West Coast Eagles vs Fremantle Dockers

Perth Scorchers, New York Giants
Ok, I've started what may be the thread talked in most this week as the Local Derby is upon us.
My tip for the game is the Eagles. I think we will line up very well against the dockers.
Our forward line functioned very well and if we Have Scotty back, or even if we don't, I think our forwards will be too much for the Dockers backline. The midfields will have a tough battle which will be good to watch but I think the Eagles will have the edge with Kempy, Cous and possibly Braun, Drewy Kerr Fletch. Our backline with Morrison, Jako, Wirra, Mille, Prior will battle hard against the likes of Modra, Waterhouse and Pavlich but if we stop Modra then we will be on top, and Mille has done well in the past against Mods
All on all it should be a good game, and I can't wait to be there and watch it.
CARN EAGLES

------------------
If everybody is rowing the boat together then there's no body to rock it!
CARN THE 7TH WONDERS
CARN THE W C WARRIORS

Will it be a bloodbath? The Eagles will be pumped...Judgey needs to channel the aggression into being hard at the ball.

Waterhouse may be too fast for Jako. Otherwise I can't see a matchup we can't win.

Freo better hope that it's not a bloodbath. We now have Wilson to protect the team, Cousins has bulked up and Kerr has shown so much courage he could probably take barry hall on
smile.gif

Our forward line will be incredible, there is no way they can take Cummings, Phil, Wilson, Merenda and Williams out of the game. IMPOSSIBLE!!!!!

Macca will take Modra out with considerable ease. I haven't seen him play this well since 1998. Prior will take Waterhouse out and wirra and roo will drive the ball out of defense unopposed. Freo do not have a player that can outrun them, let alone two.

The midfield is where we are equal with them. But with Gardi and Cox in the ruck we should get first use of the ball 75% of the time. Kemp should be good for us with some match finess under his belt while Cousins, Fletch, Morrison and Banfield have so much class that Freo will be unable to counter them.

BUT, if Modra, Pavlich, Bell and Black fire we could be under some pressure. But i don't think it's possible for all four to be at their best on the day, the whole day.

I smell a win coming up.

CARN THE EAGLES!!!!!!

P.S. I tipped the eagles to beat St. Kilda
biggrin.gif

------------------
"I'm not going to waste my life trying to prolong it"

[This message has been edited by daddy_4_eyes (edited 16 April 2001).]

I think you are all getting over confident. Freo are a good side and capable of beating us very easily. If we play our worst footy they could easily roll us by 50 or 60 points.

There forward line is potent with Modra, Waterhouse, Pavlich and Bell can be thrown forward and is a proven goal sneak. There midfield is very good with Fletcher, Cook, Haselby, Bell, McManus and there backline has impressed me this year with Parker, Jones, Grover and Carr. So there pretty good all over the ground.

I think the key matchup though will be in the ruck, without Micheal the Dockers will struggle against a quality big man like Gardiner. And if Gardiner gets on top early we could let Cox take over and release Gardy up forward. Longmuir and maybe Bandy are there only hope in that position and will take nothing short of a miracle for them to beat us in the ruck.

I think Jako will line up on Pavlich and Waterhouse will covered by Collica. Collica is perfect for that duel but if he does get beaten then we can always switch Prior onto him.

The midfield will be where it is won, and hopefully are boys will get first use of it and push it forward and into the arms of Wilson Cummo Joey Matera and co.

Will be a close game but i think the Eagles will win by about 24 points ... fingers crossed ... touch wood
biggrin.gif

The 3 danger players for the Dockers are Peter Bell, Heath Black and Clive Waterhouse. But last year we rolled them by over 100 points and in the later clash we lost the game ourselves at the end of the year.

Sorry Jod23, i have to disagree. Freo have players with potential, but those players a far from realising it.

If they are so good how come they haven't won a game this year yet? Sure they played tough opposition, but so have we. Geelong, Sydney and St. Kilda are all considered to be top 4 material. Only Geelong dominated us.

I feel quite confident for this game. I think we can win. Eagles by 32 pts.

------------------
"I'm not going to waste my life trying to prolong it"

I think that we will win but we need to take into account Pavlich / Waterhouse and possibly Bell/Troy Cook

In the last derby Pavlich went forward and beat Jakovich while Waterhouse was one of the few players that kept them in the game

I dont know about everyone else but my blood still boils over that Troy Cook / Mitchell White incident and no doubt there'll be a few fights come Saturday night

I think Judge has to tell the players to concentrate on the game at hand and not get sucked into fighting back etc...

Cant wait for the game!

D4E - i dont think confident is the word for this game this weekend. I think it is very much a danger game. They won the last time we met and after three losses to start the season they will be desperate for a win. I really hope we can win this game and i definitely think we can but the Dockers will be quietly confident they can overhaul us.

------------------
Use the force Luke ....

This is one of those games hard to really assuradly talk about until the game is played. It'll be a ripper, can't wait to be there watching it
smile.gif
smile.gif
smile.gif
!!!

------------------
If everybody is rowing the boat together then there's no body to rock it!
CARN THE 7TH WONDERS
CARN THE W C WARRIORS

The Dockers will kick more goals than Gardiner took swings in the last derby. And that my friends is a lot of goals!

Seriously though, its good to see the derby rivalry taking off. Whatever happens I hope both teams come away with no injuries or suspensions.

For those who can't be at the ground, don't forget the chat room at EaglesFlyingHigh.com!

I've heard there are some Dockers supporters coming along, we can't be outnumbered on our own site!

------------------
jeff...
EaglesFlyingHigh.com

They have no one to stop Michael Gardiner. With Dean Cox playing so well I think we will win in the Big man area.

They will find it hard to match up on Cummings and Wilson. As long as these guys have the ball being delivered well they will do enough for us to win. I think our midfield is doing enough to do this.

Jako will hold Pavelich.

However, who will play on Waterhouse? I would start Michael Collica who is playing so well.

McIntosh will hold Modra. If we can hold Waterhouse they will not kick enough goals.

GO EAGLES.

My two cents....

I expect that Fremantle will probably win. I think too much has been made over our last game to warrant so much confidence this week. Seriously, we won over a poorly skilled St Kilda, with a hail-mary recruit in Troy Wilson. Chances are Wilson won't play particularly well this week, and Cummings has had along time out.

Fremantle are also playing some good footy, and have been unlucky not to win a game yet.

But of course I will be rooting for West Coast all the way. Whoever wins, I reckon it'll be close.