West Coast - When will the AFL step in?

In another thread you are calling posters from other teams delusional and then you post this.

If you actually followed the players you would understand. But you don't......so ....you don't.

95% Eagles fans are more than happy with Ginbey and Hewett versus the mummies boys who didn't want to leave Melbourne.

Nothing delusional about that. Actually it's a pretty simple concept.

Especially Wardlaw who has ongoing hamstring issues. No Eagles fan believes we would have done better managing his ongoing injury issues.

If you actually followed the players you would understand. But you don't......so ....you don't.

95% Eagles fans are more than happy with Ginbey and Hewett versus the mummies boys who didn't want to leave Melbourne.

Especially Wardlaw who has ongoing hamstring issues. No Eagles fan believes we would have done better managing his ongoing injury issues.
Why are you picking Wardlaw again?

Wardlaw is a bust. That i agree with. Sheezel is 10x the player of your two combined however. Humphries and Weddle also clearly better than anyone you drafted

I just think you guys have had zero decent youth coming in or developed of late you have forgotten what A grade talent looks like.

It’s can be a slow burn but both players have been slow out of the blocks and aren’t exactly dominating or tearing it up. They look like AFL players but not sure they will become what you hope they do just yet. Not enough to take them over Sheezle or Cadman with hindsight.

How could we get Cadman again?

You really need to work on your trolling efforts.

They are flimsy and come across as a tad desperate.

Wardlaw is a bust. That i agree with. Sheezel is 10x the player of your two combined however.

And Sheezle didn't want to leave Melbourne.

And was a massive flight risk.

Versus our next captain and a young gun mid / forward.

So what exactly is your point?

Eagles should have picked a kid who didnt want to head West and would have requested a trade in a year or two?

THAT would have been a dumb move. At least it would have given you and others something legitimate to criticise the Eagles about.

And Sheezle didn't want to leave Melbourne.

And was a massive flight risk.

Versus our next captain and a young gun mid / forward.

So what exactly is your point?

Eagles should have picked a kid who didnt want to head West and would have requested a trade in a year or two?

THAT would have been a dumb move. At least it would have given you and others something legitimate to criticise the Eagles about.

Neither did Reid apparently...

But you are negligent to not draft him and take the punt

They need a lot of help. Shocking levels of despair. Been going on since half way of 2021 their levels of badness. They seriously need about 5 top picks at least just to build something.

When will the AFL step in and save them?
They only won a flag 5 minutes ago. They're the richest club in the competition. They've been horrible but it will turn around (despite the amounts of losses they've had it kind of already is turning around), alot of the reason they're in this position was because they went all in after their flag, sold of their future and fell into a hole. If there's a few more years like this than I think they have an argument for a handout but not yet.

But let's keep shovelling assistance to teams that don't need it.

Teams winning premierships and winning father son lottery as well.

You good with all that assistance going to clubs playing finals? under current AFL policies?
Other then financial assistance Port never got shit in 2010, 2011 and 2012 and we had the giants and suns coming in.

You arnt able to separate their rebuilds vs their entire history?
If you couldn't tell I was talking about their respective rebuilds then I guess I should have spelt that out for you.

Sure, we didnt have the coke and meth culture that WC did, but we have done alright.
I would rather be in Adelaide's position right now than WCs.
Ok mate you stick with your beliefs you have a “gold standard rebuild” ! If you are basing that on winning 16 games this year on the back of a history of bouncing between 10th and 18th over the last 7 years and no premiership for 27 years then I suggest you’ve gone a bit early with the back patting. The most popular thread on your own BF Board up until a little while ago was calling for Nix’s head. You can call it what you like but I reckon most footy followers and most of your own supporters would call a gold standard rebuild one that ends with a premiership. You mention Hawthorn a lot. Over the last 20 years the Hawks rebuilds generally end in premierships. The crows are in the same basket as Freo and Port as the most underachieving teams in the AFL based on them being from dominant AFL states and the expectations of fans. I note you mention our grand finals appearances in mid 2000s and you reckon you’ve done alright? You obviously have very low expectations.

