West Coast - where to now?

Look you get the odd flukey result in football now and then, like Tigers thrashing a red hot Bombers.

Eagles went down to a team that destroyed Cats, ran way to beat Giants team away with Josh Kelly, Lions on their home ground. All without their star All Australian full forward who has been injured ALL year. We’ll trouble most teams on run home.

Eagles will bounce back when their two forwards return, unfortunately by then top two or four may be lost. They’ll struggle to win finals out of Perth.

You almost got a bite from me :thumbsu:

Much harder road ahead without jk and darling

A team like ours without the star power midfield of other finals teams needs our dominant forwardline
I dont think you need both every week, although that is your teams strength (marking ability), but I do think you need at least one of them to be consistently competitive. Gameplan is built around your sides marking ability and two big KPFs sets the structure.

I can tell you how this loss went down, the bye round we got flogged on the track to build fitness levels for the back end of the season. This is a well tried tactic we used back in the 2005/06 seasons. We dont benifit now but come the taper off in the 3rd week of the finals watch out.

West Coast average the most marks per game of any team.

So Naitanui not taking marks around the ground isn't a factor for us as we have heaps of marking options.

We play to our strengths.
Naitanui's strengths are tap work, clearances, contested ball, 2nd efforts and tackling.

General play marking a weakness, although he has won mark of the year, so not that weak.

Hilarious stuff...can you have your head buried in the sand any deeper?

Chortled heaps..

Hilarious stuff...can you have your head buried in the sand any deeper?

Chortled heaps..

I'd be happy to discuss further if you have an intelligent reply.

Naitanui is an impact player, he just gets from one contest to another. We generally play 3 tall forwards and 2 ruckmen, our fwds swap from deep attack to pushing up the wings and linking up. With Lycett being a part of that as well. Naitanui is only playing 50-60% TOG, he's not a workhorse ruckmen like others who runs all day and makes space for himself he's a contested beast who is used in bursts (80% of his possessions are contested).

Again, playing to strengths and using Naitanui at the contest.
70% of Naitanui's marks are contested, he's never in space, he's always used at the contest, if he doesn't mark he's at least bringing the ball to ground.

He had a poor game Thursday, with 3 talls out he did need to work harder around the ground and he was beaten. But overall he's been hugely influential on our rise up the ladder.

Flat as a pancake on Thursday, not good enough. Couldn't get our hands on the ball the first half an hour or so then couldn't convert after that.

1.5, 1.6 then 4.4 the last 3 quarters, yuck. 13.31 in two weeks, yuck. Darling, Kennedy and Barrass all not being there at once is a big adjustment, but shouldn't be the reason for an 8 goal to nothing start. Midfield is still intact and Shuey is back in. Need to be a lot smarter going forward while our main targets are out. One passage in the 2nd or 3rd quarter we had about 10 inside 50s in a row and the ball stayed in our forward half, yet we just kept kicking it long and high over and over. Need to be patient and play boring footy. Hit up 20m leads and look for set shots from 40-50m out.

I'd be happy to discuss further if you have an intelligent reply.

Naitanui is an impact player, he just gets from one contest to another. We generally play 3 tall forwards and 2 ruckmen, our fwds swap from deep attack to pushing up the wings and linking up. With Lycett being a part of that as well. Naitanui is only playing 50-60% TOG, he's not a workhorse ruckmen like others who runs all day and makes space for himself he's a contested beast who is used in bursts (80% of his possessions are contested).

Again, playing to strengths and using Naitanui at the contest.
70% of Naitanui's marks are contested, he's never in space, he's always used at the contest, if he doesn't mark he's at least bringing the ball to ground.

He had a poor game Thursday, with 3 talls out he did need to work harder around the ground and he was beaten. But overall he's been hugely influential on our rise up the ladder.

Runs all day but plays 50% TOG..mmmm

He’s no Dean Cox type influence I’ll give you the tip.

Bellchambers moves like a 1900s steamship and killed him the other night.

So yeah...

I said he DOESN'T run hard all day.

Right yes..you’re correct.

