Western Region FL - Divy 1 2018

heard Altona U/19 player had his jaw broken by a king hit from an Hoppers Crossing player not a good look

The Hoppers u19 player received a 2 year suspension, What does this mean ? does this mean its Life ?
Can someone in the know elaborate.

Hey Time, I don't quite get your point with Houli. Yes I totally agree he would get a game in any side in EDFL and WRFL but I'm sure he left Abers to retire and got talked into playing again at a decent level. I could be wrong..

Also I'm sure big Jacko was finished a few years back and had a bad injury, yet his also still playing at Deer Park. Having said that I don't doubt Jacko's ability for one minute. The guy was a gun in the EDFL. Rarely beaten..

I do however stand by my comments regarding how teams would go against each other.

Hey turbo!!
Mate I've seen Houli play first hand this year absolute star can play reads the ball very well and the kid can still run got some real dash and from what I'm told only 29-30. What he said maybe little over the top but I don't blame the kid. He was told over the phone by the coach his not playing. At least bring the kid in and say it face to face

Hey turbo!!
Mate I've seen Houli play first hand this year absolute star can play reads the ball very well and the kid can still run got some real dash and from what I'm told only 29-30. What he said maybe little over the top but I don't blame the kid. He was told over the phone by the coach his not playing. At least bring the kid in and say it face to face

You only have to watch Bullen play to know he is not over endowed with courage so why would this surprise ?

Hey turbo!!

Totally agree Jacko.. As I mentioned mate he did get whacked by a player after GF team selection back in 2013 so that might have played on his mind. And that player was a friend who played with him at Marby so telling Houli on a Thurs might not have ended well. But I do agree telling a player in person is the best way but Deer Park are not your normal club I guess.
It all comes down to they recruited to many players with to many promises. I know they recruited u/19s with the hope of playing seniors but that didn't happen either. However I do believe they still got paid to play 19s.

3 votes - A El HOULI - It was a Rant but loved every second of it. You are my no.1 Local Footballer mate!
I've heard from inside the club that he goes to training and plays. That's it. He hasn't attended any other function at the club nor spent any time socially with his teamates. This is in part why he was dropped. His reaction has in some aspects justified their decision to drop him.

He wouldn't be alone in not attending functions and socialising with mates. Talking about mates, heard a story about a DP player calling his mate by his number during a game. Mateship isn't encouraged by cheque book team building. Piss weak excuse to drop a very good performer, even in part and don't believe it for a second.

I did predict around 120pts (20goals). This league is becoming a joke of metro footy if 1 club wins it every years by huge margins. It's turning players away no doubt. Clubs should do a Parkside and ask to go down a division so at least they stand a chance. The league has no way of fixing this problem..

A couple of things.
Rumour has it that the powers at DP have already started filling gaps in their U19's by chasing the best U17 talent. Won't let up. It's going to get ugly. Even then, they won by 3 goals today but had Werribee been a touch smarter with their ball use, it could have been an embarrassing loss. We'll see how many of the top age players will want to play reserves footy at DP next year.
As for the seniors, it has become the IDGAF cup.

A couple of things.
Rumour has it that the powers at DP have already started filling gaps in their U19's by chasing the best U17 talent. Won't let up. It's going to get ugly. Even then, they won by 3 goals today but had Werribee been a touch smarter with their ball use, it could have been an embarrassing loss. We'll see how many of the top age players will want to play reserves footy at DP next year.
As for the seniors, it has become the IDGAF cup.

The WRFL executive are starting to get concerned about the gap between DP and the rest but have no idea what to do. They have approached DP to inquire about how long they believe that they can sustain this for. As above they have confirmed that they have a payment plan in place for U17 next season and then U15 players in 2018. This is part of the 35 year plan that they have in place and are aiming for 40 in a row.

DP have however offered up a solution that the league is likely to take up.

From 2017 onward the teams in the preliminary final will play off for the "Goldy Cup". They will be presented medals after the game like a normal GF with the BOG receiving the "Goldy medal". They will also receive a flag that says "second to Deer Park". The only condition is that they turn up the following week and take their 150 point hiding from DP.

There is only one way, clubs forfeit when playing Deer Park ar Deer Park;

- Players don't get paid
- Sponsors don't get value
- no canteen / bar revenue

Solved

The culture must be terrible if the worst bloke in local footy is head coach.
Plenty of recent past players have spilled their guts on what an ordinary place it is.

As for the spending, it reminds me of that bloke who's building the $10million mansion in Manor Lakes. A massive waste and everyone thinks you're a flog.
I can't comment on how good or bad the place is but the diehards would be loving it.
The 19's coach channeled Vossy with a "yo beeeyoteeeeee" to the crowd and Roos with a "and here it is!" at the end of his speech. Happy man and by the sounds of things, will be for another couple of years.

The WRFL can lower the points next year to around 44-45 and bring in the salary cap they are working on.

If the U19's are being lured by $$$ then that competition should also have a points system in place.

DP aren't cheating so I don't think that will be a good course of action. How many in the crowd at the senior game today?
Local footy is dead thanks to the $$$$$$
Deer parks premierships mean nothing and in ten years will mean nothing to those that played it's the same in other leagues
The only way this can be stopped is to make player payments illegal and if clubs are found guilty the player and president get a life ban
Going to watch AFL next season if I'm watching blokes getting paid may as well watch those that earn it

It's totally out of hand ......

Local footy is dead thanks to the $$$$$$
Deer parks premierships mean nothing and in ten years will mean nothing to those that played it's the same in other leagues
The only way this can be stopped is to make player payments illegal and if clubs are found guilty the player and president get a life ban
Going to watch AFL next season if I'm watching blokes getting paid may as well watch those that earn it

It's totally out of hand ......
I don't think that the WRFL is interested in becoming an amatuer competition. Even in the amos, there is talk about a couple of sides slinging a few bucks to their champs in shifty ways.
If you're expecting the WRFL to act, forget it. They're happy to sit in their hands or throw them up and say "what do you want us to do about it?" As long as DP and anyone else who wins the 'lottery' have the cash to bring in ex AFL players, the WFRL will siphon whatever they can out of the publicity.
Remember, DP have just cashed in on a good partnership, well done to them and the rest of the comp has to deal with it.
How many in the crowd?

There is only one way, clubs forfeit when playing Deer Park ar Deer Park;

- Players don't get paid
- Sponsors don't get value
- no canteen / bar revenue

Solved
If a rival club was to do that next year to make a statement, it'd be very interesting to see whether the league would fine that club for doing so.