Game Day West Coast Eagles vs Collingwood on Friday 16th of April 2021 @Optus.

xInfected_Virus

Apr 23, 2020
Wisconsin Badgers Women's Volleyball
The xInfected_Virus preview thread is back just for this week only although I may do other preview threads that aren't taken yet. I missed doing those preview threads last year.

maxresdefault.jpg
407671_8c17bd1c1491dafa69660bf60fab7a91-2.png

The legendary mighty West Coast Eagles vs Collinglol.

The Eagles are 2-2 and Collingwood are 1-3 and will be looking to bounce back after losing on round 4. We've caused them problems before and their only wins since 2018 have been both by one point.

We should have been 4-0 this year but we just cannot seem to win close games and the Pies besides the Carlton game have pretty stagnant ball movement which will help our defense. They lost to an undermanned GWS side whereas we lost to a good St Kilda side after being up 33 points. We have been their kryptonite having the edge over them regardless where we play since 2018 and we match up well against them.

Unfortuntely Shuey, Hurn are injured and Yeo won't be ready. Pies won't have T.Adams from injury in an depleted midfield from failed list managements.

giphy-downsized-large.gif

Never ever gets old. Mr Clutch Sheed sinking the Pies in the 2018 Grand Final. This was in my last preview thread against them but will include it again for being an iconic moment in club's history.
How do we beat them?
May edit this part until game day.

Collingwood's ball movement looks stagnant and their F50 entries have been poor. With the new rules speeding up the game, the Pies rank 17th for Marks and play on, 16th in D50 to I50%, 16th points for, 15th in scores per inside 50, 14th in time in FWD half differential, I50 differential. With the players they lost and the stagnant gameplan they have, they're playing like a bottom 4 side.

We'll need to employ our kick mark game against them as Buckley and co have never found a way to stop it so it can wear them down as they have to keep on chasing. The team will lose leadership in the midfield with Shuey out so Sheed, Kelly, Redden and Gaff will need to become our number one type mids like in the 2020 game vs St Kilda not the third and fourth support type mids like in the second quarter of the Saints game where they got smashed. I know they're capable of stepping up when they play at their best. Duggan also needs to step up since his time as a mid while Shuey is out isn't working out well and he seems to just be a wallpaper over the cracks type player when he's playing midfield.

Collingwood's forward line has been poor and they will not win a flag with that forward line but they can be potent when they get it in quickly and cleanly. Cox is someone we cannot underestimate, at his best he can tear a game apart see 2020 elimination final so we cannot allow him to run and jump at the ball and we have to slow Collingwood's ball movement down. Gov cannot get sucked into Mihochek dragging up the ground so our defense doesn't get forced into a one on one. De Goey as overrated he is can still be damaging if he has space to lead into so we must block off his leading space.

As depleted their midfield is due to poor trade decisions, injuries and form loss, Pendlebury or Sidebottom should get the hard tag as they're one of the best ball users in the league despite their form loss so I'd say the job is for Nelson to do it especially that we have no Shuey and Yeo. Tagging was very important in 2018 when Hutch used to nullify their best mid. With Hurn out, I'd say Witherden should do the kick ins as he's be an upgrade on Gov and Nelson in that area, hopefully he can go left side more often than not to mix things up not the same exclusively right side like last week where the Saints had extras in the contest and killed us on the crumb and spread.

Simmo must hold all our forward structure NO MATTER WHAT regardless if we're over 100 points down (highly unlikely against the Pies) so it would make it harder for them to overlap and switch so they can go down the line more often and plus we'll have one on ones which our forward line is very good at. Have faith and trust the midfield will win the ball and even have a spare at the contest from the back line since our forward line is one of the best in the league. I'd rather risk conceding goals when we can score more then the opposition with this forward line. I personally think Jones should stay despite his sub par performances as whenever he's in the forward line, our forward pressure is much better, I'd say he should stay up forward and crumb more.

Very important the midfield goes after the ball an NOT wait for it to come to them otherwise we'll put our backline under pressure as the oppo will win clearances. They can't afford to feel entitled that Nic Nat will give them silver service each time, they need to fight for the footy more harder than their opponents so we can win ground ball gets and Nic Nat winning the taps should only be a bonus. We are capable of doing so as we've smashed Port in contested possession who have been the best contested possession side for the past year. Tackling is a MUST DO as we've never been a known tackling side and show them that we are NOT pushovers. With better midfield pressure, they'll be forced to kick high so our defense can intercept it. Midfield MUST SHOW NO MERCY.

