Universal Love What a win!

• Thread starter Thread starter Yidaki

Mate sitting at the game I can tell you most of us thought we would be on the train home at 1/2 time to prevent us shooting a bomber.

Was truly magnificent. It's was bloody exhausting! We are right next to the cheer squad, and I reckon about 90% of that area was still there for the third singing of the song as the boys made their way down the run.

Like the geeelong prelim of 2010, I'll never forget it.

A game for the ages.

When the cheats kicked their 6th goal early in the second it was a knockdown blow, like a fighter bloody and bowed with one knee on the canvas we had the choice to capitulate or fight.

SO good to see the never say die spirit re-ignited.

First Penders, then Beamer, then Sidey and Swanny lifted and took us past the pretenders to a famous victory!

Special mention to the two young rucks, both have some way to go but both had strong influences on the game at certain times, big bad Grundy taking some nice marks and kicking a beauty of a goal and young Witts starting to get a feel for AFL footy and contributing.

Frost and Keefe have been a revelation and young Langdon is defintely a keeper.

The amazing thing is the number of quality options still outside the team with the Pies poised to inject some real quality in the middle and back half of the season. The selection panel may have some hand wringing times before them if our injuries remain low now.

4 and 2 - who would have thunk it ofter the opening round? As it is we are set up well for the year now and (injuries permitting) make a serious run at a top 4 spot.

Bloody well done boys, side by side!

I never thought we wouldn't come back and win. I'm not quite sure why but I just knew we would turn it around.

Me too! Don't know why either. See my post in the game day thread:

Shocking quarter. 3 goals from crap free kicks hurts. We will bounce back.

:D

First time I've seen Brodie Grundy live as I hadn't had a chance to get to any games since middle of last year.

I think you have to watch him live to realise how special he actually is going to be. He's essentially a midfielder who takes ruck contests. He's quick over the first 10 yards, gut runs with the best of them and at ground level is very clean. He also tackles like a monster!

Just being able to watch him, off the ball, off what you would see on the tv screen, you realise how hard he works and how special a player he will be. Ran himself to exhaustion a couple of times which is great; especially with the 2 rucks playing.

Can see those 2 are forming a very special partnership, and after yesterday I will 100% agree with the people saying we need 2 rucks. I was steadfastly against it a month ago - now I couldn't be more for it. 2 incidents yesterday; 4th quarter where Witts went long and Grundy took the mark and goaled, then the 3rd when Witts spilt one down and grundy roved and snapped .. Just awesome!

Lachie's poor form of earlier in the year has completely evaporated! Our unfashionable back six comprises kids, no-names, and an old man who many think is a very average footballer (not me Maxy!), yet we are doing the job week-in, week-out. And then there is the possum if course, who is back to his devastating best.
Meh I was never too worried by Lachie having a couple of quiet practice matches. I was doubtful of Lachie when he first began to play senior footy and he quickly proved me wrong. Won a key marking contest in a game that I can't remember, and I thought yep we have a gun here. He has consistently impressed me since. Big fan!

2 incidents yesterday; 4th quarter where Witts went long and Grundy took the mark and goaled, then the 3rd when Witts spilt one down and grundy roved and snapped .. Just awesome!
Except that Grundy should never be roving to Witts, and the snap was smothered off the boot. But I do get what you're saying. ;)

Becoming a huge fan if frost! What he lacks in kicking skills he makes up in toughness and great physical pressure!

Also Keefe is playing great footy! Our backline has gone from our weakness at the start of the year to a very reliable back 6!

Just finished watching the game again. What a turn around in effort and belief from not only the first quarter but from what we have seen the past 2 seasons.

Bucks should be applauded for the sweeping changes he has made. I was as upset as anyone when Heath went but I honestly believe the change in this team does go back to the culture. They fought on Friday, harder than they had in years and they believed in what they were sent out there to do. He has the players and we are better for having the kids he has bought in.

Frost was massive, Langdon stood up and Thomas was brilliant in the contest. The future is brighter than I thought it would be and for that I'm ecstatic.

Just finished watching the game again. What a turn around in effort and belief from not only the first quarter but from what we have seen the past 2 seasons.

Bucks should be applauded for the sweeping changes he has made. I was as upset as anyone when Heath went but I honestly believe the change in this team does go back to the culture. They fought on Friday, harder than they had in years and they believed in what they were sent out there to do. He has the players and we are better for having the kids he has bought in.

Frost was massive, Langdon stood up and Thomas was brilliant in the contest. The future is brighter than I thought it would be and for that I'm ecstatic.
There seems to be less of 'the favored few' and more of 'side by side' since Mick left, this will always benefit team unity and purpose.

Mick always had 'his boys' and that was always going to be an issues for Bucks to build that kind of bond with guys he had played with. Shaw and Daisy seemed unwilling to buy in and therefore had to go. Bucks showed who was boss, it was his team and nobody was bigger than the team.

Had two guys sit behind me Friday claiming after the first quarter that this wouldn't have happened under Mick. That kind of rubbish is slowly being drowned out by supporters seeing the results of the Bucks rebuild. Admittedly, I had doubts early but maintained faith that he had a plan and we are enjoying the fruits of that now.

I have no time for people who bang on about Malthouse like that over and over. We gave up big leads like that all the time.

How's his side going at the moment?

Mick always had 'his boys' and that was always going to be an issues for Bucks to build that kind of bond with guys he had played with. Shaw and Daisy seemed unwilling to buy in and therefore had to go. Bucks showed who was boss, it was his team and nobody was bigger than the team.

Of course no Malthouse team would let something like that happen. Just have to see how he went against the Bombers a couple of weeks ago... oh.

If you read the game day thread I think you will find many were calling game over toward the end of the first quarter. Generally the same people who call for players to be dropped after one quiet game and coaches to be sacked after one loss.

Probably the same names that predicted doom and gloom after the Freo loss in round 1 and were up in arms about "Buckley's game plan". Collingwood critics, not supporters.