West Coast Eagles Priority Pick (2024)

Adelaide were not in a similar position to WC at all. They had one 3 win season in 2020 and have otherwise been competitive. They haven't had a percentage below 80 for 4 years and the general consensus is they have massively underperformed. They won 3 of the first 10 last year and had a percentage of 101 because they kept finding creative ways to lose. They must have nightmares about playing Collingwood.

They have certainly made some good moves. Keays was a discard no one wanted and is now a vice captain. Dawson and Rankine are great recruits that wanted to go back to SA. Didn't overpay for Neal-Bullen (cough WC cough Baker cough), have backed in having 3 talls in the forward line while Tex is still around, have built a solid defence out of no name players etc.

That said, they are 7 years without making the finals. I'm not sure that's a blueprint clubs should aim to follow.
All this about a bloody blue print lol.

It's just funny that both crows and eagles had similar paths.

Both teams won 2 flags each in the 1990s.

Both teams had a 5 or 6 year run of finals, including at least 2 prelims or top 4 finishes in the 2000s..

Both of them at least made a grand final in the 2010s.

Both are in their worst periods in their history.

Crows look like making finals in 2025 after a long unprecedented 7 year period of no finals.

Eagles are looking at their 5th year in a row of no finals. Instill think eagles will turn it around.

how many priority picks did Adelaide and Fremantle receive?

Priority picks allowed Freo to draft both Paul Hasleby and Matthew Pavlich in 1999, and also both Luke Hodge and Graham Polak in 2001. That they traded pick 1 in 2001 for magic beans is on them.

Adelaide have never been bad enough to "earn" a priority pick.

Priority picks allowed Freo to draft both Paul Hasleby and Matthew Pavlich in 1999, and also both Luke Hodge and Graham Polak in 2001. That they traded pick 1 in 2001 for magic beans is on them.

Adelaide have never been bad enough to "earn" a priority pick.

24 years ago? embarrassing comparison.

exactly my point, so why should Adelaide be punished for not being as bad wc? Especially when Adelaide have been one of the clubs most affect by others getting handouts.

PP's should not exist, the rot has got to stop at some point.

exactly my point, so why should Adelaide be punished for not being as bad wc? Especially when Adelaide have been one of the clubs most affect by others getting handouts.

Nah I want North Melbourne to have picks 1, 2 , 3 , 4 and 5 in this year's draft LoL

Why should Sydney and Geelong be punished for not being as bad as Adelaide?

Why should Brisbane be punished for winning the flag? Oh that's right...

I don't know where you are going with this. Adelaide are looking good again. Should probably enjoy that.

All this about a bloody blue print lol.

It's just funny that both crows and eagles had similar paths.

Both teams won 2 flags each in the 1990s.

Both teams had a 5 or 6 year run of finals, including at least 2 prelims or top 4 finishes in the 2000s..

Both of them at least made a grand final in the 2010s.

Both are in their worst periods in their history.

Crows look like making finals in 2025 after a long unprecedented 7 year period of no finals.

Eagles are looking at their 5th year in a row of no finals. Instill think eagles will turn it around.

Main difference being what happened from the most recent peak.

Crows 2017 GF side had:

Jenkins 28
Greenwood 25
Cameron 23
Brad Crouch 23
Lever 21

plus McGovern 23, Keath 25 who didn't play.

All of those guys left within a couple of years, plus Betts went back to Carlton at 32/33. No one watching footy in 2017 expected Adelaide to fall out of the finals for 7 years.

WC lost Scott Lycett to Port after the 2018 GF and Mark LeCras retired at 32, that's it. Other than natural list turnover, injuries etc. the next player to move clubs was Willie Rioli at the end of 2022 then Darling and Barrass last year. WC did also finish 5th 2019 and 2020 so were slightly off 2018 results in those years not miles off.

Their team broke apart and became shit. Ours stayed together and became shit.

Why should Sydney and Geelong be punished for not being as bad as Adelaide?

Why should Brisbane be punished for winning the flag? Oh that's right...

I don't know where you are going with this. Adelaide are looking good again. Should probably enjoy that.

What the hell are you talking about?

AFL won't won't to give out a PP so they will just give them #2 for Allen when he leaves and the eagles finish last regardless of the contract.

Smells of another Ben McKay or Frawley where the AFL wants to give a bottom team top pick but don't have the balls to come out and say it

Even pick 1 now isn't going to turn WC around in the short term.

