And with Emily Bennett drafted, that's all she wrote from us. So we got:

Charlie Thomas (Utility)
Courtney Rowley (Midfielder)
Beth Schilling (Key Defender/Ruck)
Sarah Lakay (Ruck)
Emily Bennett (Defender)

Thought overall? I'm pretty satisfied myself.

Charlie Thomas (Utility)
Sarah Lakay (Ruck)
Emily Bennett (Defender)

Order a bit different to what I imagined but the names are in the main what I expected.

Overall pretty happy with the haul.

Rowley was the icing on the cake for me, outstanding player who will play quality football day one.

Charlie Thomas (Utility)
Sarah Lakay (Ruck)
Emily Bennett (Defender)

Anyone who knows me knows how much I wanted Amy in the blue and gold

Take that emotion out and I am extremely happy with this draft haul

We got some much needed height and marking power in the draft.

Lakay will be a good foil for Paris and will be a handy FF to straighten the forward line up.

I may be in the minority here but I like the Schilling pick KPD that can play both lockdown and attack, strong overhead and pinch hit in the ruck, I like the versatility that she brings.

Time will tell on the Thomas call but from the little I have seen of her she is an elite user of the ball..... something we desperately need.

And Rowley, probably said enough already but she is a ripper.
She Lewis and Bowen will be the nucleus of a very quick attacking midfield for years to come.

Bennett is a hard worker and for where we picked her up she adds value.

Was thinking prior to the draft that of the trio of Franklin, Rowley and Thomas, that the one we wouldn't get would be Franklin.

Did think it would be Rowley first though.

However, us taking Thomas first means we were more worried that Freo would get her, than we were worried about Freo getting Rowley or Franklin.

Given how little she has played recently, that means we must have big raps on her.

On moto g(6) plus using BigFooty.com mobile app

Charlie Thomas (Utility)
Sarah Lakay (Ruck)
Emily Bennett (Defender)

As much as I love Amy, and think she's the superior athlete, she's still a bit of a risk because she's not as developed yet. So it's understandable they went with Charlie, who's just as rare a talent as Amy, but more in the skills department -- not many talls who use the ball like her. We're also developing a high possession game-style, and one knock on Amy is that she can have games with few possessions (but sometimes still get two goals). Charlie can get a lot of the ball, and do really nice things with it, which is probably what we need right now.

Rowley's addition means that in a year or two, we might have the best midfield in the comp. Plus with both her and Thomas, you just get this critical mass of good ball users in teams where the average standard of disposal lifts. Bad skills can be infectious, but good skills can be too. These two build a foundation of really good skills that should help lift everyone.

Like I said with Lakay and Schilling, I'm not sure on their mobility, but when they're under an incoming ball they're very hard to beat. Getting there first will be the issue. We'll see. If she works out, Lakay will free Laurie to play elsewhere for a bit.

I like Bennett, and apparently she's been injured a lot, so we haven't seen her best. She's strong and runs hard out of defence, which we need. The backline is still very patchy, but we're throwing lots of darts at the board and hoping a few of them stick.

I reckon they'll definitely use Charlie up forward this season, since our midfield's getting good enough that they can actually get her the ball, and we're recruiting other defenders. But we might lose the South Australians next year with Port entering, which is another advantage of recruiting Charlie -- if we get Ella Roberts up forward next year, I reckon Charlie would be a lot more comfortable filling a hole in the backline than Amy would be. But best of all would be if the South Australians stay, and we can have Charlie and Ella up forward.

Anyone who knows me knows how much I wanted Amy in the blue and gold

Take that emotion out and I am extremely happy with this draft haul
It’s OK Biggie, you seem like a great bloke so we’ll send you a Freo AFLW membership.

Both clubs seemed to do well and get good balance. You won’t go far wrong with Thomas and Franklin but still surprising that we managed to get Franklin.

It’s OK Biggie, you seem like a great bloke so we’ll send you a Freo AFLW membership.
If my two are lucky enough to be drafted and it’s for the purples then count me in

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

View attachment 1189448

Bianca Webb last year. Amy Franklin this year. Both young talents i know from West Perth. Both off to Cockburn in consecutive seasons.

