years ago. Or my personal favourite, the one when Dean Kemp dressed up as a ventriloquist's dummy to advertise a suburban cinema.

Scary, scary stuff

Good luck with the site

I just though of a good thing for the fun section.

i could do a different fan profile each week.

The problem here, i could use people from big footy for about 25 weeks, which would last me the first year - but what do i do once the second year comes around???

I suppose it will do for now and things will hopefully work themselves out (maybe get more eagles supporters to bigfooty, maybe a few people who surf onto the site might send in a form).