Footy Developments in NSW and Queensland

Thanks for that. It looks like the numbers have been pretty stable for the three codes between 2016 and what the 2020 line up of teams was going to be pre-Covid.

in essence the code of AF is stronger than what it has been for some time due to GWS involvement, but not as strong as what it was pre 1980's when it was the strongest code albeit RU and RL had a decent presence.

numbers don't tell the full story, i still think the Raiders are the team of choice in the ACT without doubt, but perhaps the game of RL is not popular as it was

1. Despite RU having long been called akin to a religion in NZ, there has been a long term significant decline in club & school male contact RU all over NZ.
NZ Rugby is currently holding a formal Enquiry into how this male decline can be remedied.
Soccer has, for many years in NZ, had far more competition players than contact RU nos.; school basketball nos. have also overtaken school RU nos. since 2018, having doubled over the last 10 years.

metromag.co.nz J.Wall 16.6.19

Wall said

"The death of Club Rugby in Auckland is coming fast... Our national game is seeing a dwindling number of players, an artificial concentration of talent in wealthy schools...Unless someone does something soon, this may well be the death of the sport in Auckland...Player numbers are dropping far quicker than anyone would care to admit...".

2. Re the future of Super Rugby for NZ, the NZ Rugby-appointed Aratipu Report has just been published.

P. Cully said on 17.9.20

"The Aratipu Report...concluded that player depth would be a serious hurdle for a 6th NZ franchise...Those who took part in the Report already believe the current Super Rugby franchises are struggling to find adequate replacements when injuries test their depth, making it unlikely that a new Kiwi franchise could find a squad of 38 Super Rugby-quality players (all my emphases)".

https://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby...ainst-sixth-kiwi-team-pasifika-doubts-persist

3. This significant decline in male contact RU GR nos., & quality of elite nos., in NZ does not have a direct impact on the progress of GR AF, & the AFL, in NSW, ACT, & Qld. Indirectly, however, it has a major impact.

C. 45%+ of NRL & Super Rugby (& Wallabies) players in Australia have a NZ background ie these players were either born in NZ or from Pasifika nations; or born in Australia, with parents from these backgrounds. This includes NZ background players who have either a Euro. or Pasifika ethnicity.

For elite RL & RU U16, U18, & U21 players in Australia, the NZ background is 50%+.

As it appears almost certain that the quality/skills, & probably quantity, of NZ background players into the NRL & Super Rugby (& Wallabies) into the future is likely to deteriorate, these RL & RU competitions will have players who, on average, will have lower skills. (The Wallabies, once the RA cash-cow, will also become less successful, diminishing RA's future revenues- & popularity of RU).

Having lower skills will make these competitions less attractive to watch, thus average crowds & ratings will be lower- causing Rights' $ & sponsorship $, & MSM coverage, to decline. Their average player wages will also, therefore, decline.
Conversely, average AFL wages will continue to increase their quantum & differential, cf the average in the NRL & RA.

A. Johns, B. Fittler, P. Gallen, P. Gould, B. Slater, C. Smith, J. Thurston, M. Chammas, S. Roach, B. Harrigan, E. Molan, R. Masters (& P. Stirling, by implication), Channel Nine executives (eg T. Malone), & other NRL experts, already believe the current skills of the average NRL player are insufficient for the NRL to expand to 17 teams- otherwise the quality of the "NRL product" will drop too much, affecting ratings/crowds etc.

There may also be a reduction in the no. of fully pro RU & RL teams &/or players in Australia, if Rights' $ & sponsorship $, & crowds etc. fall considerably.

For very young, aspiring elite athletes in NSW, ACT, & Qld., many will realise that the AFL offers better professional opportunities. AF will become a more attractive option for many of them (& their parents; & elite RU schools?) to join, or to switch over.

More details, in links below, on the decline of male contact RU in NZ (female contact RU is having significant growth). Also, the decline in RU TV ratings- "...a ticking time bomb" for RU, & its loss of many young viewers.

rugbypass.com 12.1.20

NZ Herald 14.1.18

"The biggest area of concern around rugby is school leaving age, where numbers are worryingly thin. Many Provinces don't have any U19 Grades (my emphases)".