Emily Bennett bucks the ******* trend thankfully.

Not like you Dark Sharks to be so ultra pessimistic.

Basically you are writing Charlie Thomas off with out even seeing her play a game.

Sort of puts a knew slant on the biblical phrase ā€œ Doubting Thomas ā€œ.

I aint writing nobody off.

Disappointed a young talented player i know and have watched for a few years who i think our team desperately is craving, has been picked up by the opposition up the road rather than us. Again.

The kicker being that i don't even think Cockburn needs a player like Franklin either. That's it. I'm sure Thomas is also talented.

I aint writing nobody off.

Disappointed a young talented player i know and have watched for a few years who i think our team desperately is craving, has been picked up by the opposition up the road rather than us. Again.

The kicker being that i don't even think Cockburn needs a player like Franklin either. That's it. I'm sure Thomas is also talented.

I agree with you that the Cockburners don’t actually need Franklin, with Haughton and Roxy they have their two key forwards .

The upside of them taking Amy was leaving Rowley on the board for us.
I have watched a bit of her and she is plug in day one and IMO one of the best mids to come out of WA for some years.

One thing that is blatantly obvious with the players that we have drafted, is that the powers to be, have focused on players with good to elite footskills ...... and amen to that.

How many times in the first two seasons have we seen the ball turned over with dodgy kicking.

All of Thomas, Rowley, Shilling and Bennett have very good footskills.

Since the end of last season we have added:

Gooch who will improve our kick ins 100%.

A CHB that’s tall and play lockdown ( the last two seasons if we played a team with a dominant tall forward we got absolutely slaughtered ).

A dynamic balanced midfielder with excellent pace and accurate delivery.

Someone with footy savy and exceptional skills that can play CHF.

A genuine back up ruck, who is a quality overhead contested mark that also plays FF , to straighten us up.

So we have basically added a new spine :

FB
CHB
CHF
FF

With Thomas the bonus is that she can also play as a midfielder, exciting options lay ahead imagining her and Ella Roberts in the same forward line.

Our midfield options going into 21/22 are starting to look really competitive with:

Hooker
Swanson
Gibson (She can be the niggle stopper)
Bowen
Lewis
Rowley
McCarthy

With the girls we drafted yesterday it also allows up to use the Kelly sisters in tactical support roles, as both are a difficult match up for their opponents, given their pace and flair.

So I am very chipper and upbeat about what we added to our list yesterday.

I agree with you that the Cockburners don’t actually need Franklin, with Haughton and Roxy they have their two key forwards .

The upside of them taking Amy was leaving Rowley on the board for us.
I have watched a bit of her and she is plug in day one and IMO one of the best mids to come out of WA for some years.

One thing that is blatantly obvious with the players that we have drafted, is that the powers to be, have focused on players with good to elite footskills ...... and amen to that.

How many times in the first two seasons have we seen the ball turned over with dodgy kicking.

All of Thomas, Rowley, Shilling and Bennett have very good footskills.

Since the end of last season we have added:

Gooch who will improve our kick ins 100%.

A CHB that’s tall and play lockdown ( the last two seasons if we played a team with a dominant tall forward we got absolutely slaughtered ).

A dynamic balanced midfielder with excellent pace and accurate delivery.

Someone with footy savy and exceptional skills that can play CHF.

A genuine back up ruck, who is a quality overhead contested mark that also plays FF , to straighten us up.

So we have basically added a new spine :

FB
CHB
CHF
FF

With Thomas the bonus is that she can also play as a midfielder, exciting options lay ahead imagining her and Ella Roberts in the same forward line.

Our midfield options going into 21/22 are starting to look really competitive with:

Hooker
Swanson
Gibson (She can be the niggle stopper)
Bowen
Lewis
Rowley

With the girls we drafted yesterday it also allows up to use the Kelly sisters in tactical support roles, as both are a difficult match up for their opponents, given their pace and flair.

So I am very chipper and upbeat about what we added to our list yesterday.
Best post in this here thread hands down

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.