What are your fav. Sports Movies?

RICE80SF

Jun 14, 2000
Geelong, VIC. (Is Don Is Grand)
Here are some of mine that I can remember, I've probably forgotten some so I hope you guys can remind me of some others. Not in order here they are:

When We Were Kings - I'm sorry I didn't see this in the cinema, only on video, but it was still sensational. Norman Maylor was superb in giving his perspective of the event. Classic line from Ali; "I don't like that George Foreman, he talks too much".

The Natural - Not a baseball fan but I still thought this was fantastic, Redford is such a great actor I think. Truly uplifting flick.

Hoosiers - Not as famous as the top two but great Basketball movie, Gene Hackman was fantastic as the coach.

Jerry McGuire - Not just a chick flick, gives a great insight into the sports management business.

The Club - if only because it's about Aussie Rules, but pretty good anyway.

Phar Lap - Another great Aussie sports movie.

Rocky 1-4 (five was utter crap) - Fantastic flicks every one, who could forget Mr T and Ivan Drahgo (spell?).

Numerous other quality Baseball flicks; Eight Men Out, The Babe, Field Of Dreams, Bull Durham, Major League, A league of their Own.

Space Jam - One for the Kids, my boys reckon not only is Jordan the best Basketballer ever but the finest actor ever too, they've watched this 200 times.

Like I said I've probably forgotten heaps.

Cheers.

hey great topic Ricey

Eight Men Out is my favourite - a gripping story (true) really well acted.

Caddyshack anyone ? - hate golf but this was one funny movie - saw it TV recently and it hasn't aged very well I'm afraid.

Happy Gilmore - another really funny film with a golf setting.

When we were Kings - tremendous documentary about a great moment in sport.

other sports documentaries I really liked were some of the official Olympic Games films

1936 official film
(called 'Olympia' i think) ok ok its really nothing but shameless Nazi propaganda but it is just so incredibly well made, that Leeni Reithanstahl really knew how to use a camera (again, I'm praising her filmaking, not her politics)

1956 official film
just been restored and was screened on Channel Seven the night before the opening ceremony, anyone see it ? - what a stunner, it looked so fresh and new - it was like being transported back in time, and Melbourne in 1956 looked pretty darn good as well.

1972 official film
A great film of the most contreversial games ever staged, it had everything.

Ricey... my all time favorite is "Hoosiers" I think I have watchit 30 times in ten years...
Another great is "Longest 100 yards"... I think I broke his facken neck... I think he broke his facken neck... He broke his facken neck.... you probably had to be there...

The "Natural" is a classic... and you can add "Rudy" to the list... almost made me cry...

The Fan
De Niro in a sports movie - the ultimate combination

White Men Cant Jump

Rocky 1,2,3,4,5
4 was the best, but 5 was still pretty good

BUT THE WINNER IS

ANY GIVEN SUNDAY

Oliver Stone did an unbelievable job to capture what sports (in this case NFL) are all about. Had to be seen in the cinema to be fully appreciated.

Hey thanks guys,

Rooboy - I’ve seen that movie, although not all of it, and that line is the only thing I remember about it, brutal stuff. You’re right you had to see it to get that line. Nick Nolte was the star wasn’t he? That "Rudy" was a great flick, real inspirational yarn, that was true I think. Go the Fighting Irish!

BSA – Yeah I caught that ’56 doco too, it really did look fresh didn’t it. It was another world back then, athletes being billeted in family homes, unbelievable. Did you catch “One day in September” doco about Munich ’72 it had interviews with some of the terrorists, I haven’t seen it yet.
Some of those Soccer World Cup docos are beautiful to watch as well.

Magpie Mark – I’m spewing I missed Any Given Sunday at the theatre, due to budget constraints. Can’t wait to see it on video though. Have to agree to disagree about Rocky V, I was disappointed with it. As a Pie fan do you love or hate “The Club”?

Cheers.

Chariots of Fire. Saw it again after the opening ceramony. Still a great flick.

On any Sunday. Old motor bike flick.

Endless Summer. Old surfie flick

The Club. Hey it's our game.

Not a movie but I liked the tv series Bodyline.

Anyone know of any decent soccer movies ? (apart from docos, official films, etc.)

I find it strange that the most popular footy in the world has virtually no decent movies about it.

I saw a movie a couple of years ago about an English cop who went underground to infiltrate a gang of hooligans, he ended up a hooligan himself. It was a gripping film that really laid bare the whole English Soccer Hooligan scene, it starred Robert Carlyle (from Full Monty and other films) but I can't recall its name ???

You like these sorts of movies Shinboners - do you remember what it was called ?

BSA

Oh God....I know what movie you're talking about, but I can't remember the name. Dammit. I can picture Robert Carlyle slamming his beer onto the table just before going out to do some rioting.