1. Despite RU having long been called akin to a religion in NZ, there has been a long term significant decline in club & school male contact RU there. NZ Rugby is currently holding a formal Enquiry into how this male decline can be remedied.
Soccer has, for many years in NZ, had far more competition players than contact RU nos.- basketball nos. are approaching RU nos.

metromag.co.nz J.Wall 16.6.19

Wall said

"The death of Club Rugby in Auckland is coming fast... Our national game is seeing a dwindling number of players, an artificial concentration of talent in wealthy schools...unless someone does something soon, this may well be the death of the sport in Auckland...pPlayer numbers are dropping far quicker than anyone would care to admit...".

2. Re the future of Super Rugby for NZ, the NZ Rugby-appointed Aratipu Report has just been published.

P. Cully said

"The Aratipu Report...concluded that player depth would be a serious hurdle for a 6th NZ franchise...Those who took part in the Report already believe the current Super rugby franchises are struggling to find adequate replacements when injuries test their depth, making it unlikley that a neew Kiwi franchise could find a squad of 38 Super Rugby-qua players".

https://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/rugby...ainst-sixth-kiwi-team-pasifika-doubts-persist

3. This significant decline (which appears to be accelerating) in male contact RU GR nos. in NZ does not have a direct impact on the progress of GR AF, & the AFL, in NSW, ACT, & Qld. Indirectly, however, it has a major impact.

C. 45%+ of NRL & Super Rugby (& Wallabies) players in Australia have a NZ background ie these players were either born in NZ or from Pasifika nations; or born in Australia, with parents from these backgrounds. This includes NZ background players who have either a Euro. or Pasifika ethnicity.

For elite RL & RU U16, U18, & U21 players in Australia, the NZ background is 50%+.

As it appears almost certain that the quality/skills, & probably quantity, of NZ background players into the NRL & Super Rugby (& Wallabies) is likely to deteriorate, these RL & RU competitions will have players who, on average, have lower skills. (The Wallabies will also become less successful, crushing RA's revenues).
Having lower skills will make these competitions less attractive to watch, thus average crowds & ratings will be lower- causing Rights' $ & sponsorship $, & MSM coverage, to decline. Average elite player wages will also, therefore, decline.
Conversely, average AFL wages will continue to increase their quantum, cf the average in the NRL & RA.

There may also be a reduction in the no. of NRL pro teams & players in Australia, if Rights' & sponsorship $ etc. fall considerably.

For very young elite athletes in NSW, ACT, & Qld., many will realise that the AFL offers better professional opportunities. AF will become a more attractive option for them (& their parents; & elite RU schools?) to join, or switch over.
Still searching out articles from past years..

Even this would not have been considered not long ago.

This is without a Bronco side involved in Rugby finals though.

For very young, aspiring elite athletes in NSW, ACT, & Qld., many will realise that the AFL offers better professional opportunities. AF will become a more attractive option for many of them (& their parents; & elite RU schools?) to join, or to switch over.
You're joking, right?

Any given kiwi rugby player has plenty of opportunities against a small population to make it with the 5 teams, or alternatively, playing literally anywhere else in the world on a professional/semi-professional capacity. Plenty of countries (UK, France, Japan, heck you could probably even make a decent living as the best player in a USA Major League Rugby team) against a country with a population that is 1/5th of Australia's. Even if more kiwis started playing footy, they're so far removed from proper teenage development that you can't be expected to be that good.

Kurt Heatherley was cherrypicked, had heaps of money put into him, given years and years to develop - and he was gifted 5 games at league level, and wasn't up to it. That's the best case scenario.

Why would any school/teenager/kid look at that and - whilst the players might not be good enough to play for the all-blacks, can earn a decent living globally playing rugby - go "you know, I think we can give the multi-million development programs in Australia a run for their money in producing players good enough to play for the AFL"

Kurt Heatherley was cherrypicked, had heaps of money put into him, given years and years to develop - and he was gifted 5 games at league level, and wasn't up to it. That's the best case scenario.
It isn't the best case scenario, unless you're arguing Kiwis are genetically unable to play Australian rules at the top level, which is obviously not the case. BBT was clearly referring to people who already live in Australia, and there are examples of people who have switched from rugby to Australian rules and done well, like Charlie Cameron.

Cameron is a freak though. There's a reason why the northern academies matter, recruitment from Vic private schools is increasing etc. It's because high-quality development of junior players matters. It could happen, but it's a very, very remote chance of happening when there's so much disadvantage.