But...he should be a workhorse.

Why isn’t he a workhorse?

No reason he can’t be a workhorse.

If all he’s gunna do is tap well, tackle a lot and take 1 mark a game...well...that’s not much for a million a year if you ask me.

Yep, Pure tap ruckmen are absolutely useless in the modern game. Shaun Hampson is a great tap ruck, better than Nank, didn’t help in 2016.

Yep...Sandilands is another example.

Wins a billion taps a season but drops more marks than he clunks..hence lack of premiership cups by Freo.

Being a workhorse is just not his strength.
Especially coming off a knee reco and other serious injuries he isn't made for long distance running.

I'm not too sure why exactly he needs to be something he's not, and never has been.

We play two rucks, so again, he doesn't need to run all day as he swaps with Lycett.

It would be an issue is he was a sole ruck though, luckily we play to our strengths, not a pre-conceived notion of what a ruck is.

Especially coming off a knee reco and other serious injuries he isn't made for long distance running.

I'm not too sure why exactly he needs to be something he's not, and never has been.

We play two rucks, so again, he doesn't need to run all day as he swaps with Lycett.

It would be an issue is he was a sole ruck though, luckily we play to our strengths, not a pre-conceived notion of what a ruck is.

What ever makes you WC fans sleep well at night is ok with me.

Hes taken a pedestrian midfield to one grand final.

On his return hes taken us to top 4 so far this year.

When he was out we fell away scraping into the 8 last year and out first game the year before.

But yeah - no impact at all

If it can’t be his strength, it sure can’t be his weakness either. Teams tend not to win premierships without workmanlike ruckman.

Think back to recent GFs
2017 - Nankervis v Jacobs
2016 - Roughead vs Naismith
2015 - McEvoy vs Naitanui
2014 - Hale vs Pyke
2013 - Bailey vs Sandilands
2012 - Mumford vs Hale
2011 - Ottens v Jolly

Little in the way of tap specialists, and whenever those have appeared, they’ve usually been on the losing side.
It’s not a hard rule, nor is it an issue Naitanui is unable to overcome, but he needs to overcome it.

Hes taken a pedestrian midfield to one grand final.

On his return hes taken us to top 4 so far this year.

When he was out we fell away scraping into the 8 last year and out first game the year before.

But yeah - no impact at all

Of course he makes an impact. I’d have him in an Essendon jumper without hesitation.

Just needs to take more marks around the ground and be consistent with it every week....you know...to justify the obscene amount of money he’s paid.

The kids love him at the footy clinics so that’s good too.

Of course he makes an impact. I’d have him in an Essendon jumper without hesitation.

Just needs to take more marks around the ground and be consistent with it every week....you know...to justify the obscene amount of money he’s paid.

The kids love him at the footy clinics so that’s good too.
Wxactly how much do you think he gets paid

How didn't that help us exactly?

We are 2 games in the top 4 and level 1st on points. If we hadn't beaten Richmond then we would be in danger of slipping out of the 4 next week and wouldn't have gotten that 4% onto our percentage that a 7 goal win provides which could be important come September.

Sounds like it really helped to me.

You got Swans next week too. Don't count your chickens yet, mate.
Slow on the uptake are we? since you lot beat the premiers your 2 from 4.

Appears you really have got ahead of yourselves!!

Got to be one of the funniest posts I've seen recently; West Coast smashed you, no umpires required. And still trying to make everything about Richmond, even when no one is talking about you.
Mate ...... you smash everyone at home with an armchair ride from the umps, we all know that ....... it’s not about Richmond, more that everyone tries so hard to knock them off they take their eye off the ball.

I’m thinking 2 from 4 since proves my point. Yes, you are a funny poster, a little slow too!!

Mate ...... you smash everyone at home with an armchair ride from the umps, we all know that ....... it’s not about Richmond, more that everyone tries so hard to knock them off they take their eye off the ball.

I’m thinking 2 from 4 since proves my point. Yes, you are a funny poster, a little slow too!!
We didn’t need to try hard to knock Richmond off, you guys are just s**t compared to us.