Opinion Western Derby's @ New Stadium

Hey guys, I've just put up this idea on the Adelaide and Port boards, but felt it could work for you guys as well.

I was thinking, split the Western Derby's 50/50. Have 1 end of the ground being completely Fremantle supporters, whilst the other end of the ground is completely Eagle supporters.

This in effect will make it 10 home, 10 away, 2 neutral.

The idea stems from a college football game in America between Oklahoma and Texas. each year 1 team plays 4h and 5a games in conference, while the other is 5h and 4a, but in reality it's 4h 4a 1n.

What they have is the crowd split in half at the midway point of the field. I just thought it could work in the AFL in regards to the Western Derby and Showdowns (even ANZAC day but the MCC and AFL Members ruin that happening)

It could look something like this...

1028896%5Crr_03.jpg

Though, those colours are a little similar, so here's a close up of the line

red-river-rivalry.jpg

Do you think it could work for Western Derby's?
Do you like it? if not, why?

Aussies may punch on, bogans just don't get it.
This makes no sense. We currently go to the footy every week with opposition fans and zero seggregation.

I doubt a lot of our fans could get their heads around it.
Geez imagine how much the Dockers fans will struggle then.
I think with the bigger stadium it will allow for a larger amount of opposition fans anyway. The idea has merit though as the atmosphere is much better with a decent opposition crowd. Our crowds are usually pretty quiet so a decent amount of opposition fans could stir them up.

At Subiaco Oval as it currently stands, it could work, though you'd need some kind of ballot for each club's members.

When (or if) we get our shiny new 60,000 seater at Burswood, Fremantle struggle to fill their allocation. It'll actually be a rude shock to them, to discover how many 'Freagles' are on their current membership list.

I think with the bigger stadium it will allow for a larger amount of opposition fans anyway. The idea has merit though as the atmosphere is much better with a decent opposition crowd. Our crowds are usually pretty quiet so a decent amount of opposition fans could stir them up.

That facts been lost to most people ATM.

Not a fan of segregated crowds. Never will be.

Dont think itd be good regular season - especially at Subi. Noone but members would ever get tickets (and at Subi not even enough for both teams members)... so other fans including news juniors etc would ever get to see a Derby.

But at the new stadium for a final if it ever happens between Freo an Eagles it would be cool coz they split the ticket availability anyways - so just divy the ground up like that and see which half roars loudest :thumbsu:

Had a strange conversation with a Melbourne boy today. He's only been over working with us for a few months and has gone to a couple of WC matches. He grew up at places like the MCG and Etihad but out of nowhere today he mentioned that "there's nothing like the noise of a WC game".

He mentioned that it's best when we build up from a rebound off half back or something and the crowd builds and sounds monstrous.

I thought we were quiet :confused:

Dont think itd be good regular season - especially at Subi. Noone but members would ever get tickets (and at Subi not even enough for both teams members)... so other fans including news juniors etc would ever get to see a Derby.

Your could split it easily. Every member of every side keeps their normal seats. Game 1 left half is eagles members - right half is freo. Game 2 you just reverse it. So members of each side are only allowed into 1 of the derbys just like normal.

Freo wouldn't like it because every derby will end up 60-70% eagles and only 30-40% dockers. As it is now I would say eagles derbys are 90-10 and dockers derbys are 80-20.

Had a strange conversation with a Melbourne boy today. He's only been over working with us for a few months and has gone to a couple of WC matches. He grew up at places like the MCG and Etihad but out of nowhere today he mentioned that "there's nothing like the noise of a WC game".

He mentioned that it's best when we build up from a rebound off half back or something and the crowd builds and sounds monstrous.

I thought we were quiet :confused:

Coaches and players have been talking about it in the Melbourne media a lot over the last few weeks, particularly with the umpiring debate. The consensus seems to be - when we are "up and about" it's the noisiest and most hostile place to be....

Yeah it's hard for me to compare because I've only ever seen footy games at the WACA and Subi and lots of empty WAFL games, so even if we are really bloody loud I have nothing to compare it to.

Went to the Bombers game at Etihad this year and thought it was fairly quiet considering it was packed, they were smashing it, the roof was closed and they seem to have the cheer squad mic'd up and blasted through speakers all over the ground. WC supporters certainly stood out as pretty feral that night. We speak West Australian "yah flamin goose bloody victorians and other obscenities MASTO YA BLUDGER" etc. etc.

A big amped up Freo crowd is nasty.

Opinion Western Derby's @ New Stadium