Team selection is also important, selecting the wrong team will cost the match (see Western Bulldogs R2 and St Kilda R4). I'd say we go in small but it's tempting to bring another tall against Grundy and Cox or D.Cameron. Going small with specialist mids means that we'll run out games better as a tall doesn't take up a midfielder's spot.

Key Matchups.

Nic Nat vs Grundy:
Nic Nat's season has been decent and certainly been worth more than overpaid Grundy's. Nic Nat has to beat Grundy in the ruck for a psychological edge and tap it to his teammates on the run. All of Nic Nat's great work will be useless if the mids don't hunt for the ball with hunger and fire.
17WCCo19DC0057.JPG

Nic Nat beating Grundy will go a long way for our mids to give constant supply to our lethal forward line. Will also show that Grundy is NOT worth seven million dollars unlike Nic Nat who's on a fraction of Grundy's salary.
Nelson vs Pendlebury/Sidebottom: We need a hard tag, Pendlebury and Sidebottom are excellent ball users so shutting them down will force the Pies to use lesser ball users which means they're more likely to make the wrong decision or fail to execute which will make life easier for us.
JackoMonopoly-landscape.jpg

Nelson tagging Pendlebury or Sidebottom will cause the Pies ball movement to fall apart.

Barrass vs Cox: Barrass has to play close to Cox and not five meters back. He has to leap later than Cox to get a spoil in. Cox can tear a game apart (see 2020 elimination final) so we cannot allow him to be isolated. Gov cannot get sucked up the ground so he can help. We cannot allow Cox to score.
mason-cox-of-the-magpies-and-tom-barrass-of-the-eagles-in-action-the-picture-id1135204335

Stop Collingwood's fast ball movement (if they ever move it quickly) and avoid Cox getting isolated and his game falls apart. Time for Barrass and co to stop him.
Sheppard vs De Goey: De Goey at his best is a match winner but he can also be a non factor. Whenever De Goey is forward then Shep must take him and he'll need team support to block up his space to lead into. He'll also need to act like a tagger during F50 stoppages as he can also be damaging there, especially if Allen is up against Grundy in the ruck.
brad-sheppard-of-the-eagles-marks-the-ball-brody-mihocek-of-the-the-picture-id1140757951

The ever reliable Shep. Stopping De Goey will take out one of their major scorers.

Kennedy, Darling and Allen vs Moore, Keane and Roughead: Collingwood's backline is the only thing that keeps them in games and our forward line is the only thing to keep us in games as well. Important we win clearances and get fast ball movement to our forwards so they can have a better chance. Darling is likely to get Keane on him so he should drag him up the ground so JK and Allen can be isolated without help coming. There's been talks the D.Moore may play forward though.
3d0f9218be78fc576f34e22d9fa37ab037396c7c
images

Time for JK, Darling and Allen to dominate.
Ryan vs Quaynor or Maynard: Ryan didn't look interested against the Saints but I back him to bounce back and reach his late 2020 form. Maynard isn't in good form as well so Ryan should bounce back strongly supporting our tall forwards. If he can reach his 2020 form then our forward line will get much better delivery.
f6012756098d506c8d4e882b07a16454

When Ryan is at his best, he's not only kicking goals, taking big pack marks and giving our forwards silver service but he's also showing some swag.

Last five matches.

West Coast Eagles.

L vs Flukey Pies 75-76.
W vs Pretty decent Suns 83-58.
L vs Contending Bulldogs 93-100.
W vs Contending Port Adelaide 108-71.
L vs Surging Saints 82-102.

Collingwood.

W vs Poor selections Eagles 76-75.
L vs Contending Bulldogs 53-69.
W vs Overrated Blues 106-85.
L vs Out of form Lions 72-73.
L vs Injury depleted Giants 60-90.

Our last five matches against Collingwood.

EF 2020: L 75-76. Poor selections costed us in my opinion, I felt Ah Chee or Petch shouldn't have played, I reckon Jetta should've played instead, we needed his accurate kicking.
R8 2020: W 111-45. Destroyed them and JK had a field day. No matter the angle we rarely missed that day.
R17 2019: L 77-78. They overrun us in the fourth after doing well for the first three quarters. That had to cost us top 4 and the flag if losing to the Hawks didn't.
R3 2019: W 98-76. Great performance from the team and why they don't match up well against us.
GF 2018: W 79-74. Fought hard after being down by five goals. Mr Sheed came in clutch when we needed him to and very happy we were premiers that year.

Teams.

TBA at 4:20 pm AWST two days before the game which in this case is Wednesday.