I've already explained ITT that the old system of first round PPs for winning under 5 games (for all its faults) had a specific purpose of making bad teams better quicker. Waiting 3, 4, 5 years to give a team pick 25 isn't addressing the problem. If people are happy for WC to be terrible because 'they won a flag in 2018' great. But don't then complain WC are terrible.

It doesn't benefit every team every season but the AFL has made it actively easier for high finishing clubs to access elite young talent. Say what you want about F/S vs academy vs NGA etc. but Brisbane have added two Ashcrofts and Fletcher and Marshall since 2022. That's picks 2 & 12 in one draft and 5 & 25 in another, coinciding with finishing 4th, 2nd, 1st. That didn't get them to where they are right now but it's a massive leg up the next 2-3 years when they will lose Neale, Zorko etc.

I don't mind if the AFL wants to draw a line in the sand and say every club that gets to the point of winning 2 or 3 games a year can dig their own way out, but they won't. They will hold onto magic formulas for when they feel like helping certain clubs. We may get a top 5 pick this year if Allen leaves. North got one for McKay leaving. Having your most valuable 25/26 year olds leave is not a great rebuilding strategy.
Good points.

The old priority system from 2002-09 was interesting. If you finished with 4 wins in year 1, then you get a priority pick 2nd rounder.

A 4 win season for a 2nd year in a row and it's another early 1st round pick.

Well the funny thing was your mob made 2 grand finals in 2005-6.

Yeah that 2002-07 finals era with that 2006 flag.

We all know losing Judd, Cousins, Chick and Rowan Jones hurt the club at the end of 2007.

Daniel Kerr missing half a season in 2008 hurt.

2008 draft picks netted you Nick Nat, Luke Shuey and Tom swift.

The 2009 draft netted you Brad Sheppard, Gerrick Weedon and Koby Stevens. Andrew Strijk and Ashton Hams.

2010 had west coast last. But due to Gold coast coming into the AFL, instead of pick 1, eagles early pick was pick 4 which was used on Andrew Gaff. Then eagles got Lycett and Darling. Then chose McGovern in the rookie list.

Main difference being what happened from the most recent peak.

Crows 2017 GF side had:

Jenkins 28
Greenwood 25
Cameron 23
Brad Crouch 23
Lever 21

plus McGovern 23, Keath 25 who didn't play.

All of those guys left within a couple of years, plus Betts went back to Carlton at 32/33. No one watching footy in 2017 expected Adelaide to fall out of the finals for 7 years.

WC lost Scott Lycett to Port after the 2018 GF and Mark LeCras retired at 32, that's it. Other than natural list turnover, injuries etc. the next player to move clubs was Willie Rioli at the end of 2022 then Darling and Barrass last year. WC did also finish 5th 2019 and 2020 so were slightly off 2018 results in those years not miles off.

Their team broke apart and became shit. Ours stayed together and became shit.

These are list management choices though. One of the arguments I have been making since 2021 is west coast needed to rejuvenate their list, and need to make hard choices in order to do it.

Most times when I said that in 2021 people scoffed at the idea and pointed to Collingwood's fire sale as what not to do, and to a lesser degree Hawthorn trading out players for picks.

These are list management choices though. One of the arguments I have been making since 2021 is west coast needed to rejuvenate their list, and need to make hard choices in order to do it.

Most times when I said that in 2021 people scoffed at the idea and pointed to Collingwood's fire sale as what not to do, and to a lesser degree Hawthorn trading out players for picks.

WC used 37 players in 2021. 24 of those players are no longer on the list. How much list turnover do people want?

WC finished 9th in 2021, not last. We had pick 12 and downgraded two spots to 14 for an extra pick and took Chesser. Jury out on him, always injured. Added Hough, Bazzo, Jack Williams in that draft. 2022 Ginbey, Hewett, Long. Maybe Barnett will develop, jury definitely out. 2023 Reid, Reid, Hall, Johnston + Maric. 2024 5 picks, two of whom have already debuted + Baker and Graham and Owies for whatever your opinion on that is.

The idea that WC have been asleep at the wheel since 2018 is getting a bit stale.

Collingwood's fire sale was due to mismanaging the salary cap. Hawthorn had Tom Mitchell from age 24-29 and Jaeger O'Meara from age 23-28 and made the finals once. Not really comparable to WC until 2021/22. Sam Mitchell had Worpel, Day, Newcombe etc. coming through and decided to rip off the bandaid. We would be a better team with TB but made that decision for the future.

WC used 37 players in 2021. 24 of those players are no longer on the list. How much list turnover do people want?

