Analysis What are the top 5 things that you think need fixing with the AFL. Opposition supporters welcome to post ideas.

Righto, I guess this thread is borne out of the shitfight that was Hocking and his comments on tackling. It one again showed the disconnect between the games thinkers and the grass roots supporters. I want to see if there are commonalities that we are all thinking that these guys just don't seem to get. So, in no particular order, here are my five -

1 - MRP - they need to take into account past actions and suspensions/examples in order to get more consistent decisions. It's mind blowing that when Dusty was answering his charge, we weren't allowed to use the footage of Mitchell elbowing Goldstein in the head. They either both get weeks or both get off. Its would actually hold the MRP more to account.
2 - Get rid of 6-6-6. It has been an unmitigated failure which has decreased scoring. We are watching games with scoring rates not seen since the 60's.
3 - Ruck rule - no need to nominate, just have two players go up in the ruck. Umpires aren't dumb. They can count to two. If the other ruck can't get there, stiff. Throw the ball up. Get the game moving.
4 - Holding the ball, just go back to what it was. Remove the prior. If it's holding the ball, it's "holding the ball".
5 - Penalise jumper punches and elbows. No warning. You do it and you get reported. Or if a report is too harsh, then free kick.

What are other people thinking?

Dunger

Nov 28, 2008
-37.822165, 144.988143
any rule where the umpire has to know what the player was thinking or some complicated interpretation needs to be changed so there's no mind reading and it's clear cut - deliberate out of bounds, holding the ball and any others like this

sliding below the legs rule - gone

666 - useless rule - gone

50m penalty for minor, meaningless and stupid infringements - gone.

tony__montana

Jan 25, 2018
Liverpool
1. If umps Paid HTB and incorrect disposal there wouldnt be so many tackles. Get rid of interpretation on whether it is incorrect disposal or ball getting knocked out, if you get tackled and the ball gets knocked out or you drop it, same thing you're gone!

2. MRP as you mentioned. On one hand to justify the ablett charges they spruik how long the player stayed down for as proof of light impact, yet Soldo this year and Graham last year went for just as little force in their hits. They need consistency and precedent. How often did Christian contradict himself week on week with interpretations? With Dusty he takes into account "the potential to do damage" yet 2 weeks later he openly said you cant take that into account WTAF?

3. Better technology for reviews. Its such a simple solution, invest in better cameras, the current grainy pixelated footage is embarrassing and no matter who is reviewing you will never be 100% when frame by frame sees the ball move a foot! We can catch the hummingbirds 55 wingbeats per second but dont have the technology that would settle all contentious decisions in about 20 seconds FFS.

4. Ruck Rule, 100% get rid of nomination and throw it up straight away. An afl player can cover 40 metres in 5 seconds, by the time the ump tells teams to nominate then throws it up, 5-7 seconds pass... - this actually contributes to congestion, not to mention a 3rd man up being able to clear congestion with a big punch.

5. Trial less interchange. 10 per qtr and see how that goes. Dont worry about fatigue affecting skills, if teams know its coming next year they'll train accordingly and learn to run out games better. At the moment theyre trained in a specific way to run hard then break for 2-4 mins on the bench and go again et al, so of course theyll be fatigued if you took away interchanges right now.

JAKLAUGHING

🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆🏆
Nov 20, 2008
Vilnius
Fold GCS and turn them into Southport Sharks!
Form a Tassie Team
Pay holding the ball free...360 degree turn with the ball is incorrect disposal!
Pay the tackle free!
Pay a free for all throws of the footy!
15meters kick is a 15 meters kick not 11 meters!
Play on if you have a 75 meter run up for a kick on goal!
No calling the ball back for a rebounce if it's bounces out of the circle...play on!
Backchat immediate free kick!
No 50 meter free kick if the oppo impinges accidentally the clear zone of the kicker...only if the kicker runs into the oppo!
No deliberate out of bounds...thrown in!
No karate kicks to the oppo disguised as self protection, use the knee!
Any punch thrown...report!
Any hit to the head report!
Sliding below the legs free gone!
666 rule gone
Ruck rules...no nome!
Regular yearly meetings of the AFL with the 18 Clubs, any voting secret ballot!
Independent match Tribunal.
Independent Umpire Tribunal.
New set of TV/Radio Media commentators after 5 years.
Print media Jurnos get accreditation from 18 Club Tribunal.
Umpires to explain decisions.
Match review tribunal to explain decisions.
Umpires full time.
No goal reviews that's the Goal Umpire's job.
Rules Committee to be reviewed every three years...2nd year new rules trialed for a year in the VFL.
Rules Committee independent of the AFL and can have recommendations only from the 18 Clubs!
Collywobbles to have a different clash jumper!
Port to play their traditional jumper at home!
Fitzroy to be reformed!
Just for starters!

