What are the best football videos?

play on

Mar 2, 2001
What are the best footy videos? To me, any Collingwood videos in particular The road to Victory, a tribute to Darren Millane and of course the grand final video.

Not involving the pies, the best videos to me would be 90s the decade that delivered, Football record video and 100 years of football.

What are other people best footy videos?

------------------------------
Play on says the umpire
------------------------------

Over the last few days, I've been watching VFL on Film 1946-1982 Marking Time which is quite interesting.
A lot of the early footage is pretty ordinary, as expected, and isn't so much actual highlights, more just a selection of what footage was available at the time. The narration (by Craig Willis I think) is annoying, as he is basically reading players' names off a sheet as he is waiting for them to get the ball in the associated footage (amid many pauses). Otherwise it's a very good, entertaining video.
The Sensational Seventies, Electrifying Eighties etc are by far the best of the videos available, when it comes to videos that are not club- or player-specific.

For me: The Road to Victory, Peter Daicos Hot Shots, 1990 GF Video. Also I have the Ablett video made around 1994-85 (I think) but that was only reasonable.

Another fantastic video is Magic Moments, heaps of highlights from over the years...some pretty funny and inspirational stuff.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
'That Was The Season That Was - 1978'. If not that, 'The Sensational Seventies'.

There was an interesting discussion in the saints official forum and I recently read about the St Kilda vs Essendon match at Moorabbin in 1978.

I wasn't born at the time but apparently we were on top of the ladder before the game. The game was a bit of a bloodbath and Essendon (and most of the league) were angry with the saints and labelled us "animals".

Merv Neagles Mum had a bit of a sook about those nasty saints players too.

Do you know anymore about the game? I would think you more than most people (apart from the saints/bombers fans around at the time) about what happened. How I wish we could be disliked like that now rather than be felt sorry for.

Sorry to get off track. My favoutite video is........the 1966 Grand Final. One of the official videos with the Weg cover. The Mission - our 1997 season, is also great. Focused on the great year rather than the sad day late in September.

1989 Hawthorn v Geelong - not the GF though, the H&A match at Princes Park. Final score of 171 to 163, 51 goals kicked, one of the most wonderful exhibitions of football you are ever going to see. MMM rocking footy is pretty good as well.

The best video has yet to come out

D Jarman- Pure Class

His whole career has been a highlights package

The most skilfull footballer of his generation by a country mile.

Bow down to his greatness.

Shame it won't be out for about 5 years until after he retires.

yeah, Magic Moments is great, although i don't think i've seen it for about 10 years..........

"Oh! He's whacked the umpire! Well, you gotta get the boy off......"

Funniest football moment ever.

The thing that i find funny though, is that the AFL say they want to get rid of all the violent behind the play incidents in football, yet every time there's a football video come out, what's it jam packed with.....?

"Hey, we're the AFL, and we say behind the play incidents are bad for the game.......so we're going to give you 100 years of Australian football jam packed with all your favourite hits, whacks, slaps and punches!"

Originally posted by gPhonque
yeah, Magic Moments is great, although i don't think i've seen it for about 10 years..........

"Oh! He's whacked the umpire! Well, you gotta get the boy off......"

Funniest football moment ever.

The thing that i find funny though, is that the AFL say they want to get rid of all the violent behind the play incidents in football, yet every time there's a football video come out, what's it jam packed with.....?

"Hey, we're the AFL, and we say behind the play incidents are bad for the game.......so we're going to give you 100 years of Australian football jam packed with all your favourite hits, whacks, slaps and punches!"

Good call

That video is great

Pete Landy "A Beauty, a beauty" when I think its Robbie Muir wacks someone from Carlton in the face

And the one you are on about

"Well, he's had a good day" - funniest dry comment ever made on football comentary.

Originally posted by sainter

There was an interesting discussion in the saints official forum and I recently read about the St Kilda vs Essendon match at Moorabbin in 1978.

I wasn't born at the time but apparently we were on top of the ladder before the game. The game was a bit of a bloodbath and Essendon (and most of the league) were angry with the saints and labelled us "animals".

Merv Neagles Mum had a bit of a sook about those nasty saints players too.

Do you know anymore about the game? I would think you more than most people (apart from the saints/bombers fans around at the time) about what happened. How I wish we could be disliked like that now rather than be felt sorry for.

Sainter
I was there, 13 years old in the forward pocket at the Nepean Hwy end, outer side.
My recollection was that Saints were about 5 goals up at 3/4 time, and the Bombers came storming home and failed by 6 points. My memories of the bloodbath are hazy, although I think it was more Ditterich and Sidebottom being very physical, and Essendon not retailiating much. I can't remember too many brawls or fights.
It was all over the Sunday Press the next day, big headline on the back page, where the Essendon president labelled the Saints as "Animals". The press picked it up and ran with it.

We were actually 2nd at the time, I think 5 1/2 wins from 7 games, lost the next week to South by 99 points, and lost the next 6 or 7. We finally recovered with a disputed goal after the siren at Arden St by Robert Elliot (which was touched by Steve McCann), before storming home in the last few rounds, including beating Hawthorn by 12 goals (who went on and won the flag) and Carlton in Round 22. This Carlton game is a major highlight for every St Kilda supporter of my age between 1973 & 1991 (pretty sad really).

When that Collingwood bloke decked the umpire then jumped the fence and decked that guy I thought that was one of the funniest things I have ever seen on a football field. (Magic Moments).

Some great memories on that video.

Thanks HTBS,

I've just finished reading "A Point of it All" and a lot of the comments in the official forum about that game.

Seems a shame because it looks to have ruined another season that promised so much.

Oh well, I suppose most Essendon fans have other memories to live off. I just thought the game was such a momentus occassion because it is still spoken about 23 years since it happened.

Was that Round 22 match against Carlton at Princes Park?

We've only won their 7 times in 100 years so I'd imagine it would have been a day for our fans to savour, particularly as they were such a good team at the time.

Originally posted by sainter
Thanks HTBS,

I've just finished reading "A Point of it All" and a lot of the comments in the official forum about that game.

Seems a shame because it looks to have ruined another season that promised so much.

Oh well, I suppose most Essendon fans have other memories to live off. I just thought the game was such a momentus occassion because it is still spoken about 23 years since it happened.

Was that Round 22 match against Carlton at Princes Park?

We've only won their 7 times in 100 years so I'd imagine it would have been a day for our fans to savour, particularly as they were such a good team at the time.

Sainter
It was at Moorabbin.
There are a couple of famous scenes from that game that I'm sure you are familiar with.
Robbie Muir spinning round and decking Dennis Collins with one of the best punches I've ever seen. Apart from that he was sensational that day, an enormous waste of talent.
Rex Hunt signalling through goals with the goal umpire at the South Rd end.

The equation was that we had to beat Carlton, and Fitzroy had to beat Geelong for us to make the finals. Unfortunately the Cats had Fitzroy covered very early in the game, so we were never really a chance.

the hawks back to back pack of 88 89 grand finals...and the sensation seventies is great ..and barbara striesands-memories...sung to slow mo footy...absolute great bits of footage to a fitting song although i dont like her...

What are the best football videos?