In another thread you are calling posters from other teams delusional and then you post this.
You don’t watch them enough, surprisingly little between Hewett and Sheezel this season in most of the important stats (+0.3G, +0.1cl, -0.9SI, -0.9CP, -90mg). That’s despite Hewett having 13% less tog due to another interrupted preseason and an injury affected start of the year. He’s not as good as Sheezel (yet), but I’m not convinced Sheezels disposal numbers are reflective of his impact.

Ginbey is one of the most versatile and best defenders in the league, has done good jobs on (Cameron, Curnow, Thilthorpe) and is also fast/agile enough to go with the oppositions best small forward

If you were to watch them you’d probably understand why no eagles fan would trade the pair for Sheezel. If not you’ll catch on in 2-3 years like the rest of Victoria.

They only won a flag 5 minutes ago. They're the richest club in the competition. They've been horrible but it will turn around (despite the amounts of losses they've had it kind of already is turning around), alot of the reason they're in this position was because they went all in after their flag, sold of their future and fell into a hole. If there's a few more years like this than I think they have an argument for a handout but not yet.

In the meantime the AFL keeps on gifting top 5 pick draft assistance to the current premiers and teams winning 15 games this season.

This mummy's boy problem isn't going away anytime soon. Would a third team in W.A only exacerbate this issue?

Not taking kids from other states because you think they will leave is a valid decision but is it viable long term?

Would be interested to see if the 2 best combined 22 team's of W.A grown players, in theory, would be finals contenders?

It will never pan out that all W.A talent will stay in W.A, but if it's a concern that players from the eastern seaboard are hesitant to go, then being reliant on W.A talent may be a bridge to far.

Ok mate you stick with your beliefs you have a “gold standard rebuild” ! If you are basing that on winning 16 games this year on the back of a history of bouncing between 10th and 18th over the last 7 years and no premiership for 27 years then I suggest you’ve gone a bit early with the back patting. The most popular thread on your own BF Board up until a little while ago was calling for Nix’s head. You can call it what you like but I reckon most footy followers and most of your own supporters would call a gold standard rebuild one that ends with a premiership. You mention Hawthorn a lot. Over the last 20 years the Hawks rebuilds generally end in premierships. The crows are in the same basket as Freo and Port as the most underachieving teams in the AFL based on them being from dominant AFL states and the expectations of fans. I note you mention our grand finals appearances in mid 2000s and you reckon you’ve done alright? You obviously have very low expectations.
Lol.
A team who went from the bottom of the ladder in 2020, to top of the ladder in 2025, without any PP picks, without any assistance from the AFL is a good standard rebuild to anyone who can think straight.
Saying "oh but you havent won a flag, without a flag you haven't done a good rebuild" is so ridiculous. If in a GF, Tex kicks the winning goal from 55 out to ice the game, its a gold standard rebuild, but if he hits the post, and they lose, its not a gold standard rebuild.
Or God forbid, the umpire didnt call the holding the ball decision, when it was, and Tex doesnt get the kick, its not a gold standard rebuild.
The exact same players on the list.
Do you even think before you write shit out?

Lol.
A team who went from the bottom of the ladder in 2020, to top of the ladder in 2025, without any PP picks, without any assistance from the AFL is a good standard rebuild to anyone who can think straight.
Saying "oh but you havent won a flag, without a flag you haven't done a good rebuild" is so ridiculous. If in a GF, Tex kicks the winning goal from 55 out to ice the game, its a gold standard rebuild, but if he hits the post, and they lose, its not a gold standard rebuild.
Or God forbid, the umpire didnt call the holding the ball decision, when it was, and Tex doesnt get the kick, its not a gold standard rebuild.
So then justify the Hawks call, they’re a gold standard rebuild because they’ve reached the lofty heights of 6th?

Home and away season means **** all, if Crows make a GF then I’d be willing to call it a gold standard rebuild.

However I don’t think it’s the template and they’ve been aided by adding two A graders through the trade, think spending that little time at the genuine bottom will typically result in not having the top end of true contenders.