A large reason why the northern academies was introduced was because through the course of the 21st century, the northern states club, schools and limited academy investment was losing out to the traditional states' ways of doing things. Between 2002 (Jarrad McVeigh) and the introduction of the academies themselves, there wasn't a single first round draft pick that was from NSW, and it wasn't for lack of talent (ie academies come in and you've had plenty in the last 5-7 years)

Cameron is a freak though. There's a reason why the northern academies matter, recruitment from Vic private schools is increasing etc. It's because high-quality development of junior players matters. It could happen, but it's a very, very remote chance of happening when there's so much disadvantage.

A large reason why the northern academies was introduced was because through the course of the 21st century, the northern states club, schools and limited academy investment was losing out to the traditional states' ways of doing things. Between 2002 (Jarrad McVeigh) and the introduction of the academies themselves, there wasn't a single first round draft pick that was from NSW, and it wasn't for lack of talent (ie academies come in and you've had plenty in the last 5-7 years)
True. I'm glad the academies exist. I'm sure there are other players who would have otherwise played a rugby code if not for them (Heeney comes to mind).

You're joking, right?

Any given kiwi[?!] rugby player has plenty of opportunities against a small population to make it with the 5 teams [Yes. I never claimed or implied otherwise]
I refered to jnr very young elite athletes, specifically in NSW, ACT, or Qld. only -as per you quoting me in your link!

Also, when the RA Rights' plummet (due to RA's loss of the very valuable Super Rugby matches in South Africa- broadcast also to Europe, in lucrative Prime Time: big Euro. ratings), many very young aspirational athletes in NSW, ACT, or Qld. will choose (or their parents; or elite RU schools in Aust.?) to join /switch over to AF. The lure of c. 700 much higher paid AFL jobs will be very attractive.
The RU 2nd tier in Australia is likely to be paying, on average, much lower wages

Eyecatching & very brief Attachment!

P. Stirling comments in this link also.

Staff writer said
"...with Grant telling Clubs deteriorating participation numbers meant the code has to inject significant funds into grass roots football" ie $100m.
ARLC Chairman J. Grant was, however, unsuccessful- the emergency $100m he wanted to inject into GR male contact RL was vetoed by all the NRL Clubs. The clubs wanted this $100m for themselves, it was never spent on the GR- & Grant was later forced by the Clubs to resign from the NRL.

It depends if Channel nine gives up on them. The media money is more important to Rugby.
The NRL, because it rates so strongly, will probably always obtain lucrative Rights & very interested MSM partners- even if Nine lost some interest.

The big threats to the NRL are:-

. its long term major decline in GR male contact teams & player nos.

. the players have, on average, become much heavier, are hitting harder, since the 80's- therefore more injuries; & makes the NRL less attractive (skilful, nippy, blokes below 80kgs, who have flair, being smashed out of RL).

2. An existential threat- the NSW govt. announced yesterday it intends to change the law for poker machines. People must first get a "pre-commitment card" stating how much they are willing to lose.
Since the Greens & One Nation in the NSW Upper House support this new legislation, it is almost certain to pass into law.

This new law is very likely to greatly reduce the pokie revenues & profits flowing to Sydney NRL Clubs' related licensed Gaming Clubs.

The "harm minimisation legislation...is the state's most significant gaming reforms in the state's history". It is an existential threat to c. 4 Sydney NRL clubs (unless they slash costs).

EDIT:

In 2017, Canterbury, Parramatta, & Penrith NRL-affiliated pokie clubs obtained c. $190m from losses of pokie players.

These evil machines, for 1 year only in 2017, were estimated to cause c. $4.7b harm to not only the pokie addicts, but to society as a whole.

Hawthorn, "The Family Club" based in Melb.s' comfortable eastern suburbs, based nearly all of its very large no. of pokies in Melb.'s lower socio-economic western suburbs!

I would like to see the evil machines banned around Aust. - except for 1 casino only, based in each state's CBD (similar to WA, which suffers no economic ill effects from their suburban & regional ban).

EDIT 2:

"Despite their rhetoric of community goodwill, the brutal truth is that Clubs are in the business of turning their poker machine patrons into problem gamblers".

So after yesterday's NRL elimination final the Brisbane FTA averages were

AFL 81K
NRL 115K

I know it's funny, but let's not pretend it's that close.

I don't think anyone is pretending anything. It was a purely factual post.