Hmmmm, not reading tackling as an issue yet. Surely Stephen couldn't be meowing up the wrong tree?

Poska

Jul 10, 2019
If they’re going to keep the 666 rule, just penalise a player if they’re not in their “zone”. The warning rule is ridiculous.

Fix the scoreboard review technology to ensure 100% accuracy. Forget the fancy graphics of the ball that goes through the goal/points on the screen as well. Just flash a sign saying goal or behind and get the f*** on with it.

MRP needs a complete overhaul.

Umpires should be full-time and be penalised for bad performances. Furthermore, something seriously needs to be done about the favouritism towards the Bulldogs and Collingwood.

Get rid of the new 50m penalty rule. Too much confusion.

Bring chopping the arms back. Defenders have no hope anymore. Stiff sh*t if your arms get chopped.

Merge Gold Coast and GWS. Have them alternating between both home stadiums. Get rid of AFLX. Bring in Tasmania. Bring back State of Origin.

Get rid of the bounce (ball up). Just throw it up. Absolute momentum killer when they butcher it.

Stuff the ruck nomination rule. Just throw it up and get on with it.

Penalise grubs like Cunnington for jumper punching.

I don’t mind prior opportunity, the rule is pretty black and white. If you take a player on when you had prior opportunity to get rid of it you’re gone. If there’s no prior players will be scared to pick the ball up all together.

Gag Gerard Whateley, Brad Johnson, and Cameron Ling.

Righto, I guess this thread is borne out of the s**tfight that was Hocking and his comments on tackling. It one again showed the disconnect between the games thinkers and the grass roots supporters. I want to see if there are commonalities that we are all thinking that these guys just don't seem to get. So, in no particular order, here are my five -

1 - MRP - they need to take into account past actions and suspensions/examples in order to get more consistent decisions. It's mind blowing that when Dusty was answering his charge, we weren't allowed to use the footage of Mitchell elbowing Goldstein in the head. They either both get weeks or both get off. Its would actually hold the MRP more to account.
2 - Get rid of 6-6-6. It has been an unmitigated failure which has decreased scoring. We are watching games with scoring rates not seen since the 60's.
3 - Ruck rule - no need to nominate, just have two players go up in the ruck. Umpires aren't dumb. They can count to two. If the other ruck can't get there, stiff. Throw the ball up. Get the game moving.
4 - Holding the ball, just go back to what it was. Remove the prior. If it's holding the ball, it's "holding the ball".
5 - Penalise jumper punches and elbows. No warning. You do it and you get reported. Or if a report is too harsh, then free kick.

What are other people thinking?

Agree with all of these plus

1. Person on the mark cannot move
2. Umps stop being so twitchy on play on when the player moves back to take their kick

1) Break the AFL up.
4 parts.
a) The commission...hands off supervision, distributes money. Make them answerable for their actions!
b) AFL - the league/competition. Only job is to run a fair competition. Makes money and gives a % to the commission to pay for the other stuff.
c) Development & support for other competitions.
d) Integrity...Rules, umpires, MRP, corruption. Completely separate to the league.

b, c & d are as seperate as possible, and any interaction between them is formalised and goes through a.

2) Rules changes.
Any changes get proposed, have a year of discussion, then a year implimented in lower grades (VFL, WAFL, SANFL & NEAFL) before going into the AFL. Reviewed after 5 years and if they didn't have their desired effect, get rid of them.

3) Any rules changes in the past 30 years get reviewed by a panel of umpires, players & fans (no AFL officials) and if not considered effective in improving the game, removed (I think this would cover most of them).

4) Get rid of academies. If we implement step 1, then it's all part of 'c', but even if we don't, let the AFL run it and make the draft as fair as possible.