Great to read that none of you nominated "Fever Pitch". When that movie came out, every non-footy friend I had started crapping on about how after seeing the movie, they now understood my obsession with footy, footy fans, and football culture in general.
rolleyes.gif
Of course, a bout of uncontrollable laughter from me usually took care of those delusions from my friends
biggrin.gif

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel:
Anyone know of any decent soccer movies ? (apart from docos, official films, etc.)

I find it strange that the most popular footy in the world has virtually no decent movies about it.

What about "LADYBUGS" I think that is the title.... LOL

You can't go past "The club" - Scotty Palmer & Lou Richards, how can anyone top that?

There was some soccer film based in a WW2 prisoner camp with Pele and Stallone, can't recall the name.

Speaking of Stallone - read on IMDB yesterday the he is threatening to unleash on the world Rocky 6.

Originally posted by RICE80SF:
Hey thanks guys,

Rooboy - I’ve seen that movie, although not all of it, and that line is the only thing I remember about it, brutal stuff. You’re right you had to see it to get that line. Nick Nolte was the star wasn’t he?
Cheers.

Close but no cigar... BURT REYNOLDS... in all his glory...

The movie was called "Escape To Victory".

I read the other day that during WW2, it was rumoured that during the Nazi occupation of Russia, a German XI played Dynamo Kiev in Kiev in a stadium full of German soldiers. During the game, the soldiers shot their rifles at the Kiev players during the game. Dynamo held on to win, but after the game, they were taken away and executed.

If you liked movies like Hoosiers see two of the best sports movies of all time:

RUDY - About a guy wanting to play football for Notre Dame. it is brilliant

and

PISTOL - About Pete Maravich. It is really good.

the more i learn about what went on in that particular 'theatre of operations' the more I believe stories like that one.

off topic a bit but if anyone wants to know the sorts of things that went on in the Soviet Union during the Nazi occupation check out a film called 'Come and see'

chilling stuff - horrific in fact.

Back to Sports Movies - anyone seen 'Le Mans' ? This is one helluva motorsport film, probably the best ever, stars Steve MacQueen and it is a fictionalised account of the famous 1966 Le Mans where Ferrari went head to head with the mighty Ford Gt40. A great film, really dramatic, tremendous motorsport footage - a real classic !

This isn't a film, but the documentary 'Year of the Dogs' is excellent viewing about all the problems they faced with the club (Merger Talks, Player faced with Cancer, Troubles with Alan Joyce)

As far as films go, Jerry Maguire, Chariots of Fire and Happy Gilmore were quite good.

yeah ditto on that

my favourite moment is when Richard Osborne galnces nervously at the camera, says a long ummmmm, asks for the camera to be turned off,
then absolutely rips Alan Joyce to shreds.

If only they could have got that one on film...

I agree with Drakey. Chariots of Fire is definitely the best sports movie I have seen.

I also enjoyed Jerry McGuire a lot.

Although I must confess to not hearing about a lot of the movies that have been discussed and some of those mentioned I will definitely need to have a look at.

Bloodstained Angel,

I saw most of the 1936 Berlin Olympic footage a few years ago and it was spectacular. Like yourself, it is nothing to do with the politics of the film but moreso the fact that she put it together with only one camera.

Speaking about the 1936 Olympics, many of us have marvelled at Cathy Freeman's ability to cope with the pressure and suport of the entire Australian nation. Can you imagine how Jesse Owens was able to not only have the courage to compete but to completely dominate the athletics event? Remarkable

Chariots of Fire

and

Happy Gilmore. YOU got to love the two shots that fly down the end of the street and hits the bloke on the ladder and then the second one hits his wife looking out the window! That was bloody funny!

Eight men out *any John Sayles movie is good*

This Sporting Life. Goddammit a rugby film!! But still a great movie. Richard Harris is excellent.

A Bogart movie on exploitation in boxing i think its called 'the Harder they fall' based on 30's truelife heavyweight champion Primo Carnea a giant of a man. But a patsy who crims set up to win the heavyweight belt.

Breaking Away, small town middle american boy takes on an italian accent and dreams of riding in european bicycle events.

The Champ, Jon Voight and a (very young) Ricky Schroder. "Dont die Champ Dont die" still gets that lump in the throat.

Sumo do Sumo dont, weird little Jap film on wafer thin Sumo wanna be's. Excepting for a girl of 120+kgs who also wants to be a sumo. See it to believe it.

Cobb and the Babe. Stricly more bio pics than sports movies but both were pretty good. Cobb was one mean s.o.b

Geordie. Its not a great movie but it is about a Scots hammer thrower at the Melbourne Olympics so i had to mention it.

Let it Ride. For the punter in all of us.

Chariots,Rockys,Field of Dreams (does that count?) Hoosiers all top films.

Cheers
beerchug.gif

What are your fav. Sports Movies?