What are we losing

Jan 13, 2001
Waiting at the door for the pub to reopen
Brisbane Lions
Man City
Is it just me or do more people who still actively follow the AFL long for the old days of a physical contest and personalities in the game?

On Friday night I was talking to people who still go to the football and even buy club memberships are getting tired of the game. The removal of anything that comes close to being deemed a hard phyiscal contest is now either outlawed or frowned upon by the authorities, things that were previously taboo are now accepted with a slap on the wrist and anyone with a personality must go to conselling and calm down.

When Wayne Carey received one week for a misguided cheap shot that would not have left a mark on his opponent the other week against Adelaide was laughable. Ten years ago if he had thrown a punch like that he wold have been laughed at, he also could have thrown it a lot hard and made reasonable contact and nothing would have come of it but not now. Physical contact with you opponent is not welcome in the AFL.

Luke Darcy of Footscray (I refuse to call them the Western Bulldogs) received one week for running into the back of an umpire, it wasn't that long ago that Greg Williams whilst at Carlton received nine weeks for pushing an umpire in something that was very similar. Williams received his when the umpire approach him from behind to get the ball off him for a ball up. Williams then turned and pushed obviously thinking his personal space was violated and was supsequently suspened for 9. Luke Darcy ran across the ground 20 metres and ran far and square into the umpire who had not moved from his spot and got 1. Darcy must have seen the umpire regardless of what the experts say, to not see the umpire in this situation is like not seeing the light pole that you walk into whilst trying to hail a taxi at 3 a.m. and I doubt he was intoxicated.

With these sorts of tribunal decisions it won't be long before you get suspened for wrestling and get a fine for king hitting an umpire.

In round 7 in Melbourne it finally showed what the AFL was trying to achieve in it directive on rules, a tv spectacle. The discouragement of fans who have been going to games for years with their mates by introducing dictatorial language laws is disgusting. Whatever happened to being able to stand in the outer a cold full strentgh beer in the rain yelling abuse at the players and only have to fear the opposition supporters (especially at some suburban working class grounds). This step in threating to expell supporters who use blue or offensive language from the fround is one step too far.

I now have become disenchanted with attending the football and will farwell it at the remaining traditional grounds Princess Park (a.k.a. Optus Oval) and Kardina Park (a.k.a. Shell Stadium) this season and return to local footy. These are the only Melbourne grounds with stading room left and where I still feel comfortable.

Farwell Wayne Jackson, by trying to make the AFL appealing to all parts the community you have made it attractive as a specticle to none, you've lost another supporter to grass roots footy and encourage others to follow and enjoy the money tthey spend.

Originally posted by Slax
Luke Darcy of Footscray (I refuse to call them the Western Bulldogs) received one week for running into the back of an umpire, it wasn't that long ago that Greg Williams whilst at Carlton received nine weeks for pushing an umpire in something that was very similar. Williams received his when the umpire approach him from behind to get the ball off him for a ball up. Williams then turned and pushed obviously thinking his personal space was violated and was supsequently suspened for 9. Luke Darcy ran across the ground 20 metres and ran far and square into the umpire who had not moved from his spot and got 1. Darcy must have seen the umpire regardless of what the experts say, to not see the umpire in this situation is like not seeing the light pole that you walk into whilst trying to hail a taxi at 3 a.m. and I doubt he was intoxicated.

With these sorts of tribunal decisions it won't be long before you get suspened for wrestling and get a fine for king hitting an umpire.

I think you'll find that it was actually Todd Curley (Luke Darcy got suspened for tripping) ... and he got suspended for 2 weeks, reduced from four. I disagree with almost everything you've said in regards to incident, disagree with the Williams analogy as well, but I think it's pretty pointless arguing, as he'll be back this week. Will be interesting to see the Fletcher outcome though.... hope he's not crucified for it.

We have had a player suspended for wrestling btw, Danny Southern, first and last time it's ever happened.

I agree with what you say, especially how the game has been turned into a pasny free for all,
actually I reckon there are pansy's out there who would be pissed of with the current state of the game

I don't know who Jackson thinks he is kidding, You can only kick a dog so many times before it will turn around and rip ya leg off,
this will Happen to him soon, Just wait, the only problem with that is the game will be the loser,
over 100 years of culture has been completely ruined in the last 5 years,

I know that there are such things as war crimes is there anything such as footy crimes,
How can a group of arseholes ruin a culture and get away with it,

Its time people looked at the bigger picture and saw what was going on, People say OH but theres nothing I can do, which is crap, its simple DONT GO TO THE FOOTBALL,
Worried that the team you follow will fold, well in the end you won't be able to see them play at all, without spending a fortune, and how long before the AFL stop radio stations from broadcasting the game, Not long I bet, Just wait and see

Football is on a life support system and has been for the last 5 years, Jackson has been trying his best to pull the plug and he seems to be getting there.

Don't let these bastards get away with it

I have found out one thing that will bring a smile to Bulldog and North fans, conditions of the tv rights agreement for 2002-2006.

A core part of the contract is that there are 16 teams in the competition enabling 8 matches per round, thus providing both channels 9 & 10 with adequate games to cover. If the AFL were to allow either or both teams to go into receivership and disband then they payments of $100 million per season would be in jepoardy.

Jackson's going to have to provide the traditional battling clubs with money:D :D :D

Jackson's going to have to provide Bulldogs and North because of TV deal not extactly true.

The deal states 16 teams but does not say which 16 teams,
so if the dogs and North were to fold then the AFL could simply start another team in Sydney and maybe even one in Tassie Althought I very much doubt they would have a team from Tassie, more like they would push for another SA team or QLD

I wouldn't put anything past that Nazi Jackson,

What are we losing