5) Ease congestion by going to 16 on the field and 2 on the bench. (OK, to be consistent, this would need to go through the process of step 2). Flow on effect would be smaller lists, and more quality players in lower grades (to help this, send the salary money saved to those grades).

May 22, 2014
Punt Rd to Goodison Park
Everton
1. Rules: get rid of 6-6-6 and the kick in rule, two brainless rules that have backfired for what their intended purpose was and was always going too.

2. Fixture: not that damn hard to schedule the 6 teams who have the bye against each other the following week, also change the marquee games around, i for one am sick to death of the thursday round 1 opener and would not give two shits if it were another team in our place.
Anzac day, easter monday, queens birthday just share them around the clubs, imagine an Anzac day showdown or an easter monday Western Derby, also you should never play a team once in round 22 or 23, stupidity.

3. MRP: who gives a s**t if they are brownlow favs, do the crime do the time ( fyfe and danger anyone, mitchell etc ) and stop inventing add on charges for a player you never use for anyone else ( dusty )

4. Shocking: just sack this geesook clown before he destroys the game

5: see 4

JR82

Nov 13, 2011
hate them all
Get rid of Hocking & Whateley can go with him.

It's pretty simple really, reverse the rule changes from this yr as they have been a massive fail with scoring at a 52 yr low. all that needs changing is to simplify the rule book to give the Umpires a chance to do thier job, call holding the ball/illegal disposal properly & that will change the game overnight.

Vassp

Jun 30, 2018
Get rid of the goal square and replace with a 15 metre arc. Defender can’t cross that before kicking the ball in.
50 mtr penalty should only be used for severe free kicks or deliberately wasting time.
No 50 + 50 mtr penalty.
No reversing free kicks. If players get out of hand it goes to review panel with fine or suspension.
No prior opportunity. You get caught and can’t dispose of it then it’s holding the ball.
4 on interchange with max 4 rotations per quarter. So changes hold more weight and strategy.
Other than that it’s pretty darn good already.

Sep 24, 2017
Fewer rules - get rid of the knee jerk reaction rules
Contact below knee
Ruck nominations only 2 in ruck
The list goes on

1. Holding/Dropping The Ball: If a player is tackled and doesn't get a kick or handball away then pay holding/dropping the ball. Instantly you'll get rid of the scrums that follow the ball around as clubs won't want too much congestion around the ball to avoid giving away free kicks for being tackled. It will also see the teams keeping the ball moving as there is more space around the contest.

2. Remove Ruck Nomination: Umpire calls for a bounce or a throw in then immediately throw it in/up, this gets the game going and stops teams from being able to set up their structures around the contest/ground. Also reintroduce the rule stopping ruckmen from grabbing the ball in the ruck which ties in with the above for holding the ball.

3. Change 6-6-6: Maintain 6-6-6 starting positions but make it that the wingers can line up anywhere around the square so that late in games teams can place defensive wingers at the back of the square but not inside D50. This would give teams that ability to defend a lead late in games but would also mean that these wingers would have to make a decision whether to fold back or follow their opponent into the contest in the middle.

4. Remove The 30sec Clock: When players are lining up for goal remove the 30sec clock from the scoreboard to stop players milking it. Umpires wear earpieces so the emergency umpire can communicate when a player has 10 seconds left to kick which then prompts the field umpire to give the hurry up.

5. Limit Goal Reviews: Goal reviews should only be used for goal line decisions i.e. touched on the line or a mark or if it hit the post/wrong side of the post. In play you take the call on the field and stop broadcasters from going back and showing grainy slow motion footage of possible touched off the boot calls.

Bonus: Commentators to actually call the game and not make it about them. The game is the entertainment, not you flogs who think you're celebrities.

Cotcho

Jul 4, 2012
Liverpool
1. We need a constitution, which makes it impossibly hard to change rules.
2. Sack the rules of the game committee
3. MCC seating allocation and AFL members should be slashed in half. No more than a quarter of the stadium should be available to neutrals.
4. Allow home teams first crack at all remaining seats for a couple of days before away teams get a go at it. If that means 95% home team supporters then so be it. Other than the grand final where no team is the home team and is split 50/50
5. If a player uses 30s and declares that they are having a shot but changes mind to pass it, it's a free kick against for time wasting.