Western confusion

the dog catcher said:
This fool barracks for a team that plays home games in Melbourne, its called paying for a modern footy club you drongo. Man U play games in Asia.

Name the last time Man Utd played a League game in Asia?

Can somebody just answer the question. Why were you guys crying in 1989 when you were about to lose your name, jumper, song and ground? Now its all gone and nobody has said anything. Answer the question and I will return to a site where people are happy to have a debate without getting all aggressive.

Yankee Hotel Foxtrot said:
Grow up and either contribute in a positive manner to Bulldog debate or ******** off to the Geelong thread.

OK i will refrain from debating the history of your club and I will instead join in the positive threads surrounding Terry Wallace, Nathan Brown, Daniel Bandy and the jealousy of the Richmond Football Club. I suppose in a couple of years when I GROW UP i will be able to contribute to this otherwise positive site.

Jack-Packenham said:
OK i will refrain from debating the history of your club and I will instead join in the positive threads surrounding Terry Wallace, Nathan Brown, Daniel Bandy and the jealousy of the Richmond Football Club. I suppose in a couple of years when I GROW UP i will be able to contribute to this otherwise positive site.
Don't hold your breath

Jack-Packenham said:
Name the last time Man Utd played a League game in Asia?
Not league games
The Toyota Cup final is played in Tokyo usually in December for winners of the champions league and Sth American equivilent. They won the champions league about 5 years back.

They also go on numerous tours of Asia in the off season. I remember one about 2 years back.
Man Utd is very much a world club and joke in Manchester is that most locals follow City not Utd.

Hey Jack

Does your theme song still go, "Down at Kardinia Park" even though its called Skilled Stadium or is it Baytec Stadium or is it Shell Stadium or whatever is the latest?

Now who is confused?

John Gent said:
Hey Jack

Does your theme song still go, "Down at Kardinia Park" even though its called Skilled Stadium or is it Baytec Stadium or is it Shell Stadium or whatever is the latest?

Now who is confused?

Skilled Stadium is only one part of a sporting area called Kardinia Park. St Mary's football ground is also part of Kardinia Park, so are the netball courts.
So when we sing the song "Down at Kardinia Park" they are refering to our home ground. What ever happened to the line "remember 89". It sounds like you guys have forgotten.

hey Jack how come you didnt answer the rest of Yankee's post?? Was it too intelligent and in depth for you?

Western is a term that is incorpating Footscray so when we say Western Bulldogs we are referring to Footscray. We all remember 89 and because we remembered it a decision was made to change the club name to try and get more corporate support (much like Yankee said but you ignored for some reason :rolleyes).

Jack-Packenham said:
Skilled Stadium is only one part of a sporting area called Kardinia Park. St Mary's football ground is also part of Kardinia Park, so are the netball courts.
So when we sing the song "Down at Kardinia Park" they are refering to our home ground. What ever happened to the line "remember 89". It sounds like you guys have forgotten.

The knee bones connected the moron and the moron's connected to a ******** hole and the ******** hole's connected to Geelong.

Jack-Packenham said:

You really think we are going to forget about '89 Jack? somehow i don't think that line needs to be in our club song for Bulldog fans to remember what was going on in '89, maybe Geelong fans but definately not Doggies supporters.

Also these so called People you refer to as being confused about our name surely would go down in a falling heap if someone was referring Kardinia Park to Skilled Stadium!

ps - what is in the water down there Jack? ;)

pps - Channel 10 were confusing the Bulldog logo to the Canterbury Bulldog logo last year when all those rape allegations were going on with the Rugby side, not the Western name but the Bulldog logo itself, so therefor should we change our logo aswell? If people are just plain stupid it's not our problem Jack!

ErnieSigley said:
Not league games
The Toyota Cup final is played in Tokyo usually in December for winners of the champions league and Sth American equivilent. They won the champions league about 5 years back.

They also go on numerous tours of Asia in the off season. I remember one about 2 years back.
Man Utd is very much a world club and joke in Manchester is that most locals follow City not Utd.
Thanks Ernie but the Geelong local rag doesnt report anything other than another Abblett catastrophy.

Jack-Packenham said:
Your great generic name of Western will now be confused with the super 14 rugby team the Western Force. If you then call yourself the bulldogs, people will think of a rugby league team in Sydney. At least when you were called Footscray people automatically thought of the Footscray Football Club.

Is that like when someone mentions Geelong FC, people think of handbags and Garry Sidebottom missing the bus? :D

BTW the NRL team are the Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs.