Predicted or my preferred changes: Hurn goes out with injury with Witherden (likely) or Foley (less likely) to replace Bunga and Waterman should be dropped for Exxon or Trew to give us extra run at the end. Tempting to drop Jones for Langdon but I would give Jones another week. Also tempting to bring in another tall like Williams if fit or Edwards since they may play Darcy Moore or Cameron up forward and plus they could also chop out for Grundy in the ruck. I'd be putting Cole on notice too.

My preferred or predicted 22.

B: Sheppard, Barrass, Rotham
HB: Cole, McGovern, Witherden
C: Duggan, Sheed, Gaff
HF: Jones, Darling, Cripps
F: Ryan, Kennedy, Allen
R: Nic Nat, Kelly, Redden
I/C: Nelson, Brander, Petch, Williams/Edwards (if they go tall) or Exxon if they go small.

Medical sub: Trew or Ainsworth.

Will be updating this part once the team sheets come out Wednesday 4:20 pm AWST. Actual 22 will be below.

Team sheet update below.

Witherden obvious comes in for Bunga after he done his hamstring. Vardy coming in isn't the worst thing in the world despite being diabolical against the Suns and Bulldogs as they have Grundy and D.Cameron to provide backup in the ruck and we know Nic Nat cannot play more than 70% TOG, it also allows Allen to play that stay at home/push up forward role and help preserve his body a bit plus the Pies do have a pretty tall side in defense. Ryan unfortunately has a shin bone injury so he's out and Petch has another hamstring injury, both will be replaced by Langdon and Exxon. Jones has also been dropped for sub par performances although I do believe our forward pressure is much better when he's in the forward line, can Langdon replicate his forward pressure on a consistent basis? If so on a consistent basis then he'll be keeping Jones out for a while.

TeamSelection-AFL-ArticleHero-2021-Rd5.jpg

Weather Forecasts.

We should be all good:
Mostly sunny. Light winds becoming easterly 15 to 20 km/h during the morning then becoming light during the day. Should be more cooler as it's a night game.

Where can I watch the game on TV or heat it on the radio?

Free to air:
Seven Mate at 5:30 pm AWST considering all our games are free to air to please us WA viewers. First bounce starts at 6:10 pm AWST.
Subscription TV: Fox Footy.
Streaming/IPTV: Kayo.

West Coast Eagles Big Footy Commentary: If there is a Big Footy commentary then HoneyBadger35 should send us a link. If not then oh well, can't stand to hear the Vic hacks show off their Bias. It's amazing that those Vic hacks get Rotham and Brander or Ryan and Rioli mixed up all the time, do they think they're the same? No way in hell our BigFooty team will get Rotham and Brander mixed up or even Ryan and Rioli.

Venue Tickets.

Visit: https://www.ticketmaster.com.au/wes...od-burswood-16-04-2021/event/25005A87E0E85AB8

Lets give our boys much needed support at home after what happened last week. We cannot allow Pies fans to cheer so we must override their cheers to give the boys morale. Boo any Pies taking set shots so they miss. Everyone scream "TACKLE THEIR ASS" loudly so our boys can tackle and pressure the hell out of them. Everyone must cheer for us for four quarter so we can play four quarters. Good news is we are don't have crowd capacities anymore.

If your going to the game at Optus then I recommend walking from your home and taking the bus that goes to the Perth Busport or your nearest train station to the city and if you arrived at the Perth Busport then walk to the Perth train station Armadale train line to Optus as it's much better and cheaper than parking in the city provided there's no free parking spots there. Show no mercy to any Pies fans you see on the way to the game. Please arrive a few hours before the game because of delays due to COVID protocols.

Predictions.

West Coast Eagles by 61 points (that's just being me optimistic and arrogant). My new predictions is West Coast Eagles 19 points being realistic.

After the Saints loss, we'll get a kick from the backside to play harder and show no mercy despite losing gun players to injury. Collingwood are playing like a genuine bottom four side, maybe they're tanking to get Nick Daicos? Barrass will destroy Cox and keep him goalless for a second week in a row and Nic Nat will get the better of overrated seven million dollar man. De Goey will hardly have an impact thanks to Shep. No Adams for the Pies will weaken their midfield and no Elliot in the forward line should help our defense. Nic Nat's 25 hitouts are more influencial than Grundy's 40 hitouts to the opposition. JK, Darling and Allen will have field days, Ryan will also return to 2020 form. Our midfield will not be pushed around next time especially at home. Time for Sheed, Redden, Kelly, Gaff and Duggan to step up and take responsiblity that we can do it without Shuey and Yeo. It'll either be very close or we'll belt them.

I feel we'll win easily on Friday night. The pies are a shell of a team right now, coming off a wet slog six days earlier. Another game where we have a game winning lead at half time, but take the foot off the pedal in the second half, but understandable this time around, we'll need all the rest we can get if we're to beat the cats down in Geelong next week. Eagles by 32.

