List Mgmt. What do we do in the off season re. our list?

Regards list. they say it takes time to develope big men, however hipwood and schache have ,from what I have seen, proven this theory to be wrong so far. That brings me to Ben Keays. He is not a tall and I therefore want to throw a question out there, to all the lions fans. Is Ben Keays over rated? I have been extremely underwhelmed by his performances.Is he good enough to be on the list? from what I have seen no.Mathieson, a latter pick has shown far more potential.If the right offer came along I would trade Ben.

One of the most ill-informed posts ive seen on this board in a long, long time. Did you see that latest video of him the Lions put up for fathers day? His dad even had about 3 lions jumpers hanging up behind him.........

Keays2myBeamas put it perfectly, playing out of position and clearly underdeveloped body-wise yet his tackling pressure was always sublime. Skills are a weak point right now but they will improve in time. In every interview you watch there is just this confidence about him that makes you think he'll somehow succeed.

Based on your logic I think we should trade Schache. He only kicked 16 goals, not even a goal a game, how pathetic!!

i think we should rookie list Luke Delaney from St Kilda and Jackson Sketcher from this years The Recruit series.

Delaney would have got plenty of games for us this year if on our list, without Merritt we need an experienced defender while the kids develop, hopefully we land a big name as well but he would be good back up anyway, would get him for nothing via the rookie list, 2-3 years and the thanks for coming.

Sketcher after the Recruit finished went to the VFL and played for Frankston and was in their best 10 out of 13 times, VFL far stronger than NEAFL and on that form would have walked into our side this year. He was a good JNR tying for the Morrish Medal with Dyson Heppell in the Under 18's, he has lost heaps of weight and again we would get him for nothing via the rookie draft.

Another couple of defenders i think we should consider are Garland or Dunn from melb as long as we get them very cheap. The kids down back need help. They like Delaney could help us our short term.

I don't think we've even scratched the surface with Keays. He'll be a slow burn i reckon, but he'll get there.
I think hell be terrific,and hes passionate about the club.My issues were that he wasn't given more bursts on ball,hes not got tbe speed a small forward needs defensively, and that he is very reluctant to shoot for goal, needs to become a bit goal hungry.

Not exactly sure where the right thread for this would be but...

TASMANIANS Josh McGuinness and Josh Watts will put up their hands for the three AFL drafts later this year as delisted free agents after being cut by Brisbane on Monday.

After two years in Brisbane, McGuinness, 20, said he would consider moving home if he did not get redrafted but Watts, 20, would play in the VFL to try to get noticed by AFL recruiters.

The pair – McGuinness originally from Lauderdale (pick 81) and Watts from Glenorchy (pick 65) – were both taken by the Lions in the 2014 AFL National Draft.

With no senior games under their belts, they were told on Monday their services were no longer required.

“We were pretty stiff,” Watts said.

“I won’t go into the details and I won’t say anything bad about the club.

“We will talk to other clubs and gauge the interest.

“I’m still pretty confident I might be on an AFL list by the end of the year. If not I will go to the VFL and have a crack there and try to get drafted again. I won’t be headed back to Tassie.”

McGuinness said he would speak to his manager about nominating for all three drafts as a delisted free agent – the AFL National Draft in Sydney on November 25, followed by the Preseason Draft and Rookie Draft on November 28.

“It’s all pretty fresh so I haven’t had much time to think about it,” McGuinness said.

“Hopefully, I get another opportunity elsewhere.

“If not I might have to think about coming home or playing elsewhere in another state. I just have to see what happens.”

McGuinness played 13 games for Brisbane in the NEAFL last year and 11 this year.

“I’ve been unlucky with injuries,” he said.

“I had two stress fractures on my left foot last year and four hamstring strains this year, so I didn’t really get to have a good crack at it.”

Watts played 11 NEAFL games last year and six this season.

“Now is the time to start something new,” Watts said.

“Hopefully it is at another AFL club because I think that’s where I belong.”

The highlighted quote seems rather strange. Both boys would've known their futures were up in the air (considering they never got their bodies right) and they're rather bullish in thinking they could get onto another AFL list next year.

The only way I can interpret the bolded quote is they think they were unlucky to get a game given the number of debuts we had

I think hell be terrific,and hes passionate about the club.My issues were that he wasn't given more bursts on ball,hes not got tbe speed a small forward needs defensively, and that he is very reluctant to shoot for goal, needs to become a bit goal hungry.