On google trends the last week is pretty much neck and neck in QLD

Obviously next year the broncos will be better and the AFL won't be essentially based in QLD. Nobody is claiming that the AFL through one finals series is going to become the dominant code in QLD.

Just a follow up from footy classified....the difference between peak viewership was far higher than the average (which is common for AFL games because it goes for longer which drags the average down eg people who just watch the last half hour of a game count for less)

1601936442564.png

1. Daily Telegraph P. Rothfield 7.5.17 (via Reddit- not behind a paywall in this link)

Rothfield said, re GR RL in Sydney's WS (but GR club contact RL still far surpasses GR AF in the WS. Penrith District RL is the strongest- my words)

"Alarming statistics show registration numbers have plummetted as much as 15% in an area that was once the game's heartland. An NRL Official said 'At this rate, our game will be dead within 10 years' ".

"...Oztag & Touch football, which have both had significant player increases in the past 2 years (are being officially counted by the NRL as Rugby League Club "participants"- my words)".

The NSWRL CEO D. Trodden said "In some areas, age groups are down 30%".

"The most alarming statistic is that first time participant registrations are down by 20%".

"...only the strong growth of female participants has stopped the decline from being even greater".

"Australian Rules appears to be the biggest threat to rugby league in Sydney's West...Local registrations have more than doubled. There are now more Oztag and Touch Football players than rugby League players in Parramatta".

(Click on "Daily Telegraph"- highlighted in blue- at the top of this Reddit link for the full DT article).

P. Kent, in the Daily Telegraph on 7.12.18, & Penrith's NRL Legend G. Alexander (& currently a Penrith District JRL jnr RL coach) on 21.4.20, both said the NRL is using Oztag, Touch Football, & short term, non-contact RL Community programs etc to artificially inflate its official regd. "participant" nos.
(Refer to my post #212 above for the links, & their full comments).

Since 2017, male contact RL has continued its significant long term decline in Sydney, & other parts of NSW, ACT, & Qld.

In Sydney since 2017, some jnr RL Districts have had to be amalgamated with neighbouring Districts, due to insufficient nos.- from U13 upwards.
Many jnr RL Clubs have insufficient nos. from U14 upwards, so don't field these male contact teams; or they have to combine with a nearby club, to be able to field combined, contact teams from U15.

The NS, ES, & inner WS no. of contact RL Clubs & teams (jnr & snr) has severely contracted in recent times.
The Balmain District JRL & St George District JRL comps. have also been struggling in recent years.

GR snr male contact RL in the NS, ES, & inner west has almost disappeared. The Manly Warringah District RL snr GR comp. has become defunct since season 2018- as has the North Sydney District RL GR Snr comp. earlier. The Eastern Suburbs District RL snr GR comp. became defunct many years ago.

2. ninenews.com S. McCormack 14.7.18

Outlines the fear of injury that is playing a major part in causing jnr male ( & probably GR snr male) contact RL nos. to decline.
A new jnr contact RL competition, based on weight, height, & maturity, as well as age, is being rolled out (which existed in RL in Sydney prior to c.1970; & still exists in NZ jnr RU).

(Due to small playing nos. in many areas, the new policy cannot be implemented in all teams).

3. Fox Sports 1.7.17

"The AFL & football (soccer) have made huge ground in rugby league's traditional heartlands...The number of male rugby league participants is dwindling".

1. Daily Telegraph P. Rothfield 7.5.17 (via Reddit- not behind a paywall in this link)

Rothfield said, re GR RL in Sydney's WS (but GR club contact RL still far surpasses GR AF in the WS. Penrith District RL is the strongest- my words)

"Alarming statistics show registration numbers have plummetted as much as 15% in an area that was once the game's heartland. An NRL Official said 'At this rate, our game will be dead within 10 years' ".

"...Oztag & Touch football, which have both had significant player increases in the past 2 years (are being officially counted by the NRL as Rugby League Club "participants"- my words)".

The NSWRL CEO D. Trodden said "In some areas, age groups are down 30%".

"The most alarming statistic is that first time participant registrations are down by 20%".

"...only the strong growth of female participants has stopped the decline from being even greater".

"Australian Rules appears to be the biggest threat to rugby league in Sydney's West...Local registrations have more than doubled. There are now more Oztag and Touch Football players than rugby League players in Parramatta".