We will paper over some cracks and lasts weeks debacle will be forgotten, only for the same issues to rear their ugly, predictable head later in the season costing us a top 4 spot.

Great preview but HOLY sh*t 61 points
You are right.

Pies will come out breathing fire and we will need to absorb the pressure otherwise it could be a long night.

WCE by 84

I know a lot of posters here like making fun of Mason Cox, but he will tear us a new one (AGAIN) if our muppet defenders give him any space (AGAIN).

If I hear "We'll learn from that. It's only Round 5. It's a good thing we lost (da faq?)" after he kicks a match-winning three goals against our unaccountable defence, I will tear my hair out.

We won't learn from it. We never do.

But if we have managed to learn from it, we'll win. Copy and paste the game against Dixon you memory-deficient goldfish. FFS.

Over to you, Gov, Barrass and friends.

I know a lot of posters here like making fun of Mason Cox, but he will tear us a new one (AGAIN) if our muppet defenders give him any space (AGAIN).

If I hear "We'll learn from that. It's only Round 5. It's a good thing we lost (da faq?)" after he kicks a match-winning three goals against our unaccountable defence, I will tear my hair out.

We won't learn from it. We never do.

But if we have managed to learn from it, we'll win. Copy and paste the game against Dixon you memory-deficient goldfish. FFS.

Over to you, Gov, Barrass and friends.

Kern gave us a huge leg up by sending Dixon up the ground instead of Georgiades IMO. I doubt Bucks will make the same error.

Based on both team's relevant form we should beat them at home by 3-5 goals. Although after last week's performance I wont be confident with any sort of lead at any point in the game.

If we lose it'll be because Bucks has told his boys to man up the midfield like Ratts did. If that happens it'll be panic stations aboard the S.S West Coast.

Some good valid points above but the overconfidence and borderline arrogance of some posts concerns me.......eagles by 61 points 84???? ummm no lets just get the win

Lets face facts

We are coming up against a side that is extremely under the pump.....sound familiar ??

This year we have proven we are a side that cannot play 4 quarters.....bucks will know this and tell his players that they are always in the game. We cannot finish games...our last quarters are terrible along with our 2nd half's

If the opposition applies the pressure we will crumble ...this game will be about intensity if collingwood apply it we will not be able to cope..fact....to win we have to rely on collingwood not providing the manic pressure that the saints did.....I know it's crap but that's where we are atm ..have to rely on the opposition not uping there game to win

Lack of experience.... fact without shuey and yeo our mids are 2nd rate..even with the best tap ruckmen in the game providing silver service .. With Hurn gone the general of the backline we struggle

Can we win this week yes but we could also easily lose and I guarantee this.... the following week against the cats the team will lose easily the players do not have the intensity yet to face pressure and play 4 quarters......its shite but that's where we are at :(

Some good valid points above but the overconfidence and borderline arrogance of some posts concerns me.......eagles by 61 points 84???? ummm no lets just get the win

Lets face facts

We are coming up against a side that is extremely under the pump.....sound familiar ??

This year we have proven we are a side that cannot play 4 quarters.....bucks will know this and tell his players that they are always in the game. We cannot finish games...our last quarters are terrible along with our 2nd half's

If the opposition applies the pressure we will crumble ...this game will be about intensity if collingwood apply it we will not be able to cope..fact....to win we have to rely on collingwood not providing the manic pressure that the saints did.....I know it's crap but that's where we are atm ..have to rely on the opposition not uping there game to win

Lack of experience.... fact without shuey and yeo our mids are 2nd rate..even with the best tap ruckmen in the game providing silver service .. With Hurn gone the general of the backline we struggle

Can we win this week yes but we could also easily lose and I guarantee this.... the following week against the cats the team will lose easily the players do not have the intensity yet to face pressure and play 4 quarters......its sh*te but that's where we are at :(

Fairly certain those margins are tongue in cheek.

A real noice preview..!!

I would expect the Coasters to be 'ON' from the start,
with a payback agenda in their hearts,
The Pies will be confident after their last win in Perth,
and will man-up with pressure and intensity,
in an effort to bury us under the earth!

We need to play hard attacking football
with gritty contested possessions and play out 4 committed quarters?
No more injuries please!
(am not game to make a prediction, but if forced to, without Shuey and Hurn,
I'd say a close win; a big margin would be spectacular; a loss is quite possible?

If we lose this game is our season over? I mean in terms of premiership chance, not finals. Assume we will lose to Cats at skilled I feel like we won't make top 4 if we lose this week