Lol.
Ok I take it that this is a very touchy subject for you old mate so lets move on before you lose it completely. But I see you have dropped your standard from gold to good. Before I write anymore “shit” if it makes you feel any better (which I am sure it wont) I absolutely agree with you! That’s a good rebuild! There you go. Enjoy the rest of the season. I really do hope for the sake of every crows supporter old Tex kicks that 55m winning goal for you and your long drought between premierships is over!

So then justify the Hawks call, they’re a gold standard rebuild because they’ve reached the lofty heights of 6th?

Home and away season means **** all, if Crows make a GF then I’d be willing to call it a gold standard rebuild.

However I don’t think it’s the template and they’ve been aided by adding two A graders through the trade, think spending that little time at the genuine bottom will typically result in not having the top end of true contenders.
That's just silly. A rebuild isn't about how many premierships they win, its about taking a list that is past its prime, going to the draft and trade table to rebuild it for another shot at winning a premiership.

Both Hawthorn and Adelaide did that in a good amount of time, without assistance from the AFL. Their time at the bottom 3rd of the ladder wasn't for an extended period.
That is what a rebuild is about.
Both Adelaide and Hawthorn are now in the position to where they can compete for a flag.

The other thing is the way they both did their respective rebuilds.
Adelaide for instance didnt just rely on the draft. They also recuited really well.
Delisted FAs like Keays, Nick Murray and Hinge, SPP players like Keane, and trades like Dawson, Rankine, Peatling, ANB and Cumming, all played a role in the Crows bounce up the ladder.

While Swans supporters will say they knew Dawson was good, no one really thought he would become the player and captain he is today.
Alot of people were saying the money Adelaide was paying Rankine was overs for him, turns out its unders when you compare his wage to what Kickett is getting at Melbourne.

The club went through a patch of poor drafting with their first rounders to today where they have nailed all their first round picks.
Thilthorpe, Pedler, Rachele, Curtin, Michelanny and Draper are all good to elite players with a decade of time left in the game.
Outside of the first round they have also struck gold with Butts, Soligo, Worrell and Berry.

That's a really good example of what you have to do to put yourselves in a premiership window.
Its the reason Gettable did a whole segment on it this week.

It seems to me you are trying to make WC not look so bad by down playing Hawthorn and Adelaides efforts.

Ok I take it that this is a very touchy subject for you old mate so lets move on before you lose it completely. But I see you have dropped your standard from gold to good. Before I write anymore “shit” if it makes you feel any better (which I am sure it wont) I absolutely agree with you! That’s a good rebuild! There you go. Enjoy the rest of the season. I really do hope for the sake of every crows supporter old Tex kicks that 55m winning goal for you and your long drought between premierships is over!
Nah, not touchy, you just put up a ridiculous argument.
Reality is ehat it is. The Crows are sitting on top of the ladder (this may change by the end of the year) and are now in their premiership window again.
They did it through smart drafting and trading. They still have all their draft picks in this draft and future drafts, have a young list with some good depth, and are playing to sold out crowds at AO.
They are a destination club, with alot to like.
Its a gold plated rebuild.
WC on the other hand are going to the AFL this year with their hand out for PP assistance.
I cant decide which list I would rather have out of the two teams, they are so close in talent....

That's just silly. A rebuild isn't about how many premierships they win, its about taking a list that is past its prime, going to the draft and trade table to rebuild it for another shot at winning a premiership.

Both Hawthorn and Adelaide did that in a good amount of time, without assistance from the AFL. Their time at the bottom 3rd of the ladder wasn't for an extended period.
That is what a rebuild is about.
Both Adelaide and Hawthorn are now in the position to where they can compete for a flag.

The other thing is the way they both did their respective rebuilds.
Adelaide for instance didnt just rely on the draft. They also recuited really well.
Delisted FAs like Keays, Nick Murray and Hinge, SPP players like Keane, and trades like Dawson, Rankine, Peatling, ANB and Cumming, all played a role in the Crows bounce up the ladder.