(Click on "Daily Telegraph"- highlighted in blue- at the top of this Reddit link for the full DT article).

P. Kent, in the Daily Telegraph on 7.12.18, & Penrith's NRL Legend G. Alexander (& currently a Penrith District JRL jnr RL coach) on 21.4.20, both said the NRL is using Oztag, Touch Football, & short term RL Community programs etc to artificially inflate its official regd. "participant" nos.
(Refer to my post #212 above for the links, & their full comments).

Since 2017, male contact RL has continued its significant long term decline in Sydney, & other parts of NSW, ACT, & Qld.

In Sydney since 2017, some jnr RL Districts have had to be amalgamated with neighbouring Districts, due to insufficient nos.- from U13 upwards.
Many jnr RL Clubs have insufficient nos. from U14 upwards, so don't field these male contact teams- or they have to combine with a nearby club, to be able to field combined teams from U15.

The NS, ES, & inner WS no. of contact RL Clubs & teams (jnr & snr) has severely contracted in recent times.
The Balmain District JRL & St George District JRL comps. have also been struggling in recent years.

GR snr male contact RL in the NS, ES, & inner west has almost disappeared. The Manly Warringah District RL snr GR has become defunct since season 2018- as has the North Sydney District RL GR Snr comp. earlier. The Eastern Suburbs District RL snr GR comp. became defunct many years ago.

2. ninenews.com S. McCormack 14.7.18

Outlines the fear of injury that is playing a major part in causing jnr contact RL nos. to decline.
A new jnr competition, based in weight, height, & maturity, as well as age, is being rolled out (which existed in RL in Sydney prior to c.1970; & still exists in NZ jnr RU).

(Due to small playing nos. in many areas, the new policy cannot be implemented in all teams).

3. Fox Sports 1.7.17

"The AFL & football (soccer) have made huge ground in rugby league's traditional heartlands...The number of male rugby league participants is dwindling".

Got any current articles??

Exclusive: Big Footy Favourite, BringBackTorps, Does Glutton For Punishment Pippen94 's Head In

"I have permanent real estate in Pippen94 's head" BringBackTorps gloated as he once again scored a rise out of the pathetic glutton-for-punishment Wanderers fan whose obsession with the AFL's dominance of the Australia sporting landscape verges on pure comedy. "

KEEP READING

You're so much fun dude, please don't ever change 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

1. More MSM experts are predicting that the AFL will have the least post covid-19 damage (in % loss of revenue terms, not raw quantum of revenue losses), cf the NRL, RA, & FFA.
The AFL on 11.6.20 said its new Force Majeure Rights' deals fell by 12-13%, cf pre 11.6 deal- & the NRL new Rights' deals % loss was double this %.*- see Edit below.

AFR A. Grigg M. Mason 8.4.20

Grigg & Mason said

"The coronavirus-induced shutdown of sport has left RU & football (soccer) on the brink of collapse, while the NRL is vulnerable to its cashed-up rivals".

2. The NSW LNP govt. announced last week it will soon be introducing laws (having obtained Upper House majority support) that will require ALL Pokie players in NSW to obtain (before they can play, in the new, totally CASHLESS pokie dens) a Pre-commitment Gambling Card (with maximum losses nominated, Banning powers, photo ID etc).

These changes will cause a significant reduction in pokie dens' revenues & profits. This will have a significant & very detrimental effect on NSW pokie clubs' ability to fund most NSW-based NRL clubs (many who have a major financial reliance on the pokie addicts' losses & misery), & GR RL clubs.
The AFL & GR AF will be net beneficiaries, vis-a-vis the NRL & GR RL in NSW- & AF growth in NSW will be facilitated, & accelerated.

Details in this link below.

Per capita, Australia has the highest gambling losses in the world!
It is probable (since these changes are supported by the LNP govt., Greens, One Nation, & some other minor parties- ALP position unclear) that this change will ultimately be introduced also in Qld. etc. There will be similar negative effects for the Qld. NRL clubs & Qld. GR RL (& will accelerate the already strong growth of AF in Qld.).

All over Aust. (except WA), the no. of poker machines are disproportionately located- by a vast %- in lower socio-economic suburbs & regions: to "seduce" lower income people, which leads to further impoverishment/family breakups/domestic violence/mortgage defaults & loss of houses etc.