I think he'll look better when he plays more on ball again as well. Is one of those guys who looks quicker than he is around the ball due to the fact that he's very rarely flat footed at a contest, always in movement. That doesn't really translate as well to the smallish forward role where it can really become about speed. I would be looking to swap him and Lewy around in their roles IMO and give Keays more time in the middle and squizzy up forward, think that plays to their strengths a little more. Keays seems to be calmer in assessing his options when he has the ball in hand and usually moves forward rather than the circle turn Lewy seems to revert to by default. (correcting this instinct along with Robertsons primal instict to fend off every time are two of the biggest development challenges our new development team will incur this season just because they're so ingrained)

As for the goalkicking, he had the reputation as a goal kicker in his junior days so I think that is probably something that will come with a bit more confidence on his role and his place in the team. Also strikes me as one of those guys who is a much better kick for goal on the run as opposed to a set shot.

I think he'll look better when he plays more on ball again as well. Is one of those guys who looks quicker than he is around the ball due to the fact that he's very rarely flat footed at a contest, always in movement. That doesn't really translate as well to the smallish forward role where it can really become about speed. I would be looking to swap him and Lewy around in their roles IMO and give Keays more time in the middle and squizzy up forward, think that plays to their strengths a little more. Keays seems to be calmer in assessing his options when he has the ball in hand and usually moves forward rather than the circle turn Lewy seems to revert to by default. (correcting this instinct along with Robertsons primal instict to fend off every time are two of the biggest development challenges our new development team will incur this season just because they're so ingrained)

As for the goalkicking, he had the reputation as a goal kicker in his junior days so I think that is probably something that will come with a bit more confidence on his role and his place in the team. Also strikes me as one of those guys who is a much better kick for goal on the run as opposed to a set shot.

I think this is right, and I think even later in the season he seemed to get a bit more time on the ball. By that point he was probably feeling the effects of a long season, but he seems to be a hard runner and I like his chances around the ball long term.

My guess is that they persisted with him up front this year because (to my eye) he tackles pretty effectively. His flatline speed isn't great, but he does a pretty good job of tying the ball up around a contest. Lewy is a better chance of running players down, but doesn't often do a lot once he gets to them.

The only way I can interpret the bolded quote is they think they were unlucky to get a game given the number of debuts we had
I think any delisted player feels unlucky not to have been given another shot. In any footy club I've been involved in, the players in the reserves think they are better than at least one of the blokes playing seniors.

I think seeing a guy like William get promoted off the rookie list was probably a bitter pill.

I think this is right, and I think even later in the season he seemed to get a bit more time on the ball. By that point he was probably feeling the effects of a long season, but he seems to be a hard runner and I like his chances around the ball long term.

My guess is that they persisted with him up front this year because (to my eye) he tackles pretty effectively. His flatline speed isn't great, but he does a pretty good job of tying the ball up around a contest. Lewy is a better chance of running players down, but doesn't often do a lot once he gets to them.

He will certainly have an appreciation of the pace of AFL footy going into his 2nd season. More than that though I'd hope that with the emphasis we place on forward defensive pressure, the fact that he has played forward for the majority of the season will help his development as a genuine 2-way running mid. One of our biggest issues at present is that our mids drop off too easily and don't go with their opposition which completely burns our own defenders in the process.

Keays polled surprisingly well in the B&F. Higher average votes than Bastinac IIRC. I was very underwhelmed by Keays. Might be a good foot soldier but I'm not sure he has an outstanding attribute that will make him a dangerous midfielder.

I was very underwhelmed by Keays. Might be a good foot soldier but I'm not sure he has an outstanding attribute that will make him a dangerous midfielder.

Felt the same way, sure he will improve but nothing stood out to make me think he's going to be anymore than a decent AFL player. Mathieson and Hipwood look like they have the potential to be A grade players and were the most pleasant surprises of the year for me, we knew Schache would be very good.

Keays polled surprisingly well in the B&F. Higher average votes than Bastinac IIRC. I was very underwhelmed by Keays. Might be a good foot soldier but I'm not sure he has an outstanding attribute that will make him a dangerous midfielder.

I wouldn't mind seeing a decent body of work in the midfield before making that assessment. If we can get some high quality mids through the draft then hopefully in this next generation coming through he can be, at the very least, the cream on top. I actually already think his decision-making for a young player is pretty good.

Felt the same way, sure he will improve but nothing stood out to make me think he's going to be anymore than a decent AFL player. Mathieson and Hipwood look like they have the potential to be A grade players and were the most pleasant surprises of the year for me, we knew Schache would be very good.

Agreed. Much, much, much more bullish about Matho. He looks like a potential A grader. The same can't be said about Keays. Yet.

To be a finals side in years to come we need to nail some of those later picks, we certainly did that last year with Matho.

apparently James Stewart from the giants looking for more opportunities. him and Tim Mohr would be a good package deal, might only take a 3rd round pick.

Keays will be Dayne beams level A-grade by the time he's 21. I can guarentee that. Let's just say he won't not succeed at AFL level. Will be the best player from the draft.

You forgot to add he'll win the Brownlow and be Captain of the AA team.

List Mgmt. What do we do in the off season re. our list?