As for confusing names, what about the Kangaroos, which is shared by the team formerly known as North Melbourne and the Australian Rugby League team. Or the West Coast Eagles.....could be the west coast of Victoria!

morto said:
No reason mate, every one deserves an opinion

Thats right.

Although the bulldogs could call themselves anything really and i would love it, I just love everything about the Western Bulldogs, just wish they would win more often. :)

Now Jack - nearly all Melbourne based teams have changed their ground in the last 15 years.

The change to our jumper is almost unrecognisable - my god we put a BULLDOG empblem on the front.

Now Jack - what ever happened to that dark and light blue hooped jumper you wore a few years ago ? We've never changed our fundamental colours.

Back to Kardinia, Skilled, Shell or whatever this week to STAND on that hard bloody concrete again.

Jack-Packenham said:
Your great generic name of Western will now be confused with the super 14 rugby team the Western Force. If you then call yourself the bulldogs, people will think of a rugby league team in Sydney. At least when you were called Footscray people automatically thought of the Footscray Football Club.
I've only just read this thread, and I agree with JP's original assertion.

In Brisbane whenever the "Bulldogs" are mentioned in conversation at work, in the papers, radio, TV etc it is ALWAYS the rugby league team Canterbury that is being referred to

When talking about us on TV or radio the announcer always prefaces his comments with "AFL Team the Western" Bulldogs. This never happens with the rugby team.

As soon as I heard the name "Western Force" I thought - here we go again.

I'd love to see the Bulldogs (us) increase their membership and marketing in states outside Victoria, but the job has just become more difficult.

(910) said:
I've only just read this thread, and I agree with JP's original assertion.

In Brisbane whenever the "Bulldogs" are mentioned in conversation at work, in the papers, radio, TV etc it is ALWAYS the rugby league team Canterbury that is being referred to

When talking about us on TV or radio the announcer always prefaces his comments with "AFL Team the Western" Bulldogs. This never happens with the rugby team.

As soon as I heard the name "Western Force" I thought - here we go again.

I'd love to see the Bulldogs (us) increase their membership and marketing in states outside Victoria, but the job has just become more difficult.

In Brisbane they also say Brisbane for the Broncos and then change to "AFL Team Brisbane Lions". Do we really care what ppl in Brisbane have to do, its a rugby state and always will be.

Jack-Packenham said:
Can somebody just answer the question. Why were you guys crying in 1989 when you were about to lose your name, jumper, song and ground? Now its all gone and nobody has said anything. Answer the question and I will return to a site where people are happy to have a debate without getting all aggressive.
Let me try and answer your question, Jack.

In 1989, we "cried" because we were about to lose our football club, of which the things you query, name, jumper, song and ground are symbols. "We" did a bit more than cry, though and we retained the club. Some of those symbols change over time but we still have the entity. Changes to those symbols are not universally supported but that's to be expected in an entity where the members vote. No vote is ever 100 %, not every change is supported universally.

I hope that is a sufficient answer. It's one of a number which seem to me to have been put in a calm and reasonable way. The way you phrase your question is provocative. Put the way you chose to put it, you shouldn't really be surprised if you get responses that are composed by annoyed posters. The cynic in me suggests that you deliberately put it that way to see if you could get a rise. Is that what you mean by aggressive ?

You expressed your return to "a site where people are happy to have a debate without getting all aggressive" as conditional upon receipt of an answer to your question here. You have had a number, now so you can return to that other board having complied with the condition you placed upon yourself. Feel free to return here but take a bit of your own advice and do so "without getting all aggressive".

Jack-Packenham said:

Please let the guy be, its not his fault that his club has to prostitute off the name of their home ground to make back the money all those bumkins down south lost when investing in the Pyramid Building Society. If it wasn't for Geelong the CES and the manufacturers of ugg boots and flannelett shirts would be out of a job. :cool:

Borgsta said:
In Brisbane they also say Brisbane for the Broncos and then change to "AFL Team Brisbane Lions". Do we really care what ppl in Brisbane have to do, its a rugby state and always will be.
It doesn't matter whether or not you care Borgsta, but the club should. There are plenty of Footscray supporters in other states

(910) said:
..... There are plenty of Footscray supporters in other states
The adoption of the name "Western" was justified on the basis that it would symbolise the expansion of the club as representing the Footscray and surrounding suburbs to the whole of the western region of Melbourne. Ironically, I suspect that that device has had the opposite effect to that intended, it has tied the acceptability to that region, limiting expansion outside that region.

Western confusion