*EDIT:

R. Masters SMH, Goldman Sachs Media analysts, R. Hinds abc.net, Z. Samios The Age, & other experts also support this view of the AFL's better, relative, financial recovery, post covid-19
Details in this link.

(Go to my post# 2642)

These changes will cause a significant reduction in pokie dens' revenues & profits. This will have a significant & very detrimental effect on NSW pokie clubs ability to fund most NSW-based NRL clubs (who have a major financial reliance on the pokie addicts), & GR RL clubs.
The AFL & GR AF will be net beneficiaries, vis-a-vis the NRL & GR RL in NSW.
Excellent news, not just for the game but society in general. The AFL and its clubs should all be looking to transition away from pokies from a moral standpoint, let alone the financial one that will emerge if this law is passed.

Although, I think the link you mentioned is missing.

Per capita, Australia has the highest gambling losses in the world.
It is probable (since these changes are supported by the LNP, Greens, One Nation, & some other minor parties- ALP position unclear) that this change will ultimately be introduced in Qld.- with similar negative effects for the Qld. NRL clubs & Qld. GR RL
The Lions do own pokies as well, but there's not a massive financial exposure to it, especially by the standards of NRL clubs.

Excellent news, not just for the game but society in general. The AFL and its clubs should all be looking to transition away from pokies from a moral standpoint, let alone the financial one that will emerge if this law is passed.

Although, I think the link you mentioned is missing.

The Lions do own pokies as well, but there's not a massive financial exposure to it, especially by the standards of NRL clubs.

a moral standpoint ......

cant wait until we close the traditional Sunday 1.30 afternoon two up game at the Kalgoorlie two up shed, we can do that from a moral standpoint, should be easy, they are small potatoes

or the AFL stops taking money from the betting agencies which sees people bet on their phones and the AFL pushing it at every chance

SJW moral standpoints everywhere

a moral standpoint ......

cant wait until we close the traditional Sunday 1.30 afternoon two up game at the Kalgoorlie two up shed, we can do that from a moral standpoint, should be easy, they are small potatoes

or the AFL stops taking money from the betting agencies which sees people bet on their phones and the AFL pushing it at every chance

SJW moral standpoints everywhere
I was referring to pokies specifically which are a different beast, designed to prey on addicts, but don't let that get in the way of your diatribe about the evils of SJWs.

They are as addictive as anything else - if you let them - and nowhere near as harmful as grog or fast food or even betting on your phone (in private)

i have stated i don't like pokie palaces but allocated on a % of floor space which i believe they do in NSW is what i consider a good idea.

basically you a just a throwback to prohibition, and we all know how that worked

Just another nanny state proposal that limits the freedoms of the millions of Australians who manage to control poker machine usage and play within means and budgets, not to mention the thousands probably ten of thousands of jobs lost in a flow on scenario and allocation of club profits to junior and senior sports affiliates through out the community, and the benefits to club members like cheap holiday homes and food and grog and accessing clubs in other states.

You people need to get a life and Goyder needs a reality check (from a moral standpoint) Woodside according to many articles evades billions in Tax, which as we know gets spent on hospitals and roads.

They are as addictive as anything else - if you let them - and nowhere near as harmful as grog or fast food or even betting on your phone (in private)
Bullshit. I might listen if you offer up an actual clinical opinion from a medical or psychological expert, but I won't be convinced by some BF random.

i have stated i don't like pokie palaces but allocated on a % of floor space which i believe they do in NSW is what i consider a good idea.
Why? If pokies are so harmless, the size of the establishment shouldn't matter.

basically you a just a throwback to prohibition, and we all know how that worked
Utter trash. You've failed to actually read my opinion and you're just carrying on with self-righteous nonsense. Not once have I said pokies should be banned altogether, I just think they need a mandatory precommitment scheme, probably need a limit on the number outside casinos, and shouldn't be owned by AFL clubs if they have any pretense to moral character. I also consider hard drugs to be immoral but I don't want them banned either.

Just another nanny state proposal that limits the freedoms of the millions of Australians who manage to control poker machine usage and play within means and budgets, not to mention the thousands probably ten of thousands of jobs lost in a flow on scenario and allocation of club profits to junior and senior sports affiliates through out the community, and the benefits to club members like cheap holiday homes and food and grog and accessing clubs in other states.
Cry me a river.

You people need to get a life
Sweet, sweet irony.