While Swans supporters will say they knew Dawson was good, no one really thought he would become the player and captain he is today.
Alot of people were saying the money Adelaide was paying Rankine was overs for him, turns out its unders when you compare his wage to what Kickett is getting at Melbourne.

The club went through a patch of poor drafting with their first rounders to today where they have nailed all their first round picks.
Thilthorpe, Pedler, Rachele, Curtin, Michelanny and Draper are all good to elite players with a decade of time left in the game.
Outside of the first round they have also struck gold with Butts, Soligo, Worrell and Berry.

That's a really good example of what you have to do to put yourselves in a premiership window.
Its the reason Gettable did a whole segment on it this week.

It seems to me you are trying to make WC not look so bad by down playing Hawthorn and Adelaides efforts.
100% agree with this:

"A rebuild isn't about how many premierships they win, its about taking a list that is past its prime, going to the draft and trade table to rebuild it for another shot at winning a premiership."

But to then say having a shot at winning premiership but not actually winning one is "the gold standard", is well just a tad shaky.

It's like saying the Saints in 2009 and 2010 were the 'gold standard' of a rebuild and comparable with the Pies 2010, the Cats 2007, 2009 and 2011 or WC's 2006/2018.

Not sure you'll get to many punters agreeing with you and personally, one of the Saint's, WC, Pies and Cats gold standards ain't like the others!

This mummy's boy problem isn't going away anytime soon. Would a third team in W.A only exacerbate this issue?

Not taking kids from other states because you think they will leave is a valid decision but is it viable long term?

Would be interested to see if the 2 best combined 22 team's of W.A grown players, in theory, would be finals contenders?

It will never pan out that all W.A talent will stay in W.A, but if it's a concern that players from the eastern seaboard are hesitant to go, then being reliant on W.A talent may be a bridge to far.

Wa produces enough decent players to keep two teams competitive.

The Qld kids if they are any good don't have a choice where that go.

S A kids and WA kids just know they will likely need to move.

Vic Country kids are fine.

So it's really the Vic Metro private school boys who are the causing issues.

Nah, not touchy, you just put up a ridiculous argument.
Reality is ehat it is. The Crows are sitting on top of the ladder (this may change by the end of the year) and are now in their premiership window again.
They did it through smart drafting and trading. They still have all their draft picks in this draft and future drafts, have a young list with some good depth, and are playing to sold out crowds at AO.
They are a destination club, with alot to like.
Its a gold plated rebuild.
WC on the other hand are going to the AFL this year with their hand out for PP assistance.
I cant decide which list I would rather have out of the two teams, they are so close in talent....
If i wasnt aware of our ladder positions or recent form i would have thought after last weekends game the lists dont look much different. If you reckon you’re in premiership mode surely you’d be wanting a big win away against the bottom team. From what I have seen this year I am more than happy with the way our list is developing. We have a number of emerging young KPPs – Waterman, Brock, Edwardes, Bazzo, Shanahan, Williams x2, and Reid. Decent flanks/wingers in Mccarthy, Maric, Chesser, Hough, Dewar, Davis on ballers Reid, Hewitt, Ryan, Kelly, Hough, Graham, Baker, Bo Allan, Gross, Hutchison. These guys will take a year or two to gel. With Oscar Allan going we can get drafts for him and maybe a PP. Given we ran your top of the ladder side right to the line without Harley and are finding our feet with a new coach I reckon there is plenty of upside and we will be back in the 8 sooner than later. And tell me again what my “ridiculous” argument was… That we have dared to contend pretty regularly and win a flag fairly consistently since we started? You are the one who set yourself up for a bit of ridicule with all the gold standard stuff. As i said keep the heat on your coach and players to perform when it matters and go deep into September and win it.

Wardlaw is a bust. That i agree with. Sheezel is 10x the player of your two combined however. Humphries and Weddle also clearly better than anyone you drafted
No idea why people rate Sheezel this highly. He is just a flanker when its all said and done. As a midfielder he hasnt done a ton.

West Coast - When will the AFL step in?