Western confusion

Aug 5, 2004
Niddrie
Airport West & Man Utd
Your great generic name of Western will now be confused with the super 14 rugby team the Western Force. If you then call yourself the bulldogs, people will think of a rugby league team in Sydney. At least when you were called Footscray people automatically thought of the Footscray Football Club.

Swifty_446 said:
I'm sure it wont. Someone has way too much time on their hands.....

When you leave your comfort zone swifty (did your mrs call you that) and go on holidays, people ask you who you follow in the footy. I say Geelong and they know who I am talking about. You on the other hand will have to say Western Bulldogs and the clarify your comment with "that team that plays afl and used to be called Footscray. Not the rugby team in Perth or the rugby league team in Sydney.

Jack-Packenham said:
When you leave your comfort zone swifty (did your mrs call you that) and go on holidays, people ask you who you follow in the footy. I say Geelong and they know who I am talking about. You on the other hand will have to say Western Bulldogs and the clarify your comment with "that team that plays afl and used to be called Footscray. Not the rugby team in Perth or the rugby league team in Sydney.

Or when they ask you which team you follow, you could also say that team that played in all the losing grand finals in the 80's & 90's.
They will still know who you follow...........

desipura said:
Or when they ask you which team you follow, you could also say that team that played in all the losing grand finals in the 80's & 90's.
They will still know who you follow...........

And when you say Footscray you can say the team that lost 3 preliminary finals in the 90's and one of those was against the mighty cats.

Love the name Western Bulldogs!
Just sounds so much better than Footscray. IMHO
We also have one of the best logos, with that bulldog, fantastic design, one of the better decisions the club has made.
Anyone who is anyone knows who we are, as for rest.........well

Where are all those people who carried on in 1989 about being called the Fitzroy Bulldogs. There is no difference, you have changed your name, jumper, ground and song.

Jack-Packenham said:
Where are all those people who carried on in 1989 about being called the Fitzroy Bulldogs. There is no difference, you have changed your name, jumper, ground and song.

I thought school holidays were over, we must have a wagger.

It is all superficial, it hasn't effected us, but obviously has effected you. We still trade under FFC.

Name changing? You mean something like changing your name by depol to Whiskas just for a buck? I'd say you guys are sellouts....we wouldn't soil the name of a club champion for a few $$$.

Try and find another way to take out your frustration that your team isn't any good this year instead of wasting space on our board.

Jack-Packenham said:
Your great generic name of Western will now be confused with the super 14 rugby team the Western Force. If you then call yourself the bulldogs, people will think of a rugby league team in Sydney. At least when you were called Footscray people automatically thought of the Footscray Football Club.
On that basis you should change your name back to its original ie.- "LAME BRAIN!" and then nobody will get confused. -

Jack-Packenham said:

We say Western Bulldogs or the Bulldogs anyway.

I don't think I've ever heard anybody say 'I go for Western' just like the force won't.

It would be a bit confusing, but each to thier own as long supporters of the club are happy have personally got no qualms with it.

On another note, no Werribee thread this week due to the seniors having a bye although will put up a report of listed players who have a run in the reserves this week.

Still get down to Chirnside Park on Saturday, watch the reserves (11.15 AM) and then the TAC Cup game Geelong Falcons v Calder Cannons (2.00 PM).

John Gent said:
Hey Jack - F Off!

Intelligent response. How about answering the question. The football world put money into Footscray so you guys could keep your song, jumper, ground and most importantly your name. Now 16 years on and its all gone and you have not even said one word. Strange.

Or is it that when you know you are wrong you just start insulting people. It must be lonely in the John Gent stand now?

Q.Whats the difference between Nick Columb and David Smorgon?

Jack-Packenham said:
Intelligent response. How about answering the question. The football world put money into Footscray so you guys could keep your song, jumper, ground and most importantly your name. Now 16 years on and its all gone and you have not even said one word. Strange.
Tell me how much money you put in idiot and I will personally refund it twofold as long as you never appear on this site again.

And stay away from eating used kitter litter

Jack-Packenham said:

The name change was supposed to take advantage of the growth in the Victorian Greater Western Suburbs itself, and to try to capture a percentage of that market.

In a previous job the company I was with was tentatively exploring marketing opportunities with the Western Bulldogs. I had the pleasure of meeting the Bulldogs marketing person. They mentioned in our discussions about the population growth in the Western Region.

I think it was a sound business decision at the time to consider changing the name as part of a wider Marketing Strategy to try and draw increased patronage from the greater western region rather than from a diminishing supporter base in Footscray and Surrounding suburbs.