WC finished 9th in 2021, not last. We had pick 12 and downgraded two spots to 14 for an extra pick and took Chesser. Jury out on him, always injured. Added Hough, Bazzo, Jack Williams in that draft. 2022 Ginbey, Hewett, Long. Maybe Barnett will develop, jury definitely out. 2023 Reid, Reid, Hall, Johnston + Maric. 2024 5 picks, two of whom have already debuted + Baker and Graham and Owies for whatever your opinion on that is.

The idea that WC have been asleep at the wheel since 2018 is getting a bit stale.

Collingwood's fire sale was due to mismanaging the salary cap. Hawthorn had Tom Mitchell from age 24-29 and Jaeger O'Meara from age 23-28 and made the finals once. Not really comparable to WC until 2021/22. Sam Mitchell had Worpel, Day, Newcombe etc. coming through and decided to rip off the bandaid. We would be a better team with TB but made that decision for the future.
That's an average of 6 players a year for a team who needed to completely rebuild. It's not enough.

Let's be honest, Chesser & Bazzo are busts. Hough & Jack Williams serviceable.

Ginbey & Hewett will have AFL careers but probably not at the level they were drafted at but still early. Too early for any of the others yet.

The issue is, WC going at a 50% strike rate of picking up someone who can play AFL. If you take only six a year, that's three a year who are any good. You probably retire 2 decent players on average a year so your rebuild is going to take forever unless you speed it up. Maybe with the recruiting and coaching clean-out you might get some better results so time to move on 8 or 9 this off season before Tassie arrive.

Geez the standards set for WC are high.

Teams rarely take more than 5 picks in the draft because the hit rate gets lower the later in the draft you go. Jack Williams was pick 57. You reckon if we keep picking in the 60s that that will solve our woes? North started de-listing older players for being old and replacing them with whoever was available. Now going into their 9th season in a row without making the finals.

All the armchair experts on WC's list management don't seem to understand the actual position of WC's list the last couple of years.

Geez the standards set for WC are high.

Teams rarely take more than 5 picks in the draft because the hit rate gets lower the later in the draft you go. Jack Williams was pick 57. You reckon if we keep picking in the 60s that that will solve our woes? North started de-listing older players for being old and replacing them with whoever was available. Now going into their 9th season in a row without making the finals.

All the armchair experts on WC's list management don't seem to understand the actual position of WC's list the last couple of years.
5 picks at the draft, 2 rookies, 1 mid season, 1-2 traded in without paying capital = 9 or 10 a season till it turns around or keep chopping after 2-3 seasons. The extra picks should be in the 1st or 2nd round, not at pick 60.

You have be using your top end picks to add extra picks or players. The only bloke you traded last year you ended up getting a future pick for, rather than using the currency to bring in Baker/Graham and keeping pick 3.

The standards aren't high, it's pretty obvious really. You have been too conservative and it is going to delay your rebuild further.

That's an average of 6 players a year for a team who needed to completely rebuild. It's not enough.

Let's be honest, Chesser & Bazzo are busts. Hough & Jack Williams serviceable.

Ginbey & Hewett will have AFL careers but probably not at the level they were drafted at but still early. Too early for any of the others yet.

The issue is, WC going at a 50% strike rate of picking up someone who can play AFL. If you take only six a year, that's three a year who are any good. You probably retire 2 decent players on average a year so your rebuild is going to take forever unless you speed it up. Maybe with the recruiting and coaching clean-out you might get some better results so time to move on 8 or 9 this off season before Tassie arrive.
That's a pretty poor analysis of the kids. I'd expect the same of any oppo fans assessing Freo's kids.

This really is a straw man argument. Of course West Coast has turned over 24 spots in the last four years, there's been four off-seasons.

What West Coast needed to do in 2021 is understand that they had gradually declined each year since the flag, and if they didn't do something to rectify it, the list would age out and they'd rapidly decline.

Collingwood's fire sale was because the mismanaged the cap, finished 2020 in 6th spot, recognised that list wasn't good enough so they offloaded big money players to free up cap space to then chase players in subsequent years.

West Coast was in a similar position - a full cap, but not good enough and decided to do nothing.

Their cap remained tight until last year. I'm sorry but if you are winning 2-3 games a year for 3-4 years AND you have a full salary cap, you've mismanaged your list, so I don't know why you're looking down at the action Collingwood took to correct their list and salary cap, when that is something that West Coast should have done themselves.

Only on BigFooty did Collingwood free up cap space to then chase players by paying Adam Treloar to go to the Bulldogs.

West Coast Eagles Priority Pick (2024)