The parlous financial state, and dwindling membership combined with the fact that the Vietnamese community became a sizeable population in the Footscray area and they had (is it still correct??? I live in Brissy now) not become as a large group, members of the club, all were valid pointers fm which to base the decision to change the name. We'd already seen what happened to our Merger "partner" Fitzroy.

I have noticed up here in Brisbane on the odd occasion where someone- (usually Non AFL supporter's anyway) will ask whether my team is from Western Australia. It takes little time to correct, and thus further introduce my club personally to someone else!!

I don't think it is a problem amongst people who support the code.

I sure hope not all Geelong supporter's have trouble as you seemingly do distinguishing between the Canterbury Bulldogs, Footscray Bulldogs, Western Bulldogs, Western Force, Western Warriors, New Zealand Warriors. The fact that they are from different sports, have noticably different jumpers, players, home grounds, internet forums, team songs, and even independently identifiable logos', does this not assist you???

If anything the similarity's may actually help in name recognition for all of the above similarly named teams.

Case in point sometimes I've heard TV sports news reports up hear, when I'm not really paying attention. I'll hear the word Bulldog and turn around to watch, and some times it is the Canterbury Bulldogs. If I had never heard of the Canterbury Bulldogs prior to that, I certainly would after it.
I may not have looked up if I'd heard say the commentator says Canterbury instead.

You can afford to be smug in Geelong as a one team town. We are in competition with 8 other Melbourne Clubs for members, another great reason for the name change strategy being sound at the time.
All 3 teams introduced into the competition in 1925 have historically found it hard to maintain or reach the higher memberships of the original clubs. There was no competitive balance fund around then to get them up and running, unlike for our newer interstate teams. So do not moan about the league giving money to us, or other clubs.
Demographic change in Melbourne itself has presented huge challenges for many Melbourne clubs also (Fitzroy, Hawthorn, Kangaroos spring to mind).

How can you say there is no difference b/w Fitzroy Bulldogs and Western Bulldogs, or that the name change equated to the same result. That is a very very tenuous argument.

For starters as a supporter I do not make any distinction between pre Western Bulldog and Footscray era's, as I most definitely would've had the Footscray Fitzroy merger had've proceeded. The statistitions also would've with regards to games played for the clubs eg. Pauls Roos played x games for Fitzroy and y games for Footscray, & z games for Fitzroy Bulldogs.
There is no separation of games played by Brad Johnson or Chris Grant pre-post Footscray/Western Bulldogs transition.
Finally the whole history of the place and the makeup of Executive boards would've become predominantly Fitzroy.
It was only a merger in name, and the Western Bulldog entity of today has lost none of it's history.

The discussion of our proud history including our name change and "merger era's" is a valid one, and isn't on it's own deserving of drawing harsh comment.
However you have framed it in a pathetic and inciteful manner, and your subsequent replies to rightly angered Western Bulldogs responses only confirm this intent.

Grow up and either contribute in a positive manner to Bulldog debate or ******** off to the Geelong thread.

what an irrelevant thread started by irrelevant people. Do us a favour Local or OS and shut this S..t down.

This fool barracks for a team that plays home games in Melbourne, its called paying for a modern footy club you drongo. Man U play games in Asia.

Ted's Robot said:
Love the name Western Bulldogs!
Just sounds so much better than Footscray. IMHO
We also have one of the best logos, with that bulldog, fantastic design, one of the better decisions the club has made.
Anyone who is anyone knows who we are, as for rest.........well

Are you serious?

Jack-Packenham said:

Thanks for your thoughts Jack. Now that the cats are going so well I suppose you think you can solve the problems of the world. Please go ahead, there are more deserving causes that need your attention.

Jack-Packenham said:

Which people Jack?

People from Melbourne?
People from Sydney?
People from Adelaide?
People from Brisbane?
People from Darwin?
People from Tassie?
People from Geelong? ;)
People from the States?
People from London?

Which people Jack? You must know alot of People Jack!
Also who is going to confuse our team with others Jack?

What's important to most if not all Western Bulldogs (Football Club - just in case you got confused in which team i am talking about Jack) -
Is the Club, the Passion, the History, the Colours, The Home, the song, The Bulldog Logo, the Memories, the up's and downs over the years, the Injuries, the Champions, the New recruits & so on.

So Jack, basically what i am saying son, is i don't think any of us gives a flying rats of what other People think, this is our club and not theirs.

On your way!

Western confusion